Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Grange Over Sands
(lake District)
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 6RB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 113
Open: 23/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FlintLock 14 reviews from this member

We booked Meathop at short notice, seeing the site was opening earlier than planed from its closure for upgrade work. This was to give our new Bailey Orion its first run as the site is just 68 miles and all motorway, except for the last 10 or so, from our location.

Having obtained permission to arrive early on opening day, don't try to arrive before 12 any other time, its approach road is narrow, we where the first to arrive. A warm welcome and chocolate from the wardens, who where excellent, friendly and helpful throughout our stay, was very nice. The reception sell newspapers to order, milk in bottles and a variety of other items. Grange over Sands is the nearest place for shops but you won't find an ASDA etc there, you will need to go to Kendle for the larger outlets.

This being our 2nd visit we could see some of the pitches had been levelled and where grass once was, it was now hard standing. The toilet block which has been rebuilt, is superb. The facilities now have about 8 showers, toilets and wash basins, so no one would need to wait long if the site was full.

This is a sloping site with a few views over the Kent estuary towards Arnside, depending what peg you get, where they look to be replacing the railway bridge across the estuary. Levelling blocks etc are required on a lot of the pegs.

The first night, unfortunately, a local farmer knocked down a power cable pole which left the whole area without power into the early hours of the morning. The warden came round 2 or 3 times to give us an update on the situation and to ensure we put our fridges on gas. After this there where no other problems. TV reception is OK using the coax plug on the power bollards, this area is now all digital.

The site filled quickly for the weekend and is very popular with walkers and cyclists. The site is ideal to venture into the lakes or towards Barrow, where a run along the coast road is recommended.

There is an hotel on the static site next door which is open to the public for drinks and do a Curry night, Wednesday, didn't try it because of the power cut, and I was told by the warden they also do a very nice steak.

All in all it was a very pleasant 4 night stay and I prefer this site, even though its sloping, to its nearby sister Low Park Wood. Again don't try to arrive early, the approach is narrow with a steep bit of road near to the site but is quite manageable and use the CC instructions / route for getting there.

Date of Visit: December 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The_Chases 10 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for the first time over Christmas and New Year in 2010, rushing home for a family celebration on New Years day.

The facilities are not the newest, but they are spotlessly clean and as others have said, the water is hot, hot, hot! Although they are closed for refurb this year.

We will be visiting again in December 2011 and would recommend this site to anyone looking for a quiet break in an area with a wide variety of attractions.

We are looking forward to getting everyone in the awning for our new years celebrations again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kwen 7 reviews from this member

This was our first stay on a caravan club site and we were impressed, the road leading to the site was rather like a fair ground ride! On arrival we booked in then went and chose our pitch the first time we've had to make this decision! The site has a limited shop we were given the option of ordering daily papers, one negative comment the site is advertised with wifi this is available if you sit on the chairs outside reception and are prepared to pay £5 per hour which I thought rather expensive hence the teenagers weren't impressed!

Great location for exploring the lakes about 30mins from the M6.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Almaz 37 reviews from this member

Had a lovely weekend here even though there was torrential rain on our drive across. Once at the site the rain started to ease off and there didn't seem to be any drainage issues with the pitches. The pitches themselves are quite varied in size and in lay-out. All appeared to be big enough for a car, caravan and awning. Some have their own distinct boundaries and others seem to be part of a larger gravelled area shared by others.

2 good clear, warm days followed and showed how pleasant the site can be as well as the surrounding area. We took a boat trip on Coniston lake (only 20 - 30 minute drive) and then walked back to Coniston village where there were plenty of places to eat.

The usual CC facilities are on site although as mentioned elsewhere only 4 showers does put a heavy demand on morning queues.

There's a hotel just around the corner from the site and the menu looked ok although we didn't eat there. Site residents however are welcome to use the bar.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplebonnie 10 reviews from this member

We stayed here Fri - Mon the first weekend of the school summer holidays. When we arrived we were given a pitch on what looked like a car park. On looking at the pitch we realised it would be far too small for our caravan(thankfully). The very friendly and helpful wardens came over and made some other suggestions, we were eventually given a very nice grass pitch. The site is nicely spaced out with lots of greenery around too.

We have 2 dogs and there was a nice small area to walk them just outside the site, however other short walks were limited around the site if you have dogs that you want to exercise further. When we first arrived the warden was very helpful and did point out some nice local places to walk dogs (they were a drive away).

Amenities were immaculate, however there was a queue first thing in the morning between 7.30 and 8.30 for ladies showers. The site as always was immaculate and the wardens were friendly and helpful. There was a children's play area nicely tucked away at the back of the site!

The shop did not open until 9am which I thought was rather late, especially as I was needing milk for breakfast. On Sunday I went for a morning paper and was informed they were for people who had ordered them only!

On our last night we decided to eat out. As it was a Sunday Grange was rather quiet. We asked for recommendations at the site and were given the name of a pub in town and the pub adjacent to the site (which we were told, 'cash in' on the niche market). We found a fantastic hotel with a bar and restaurant which is open to non residents in the centre of Grange. THE LYMEHURST provided EXCELLENT FOOD and ATMOSPHERE and the SERVICE was EXCELLENT TOO. The food was extremely fresh and as a result we had to wait a little while. The waitress did apologies for the wait but when the food arrived it was understandable why. They offer a 2 course meal for £13.95 and 3 course meal for £18.95 in the bar area (which is a lovely dining area), there is a A La Carte Menu on offer in the restaurant at a slightly more expensive rate.

In Grange there are some fantastic bakers and butchers which all add to making your stay that little better. We even stocked up on meat from the butchers in the centre of town on the way home and weren't disappointed that we did!

A GREAT LOCATION with GREAT LOCAL AMENITIES only 15 miles from Windermere.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ernbarton 18 reviews from this member

This is the first time we have used a caravan club site due to never being able to get in and we weren't disappointed.

The site was excellent with a host of various pitches, we arrived on the Friday and was told to pick our pitch which I thought was a fantastic idea. We chose our pitch so we overlooked the bay and quickly got set up.

Television reception is poor but the well stocked shop with friendly wardens accommodated for nearly everything and a signal booster cable was installed in minutes(why we bothered after watching England on the Saturday I will never know).

The site is next door to a hotel were you are free to drink and eat in and Grange over sands is only 3 miles away with a host of shops and pubs to cater for all. The site is well situated for touring round the lakes and a short journey takes you to Lakeside were you can board a boat and go to different places of interest.

The shower block is a little small with only 4 male showers per 90+ pitches, so be prepared to queue, I was told the site will shut this year for a major upgrade on the amenities I must say they was fantastically clean though.

All in all a fantastic site and we would return again in the near future.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LancsCC 5 reviews from this member

This is a top quality site, well up to the usual Caravan Club standards. With several different landscaped pitching areas you never feel too crowded. Choose between views, larger gravel pitches or grass pitch when the weather is better.

Usual spotless toilets/showers.

You really have to experience some of the commercial sites in this area to realise just how good the Club site is!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lingaz 12 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site and I must say when comparing it to other cc sites the toilet block is a little outdated and could do with a refurb, privacy cubicles are very small and you could get wrapped up in the curtain if you are not careful.

When we arrived it was about 5-40pm (already phoned and was told they accept arrivals up to 8pm) so we booked in and went to look for a pitch on our way past the reception the warden or asst warden stuck her head out and asked us to hurry up as she was waiting to close so we picked a pitch overlooking the bay which sloped a bit but had a lovely view.

We had a day out at windermere and a boat trip cost us around £9 each for a 70min round trip or they did have cheaper ones.Spent some time in kendal which was ok if you like traffic jams (get there early or you won't be able to park).

Anyway won't be returning to this site as I have been to much nicer.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jshr 6 reviews from this member

Been to this site many times as itís an easy drive when school finishes on a Friday afternoon.

Site and toilet block are always clean and tidy. Pitches are a decent size and most are relatively level but blocks are sometimes needed. Hardstanding is hard and strong pegs are needed for an awning.

The site is well placed for visiting the south lakes and there is plenty to see and do. Keswick to the north is also do able.

As in a previous review the chip van is a nice change for a no cook meal and has quite a good choice.

During the stay we woke to snow on the Sunday morning and the wardens were as usual helpful towing vans to the top of the slopes with the tractor for those who were struggling.

We will be returning.

Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pjds 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site before Christmas and again at New Year.

It snowed on 19th December and then didn't seem to stop until after Christmas. The wardens worked non stop to keep footpaths clear and to assist with getting units off pitches etc. They deserved a medal because it seemed like each time they got the snow cleared, it came back again overnight!

We have visited the site several times before and like it's charm, but the Dunkirk spirit added to the festive feeling over the holidays made this our best stay yet.

We know that the facilities are not the newest, but they are spotlessly clean and as others have said, the water is hot, hot, hot!

We will be visiting again some time during 2010 and would recommend this site to anyone looking for a quiet break in an area with a wide variety of attractions.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1730 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019