Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Leek > Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Blackshaw Moor
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST13 8TL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 95
Open: 02/03 - 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 67 Reviews
                8/10 from 67 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suzzie 16 reviews from this member

 Found the site easily. On arrival found the female warden rather unhelpful with regards to which pitches we still vacant. Found a nice pitch at the bottom of the site (now as other reviews stated it wasn't at times peaceful)

The toilet etc where always clean (bottom block) but only three showers. On our last morning the heavens opened and our pitch plus several around us flooded due to the a mount of rain running from the top of site.

The site was well kept and a pretty site.

I would recommend the Three Horseshoe Pub a short walk away lovely food. Please avoid Ye Olde Rock Inn. Food terrible plus bad service.

I don't think I would visit this site again as we visited everything we planned to see. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeanius 19 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this lovely site. We only live 15 miles away but enjoy being away for a relaxing break sometimes without the 'big journey'.

Toilets clean (nice having two blocks that are not both closed at the same time for cleaning so there is always an option).

Three horseshoes is within a level walking distance (bit expensive though). Our favourite is Ye Olde Rock Inn, turn right out of the site, quarter of the way up the hill turn left (pub signposted) and it just on the right - big car park if you can't face the walk. It is a bit uphill in places but not too far. Food is really good and priced well. We also loved the Lazy Trout that is past Tittesworth Reservoir in Meerbrooke.

Road noise could be a problem on the bottom level of the site if you are not used to it. We find half way up the site is just right. When we were there the field behind at the top was being used by 3/4 youngsters on there scramble bikes but it didn't go on forever and most people were out and about anyway.

Wardens lovely. 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amaryllis 10 reviews from this member

 We visited this site over new years eve, which was windy and wet! The very top section of the site was closed along with the facilities which are positioned in that area.

The site is on a slope but most of the pitches appeared to be fairly level with only minimal use of additional levelling equipment evident throughout out the site. We had heavy rain during our stay and a couple of pitches were flooded, however it was clear that the wardens knew which were likely to flood as they were cordoned off. Our pitch was lovely and big with a small hedge separating us from our neighbours and a larger hedge separating us from the opposite pitches making it very private, many blue tits played in these hedges throughout our stay which was lovely to watch.

The toilet/ shower etc block situated by the reception office was to the usual very acceptable caravan club site and during our stay was kept warm and clean.

A bus passes the site a couple of times a day taking you to either Buxton or Leek depending on which way you go. It's not what I would call frequent, at three hourly intervals but with some forward planning a day out on the bus is possible. Leek is only 3/4 miles away and has a couple of small supermarkets and shops, pubs and restaurants. Buxton is a little further in the opposite direction but is a lovely Victorian town with a far bit to wander round and look at.

Turn left out of the site and stroll along for 5 mins and you will find the three horseshoe hotel. They have a bar menu which includes a carvery menu, we tried this and it was just lovely. I believe that there is also a restaurant with separate menu. About a mile out of the site to the right is another pub advertising food which we did not try due to the steep hill involved in getting back!

The wardens looking after the site over new year were lovely, friendly and helpful - a credit to the caravan club network. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigbird245 18 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a full week here. We had quite a problem negotiating to the site through Buxton (ended up going through the Town Centre which was tight!) but once we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The area, being in the Derbyshire Dales is VERY hilly but the site itself has small hill but ALL pitches seem flat and level! We were warmly greeted but given keys for the shower/toilet blocks. Not something we expected with a Caravan Club site! We noticed the site was busy but not full and having had a scout round, decided to pitch directly opposite the loo/shower block at the back with the play park only 4 pitches away.

We have a 10 & 11 year old who were slightly bemused by the fact that despite being told had a park, was essentially only a slide and a very small climbing frame, intended for I would say maximum of 8 years. We pitched the awning and were pleased we'd packed the rock pegs as all pitches were hard-standing.

We enjoyed the fish and chip van which came on Saturday night (very clean) and Morrisons is only 4 miles away maximum (This has a fuel station and cafe). Our boys had brought their scooters and amused themselves whilst we got set up, as always there is a one way system in place and thanks to the slight hill following the one way system the boys took great pleasure in scooting downhill then all the way back round uphill only to do it again. Whilst in the queue for the chip van, a Warden approached my eldest and shouted in his ear 'have you any idea how dangerous these are (pointing to his scooter)? Bemused my son replied 'pardon' and the man said these cause fatalities and broken bones. They are dangerous and you shouldn't ride them! Where are your parents?' I was stood right next to him and I replied 'right here, listening!' he humphed and stormed off to the back of the van to claim his free tea! From this, I take it that he doesn't like children and has left a nasty taste in my mouth. There were a couple of other children on site but only seemingly for a night or so.

There is lots to do in the area, Alton Towers is a mere 8 miles away max and Leek is 4. This is a lovely town, Buxton and Bakewell are also jewels in the Derbyshire crown.

The showers and Loos close at 10 - 11 everyday for cleaning and whilst being dated were always lovely and clean, we had rain everyday barring one whilst we were there and the pitch drained very well causing no problems. No problems with the electric and we have had that before on a CC site. There is a bus stop on the main road outside which I am told is regular and bus passes can be used despite being a private company. I would recommend to anyone who is looking to come to the area, just not with children! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Country Girl 21 reviews from this member

 This was one of the sites we used for week-ends on a regular basis up till about 10 years ago. I think we only stopped due to the limited footpaths accessible direct from the site and it's on a fast road and the kids were small.

Anyway, we're now child-free and have revisited with relatives this week-end and wondered why we stayed away so long.

The site is now all hardstandings and is of the usual cc site standard. Lots of pitches have great views of the area. We found the wardens friendly and laid back and the atmosphere on site was nice. We spent ages watching the dairy herd and tiny calves in the adjacent field - sadly, not a common sight these days.

We've always liked the town of Leek and in the intervening years it seems to have gone a little upmarket - but it's all to the good. There are lots of interesting one off shops. On Saturdays there is an antique/collectors market and usual market stalls in the indoor market (Buttercross, I think). Make a point of visiting the deli on sheepmarket - you will find yourself buying more than you intended, or sit outside and have a coffee. There are also plenty of antique shops to potter around in. Leek has some beautiful buildings and a canal. I believe James Brindly was involved in many of the buildings.

A walk around Rudyard Lake is lovely and there are a couple of cafes on the way.

You can walk to the 3 Horseshoes which is now also a hotel. The nice gardens have great views of The Roaches and the dogs were welcome. Didn't try the food (only the cup of olives which were divine) but the menu looked good and it was very busy. There's a separate area for afternoon teas. (Will have to add this to the do-list for our next visit!) Could've stayed all afternoon and the staff were cheerful.

The staffordshire moorlands always seem to lose out to the better known Derbyshire Peak District - please, give it a try, the views and walking are just as good and there are less crowds. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gingermagic 2 reviews from this member

 First time at this site. It's a lovely little site, very well kept, quiet and wardens helpful.

We picked this site due to it's proximity to Alton Towers and it's about a 20-30min drive from the site. I would come back again but as my children are both teenagers it was probably a bit quiet for them. For small children there's is a play area which is great but there's no real area for kicking a ball about or playing badminton for older kids.

The town of Buxton and further on Bakewell were lovely - really worth a drive to, not too far from the site.

Cannot recommend the 'Three horseshoe inn' pub/hotel highly enough - left out the site and a 3-5min walk. The food is fantastic!

The dog walk is adequate but not ideal for letting dogs have a good stretch in.

Tittesworth Reservoir was emply when we went and to be honest they have a good facility down there with the play area and cafe/restaurant but they charge for parking 2. 50. I found this annoying to walk around a reservoir where (a) you must keep dogs on leads; and (b) there's no cycling either. Severn Trent Water should get their act together, they have a beautiful natural facility and are not encouraging families to visit. Never in Scotland have I had to pay to go around a reservoir. And a half empty one at that!

Blackshaw Moor CC - thumbs up! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cwdc56768 8 reviews from this member

 Arrived at 12 noon on a gloriously sunny day. Never been to this site before and, to be honest, never thought of a holiday in or near to Leek. Love the Peaks, but Leek always seemed a bit too much Staffordshire to us. How wrong we were!

On entering the site the pitches close to the road had all of the south facing pitches taken. South facing, as in the side you put the awning. That tends to be our objective and from a ride around it would seem that most had that idea. So, if you want to face south, get in early.

The pitches at the front create a very attractive entrance to the park. One downside (for late arrivals)is that, having come straight in off the busy A53 Buxton to Leeek Road, we could see that there is no late night arrivals area. Anyway, back to the positives.

We had planned to find a pitch on the higher terrace right at the back of the site and ended up on plot 40 which is opposite the toilet block. No other vans in front of us just a grass verge which makes this part of the site almost a CL in style. There are some pitches further along this terrace which do have vans on the other side of the road, but from here you cannot see the other 70 odd pitches. You could be on just a small site and not one with some 89 pitches.

The middle terrace is the most attractive area. This has pitches for south facing awnings and opposite for north facing awnings. However, between the two there are bushes and young trees so that each line of vans cannot see the other. You cannot see the other 70 odd pitches either, so, again, it has a CL feeling.

There are small, intimate, areas that take about half a dozen vans, which are surrounded on most sides by trees obcuring the view of the rest of the park. To us it seems like a series of CLs joined into one. Thus the whole site has a somewhat intimate, and peaceful feel.

The attention to the siting of bushes, shrubberies and trees has created a most attractive site and, perhaps, the most attractive CC we have stayed on.

Front pitches do get the road noise but central and back terrace have the sound lost in the greenery.

The shop is as stocked as most CC sites. Nearest supermarket is the Co-Op which is on the A53 as you enter Leek. You can't miss it but its worth finding Morrisons. Co-op, 'good with food' they say, but its more like 'good with the price of food'! Try the Deli just off the Market place in town.

The magnet here are the Roaches. You can walk to them from the site but its a good half mile along the busy A53 to Upper Holme and then an uphill road climb of about mile - mile and a half, to the hills, or clouds as they like to call them round here. Take the car up the road beyond the village and eventually you come to some laybyes that can take 50 odd cars and start your walk from there.

Luds Church is an absolute must. Visit www.Roaches.Org.Uk/Walk1%205.Html for a very good guide of the route. Try going on a dry sunny day as the effect of the sunlight down through the chasm, picking out the shades of green on the mosses, ferns etc is quite stunning. It can get very muddy down in the chasm that is Luds Church so gaiters may be useful. The wood that you walk through to get there is a good old english woodland of mixed tree species rather than the conifers that seem to be all too prevalent. This setting encourages birdlife and is one of the few woods we have trekked that has birdsong throughout.Unlike your conifers.

Back at the site, there is a reasonable dog walk, in terms of its length, if the dog is not shattered after walking the length of the Roaches. Sadly there is no public footpath directly from the site, so, unless you fancy a stroll along the A53 this dog walk is all you have close to the site.

Toilet block next to the office is the best of the two. Nothing wrong with the one near our pitch, but the front block has tiles, marble effect partitions and just some extra thought and really nice touches in terms of finish. Thought that Chatsworth CC toilets were the best but these beat them!

A site and area that is well worth a visit 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Him and Me 4 reviews from this member

 Just enjoyed a lovely long weekend stay here. We're members of Caravan Club but this was our first visit to this particular site. Site itself is well laid out with hedging between each pitch, so plenty of room. 2 Toilet blocks - both dated but very clean and not too busy when we used them. Be prepared for a very long wait for the fish and chips - van turned up at 6.45 (as advised) but we didn't get our meal till about 7.45, despite being one of the first in the queue. I feel the 2 very nice people who ran the van may have been newcomers to the trade - meal was worth the wait though. We had a walk around the local reservoir (Tittesworth Water) about 4.5 miles. Very pleasant and not too strenuous. Only blot on the landscape was a very officious warden. He was like a throw back to the old Caravan Club days! Didn't come into contact with any of the other wardens, so can't comment on them. They don't offer a paper service which I find disappointing as it's the only time I get to read them cover to cover! Nearest supermarket is about 3 miles away in Leek. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jeanius 19 reviews from this member

 Very spacious pitches. Clean showers, toilets as clean as the person before you left it but generally good. TV hook up gave us excellent digital television.

Quiet away from the main road. Wardens very helpful and friendly. Local pub good beer but food expensive.

Winking Man pub 3 miles towards Buxton excellent food at reasonable cost. Buxton worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for six nights mid October. Found the site ok using the sat nav. Good welcome given by the wardens who told us to drive round and find a pitch that suited us then give them the number of the pitch.

We were surprised at how busy the site was for this time of year, mostly middle agers like ourselves, probably using the cheap mid week rate again like ourselves. Two sets of toilets and showers kept very clean as you would expect of caravan club.

Well laid out hardstandings with hedging between each space or if you prefer a more open aspect then there are more open pitches at the entrance. We set up on a more private wooded area which was just lovely, not too far from the showers. There is a small play area although when we visited there were no children at the site.

We went to the caravan and motorhome show at the NEC while we were there, about 1hour 20minutes from the caravan site and had a great day pretending we could afford a new caravan. ( I wish).

Loads to do in the area and we will have to return to fit it all in.

Chatsworth House.Fabulous.

Bakewell.Bought a 'cob' and some tea and sat in the lovely gardens right in the centre of the town.Lovely.

Visited Buxton and took lunch in the round tower that houses the university.

Visited a gorgeous little village called Eyam which has an intriguing tale to tell about the great plague.

Went on a cable car to visit some caves and a mine, and also at this attraction is a fabulous cafe which has a beautiful deck overlooking the fabulous peak district.Sorry I can't remember the name of the place, a tourist information centre should help.

All in all a fabulous area and will certainly be returning to explore more and would stay at this caravan site again. 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leek      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3530 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement