Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glenesk Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Edzell > Glenesk Caravan Park Reviews

Glenesk Caravan Park
The Burn Estate
Edzell
Angus   (Browse area)
DD9 7YP
Tel: 01356 648565
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Miss celie 7 reviews from this member

 Nice little site hadn't booked but it was no problem. We got a choice of pitches beside the little lake. All pitches are in the trees so lots of shelter.

The ducks were a laugh - after feeding them when we arrived we were plagued by them but not in a bad way they were very funny and I took lots of photos of them.

Well stocked little tuck shop for essentials and tv and games room which we didn't use. The only downside was the fact that the heating was not on in the toilet/shower block.

I know it is June but it was cold so much so that in the evening you could see your breath outside - Scottish summers are not what they used to be!

No tv/satellite or mobile reception but hey its a forest park you arent there to watch tv or surf the net! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kmcdonal 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night in a tent, at this popular campsite, site is in a wooded area but there is a grassed area especially for tents, although you can pitch anywhere.

There is a good sized reception area which has freeview Tv and a games room next door (comes in handy if its raining!(pool table and table tennis)and a laundry room too.

There is also a pond in the centre which can be fished, also a large number of Friendly ducks!. Toilet block is ok could do with modernisation but was always clean, small play park for the kids which was ok.

Really can't fault this site at all. An excellent site in close proxity for access to the hills. Edzell is the nearest village for supplies 5mins by car. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsStorage 2 reviews from this member

 We had a very pleasant weekend at Glenesk.

The camping area is a field set away from the caravan/motorhome pitches and indeed the washroom, and we were advised to not camp on the lowest tier as it was wet. We were offered a hardstanding pitch if we wanted but the camping field was lovely.

The playarea was fine but our children (5, 3, 1) didn't like the midgies as it got darker and were then just as happy playing on the field outside the tent and in the woods. The ducks on the lake were a hit too.

The toilet block was quite a hike from the camping field with small children in tow, but clean, properly stocked and the showers were long enough for me and definitely hot (no probs with the 20p fee).

The washing up block with a drying airer (very useful given we had 12 hours solid rain on the Saturday) also has the games room and telly lounge - also very useful given we had 12 hours of solid rain!

We went to Glamis Castle, Brechin Castle centre and the JM Barrie House - all on the Saturday but stayed at the site on the Sunday as it was such a gorgeous day and the boys so happy in the woods. Edzell Castle is fabulous and has a super playarea nearby.

I think the only inconvenience was that we needed to park the car in the carpark, not by the tent, but I suspect that's because if cars drive on the soft grass it'll ruin it. But probably also because of access for the emergency services.

In conclusion, a clean, quiet and very pleasant stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: No1draft 1 review from this member

 Great site. Small camping area but owner said they have never turned anyone away and uses spare caravan pitches if required.

Small football pitch and park for kids. Very quiet. Clean. Toilets and showers good (20p for a shower). Little shop and tv and play room.

We will be back next year.

We went to Arbroath (about half hour ish away) to the amusements which was good fun.

Stopped at the Ashvale chip shop (one of scotlands best) in Brechin and took them back to tent. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rich the Adria 2 reviews from this member

 This site is fantastic, in fact it is the main reason we have a caravan.

The park is well laid out and allows privacy if required but can also accomodate a couple of units holidaying together as the only barriers are the mature trees.

The children's play area is exceptionally popular with our seven year old who practically lives there, we only live 40 minutes away and go every weekend we can. The layout is such that a moving car can be seen well before it is a problem which means all the kids cycle around the site, in fact we taught out daughter to cycle at the caravan park.

The lochan is very well stocked with Carp, Tench and Roach. No coarse fishing expertise or special bate is required. A rod of around 9ft with a good slim float and a loaf of bread will keep you busy all day. ( Barbless hooks are insisted upon )

The shower and toilet block is kept very clean, it has however been used well in its not so short life. The showers are 20p a go and are hot and powerful. In fact we have been going there since the July last year and we have never known the showers run out of hot water, and we are always the last ones in!

Some great walks around as others have said and if you are coming from further afield like Englandshire then you may be interested in the attractions that Angus has to offer -

Glamis Castle

J M Barrie's Birthplace (Peter Pan) in Kirriemuir

Arbroath for the Smokies and the Bell Rock Lighthouse museum

Countless Golf Courses - Carnoustie is within an hour, St Andrews within 2 hours and loads of other smaller clubs with excellent courses.

Countless Fishing Opportunities - Rivers like the South Esk and North Esk, Lochs like Roscobie (Nr Forfar), Lintrathen (Nr Alyth), Fisheries include Kingennie(nr Dundee), Glen Clova (Nr Forfar), Carlogie Dam (Nr Carnoustie)

Cycling the Angus roads is so good my father in law moved from Glasgow to Forfar because the roads were so much quieter and much more fun.

Last but not least is the price, this season it is 16.00 per night. This includes your pitch, Electric Hook Up, Awning ( Porch or Full it doesn't matter ) and however many people your caravan is designed for. Add to that the management are happy for you to leave when you are ready and there is no midday deadline as long as you don't push it too long!

All in all a very well run site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geoki 22 reviews from this member

 This is our second trip to this site. Last year we were up at the top end as there was a huge group of us. This year we were in the pitches by the wee lake.

This is a very 'unspoiled' site almost rustic in it's charm. As others have said the toilet block is a bit basic, but the 20p showers are by far the best showers I've ever come across at a site to date. They really do put the power into shower!

As we always have the fishing nets in the 'van, our two had a great time pottering round with a bucket and the nets catching the tadpoles that are in abundance just now.

With Edzell just a 5 minute drive from the site you have a few basic shops on hand, and Brechin is only five miles from there for Tescos.

We can highly recommend a trip along the glen to the Loch at the end [a mile from the car park]. We'd also highly, highly, recommend stopping at 'The Retreat' for their food, free wifi and if you've younger children, a trip round the rural museum.

We are definitely returning to this site.And have added it to our favourites list. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D74blue 3 reviews from this member

 First the positives, this site is set in beautiful countryside with gorgeous views. There were no set pitches so we set up on the top tier (there were 3).

The place had good facilities including a games room (table tennis & pool) and there is also a tv room with limited sky channels and plenty books, some board games and colouring books for the younger kids and there is a pond which is good for kids with fishing nets.

We paid 24 for 2 night which I thought was reasonable. There was a small play area for kids but boys weren't impressed by it and preferred to run about in the large grassy area.

Only 2 miles from Edzell, which has a great chippy / ice cream shop. The blue door walk was amazing and is a must for everyone visiting the area,even to paddle in the river (which the boys loved, due to the heat!).

Now the negatives, not many but valid. No cars are allowed beside the tents which is quite inconvenient when all equipment is in the car, so we made a few trips back and forth for bits & bobs.

The toilet block, although a bit dated was clean, but on Sunday morning all the toilets were blocked up and the hot water coming from sinks was brown and they are quite a walk from the camping area which isn't good for the little ones or when its raining.

20p for a shower which we didn't discover until we got there, luckily I had my purse on me, but it was a good hot shower. Like I say the only let downs were the fact the toilet block so far away and you couldn't have the car with us. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rascal808 1 review from this member

 This small site enjoys a lovely quiet woodland setting, absolutely ideal for those 'get away from it all' weekends or longer.

Set in an unspoilt Angus Glen with some fantastic walks in the woods, up the glen or by the river Esk you should have some time to yourselves in this little gem of a spot in North East Scotland.

All pitches have hookups, even some space for larger tents to get a hookup if required!

Our kids enjoyed the little play area, which is surrounded by pitches in amongst the trees but we chose to stay next to the pond to enjoy the Moorhens, ducks and of course the fish jumping out to tease any hopeful fishers.

If fishing is something you enjoy then this should keep you happy, although there's no Scottish trout to be had - only coarse fishing, but after my first trip here the kids and I had some luck with the Carp (at least I think it was Carp!)

The fee was very reasonable and the facilities adequate, although the toilet block did get a little shabby after a serious downpour on a busy weekend. Everything worked ok though, and that's what matters.

All in all a very nice wee site, one we will be returning to many times in the future I bet. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Greyhound Pair 1 review from this member

 My wife and I (plus four dogs in total) have stayed many times at Glenesk over the last five years.

How anyone can criticise this site is beyond us. The owners and staff over the years have been overtly friendly and helpful, the toilet blocks are clean, tidy and well maintained.

The tent site is ideal but the bottom tier should be avoided in adverse weather.

The walk to the toilets isn't exactly a 'Granny stopper', if you find it too far perhaps you shouldn't be camping in the first place!

A simply superb site, friendly, clean and exceedingly cheap.

Basic? Yes!But that is why we and many others love it! Please don't change. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: K+JGat 8 reviews from this member

 A quite wooded site. Forget your mobile phone and if you want to watch TV then best to have satellite or a good directional aerial. My wife and I have visited this site on a number of occasions - the reason = Fishing.

The site has a relatively small lake (not really a loch but more a large pond which, prior to this year (2009), the fishing (coarse fishing only) was free. In early 2009 the lake has been restocked with Common and Mirror Carp as well a Tench. The lake already had a stock of Roach. In a few years time this lake will be a popular site for serious Carp anglers. A days fishing will cost 8 and half day 5 and only available to those booked into the site and not available to day visitors. There is a trout loch a short walk away but it seems that fishing this loch is not possible at the moment due to a dispute with the local farmer.

If your not into angling then no problem you will be spoilt for choice with the excellent woodland walks and peaceful area with Edzell village only a couple of miles away.

Toilet and Showers are adequate but for some pitches a short walk away, a little further if you are a tent camper.

The site has a games and TV room to entertain the children.

On the down side the site could do with a little upgrade but saying that if your looking for a non commercial site and out of the way then this is the site for you. 


Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glenesk Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glenesk Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Glenesk Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Edzell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4143 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement