Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Leek > Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Blackshaw Moor
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST13 8TL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 95
Open: 02/03 - 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 67 Reviews
                8/10 from 67 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alibescat 30 reviews from this member

 Arrived 5pm friday evening to find almost all the pitches taken so tried to pitch on the hill right behind reception - not good idea. The warden was still tending to the gardens and came to assist - a cheerful chap offered to get the tractor but we said we would be OK.

Finally settled on pitch 10 backing on to the busy road - not idea as there's a lot of noise but OK for 2 nights. All the usual CC facilities 3 shower 3 sinks all immaculate and lovely and warm.

The site is Immaculate with striped grass - but the price for pretty grass is the warden seems to have his mower or blower going from 8.30 every morning !. Walked to the reservoir Saturday which is left out of the site 300 yards to the pub then down the road. Lovely long walk all pathed perfect for dogs. Had a pint and bacon and cheese oatcakes at the pub nice.

Satuday 7pm fish and chip van - we don't usually but glad we did the fish chips and mushy peas was 1st class.

Asked for late departure sunday and was granted till 2pm which gave us chance to pop to Leek before going home.

Stunning scenery right on the doorstep, would return but may try Grin Low next time ? 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RubyShoesDay 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights on this CC site to watch the Tour of Britain cycling race. Would have been nice for the site to have made some 'fuss' about the nations only event of this type going directly by the site but alas no, typical of the British attitude to cycling as a sport.

The site itself was up to the usual high standard of Caravan Club sites. The Motorhome service point was very well placed being direct after the area where you park to check in so no having to drive to the other side of the site to fill up with water then drive back round again. The toilet block at the bottom of the site next to reception was very clean, well lit and warm. A key was required for the block and a pass card to get through the barrier on and off the site during the late evening/night time. All pitches are hard standing and larger than some I have stayed on. TV reception is poor, even with a satellite dish we struggled to get a signal and plugged into the ariel point on the hook up bollard instead. We selected a pitch in a corner near the bottom of the site but it did suffer quite badly from road noise, so not ideal for the light sleeper.

A small shop would have been a welcome addition as the office did sell only the absolute bare essentials. A Fish and Chip van came onto the site on saturday evening but we didn't try their wares so can't comment. There is a local pub called the 3 Horseshoes a short walk away which seemed popular and did a roaring trade on the sunday as about 200 of us stood outside for an hour to watch the race. Seemed very popular place for dining too, service was good and a decent range of beer.

All in all a pleasurable stay, good facilities and welcoming staff. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Borochicken 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Blackshaw Moor for 3 nights in August. Very nice site, very clean facilities. We got told off for putting up a washing line as it's 'not the done thing and we don't want to appear like a gypsy camp' but it was done in a friendly enough manner (we'd only intended to dry the dog's towel not air our smalls!).

Close enough to Alton Towers that we visited there on two days, and the 3 Horseshoes over the road was a Godsend after a lot of walking in the theme park. Their carvery is absolutely divine.

I would definitely go back to this site, and would recommend it to anybody looking to stay in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesmalc 1 review from this member

 Had 3 nights at this site for our first ever outing. The wardens were very friendly and helpful. Pitches were large hard standing.

Office sold essentials. The shower blocks were very clean, so was the whole site.

Great place to see the sights of the peak district from. Leek town is lovely. Some great attractions around the site.

Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DizzyBlonde72 1 review from this member

 My husband, myself and our 2 boys (aged 10 and 13) stayed here for 3 nights over Easter.

Easy site to find surrounded by beautiful scenery, and a few steep hills- worth knowing when towing!

The site has security barriers, large, hardstanding pitches, clean washrooms (key needed), good play area and friendly wardens. Basic supplies available in the reception.

The only late night noise we heard (at back of site, away from road) was the hooting of owls!

It is a 5 minute car ride from Tittesworth Reservoir - good walks, play park and cafe, and a 10 minute drive from Leek town centre- some quaint shops and also several supermarkets.

We would visit the site again if ever in the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eclaire 17 reviews from this member

 Just visited for our first ever trip in our new (to us) RV.

Pre-booked online, site was fairly full when we arrived so we were allocated a pitch due to our size rather than going round and choosing our own. Warden came over and checked we were OK on the pitch, very friendly.

Excellent chip van on Saturday nights, toilets and showers clean.

Short but ok dog walk, some noisy dogs late at night and some road noise as right on the main road.

All hardstanding which made the site a little soul-less for us as we prefer grass, but nice big pitches and warden was happy for us to park any way we wanted which was very nice.

Tittesworth Reservoir very nice walk - 5 miles right round the reservoir or a shorter 2 mile loop through the woods, all well maintained tracks.

Only problem was when we left in the morning. We left at 8.30 and put the pitch keys / barrier card through the letter box but apparently we needed the card to get out as it was before 9am. Not sure how that would work as we would have had to use the card, go through the barrier, stop, run back and drop the keys off. Anyway, just a minor hiccup! 


Date of Visit: November 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chewie 30 reviews from this member

 The facilities were up to the usual high standard that members expect on CC sites. The lack of security gates was worrying, but that was the main criticism. The other minor thing was the lack of a shop, although the office can supply basics. The site itself is 3 layered and has toilet blocks at the top and bottom of the slope. All pitches are hard standing and we needed our rock pegs, but it was no more difficult than other sites.It was a cold wet week and so we had the site pretty much to ourselves; but the location is very good for exploring the Peak District. One word of caution; if approaching from the south (via leek) there is a slight hill that can be a struggle, but this is the best direction of approach as from the north and east there are huge climbs; we left and headed for Buxton over the high peaks and the Terrano struggled, but if you have a good towcar and suitable unit there should be no problems. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MAT912E 7 reviews from this member

 My wife, myself and our son (aged 1) stayed here for a weekend in September.

It was our first venture out in our caravan and we were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the site, easy to find surrounded by beautiful scenery!

The site has security barriers, large, hardstanding pitches, extremely clean washrooms (they give you a key), a play area and friendly staff. Basic supplies available in the reception including a tv cable which is essential (though we bought one from Wilko in Leek as it was much cheaper!). Good dog walking country this.

It is a 5 minute car ride from Tittesworth Reservoir - good walks, play park and cafe, though expensive to park and only 10 minutes drive from Leek town centre to find some unique and antique shops and also several supermarkets.

We had a day in Buxton, which is only a few miles away - lovely place to visit.

We are booked in again this year. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rexel 17 reviews from this member

 Ever so slightly frosty reception by staff, polite, but frosty all the same. Possibly as we had arrived 10 minutes before midday. A couple of others were there before us and we were all made to wait until midday before we were allowed onto site.

Nothing frosty about the other caravanners on site though. We were setting up in really wet conditions and were offered help and cups of tea from nearby pitches.

Large hardstanding pitches. Very hard standing, we bent numerous pegs trying to get the awning pegged down.

Two toilet blocks, block at the bottom of the site is newer.

Play area was closed as equipment had been deemed unsafe. This was a disappointment for our kids, but the weather was so wet they probably wouldn't have got much use out of it anyway.

Very muddy dog walk too. Take your wellies.

Tittesworth resevoir is nearby and has a kids play area and nice walks. 2 parking for 2 hours.

We also enjoyed a walk at Dovedale and the kids loved crossing the river by stepping stones. Again 2 parking. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tim Lyne 5 reviews from this member

 Great site with a good selection of pitches located on the edge of the Peak District National Park. Friendly staff and very clean facilities. The views over the Roaches from the site was hidden by trees. But I think this was more to hide the site from the Roaches which is fair enough. The pitches are nice and big and all on hard standing, they have a fair bit of rain around here. Had a good meal in the Three Horse Shoes 8 minutes walk along the road and also a superb meal at the Red Lion Thorncliffe where the service was a little slow but the food was well worth waiting for. I think it gets full so you may have to book, but well worth it.

Leek is a interesting town and good place to stock up on Staffordshire oatcakes.

Great site to visit but now on a diet! 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leek      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4060 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement