Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Grange Over Sands
(lake District)
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 6RB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 113
Open: 23/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bs assorted 10 reviews from this member

Have just returned from this site on what must have easily been the wettest weekend in June!
 
We arrived a little late to find that the only pitches available were grass pitches on fairly sloping undulating ground, but with the help of our landrover and a little pushing and pulling we were soon rewarded with a lovely pitch in an elevated position. As a result of the awful weather and maybe poor drainage this pitch at the end of only 2 days resembled a quagmire, we explained to the wardens the state of the pitch and were informed that they have a drainage problem with the area where we stayed.  Therefore in inclement weather I would advise anyone without a fairly hefty tow car to avoid pitches 90 to 95 if at all possible.
 
Although this site was very busy, it remained extremely peaceful and the facilities were never overstretched - Although previously stated, this site does only have one toilet block but we did not have to queue to use the facilities and everywhere was extremely clean and tidy.
 
The potted plants in full flower around reception are a lovely touch,and provide a good welcome.
 
The approach to the site is along quite a NARROW, WINDING, BUMPY road! - no real problems though unless you meet another caravan arriving a little early in the other direction (which is what happened to us)!  This is probably why the caravan site directory and handbook states NO ARRIVALS BEFORE 12 NOON
 
Although the site is a little remote (which is part of its charm) it is within easy reach of the south lakes,  Grange over Sands, and Cartmel - You really must try the sticky toffee pudding (unless on a diet). We would have enjoyed the easy 3 mile walk to Grange but it was just a little uncomfortable in torrential rain.
 
We would love to stay at this site again, perhaps in less wet conditions ( would highly recomend it,)

Date of Visit: February 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lion_tamer20 18 reviews from this member

Just had our first weekend away this year on this site and considering it was the childrens half term holiday and the site was busy the site was quiet and the toilets and showers always immaculate, so every credit must be given to the wardens for the hard work they must put in to maintain such good standards.
The views from the site are good and as we enjoy walking we enjoyed the 3mi walk into Grange over Sands as it is along quiet country lanes with lovely scenery.  There are plenty of places to visit nearby but as we were only here for 2 nights our time was limited but we did get to Cartmel which is a very pretty "olde worlde" village. We will  go back here and would recommend this site to anyone wanting to visit the area.

Date of Visit: December 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Copta 15 reviews from this member

We visited this site on 9th December 06. It is a lovely site, laid out well with the play area situated at one end of the site, which I thought was thoughtful as not everyone wants to be near a play area, but also great for those with kids as there are lots of pitches around it.
 
As we drove up the site looked very pretty, lots of trees, grass, shrubs and bushes and the staff had made a real effort to make the site look Christmassy.
 
It was situated within easy driving distance of Kendal and Windermere and I did lots of Christmas shopping whilst there.
 
We had a wonderful Chinese takeaway from Kendal and the supermarket there is great!
 
As some other people have stated, the approach is a bit of a narrow winding road, though we didn't struggle at all with a mondeo and an abbey gts vogue 516 so I reckon it's ok unless you go too far and have to turn back
 
I didn't use any of the facilities on site preferring to use those in the caravan but my husband used the showers and toilets and enthused at their cleanliness, stating they were the cleanest he had ever seen anywhere and that the staff must take a real pride in their work.
 
I had a lovely relaxing weekend - this site is ideal to be away from the hustle and bustle - top marks!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cazbow 3 reviews from this member

A lovely peaceful site well laid out and the usual CC standards. The drive up to the site is a little tight if you have a long outfit but manageable. Delicious sausages for sale at the small shop! and the on site management knowledgeable and very friendly. Will certainly stay here again

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dudleydog 12 reviews from this member

Laxing if somewhat remote C.C site on the very southern edge of the Lake District. Very well maintained with distinct pitching areas, we went for the left hand side away from the Children’s Play Area with a great view to Morecambe Bay, in fact we were very lucky, some pitches have been somewhat over enthusiastically “Hard Stood”.
The Wardens were terrific and enthusiastic, nice little shop for the essentials, all in all an excellent place for a holiday.
There are a few downsides however, the approach is difficult and narrow, the remoteness means a drive to get anywhere and when the site is full, as it was all the week we were there, the Toilet Block struggles to cope with the numbers, queues were regular.
None of these are anything to worry about. The walking is fabulous, try Cartmel via Lindale and Hampsfell. The pubs are really good, there was a Beer Festival in the Lindale Arms and Sands in Grange over Sands carries Beckstones beers. We ate in the Farmers Arms in Ulverston, again excellent.
This has proved to be one of our favourite sites so far.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BillHox 3 reviews from this member

As usual with a CC site, everything clean and tidy. This was the second time my wife and I had been to Meathop Fell. The site is well laid out on a multi- level landscape, most of the pitches are hard-standing, so big hammers and sturdy pegs are the order of the day, unless you have these new ones which screw in and out. This is also one of the quietest CC sites I have ever been on and I have been a member for nearly 20 years, also going caravaning with my parents for 15 years before me and the good lady got married.

Access via the local roads is a bit tight and the road immediately leading up to the site itself has a sharp right which is quite steep, so make sure your clutch is o.k. before you get to the site! The facilities on the site are great, and a fish and chip van visits regularly.

There is a hotel/restaurant close by, which serves non-residents. All in all I would go back to this site at any-time, and can heartily recommend it.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Basskate 5 reviews from this member

Well laid out campsite, very clean as per usual with Caravan Club. Bread only delivered fresh to campsite on Saturdays, which was a shame. We chose a hardstanding pitch near the play area which suited our son, lots of trees around to give shade, views across corner of field. Some of the pitches against the wall have spectacular views across toward the bay (I think!). Because of the sloping and rocky terrain, not every inch is taken up with vans, so it gives a lovely open feel to the site. The biggest downside is the single loo block, which was quite a walk from our pitch, and needed a key to get in, so no getting caught short without your key! Although we didn't go, some other campers said that the food at the next door site restaurant/pub was good. There is a dog walk just outside the campsite in woods opposite. There is a good butcher in Grange over Sands, and we went to Booths supermarket in Kendal (only once mind you, Spar in Grange was closer) which is very upmarket - makes Waitrose look down-at-heel!. I would definitely go back to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Ssmith1 5 reviews from this member

We have just spent 5 nights at this site and found it well up to the usual Caravan Club standard.

Very well laid out with lots of small areas so it doesn't look as regimented as some sites.

Be careful not to miss the entrance. We followed the instructions in the Caravan Club handbook, which said to ignore the first green council notice board. Apparently the council have taken their board down now. We missed the turning and couldn't reverse uphill back to the entrance so had to make a long detour to get back to it.


Date of Visit: November 2004
Reviewer: Nomad17 1 review from this member

Up to usual caravan club standards. Good winter site. Nearly all hardstandings. Ideal area for touring the Lake district. For t.v.viewers,take along television lead with you,otherwise the reception is poor. For dog owners there is an exercise area opposite the site.

Date of Visit: September 2004
Reviewer: Wirral Tourer 7 reviews from this member

Very nice site. Lots of hard standing. TV aerial hook up - you can buy 25m lead from the shop for £10. Clean toilet block for which you are issued a key on arrival. 1 minute walk to adjacent restaurant which serves nice food and not too expensive. Everywhere else is a drive away though. They let us stay after 12 for no charge 'cos they weren't busy. Would go back.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


217 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019