Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Leek > Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Blackshaw Moor
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST13 8TL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 95
Open: 02/03 - 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 67 Reviews
                8/10 from 67 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesley Wakefield 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site, as expected with a Caravan club site. The wardens are brilliant nothing is too much trouble. The grounds are well kept and you can tell the wardens love their job. There is some road noise, but if you can pitch at the top of the site its quieter. On the sunday a group of dirt bikers did use the field at the back of the site, this didn't bother us, as we were off out for the day, but I can imagine it would spoil the peace and quiet. The area is very scenic and a walk to the Roaches is very energetic, pint at the old rock a must. Planning another visit soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RosieWembly 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our first visit to this site - and we will be returning in the future. The site is easy to access - good for those of us who are not so confident in our towing skills. We had a pitch about half way up the site so not too much road noise - and convenient for both toilet blocks and the dog walk!

The shower blocks were both very clean - and the showers in the top block were found to be warm and with plentiful hot water. As others have said you will need longer than usual hook up cables, and a tv cable as the reception is not brilliant - it can be a bit off even with our newly bought cable (available from reception at 15) Staff were generally friendly and helpful.

We had a good day out in Leek and also a trip to Ashbourne and Dovedale with an unexpected dip for one of our dogs over the stepping stones! We had a meal out at the Three Horseshoes - they do a good carvery lunch for pensioners Mon-Fri for 6. 99 for 2 good sized courses, and some of our group took advantage of their spa one evening and returned very chilled. Overall we had a good time - helped by some proper sunshine - and look forward to our return. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 227 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- The site is situated directly off the A53 Leek to Buxton road. From Leek the site is about 3 miles on the right about 300 metres passed the Three Horseshoes pub.

Blackshaw Moor is a medium sized site with 89 pitches all of which are on hardstandings, non-members are accepted. The site gently climbs up from the main road. Pitches are in curved rows which gives a more intimate feel, some pitches are separated by hedges. To the side of the main access roads are small terraces of between four and six pitches. There are a number of serviced pitches with individual water and waste which can be booked at additional cost. The pitching area between the road and reception does suffer from some road noise. Most pitches seem to require a degree of fore and aft levelling. Electric points are convenient to pitches and use standard CEE 17 blue plugs rated at 16 amps. The bollards also have a co-ax TV connectors which are free to use but you have to provide your own cable or purchase one from reception. There are two toilet blocks of a nice standard the lower one next to reception being the larger of the two. Both blocks have a small fully enclosed washing up area. There are several water and waste water service points around the site but only one has a chemical disposal point but additional points are at the two toilet blocks. The motorhome service point has good access but still requires heavy drain covers to be removed in order to drain waste water. For children there is a small adventure style playground. The site has a dog walk that skirts the perimeter of the site on one side. There is site wide WiFi available which I found to be of reasonable speed, time can be purchased online. Reception sells a few essentials and next door is a small information room.

This site is within easy travelling distance of both Leek and Buxton and of course the wider Peak District. Reception sell local walking maps. For those that prefer to use public transport there is a three hourly bus service to both Leek and Buxton. This does not sound particularly regular but it does allow enough time between services to explore both towns. For shopping there are several supermarkets in Leek, the nearest being Waitrose. Both towns have a good mix of shops. For eating out closer to the campsite there is The Three Horseshoes about 300 metres from the entrance which seems to specialise in steak but there are many other menu options. The food is not cheap but the meals are substantial! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CarpenterClan 15 reviews from this member

 This site is on the A53 between Leek and Buxton, right on the edge of The Peak District, so good thing about that is no huge hills to pull your caravan up or down, no narrow, winding lanes to negotiate and a bus stop not very far away. Bad side of that is road noise if you pitch close to the road. Very friendly wardens, usual CC standard facilities, toilet/shower blocks positioned well so nobody is very far away. Dog walk around the perimeter is adequate. Not a very big play area for kiddies, no large areas of grass. Tittesworth Reservoir is 1. 5 miles away with marked walks, cafe and shops. They ask you to put your dog on the lead when near the visitor centre but apart from that they can run free. The pub The Lazy Trout at Meerbrook is very popular, great food and dog friendly. Leek is just three miles away. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alphonso De Lard 23 reviews from this member

 Weekend break taken purely to trial our new van. Facilities as expected from any CC site; clean, recently modernized and warm. Really friendly and helpful wardens. Booking in a pleasant experience, and given some great help and advice concerning TV ariel, including the purchase of a new TV hookup lead, much better quality than the one it replaced, and cheaper.

This is a tiered site set into a hillside, we were on a service pitch. Perhaps one of the most private pitches we've had on a CC site. Perfectly level.

I imagine in later spring through to late autumn the site looks beautiful, (ie when all the trees are in leaf), but at this time of year it did feel a little bleak. The farmer located next door livened the country air somewhat with his weekend of muck spreading. I don't mind the occasional bit of, country air, but this was full on, not the sites fault though.

Not a great deal to keep the daughter entertained, (10). I did ask her what to put in the review, and she wasn't totally negative - the little park located on the top tier was good for younger children she stated, but the lack of space for ball games and the (rightful IMO) ban on bikes and scooters

Made this site a little dull for her.

Popped into Leek on Saturday, great street market with some fantastic local food stalls. And a pub that shows football, (let the DD and OH view the market whilst I sampled the local ale and watched the end of a match). Small Asda handy from the site, but not really walkable.

To summarise, helpful and friendly wardens, easy access and spacious fairly private pitches. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moglett 5 reviews from this member

 Visited for a 2 night stay and had some lovely spring weather.

Tittesworth Reservoir is well worth a visit and is a short distance from the site. Also the drive to Bakewell is very picturesque especially in the sunshine! Would highly recommend The Peacock there for really good food and a nice pint of Chatsworth Gold.

The site itself is very well run, the wardens were extremely helpful and very friendly and do a really good job of maintaining the site. We were closest to the lower and newer facilities which were very good and extremely clean. This is a fairly small site but pitches are nicely spaced and terraced which adds to the feeling of space. Lovely views of The Roaches from our pitch.

All in all great site, great location and 10 out of 10 for the wardens! Would return. 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bowyer 20 reviews from this member

 Our first time staying on a Caravan Club site and it will not be the last. The two ladies at the reception were very pleasant and helpful. The site and shower toilet block was clean and impressive. We stayed close to the reception as the upper toilet block is closed for the winter; because there was plenty of choice for pitches this was no problem. There's plenty to do around the area; we walked to Leek via the nearby Tittesworth Reservoir and a bike ride to Rudyard Reservoir and back! Although the main road is busy there's not a lot of noise. This site is highly recommended and we intend to return next year. Thank you to the staff for their hard work! This ends my reviews for 2014 and Merry Christmas to everyone. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Georg Johannes 28 reviews from this member

 Really great staff which made my holiday. I am new to all this and a bit nervous about driving my motor home and managing on a site. The staff did not know this but were so welcoming. I had a bit of difficulty hooking up the electricity and within 5 minutes a warden had done it for me. When I drove by any member of staff during my stay they waved or smiled - and really seemed to mean it!

It is just so nice to be surrounded by pleasant people. They seemed such a happy team! It really does make all the difference.

I could choose my own pitch and was encouraged to drive around and pick one and then let the staff know where I was. I chose a very secluded spot under a huge oak tree with views of cows in a field. Lovely.

Chemical disposal spotless and no end of cleaning and tidying up the grounds going on all the time!

Totally recommended and will definitely be returning!

Thank you all. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chanel 5 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed staying at this site as its possible to walk to other places of interest without having to use the car all the time. We have a dog so its great to walk to the roaches which is not far & also we went in the opposite direction & had great views over the peak district. We called at a couple of pubs on our weekend away & found that they where very nice & welcoming( The 3 horseshoes & ye rock inn which I preferred. Leek is not far from the site, it is possible to wall there but we drove. There are plenty of shops there. The site we stayed on was kept very clean & the wardens were very welcoming. As we arrived late in the evening there was only a few pitches left so we ended up by the road which is very noisy if your not use to traffic noise. We would return to this site as its easy to get to & access was no problem. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Richard19540 24 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here and was very impressed with this site. Toilet/shower facilities were spotless, grounds were well kept. Road was a bit noisy but not too bad. There is a pub about 7 or 8 minutes walk on the road towards Leek. Something of a Hungry Horse or Bernie Inn (are they the same) feel about it ie no atmosphere whatsoever. Still the beer was OK. I have visited Leek on a few occasions and like the town. I think it must have more pubs than any town I know of comparable size which must make it worth a look. 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leek      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3600 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement