Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glenesk Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Edzell > Glenesk Caravan Park Reviews

Glenesk Caravan Park
The Burn Estate
Edzell
Angus   (Browse area)
DD9 7YP
Tel: 01356 648565
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
                9/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindahoskin 1 review from this member

 Stayed here on Saturday with our lab Mabel. Lovely welcome from staff.

You can choose your own pitch. Amazing site, beautiful walks. Just fabulous.

No WiFi, no tv signal so PERFECT ! Just what we wanted an off grid break. We bar b queued, we drank wine, played games. We had an amazing stay.

Thanks all will definitely be back. Love this place ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joanmc 1 review from this member

 The pitch we used was nice and dry and good quality grass.

People had mentioned toilets not being clean, when we were there they were always clean. Toilets could do with an upgrade and a few more situated near camping ground, long trek during the night.

There is a small village near by where there is a coffee shop/ a hotel which served food and drink, some shops for things you may have forgot (including logs)

Great base for touring around area. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mur49 3 reviews from this member

 Booked for two nights but left after one. Site looks run down and I found it depressing.

No signal for TV or phone. No motorhome service point.

Toilets antiquated and only two toilets and two showers in the gents, for a site with over 50 pitches.

Would not return. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MalcolmR 35 reviews from this member

 Camped here 12 years ago in a tent and now this time in our Caravan, things have not really changed. It has a small shop on site for papers and has the basic essentials, a small cafť with a varied menu.

Set the caravan up near to the pond area on a flat hard standing, the pitch it was easy to peg out. The Tv reception was very poor, same as Phone signal and wifi but did find out they do have a few pitches with freesat tv points available.

A very relaxing friendly site ideal for dog walkers, lovely walks direct from the site, kids have a good sized play park. Can get busy at the weekends but there was very little noise. The site is located in amongst trees lots of them ideal if it is very hot for shade or from the winds and driving rain, but you do not really get the sun.

The facilities are RETO well dated in need of a upgrade, and more attention would be needed to clean them more regularly. Three loos in the Gents when we were there one loo had a busted seat no paper, one had no paper and the other did have paper but the whole loo was wobbly. That was like it for well over a day and following morning.

The floors were a bit muddy too as it had rained with the lack of floor mats to wipe ones feet. Showers cost 20p for about 10mins, no buckets of clean water available to mop the floors, or squeegee the floor tiles. Two stainless steel outside sinks, ok if not raining. For the Tent campers in the top field it is quite a long walk for the use of the facilities.

Its a bit like going back to basics in camping facilities but certainly a lovely peaceful setting we enjoyed our weekend very relaxing and would recommend to others but point out the facilities. It was very easy to access on the roads with the caravan.

The folk running the site were very nice indeed and helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Reuben 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 3 nights & thoroughly enjoyed it. Great site thatís not regimented & you can choose your own very spacious pitch. The ones by the small lake are the most popular. When we arrived there was plenty of choice & there were free pitches all weekend.

Didnít see any shop but the cafe was open & the staff are very friendly. The fishing was free as the weed covered 90% of the large pond. I fished it over the 3 days & caught plenty of quality Roach & small Perch. Not sure if there are any Carp left in the place as there were none showing nor rolling.

Given the fact that there were 2 blokes catching fish & putting them in a plastic bag then taking them back to their tent - you can guess which part of Europe they were from - I fear that the fish population will rapidly decline.

A great site, though, & one to which weíll return. Note that that Panmuir Arms in Edzell is NOT dog friendly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doug Findlay 59 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. From the friendliness of the owner to the breathtaking pitches and facilities. It is like wild camping but with the luxury of water, electric and toilet block on hand.

Facilities were kept spotless and nothing too much trouble. You can arrive at any time and arrange a late departure with no 'extra' costs involved.

Small shop on site which will order your morning paper and has the basic essentials. Just opened a small cafť which has a varied menu and ideal for campers and visitors to the area, keenly priced and good quality fare.

We pitched at the 'pond' which was visited by an osprey on our first day which we have since seen several times now on the lovely walks direct from the site. Although it gets busy at the weekends there is very little noise and it does cater for the kids with a good sized playpark.

It is only 3/4 hour travel for us but it seems a million miles away. Definitely recommend if you want to get away from it all for a long weekend or even longer !.

Doug & Jenny with the dogs Lunya & Bute 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dycer 1 review from this member

 Absolutely peaceful time. Stayed a week, busy at weekend but they let you know this.

Fantastic hospitality, everyone very friendly, as I was on my own I felt safe and comfortable.

Great walks and you always meet someone along the way. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Coolee 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another weekend at this amazing tranquil site. Set around a small lake surrounded by trees.

Amazing wildlife in the area inc the ospreys, deer in the woods and a great display of dragon flies. No internet, phone or tv reception so very quiet and relaxed.

Toilet shower block is dated but clean and functional and with the newly opened cafe on site you canít go wrong.

Nick, the owner works tirelessly at all hours and canít do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hamishmac 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful weekend topped with seeing a juvenile osprey diving into the lake for breakfast.

Toilet block was functional and clean and there were a number of return campers. Great value and is the weather always this good. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graham Haddow 14 reviews from this member

 How many sites can you go to and watch an osprey forty yards away swoop down and take fish twice in thirty minutes!

Probably the most tranquil site we've stayed on over the past few years. Beautiful woodland setting with lovely pond, rabbits, ducks and ducklings.

A friendly, helpful welcome and when I booked I was told I could arrive at any time (not like some sites where you get a telling off for being too early).

Spacious 'wild' pitches, toilet/shower facilities are fine and very clean. No telephone reception and you need a tv box to connect up to the site's satellite.

WiFi ok around reception but weaker further away. Brilliant woodland dog walk directly from the site. It was very quiet when we were there so don't know what it is like when busy. I would recommend. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glenesk Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glenesk Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Glenesk Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Edzell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2217 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement