Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Leek > Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Blackshaw Moor
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST13 8TL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 95
Open: 02/03 - 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
                8/10 from 68 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pickled Onion 7 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site many times as it's fairly local to our home. It was our first venture out this year due to Covid-19 shielding but we wanted to check everything over before our main holiday in North Devon.

The site was clean tidy and well run as usual but, . The top toilet block is shut and only two toilets and two showers in the main one were in use, when not closed for additional cleaning and only two people at a time can enter the building, (rubber wrist band hung on pegs, so no free pegs, you must queue until there is one.

Not ideal for I guess would be approximately 200 people as the site was full. To reduce pressure on these facilities we were asked to use our own facilities in our vans as much as possible.

However, during our stay, things changed for the better, top marks to the lady warden who argued with head office for quite some time to be allowed to alter it to 2 in toilets plus 2 in showers at the same time. A victory for common sense and social distancing still observed. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarahnev 2 reviews from this member

 The queue was really long in the hot sunshine - staff only communicate through a window - it took ages.

There was an awful smell of farmyard which pervaded the entire place - staff were cutting back the hedges and it was very noisy - we could hear road noise throughout the night.

My 4g didn't work properly and the television signal was rubbish.

There was only 1 facility open the other one was closed - why? There was tape all over the place and bins had been moved - again why? The chemical toilet emptying was a right pain to get to - we ended up going under barriers to access it - why?

We left after 1 night I couldn't stand the smell any more. Such a disappointment. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 38 reviews from this member

 I have given this site top marks and believe that wardens up and down the country should visit it and take example as to how a site should be. In my opinion, the level of customer service, the attention to detail with maintenance, the cleanliness of the whole site and enthusiasm of the current wardens should be applauded.

On the side of a hill, the site is terraced, surrounded by trees but not under tree cover, light and airy. Various small avenues to pitch on with ample room to negotiate position on each pitch. We chose the top of the site, furthest away from the main road in and our pitch was huge with low hedging to separate us from the next pitch. The hedging creates an element of privacy but doesn't isolate you at all from other campers.

Two toilet blocks, both equally clean and used respectfully by other clientele of the site. Small play area next to toilet block in the top of the site. Dog walk around the edge of the site enables an early morning, last thing at night dog walk, safe and adequate.

Around the site there are various ornaments, gardenalia, flower beds and even a wormery.

I applaud this site also for keeping lighting at night to a minimum. Some sites feel the need to try and compete with Blackpool illuminations but this site, less was definitely appreciated but still very safe to walk around after dark although we always carry a torch. It meant the night sky, crystal clear full of stars was very visible and beautiful to see.

We loved this site and wish it could be lifted up and repositioned in the middle of a national park or country estate as alas, our only niggle but a niggle to make us not visit again, the A53. We walk everywhere when away and the only way to and from the site to the few walks available without a compass and O/S map is a slim pavement alongside this busy 50 mph speed limit road which is used by farm vehicles, commuters and HGV'S alike. No chance of a conversation without shouting above the road noise, goodness knows what fumes are being inhaled and when a juggernaut passes, well, the draft does move you. If you use a vehicle to get around the area then this would not be something to put you off the site but for us, it took the edge off what was a really nice few days away and THE reason we will not return.

Please please caravan club officialdom, use the standard of this site at all your sites and you cannot go far wrong. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trenchfoot2010 9 reviews from this member

 First time out with our new caravan, so just a short trip to this site.

Access - great - new CAMC signs in both directions. Wide access and good holding point.

All the pitches seemed pretty level all hardstanding form first glance.

Although you feel in the country side (lots of trees) there is road noise. We were about a 1/3 of the way up the site and the sound of empty quarry waggons was noticeable from around 6:00AM. I'm sure that if you pitch further up the site the noise will be less noticeable.

We only ate out once. At the Reform Inn - disappointing - Gammon salty, pasta bland, lasagne sloppy.

There are plenty of other places to try.

Go to the Roaches tearoom - great lunches and cakes - but no beer! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jayarbee 29 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Blackshaw Moor Farm and we weren't disappointed, however there didn't seem to be any early warning on the road prior to the entrance so you need to be awake. On arrival the wardens were very friendly and helpful, so much so my wife commented on it more than once. Pointed out which pitches were available and where we may like. Off we went to set up.

Staff seemed much in evidence cleaning and maintaining.

Found the site very clean and tidy and same with the shower and toilet block my only gripe is the same across the estate, they're too small.

There was the usual washing up facilities along with laundry and good local info room.

A bonus here is the largish drying room for for walking clothes.

Pitches her seem gigantic and the wardens were quite clear on how to pitch, something I think is the norm now across the club.

Some people have mentioned the road noise but I can't say we noticed it.

The site has some historical interest in that it was built for Polish ex servicemen.

There is a bus stop close by and a good range of shops in Leek including supermarkets.

Leek is quite an interesting town and worth a visit if you have an interest in social history. It was a big silk town and the old mills are still there. Also have a look at the library.

Buxton is also worth a day. Do visit the museum and try 'The Tradesman's Entrance' for something to eat.

Bakewell also worth a look. Has large market but cannot remember which day. Shed loads of eating places here. Mind it was busy then so I expect it would be heaving in holiday time.

Our main hobby is walking and this is well catered for. We found the Pathfinder Peak District guide a good one but a look at your O. S. Map would probably work well.

We were very lucky with the weather and it was boots and rucksacks most days. Outstanding.

Our first visit to Staffordshire and we were well pleased so I think we'll be back, probably to this site. You can even hear the sealions at night. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GypsyWoman 1 review from this member

 Absolutely love this site. The wardens (Mike and Sheila ) are fantastic as are the deputy wardens. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They always had a smile for you. They couldn't do enough for our son who is Autistic and is in a wheelchair, they really went the extra mile for him.

The site is very well maintained and toilet/shower blocks are immaculate. Would recommend this site every time.

You can have a morning paper ordered and mobile chippy van comes on Saturday. There is also a little shop on site.

The pitches are nicely spaced out and as the site is tiered you can stay on a different level each time. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnfred20 11 reviews from this member

 Just spent 7days at this site with wife and found it nice and quiet which suited us perfectly. Site was kept clean and tidy. Showers and toilets were clean with plenty of hot water. Nearby leek had plenty of shops and all popular supermarkets. And some very good restaurants nearby. All the staff were very helpful. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mmg11468 6 reviews from this member

 What a lovely location. I've never been to this area before but will return and will stay at this site. Only 8 fully serviced pitches and had trouble finding dates with availability. I'm not surprised it's popular though.

Staff are very friendly and helpful and offered good advice about where to walk my dogs off lead. ( understandably not on the site)

Didn't use showers as prefer to use my own on a fully serviced pitch, but looked very clean. Toilets spotless.

Liked the herb garden, had some lovely pork chops from the butchers in Leek.

We will be back. Very quiet and peaceful. Some road noise but we are used to this coming from a town.

Lay in bed listening to owls hooting at night which is lovely.

All in all wish we were staying longer! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mogadon69 15 reviews from this member

 The site is set on a slight slope surrounded by mature trees, at the side of the A53, about 3 north of Leek, where you will find supermarkets, as well as indoor and outdoor markets. The site is terraced but some of the pitches still require levelling blocks and chocks. A lot of the pitches have hedges between and are very spacious, giving plenty of room for van, awning and vehicle. There is a small play area close to the top of the site, can't comment as no children with us.

There are two toilet blocks, one on the top level and one in the same building as the site reception. Both are heated, with spacious showers and privacy cubicles, with plenty of hot water and both blocks are immaculately clean. There is a laundry and drying room (for outdoor clothing).

The wardens are very friendly, chatty and helpful, even cutting an overhanging branch off a tree, so it wouldn't touch our van.

When we arrived the site was almost full, but never felt crowded.

The surrounding countryside is stunning, with plenty of walking in the immediate area, Tittesworth Resevoir is not far, and has a lovely visitor centre with a café. The Roaches, too, are within walking distance.

The Three Horseshoes is a short walk from the site, and serves hand pulled ales and good food, it is not cheap, but is more than your average pub grub. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunnyselsey 1 review from this member

 Just coming to the end of a two week stay. We have had an amazing time. The site is well kept, the toilet blocks pristine and the wardens have all been fantastic. We pitched on the second row from the top of the site. Had no problem with road noise. Tv reception was not good using our onboard aerial however got a perfect signal when using the site hook up. Dog walk facilities are adequate however there is a terrific Dog wash facility. Nearby tittesworth reservoir is a brilliant level walk for our canine friend. We have loved the scenery of this part of the country and the hospitality of everyone we have met has been warm and welcoming. Places to recommend are the tea rooms at hen cloud on the way up to the roaches and the lazy trout pub at nearby Meerbrook, brilliant food at a reasonable price. Nearby Leek has all the major supermarkets even a Waitrose. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leek      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2133 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement