Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Grange Over Sands
(lake District)
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 6RB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 113
Open: 23/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thebairn 10 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this great site. We stayed for a week and the site has every facility you could want.

The new toilet and shower block is super and everything is so clean and tidy. The wardens are really friendly and accommodating.

There is a pub/hotel just outside the site which has a nice restaurant and is also dog friendly in the bar area which is really handy to pop in whilst walking the dog.

The pub landlord is friendly and very efficient. There is only one thing to tell you you will need a torch after dark as walking back from the pub can be quite daunting if you don't. You can't see a hand in front of you if its a non moonlit night.

You are only ten minutes away from Grange which is a nice little village which has a co-op and spar shop for any groceries, Will be back as soon as we can.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Llrides 9 reviews from this member

Spent 4 days at Meathop Fell and found it to be an excellent site,

Facilities are second to none and suitable for everyone toddlers to disabled,

There are a lot of comments about the access to the site but if you take care and arrive after 12:00 it is easy enough,

The site is very rural with hard standing and grass pitches split in to several areas some are on sloping ground and need care to get your van level, we had pitch 128 as we have a big van this pitch is level and needs no blocks. Satellite reception depends again on where your pitch is as there are a lot of trees on site,

The park has a good play area and is ideal for family's,

Great location for visiting local attractions and the lakes,

All in all we enjoyed our visit and would go again if in that area.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marshgreen 12 reviews from this member

Spent 6 nights here at the end of March. Excellent site, well laid out, with decent sized pitches. Excellent Loos and Showers and pleased to see that the Showers are not the push button type! The site was almost full, but no queues for showers etc.

Site very well maintained and Wardens friendly and helpful. A mobile Fish and Chip van visit, but we didn't use this. Site shop very well stocked, and you can order a daily Newspaper.

A very quite Site, and popular with older couple, but this may have been due to the time of year.

Certainly a Site we will return to at sometime.

The final approach to the site is by a narrow Road, but I didn't find this an issue.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andynliz 16 reviews from this member

First time visit to this club site and will certainly be coming back. Whilst this is a large site it is well laid out in various sections and is very quiet and peaceful.

New toilet block and showers are immaculate and even though it was busy due to half term never had to wait and it was always clean. Wardens are friendly and there if you need them.

Walked unto the woodlands hotel a couple of times for a drink with our children and they are very welcoming.

Had a meal at the pheasant inn just through grange over sands and this was excellent, warm welcome and very good food, again very welcoming of children.

Overall fab week on a fab site in a great location.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amaryllis 10 reviews from this member

We spent a long weekend at this site in October and were very lucky to have cold but dry weather and even got outside with the cadac for a couple of breakfast and even one evening meal!

The last mile on approach to the site is single track really, there are passing points but I don't know how well really big outfits would get on if meeting head to head. The site is strict about departure and arrival time to try and stop any opposite direction head to head meetings. However it is well worth the journey, as the site is lovely! There are some pitches that have particularly amazing views but all pitches are very nice. The whole site has a very country woodland feel about it and we enjoyed many an hour watching the birds and squirrels playing around the van.

There is a hotel just a few mins up the road which advertised a bar menu however we didn't try it.

The site facilities are up to the usual very acceptable caravan club standards and were kept lovely and clean and warm during our stay.

Loads to do in the area, in fact too much to mention. Grange over sands itself is a lovely town, a walk along the sands is highly recommended.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MattCharlie 17 reviews from this member

I have visited this site in December for the past four years. Its always a pleasure. The site is very well laid out and the pitch sizes generous. The toilet block has recently been re-furbished and is up to the usual caravan club standard. The facilities are spotlessly clean and there are plenty of washbasins, toilets and showers to choose from so you shouldn't have to wait. Some of the pitches have a distant view of Morecambe Bay. There is a small childs play area down at the bottom end of the site (to the right of the reception) and the reception sells some of the basics if you get caught short. The site is approx 5 mins by car from Grange over Sands which is a nice little town. If you come out of the site and turn left you can walk to the Woodlands hotel which is nice for a meal out and the bar is open to non residents also. Its a nice little old fashioned English hotel and Heidi who runs it is very friendly. They also have a real wood fire to sit by whilst having a drink.

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Josie050 5 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site in November for two nights. The new shower and toilet block are lovely, together with this and all other aspects of this site, all is extremely well looked after by the very friendly staff, all who had time to stop have a chat. The site is laid out in several areas, some with views of the solway, others close by the children's adventure playground. 5 minutes walk to the Woodlands hotel where they serve some great food. We will definitely be returning as lots to do in the area, and close to the Lakes.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Peteranddi 4 reviews from this member

We visited this site in our folding camper for a long weekend. The wardens were very welcoming and the site was immaculate with plenty of generous sized pitches to choose from. The toilet and shower blocks were pristine, well up to usual CC standards. We were particularly grateful to the wardens who were most helpful when we ran out of GAZ in the middle of cooking our meal. They very kindly invited us to take our meal and finish cooking it in their office kitchen!

We also enjoyed the location, which we haven't visited before. The site was quiet and peaceful - great for relaxing. We would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elaine21again 2 reviews from this member

I agree with almost every word of at previous reviewer, great facilities, friendly helpful wardens. I would however add that the nearby Woodlands Hotel has a dog friendly bar where it is possible to eat from the restaurant menu. The food is freshly prepared and reasonably priced.

My only problem with this site is the location. Not too bad for caravanners or tent campers who can easily use their cars to travel. We had to take the motorhome out each day due to lack of public transport nearby. The walk into Grange over Sands is reasonably short at less than 3 miles but the road is narrow and used frequently by large tractors which I found a bit off putting. Otherwise an enjoyable stay on a lovely site with good views over Morecambe Bay.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stef and mandy 21 reviews from this member

Just spent 3 nights at this Club site, and although is was nearly full, it was quiet and relaxing.

The Lakes, Silverdale/Arnside and their surrounding areas are easily reachable by car, and there is also a train station at Grange over sands, which is a lovely little Town, with shops and banks for provisions and money.

The site is well planted, and the grass and shrubs are kept very well maintained. There are some sloping pitches requiring substantial chocks, but we were lucky and found a flat pitch overlooking the river Kent.

I can only assume that the shower / toilet / laundry block is brand new as the facilities are immaculate. There is also a wooden hut with two payphones and a plethora of leaflets containing 'things to do'.

We have dogs and love to walk, and for the early walk of the day there is a wooded area opposite the site entrance and poop bins.

We like a decent walk, and a beer garden in good weather or a dog friendly pub in the rain to eat before returning to the van, however all those recommended by the wardens were a drive away, so we did not visit.

The shop on site sells the basics including bacon, milk and soaps etc, and a mobile fish and chip shop is on site 5-7pm Monday and Wednesday, and 5-7. 30pm Friday.

The site recycles, and the water/waste points are easily reached and again in very good condition.

Word of warning do not arrive before noon. The road to and from the site is both narrow and steep, and if you arrive early and meet people leaving on that road, you have a problem!

If you like to watch TV the signal is poor, but we got by with a signal booster, getting 8 channels, however you can buy a long TV cable from reception and access a stronger signal from the hook up post.

If the pubs I have mentioned were there I would not hesitate to re-visit, however we won't because of the same reason. Cracking site and good wardens.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2006 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019