Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Meathop Fell Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Grange Over Sands
(lake District)
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 6RB
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 113
Open: 23/03 To 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johnanddot 8 reviews from this member

This is a site that we would definitely return to. It is so clean and quiet with lovely views and great area for walking and cycling. The wardens are all very friendly and they keep the whole site including the toilet block immaculate.
There are so many places to visit within a short distance. We would recommend having a meal at the Hare and Hounds in Levens Village. Open fire and friendly staff. We found it while out on our bikes one morning following the cycle route signposts but returned in the evening for a meal.
A walk along the length of the promenade at Grange is a must.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tomriddle 8 reviews from this member

We were lucky enough to visit this lovely site during the warm sunny spell of weather. We were able to find a hard standing with some very nice people either side. The hard standings are not quite level and most people needed blocks.

The approach to the site is narrow and so it is important that departures are before 12 Noon and arrivals after 12 Noon. Typically, many people ignore this rule and this creates chaos for the wardens on busy days.

There is only one toilet block and this comes under pressure first thing in the morning with queues for the showers. The actual facilities are superb. The showers are powerful and the warning signs are correct to say that the water is very hot!

The site itself is very well maintained. The dog walk is a bit muddy but most people who walk dogs are used to this and it is no big deal.

The nearest town, Grange over Sands is a short drive. It is an attractive place with a variety of shops including an award winning butcher and delicatessen. We also ate at the Italian Restaurant that was very nice.

The site is well situated not only for exploring the Lakes but also the Northern part of Lancashire and the Yorkshire Dales.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Irish_tez 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site as our first Caravan Club site. I can't rate it highly enough. The place was spotless, the staff very helpful. The wardens where always on the go. The small shop at the site office is great and cheap too, and on a Monday and a Friday night a little chip van parks up saving you having to cook. Looking forward to many many more visits next year.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blondie1289 4 reviews from this member

Site very busy on arrival, only a few pitches left. Unable to get satellite due to dense trees, we were down by the park. Not really a problem as you could buy a cable and hook up to digital TV, cable around 13 from shop.Not ideal but did the job.

Well kept site, wardens out every day, visible presence on site. At times a bit over fussy and rigid around rules however pleasant in their manners therefore tolerable.

Only 4 showers for around 100 pitches so be prepared to queue in the morning, again this was not a huge problem.

Local area really lovely, plenty to do but need to do a bit of driving around as well which can be a disadvantage.

Main draw back for us was no where really to let our 2 8 month old rhodesian ridgebacks have a run off the lead. Short walk within woods next to site but very muddy and not ideal at all. We found small field near site but was advised that the farmer is not keen for dog walkers even though there were no signs and the gate was open. (Found this out near end of 2 weeks so it didn't matter much).

Hotel at back of site nice but pricey. One place I would recommend would be Connisten Lake it wins over Lake Windemere especially if the weather is nice. It is ideal for boat hire, the kids can paddle, there is a wee shop, plenty dogs around too. Beware the journey there if you get travel sick.YUK! windy roads.

Would recommend the site for families as the kids are out and about site most of the day on bikes, scooters and generally have a good (noisy) time.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laura31 20 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site with great views over Morecombe Bay. It has a play area for the children. You can walk to a nearby hotel that does ok food (nothing special). It is a really peaceful site in a very attractive location and I would recommend it. Lots to see and do in the area including the Lakes aquarium and boat trips to Bowness, Cartmel is a short drive away and there are some small shops (co-op) in Grange for groceries. Loos, showers etc usual CC high standard. We will return.

Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Woofs 6 reviews from this member

This was a superb site. We joined the Caravan Club just before we booked to save 7 a night. Well worth it in my opinion! The staff were really friendly and the site was very well sign posted for new arrivals (no second guessing where you were meant to go). The scenery around the site was beautiful - particularly when frost covered - and the children enjoyed the playpark. The facilities were excellent and very clean. We will definitely be going again.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oca999 9 reviews from this member

Yes the site is a little off the beaten track, but only 15 minutes or so off the M6 motorway. Beautiful views over towards arnside and silverdale area. Typical caravan club high standard.
Clean toilets etc. As you face the reception block the pitches down the hill to your left have the best views. Excellent site! For those who enjoy walking. Come out of the site and turn left to Grange over Sands, which is about 3 miles away. If you turn right and down the hill keep to your right for beautiful views. Sizerg farm is an excellent afternoon out. Working farm, where the cafe overlooks the milking sheds, plenty of farm trails, all signposted, the farm is well signposted as you head in the direction of the m6 motorway.
If you want to treat yourself make your way to Newby Bridge and head for the swan hotel.Not the cheapest place in the area , but you get what you pay for, and of course the railway station is just around the corner for a pleasant steam train ride without being overpriced

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Playfulpike 3 reviews from this member

We stayed 3 nights at Methop as part of a 2 site visit to the lakes.

This was my favourite of the two sites as the facilities were slightly better. There were plenty of showers with hot water, and toilets, a laundry room and dishwashing area, all kept clean and tidy.

Mostly hardstanding pitches, There were grass pitches but not being used, probably because of the rain.

The staff were welcoming and friendly on arrival and helpful if we had any questions. There is a information hut with lots of leaflets etc, and some people have left comments on places for you to look at.

There was a small play area at the bottom of the touring area so if you want to be away from the kids stay at the top end.

The dog walking area was a muddy path through a small wooded area between two roads, not really a proper walk so only used it once.

The local area has nothing to walk to other than a local hotel where you can take your dogs into the bar area for food, we found the food expensive as it was restaurant food at restaurant prices but served in the small crowded bar area where the hotel guests waited for their tables. Didn't really feel we were made to feel welcome so ate and left quickly.

Luckily we went with my brother and girlfiend who joined us in their trailer tent so was able to get lifts off them into surrounding areas for days out and shopping trips. Being in a motorhome I felt the site a little out of the way as we prefer to explore by foot, but just too far out for that.

I only saw one other motorhome in the 3 days.

Overall, nice site, good facilities but a little out of it for us.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Corolk 6 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights at this site with friends in their van. When we arrived reception staff pointed us in the direction of 2 grassy sloping pitches that were like the waves of the sea. After declining we were told to find any hard standing pitches available. We found 2 so didn't have to pitch on the hilly part. Site was the usual Caravan Club standard. No other complaints. We had booked on this site to attend the Steam Gathering in Flookburgh. We did this on Saturday and went to Windermere on Sunday to see an Air Show. It was very busy and very hot. Couldn't have got better weather. Have visited this site a couple of times before and would go again.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathymac 18 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 day stop at this site. It was really good but the road up to it is a bit scary, it's single track and very steep. Thank god we didnt meet anyone coming the other way. I see no point in repeating all the info said in previous reviews about showers etc, so heres something new. At the entrance of the park there is a lane/track leading to the woods where the dog walk area is. Pass this and you head up to the hotel. Great food and not over priced, It was great that the bar area is dog friendly. We spent a very pleasant couple of hours in there speaking to the locals. The bar will happly sell you a bottle of wine. Also on the walk into Grange there is an access path over the railway onto the beach. As its not a sunbathing type of beach but dogs are allowed. It's a great area to let them run off some energy.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019