Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gallaber Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Gallaber Park Reviews

Gallaber Park
Long Preston
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 4QF
Tel: 01729 851397
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 63
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jnwrkb 1 review from this member

 Excellent! Cannot fault except for no food served in bar (Council objection)!

Loved rabbits everywhere,

All very clean, friendly helpful staff, nothing to complain about apart from the weather! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Peter4 1 review from this member

 Got to site a little late,

The night manager was really helpful (we were first time caravanners) nothing was too much trouble,

Nice site,

Lots of rabbits and really powerful showers 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bella 1 1 review from this member

 Me and my husband spent new year's eve at the stag on gallaber park. What a fantastic night.

The staff were brilliant, great atmosphere. buffet and entertainment was excellent

Everyone had a great time 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JanetB1968 4 reviews from this member

 Very well kept site in an excellent location.

The facilities are 5*, beautiful clubhouse and modern gym, toilets and showers are extremely clean.

Plenty of areas to walk the dog and very friendly staff.

They also have a 9 hole golf course.

Canít wait to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Smaybelline 3 reviews from this member

 Wow, Absolutely stunning park. Pitches are spacious with large grass areas for children and dogs to play. Pitches 60-66 are stunning with woodland behind. Little bunnies can be seen hopping all around. It is just so peaceful and beautiful.

The warden and groundsmen clearly look after this park, there isn't anything out of place - The grass was mowed to perfection, the bathroom facilities were the best I've seen on a site.

Spacious showers, underfloor heating (so nice!), everything was so clean and sparkling! We loved our stay, the night was quiet and the morning was really quiet even though there were a lot of units on the site. The golf area was a hit with my 6 year old, he loved it (Free clubs from reception).

We didn't use the bar or gym so can't comment on those facilities. Check in was quick and easy, the receptionist was lovely and friendly. We will be back, it's a beautiful park.

*The only issue we had was my partner being verbally abused by the Warden's wife. We were playing on the playground with our children when she made a comment about my partner being on the seasaw. She didn't just make a comment, she actually continued to raise her voice and call him all the following (in front of our 6 year old and in front of her grandson) yob, slob, fat, thick, simple, idiot "shut up you idiot".

My 6 year old talked about this all evening. She got the warden to speak to us and he was a reasonable friendly man who advised that they didn't want adults on the play equipment as it's just for children. Fair enough, we accepted this and wondered why she couldn't have just explained this to us in that manner.

The playground equipment is fantastic, well made and very sturdy and we like to have fun as a family. We all went along the balance beams, we all tried the monkey bars. We were having fun. We would never abuse any park facilities. We didn't receive an apology for the way the woman spoke to my partner in front of our 6 year old.

We won't let this spoil our weekend and we hope to return as we love the site. ** 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mmachell 1 review from this member

 A wonderful clean site, with very friendly staff and seasonal residents.

I find the problem with the family tent users, there is a large open space to play on the site, but warm weather and the water taps is too much of a pull, unfortunately as they play they forget others site users have paid for their pitch and do not want water throwing children and adults running round their tents, I am all for having fun, but not at the detriment of others. I can only see this as a negative when the tent users want to book.

The warden did visit the site regularly but Sodís law not when this was happening. Having said that this is one of my favourite areas, and a very nice site.

Always clean facilities, but could not done with more showers as the site expands, it now has a clubhouse, although we did not use this.

The post office in long Preston has good opening hours and stocks most things needed. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coys 1 review from this member

 What an amazing well kept site with well spaced pitches, clean modern shower block with launderette, wash up, wet room and family bathroom all available plus free Wi-Fi!

This is a pet friendly park with an area where dogs can even be let off the lead, play park for the children plus you can get putting clubs and wildlife challenges from reception.

Short walk through the park to Hellifield (15/20 mins. )as no shop on site but in Hellifield you find a small grocers, chippy, Black Horse pub and Hazy Dayz cafť all brilliant.

Lovely helpful and friendly staff on the park, great location for exploring the Dales, Forest of Bowland and even the Lakes, can't wait to return, they even have hire caravans here so we'll go when it's too cold for the tent! 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JG1971 8 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site on many occasions over the past couple of years as it's only about 40 mins from home.

The site has recently been sold, the new owners are planning to make some changes to the facilities over the coming months (or so we are told).

Unfortunately the new owners have jumped on the ridiculous bandwagon of charging for awnings, we paid £120+ for the Easter weekend for a standard electric pitch.

The playground was officially closed for refurbishment - very annoying as there's not much else for Kids. It wouldn't have stopped us booking but would have been nice to be informed.

The site itself is quiet and well kept - but be warned, if you're allocated a pitch on the lower section you will have to cross the grass in your car - and it is like a bog after it's been raining!

Although the showers & toilets are good, money really needs to be spent on the rest of the site, and why they don't sell bread/milk etc on reception is beyond me. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MCavan75 20 reviews from this member

 We felt generally disappointed with this site having read so many positive reviews. The site is rated as 5 star but we were left confused as to why this site received such a high award when many of the sites we have stayed at have had far better facilities.

There were positive aspects and I will begin with these - the site is very easy to access and the pitches are well maintained in neat rows, all on hardstanding. The play park and dog walk were both lovely and the site felt safe and secure.

Despite the fact that the majority of the pitches are seasonal we found the 'regulars' really friendly with no sense of 'them and us'. The site is also very good value with a refreshingly uncomplicated tariff (currently £23 a night for up to 4 people and no added extras).

Unfortunately there are aspects of the site that we felt frustrated by - firstly, the road noise. We were right on the edge of the beautiful Yorkshire dales national park yet all I could hear was road traffic, the site is between 2 main roads where lorries, cars and motorbikes roar past at 60 plus mph.

The worst time was on a weekday morning when from 7am there was a constant flow of traffic, the weekend mornings were quieter. So while the site has won awards for conservation I could hardly hear the birdsong for the traffic. We did however enjoy the numerous rabbits!

The shower block was never clean in the 3 nights we were there and as the site was really quiet there was no excuse - the floors remained unswept, the basins dirty and the same stains remained on the toilet basins throughout our stay - hardly 5 star. The showers were the worst design I have come across.

The cubicles had curtains but the showers were powerful and it was almost impossible to prevent water flooding onto the floor. There was no room to hang clothes so everyone I saw left their clothes on the bench outside the cubicles and came out to get dressed, much like a school changing room. As a result I walked in on several people in various states of undress. The block seemed relatively new and I can only assume it was designed by someone who has never stayed on a campsite.

To top it all, to get into the shower block you need to use a swipe card, the same card you use to access the entry gate when you drive in/out. We were given just one card between a family of 4 so when my husband left in the car we were at the mercy of other campers to let us into the toilet block.

On one occasion we left the swipe card in the block and then had to wait for someone to let us in so we could retrieve the card in order to go out in the car. Not only is this inconvenient but it is unnecessary (who else is going to use the block other then those staying on the site?) and very unhygienic - I dread to think how many germs gather on these cards as people have them on their person as they go in and out of the toilet cubicles.

Unfortunately I also have to say that I did not find the lady in the office very helpful.

We love the Yorkshire dales but next time we will book into a site where we can enjoy the beautiful views and peace and quiet that I associate with this amazing part of the world! I gather this site is popular with many but unfortunately we will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: HH19 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site - we went bank holiday weekend - a couple of noisy late night revellers spoilt it a little.

Toilets were spotless and warm - which was a bonus considering the weather - thought it could do with an extra block down nearer where tens were - having said that never needed to queue.

All in all was a good site. As some others suggested basics might have been useful - even an ice cream fridge for the kids would have been useful - but not to take away from the experience. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gallaber Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gallaber Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gallaber Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2497 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement