Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glenesk Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Edzell > Glenesk Caravan Park Reviews

Glenesk Caravan Park
The Burn Estate
Edzell
Angus   (Browse area)
DD9 7YP
Tel: 01356 648565
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KateHarkin 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site for five nights, site is very nice so peaceful we had a lot of dogs with us and were made very welcome.

Only problem we had was we could not get a phone signal but we managed, would go back tot his site 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Flying yorkshireman 2 reviews from this member

 We dropped onto this site almost by accident but were very pleased we did.

It's a spacious woodland setting with pitches on separate emplacements, such a pleasant change from the regimented rows of statics or wide open fields of many Scottish sites.

As said before it's a bit dated -the toilet block and games room probably was state of the art in the '70s, and has only had minor updating since. Showers were 20p, which I thought was ok if only to stop kids spending hours in there.

One site where we could stay on site all day and feel we were having a good holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HappyCampersScot 1 review from this member

 Hidden gem on the borders of Angus and Aberdeenshire. Wild camping with facilities. Park, club room with pool table, table tennis, tv, games, books and small shop selling sweets, juice and ice cream.

Toilets clean and been painted and some new tiles since our last visit.

Lots of beautiful scenery, walks and cycling routes.

Edzell few mins drive or 30 min easy walk, cafes, shop, chippy, hotel and pub.

Brechin 10 min drive coop, farm foods, Lidl, small Tesco, Soft Play (crazy castle), Castle Centre, leisure centre ect

Great base or weekend retreat.

£20 a night 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alonzee 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site situated in the woods, around a pond, with resident ducks and a nesting pair of herons on the wee island. The pitches are spacious and the site is clean and tidy with a community area which includes TV lounge and small games room with pool table and Table tennis. The toilet facilities are a little dated, but adequate and clean. I think that you would best describe them as 'retro' :)

The staff were welcoming and helpful and the pitch was well priced at £20 per night, with hookup.

We will definitely return for another visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rod+Ali 18 reviews from this member

 The location of the site is great - right at the bottom of Glenesk and a lovely riverside walk of about 2 miles to the village of Edzell where there are a couple of pubs and a Spar shop. Apart from slight noise from the occasional car passing it is a very peaceful and tranquil site. The welcome from the two ladies who appear to run the site was warm and helpful. The pitches are a variety of hard standing and “wild” pitches in the woods. Several pitches are by the side of the fishing loch (where, surprisingly, the usual midges didn’t seem to be a problem).

The downside was the toilet block…………it really lets the site down. Firstly - there was only one block for the whole site, which left quite a trek for those in the furthest away pitches. The building was very dated and with only 2 showers per gender, sadly inadequate - plus, having paid £20 a night for a pitch, I don’t expect to have to pay 20p for a shower !

This site has really great potential but is sadly let down by the toilet/shower block.

I probably would stay here again, if only for the location and the peace and quiet. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leolion 12 reviews from this member

 Arrived here in our hi-gear Corado 8 tent we were to find our own pitch as per note at reception, we toured around until we found one which was big enough, a few before that we told from another camper that the electric hook up not working.

The site itself has a lot of tree stumps that are covered in long grass which makes it harder for smaller tents the hard standing areas have weeds and moss on them and the toilet block could be doing with a good make over very dated.

The hot water at the dish washing not working. The site has potential but would need a lot of work done on the 6 months when closed. As other people say staff friendly and lovely walks near by.

Overall silly wee things could be done to improve the place, I have been on sites where it's the same cost but better facilities and only charge is for laundry not showers if going to charge for different things then then put money back into upkeep. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Swift Royale 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, but could be so much better with some care, attention and investment. Sited round a small lochan, with mature trees and a rustic feel, the facilities are a bit care worn - toilets cold and dated, the recreation facilities need refreshed, and the trees could do with thinning - but the service is always good. Very quiet and peaceful, perhaps because of little to no phone reception, some wifi from the phone box at reception. Maybe a touch expensive for what it offers, but overall an enjoyable place to visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ET14 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights during the Easter school holidays. We chose the park after reading the reviews and we were very happy with the site. We pitched up at the loch side and it was a lovely pitch, it was hard standing and we never had the correct pegs but we still managed to site the awning, the pitch was ample space for the van, awning and estate car. Toilet block was just across from us and as the reviews say it is not ultra modern but it was spotless and the shower was very good and 20p was enough for a good shower, plenty of room for clothes also. We all used the games room and played ping pong and pool. Also used the lounge for the tv and for the internet. The site is very good placed for some great walks and we went to corrie fee which we all enjoyed. Our boys are aged 8 and 11 and they loved their holiday, they really bonded with the family of ducks and the 10 ducklings. The staff are very friendly and helpful, we liked that it is a set price and not all the add ones. We will definitely be back to this site. We have been caravanning, motorhoming for nearly 12 years and the site suited us perfectly. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ali j 4 reviews from this member

 We had a 6 night stay at this lovely site. When we arrived we were told we could pitch where we wanted, we ended up on hardstanding (as the tent is rather large and would not fit properly on the tent pitch with hook up) but that was fine. The site owners are really welcoming and friendly. The toilet block is dated but well maintained and clean, showers are 20p which I thought was good value. In the reception area there's a tv, lovely view out over the fishing pond, pool table and ping pong. There is an inside washing up area in reception but no freezer for ice blocks although we managed without anyway. There are some lovely places to go walking in the area. We had a smashing meal at the local hotel too. ( The Panmure Arms). 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sonia Leiper74 1 review from this member

 Well we are just back from a 2 night stay at this beautiful little site. When we arrived we were told we could pitch where we wanted, only to stay away from certain pitches as they had a hookup for satellite tv. The site manageress was very welcoming and friendly. Once we had pitched our tent (in the thunder!) we want for a walk round the site to find all facilities. The toilet block is well maintained and clean, showers are 20p but who grudges that for a shower?? My kids are a bit big for the playpark but there was enough to keep younger kids happy. In the reception area there's a tv, lovely view out over the fishing pond, pool table and ping pong. We only went as far as Edzell to stock up on bread and milk but there's not much there but a really nice walk.

All in all a fantastic wee site which we are definitely going back to (possibly later this year). 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glenesk Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glenesk Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Glenesk Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Edzell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2210 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement