Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Leek > Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Blackshaw Moor
Leek
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST13 8TL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 95
Open: 02/03 - 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 67 Reviews
                8/10 from 67 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pjproby123 12 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site, on arrival the first thing you notice is the cleanliness of the site, after booking in we were given a map of the site and told to pick a pitch then wnt back and collect barrier card and keys to toilet blocks.

The amenities were spotless, the pitches are all hardstanding so you will need rock pegs for the awning, ehu also has TV points but you need along lead or you can purchase one from reception. The site has a small dog walk but you need to keep your dog on the lead as the walk is in the site.

Out of the site there are so many places to visit, a 5minute drive and you are in the historical market town of Leek that has market s twice a week a boot sale on Sundays at the cattle market and all the shops you could wish for, another great place for a day out is Rudyard Lake where you can walk around the lake or go by the miniature steam train, for a lovely meal visit Rudyard Hotel nice food and plenty of it. For lovely fish and chips visit Tony's in Leek when they're open there is a board out on main road, there are leaflets in the information room next to reception of numerous other place to visit, sadly even eight days is not enough time 


Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pikies 4 reviews from this member

 A lovely well kept site on the edge of the Roaches. A friendly welcome and shown to our pitch and asked if we needed any help. The toilets and other communal areas were spotless. A very pleasant 4 mile round trip walk to the lazy trout past Tittersworth reservoir where we had a very good lazy lunch plus they were dog friendly in the pub. Also the Threehorses is just up the road to sit outside if the weather is good as we have a dog. Overall very good value for money as we are in the camping and caravan club so 32. 00 for 2 nights and dogs go free. Enjoyed it so much we are going back again May day bank holiday for 3 nights and still good value at 67. 00. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cabsaab 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a cracking 4 nights. It was our last (and best!) outing of the year. From the moment we arrived (half an hour early) we had wonderful service. The lovely lady warden checked us in before time. That's never happened before in all our membership years. We've been made to wait till 12 or 1pm & felt like naughty schoolchildren. This was a site quite close to our home so we misjudged the journey time. We seem to get it more accurate with longer distances. The site and facilities were second to none. If you visit there in the future we can recommend a visit to the Gladstone Pottery Museum in Stoke. Also Leek is a lovely little town with a small but good covered market. We had one of the best pub meals ever at the Lazy Trout, Meerbrook. They have a quite small menu but concentrate on quality rather than quantity. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Taylpa 4 reviews from this member

 A nicely laid out and quiet site, if you stay away from the main road that is. Wardens seemed no worse than anywhere else, better than some. Good long dog walk and fish & chips on Saturday night. Would like to go again if only to get up onto the roaches. Took the long slightly dodgy walk on the road to the reservoir at Meerbrook (there is a footpath if you have a map) and visited The Lazy Trout pub. An excellent little pub serving good beer and a good menu, although didn't eat there. Most importantly, they do let dogs into the bar area. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shotrock 21 reviews from this member

 Arrived after a long drive to the site. Was met by a helpful warden and were allowed to found our own vacant pitch at the top of the site opposite the shower block. Entry to toilets is via a key as is the barrier at the entrance to the site. The shower block appeared new and was very clean and tidy. We visited the potteries in Stoke and can recommend the Gladstone museum. We ate at the Thai in Leek but cannot recommend as the food was poor. Went to Ye Old Rock Inn down the road just for a drink which was fine but the menu did not look up to much. Overall the site was excellent and would stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kimc66 6 reviews from this member

 Great site. When we arrived thought there was going to be a few rules about the place ie how you MUST park your vehicle etc which I appreciate as safety is important but the rules didn't turn out to be that bad as I thought. Nice friendly staff. Nice and quiet apart from some dogs barking but that's the fault of the owners and not the site, Great clean showers, easy walk about 10 minutes to three horseshoe pub and they do a great bacon sandwich. No shops nearby and nearest town you would have to get a bus (which stops outside site) however the shop stocks some essentials. Lovely walk to the reservoir about 1 mile and then a 4.75 mile walk around the water with some steep parts. The fish and chip van comes on a Saturday between 5-6pm yummy. It doesn't allow tents so our friends stayed down the road in the next site. The only fault is I prefer grass pitches rather than gravel but it doesn't put me off and I would return again 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jofretwell 1 review from this member

 Compelled to write a review after a fantastic visit here. A lot of reviews state unfriendliness of staff, this is the opposite of what we found, so either it has new staff or they have learnt from their poor reviews. The staff couldn't do enough even opening the shop for my daughter to get a 10p chocolate bar half hour before they were due to open. I was actually put off staying by previous reviews and sent my husband in to book in but he came out saying the staff couldn't have been nicer.

Site was clean and all you would expect from a quality caravan club site, beautiful area, pub nearby despite being expensive was in a wonderful position with the beer garden overlooking The Roaches. Tittesworth reservoir, a walk away has a fantastic play area, play area on site also nice. Arrangement of pitch we were in and some others in alcoves gave nice bit of privacy. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motorhomemadness 7 reviews from this member

 We visited this site @end of May 2013.

2 adults one teenager and dogs.

The site was very well kept.

We had a hard standing at the top of the site, near to the play area and the top toilet block. The toilet block was clean and tidy.

Good play area for the little ones.

Dog walk on edge of site behind some of the pitches. Muddy.

Wardens were NOT very friendly, did their job, nothing more, No smiles or 'hello' when they were walking around the site.

We visited Trentham gardens to see the monkeys walking about. Very interesting. No dogs allowed in for obvious reasons!

We went to Rudyard Reservoir one day. After whom Rudyard

Kipling got, his name. Walked around the Reservoir. Easy walking with a stop half way at the Visitor

Centre and cafe and toilets. Food, very good and reasonably priced. There is a miniature railway along one side of the reservoir which is lovely for the little ones.

The Three Horseshoes Pub is a short walk away. No dogs allowed inside. It has good bar food, a carvery and a brasserie.

There is another pub in the opposite direction in the next village. It is up quite a steep hill and along the very busy main road. Not open when we arrived. Opens @6pm.

Would we visit, again? maybe or maybe stay on the

Caravan and Camping site which is just up the road. , and was more, friendly when we stayed there last year! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mcguirem 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site what is expected from a Caravan Club site, stayed on the top level very quite and spacious.

No small children with us so can't comment on child friendliness.

Surroundings are lovely visited the Reservoir had afternoon tea in the information centre, scones are really nice. Visited three horseshoes inn lovely food.

Will be returning this year as we have friends to visit in the area so it will be Blackshaw Moor first choice. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yvonnepadley 15 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for 2 nights over weekend. Arrived on Friday lunchtime, check in very quick and easy, site was pretty empty so lots of pitches to choose from.

We selected a site on the top tier because we had read the reviews informing us of the road noise on the lower levels.

We could still hear some road noise but it did not disturb us at all.

The toilet block at the top of the field is very old the entrance is very dark and dingy, desperately needs a refurb.

The toilets/showers on the lower levels are much better.

Once again there is a key system to get into the toilet/shower block which I just find annoying having to keep remembering to take the key with you.

The pitches are good on this site most of them have a privacy hedge around them. We had an end pitch which was very spacious.

Can recommend the 3 horseshoes inn which is within walking distance of site. Had a really nice carvery there, good value for money for the area.

We did a cycle ride on the manifold trail which is a very safe off road cycle route (suitable for children) which is about 5 miles from the site.

We enjoyed our weekend at this site and would definitely return to the area. 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Blackshaw Moor Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leek      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3621 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement