Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gallaber Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Gallaber Park Reviews

Gallaber Park
Long Preston
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 4QF
Tel: 01729 851397
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 63
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Two Rs 5 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site. I'm not sure what it's like when it's busy, but there was acres of space for the kids to play in and the facilities were outstanding.

There's two playgrounds, spotless toilet blocks, massive pitches and wonderful scenery. Oh - and free pitch and putt, although the grass could have done with a bit of a trim!

The camping field is large and very level and all gates are controlled by security passes. We felt quite comfortable letting the kids run off and do their own thing.

The only thing it lacked was a shop. We would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Earnerak 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 1 night on Easter Sunday in a Trailer Tent. Our first time at Gallaber Park and we have already booked to return next week in the caravan for a few more nights.

Lovely site. Not bombarded with rules and regulations, child friendly. (Our daughter is almost 3) She loved the play area and the assault course up on the top field.

Lovely clean toilets and shower facilities. One of the nicest sites I think we have ever stayed at. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr+mrsP 3 reviews from this member

 Just had a lovely three night stay at this really nice site. The pitches are quite large,level and well spaced out, all with electric hook up.It was not busy at this time of year,so it was a peaceful, relaxing break,I would imagine it does get busy during the summer months/school holidays. The facilities are modern and kept spotlessly clean with really hot powerful showers. Long Preston is about 25 min walk,(a torch is recommended at night)it's a very nice village with a small shop for supplies, and two pubs, The Boars Head has recently had new management who are very welcoming and do really good food at reasonable prices. This is a great area for walking, with stunning places to visit Malham Cove being just one of them.

Would definitely visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevn 1 review from this member

 Having read a previous review, I would like to make some comments. Yes the site is wonderful well maintained and managed,but the facts about the night in question are not totally correct.

I was there one of the seasonal tourers and would like to set the record straight. The cricket match actually started straight after the world cup match between England & USA at 9.15pm and lasted for 25minutes, and just to end the Saturday night off a 10 minute knock about with a football taking us to 9.50pm which I do not think is late for a Saturday Night.

However the tent in question had looked deserted during the evening and also when we started playing.

We therefore assumed that the occupants had gone out for the night. If they had just popped their head out of the tent and asked us to stop, we would have, immediately as we are not inconsiderate people.

There were a lot other people there that weekend in fact at 10pm, the campers a few pitches away from the afore mentioned tent were playing with balloons that were lit up internally, they were walking towards the tent, maybe they made some noise?

I would just like to add that all our group were all back in their caravans by 10.30pm some earlier. We do know the times we have quoted are correct, as we have various photos of the evening which show the date and time.

Just to get back to the review this is a great site very well managed and maintained, great scenery, good pub food locally and full of people who like to have good time while respecting other people.

I do hope people reading this donít find this trivial but the facts were not right and this upset me and my family and we do not want the name of the site and those staying there to be disrespected. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DaveMJennings 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a stay at this park where we have been to often before in previous years and are very disappointed to say that we won't be going back.

The site does have great facilities and is clean and well maintained and the pitches are large and well spaced out however the two empty pitches between out tent and the next were used for a very loud match of cricket starting at ten pm and only ending after forty minutes to be followed by football! It was getting close to midnight before our two small children had any hope of getting to sleep.

On explaining this to the managers the following morning the response was 'Oh'.

As the noise was mostly from people staying in seasonal tourers this is unlikely to be a one off and if the site tolerates such inconsiderate behaviour it's not one we would return to which is a shame as everything else about the site is very good. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris71 2 reviews from this member

 The facilities are probably the best I have ever seen in the UK and the showers were better than one or two B&Bs I can recall staying in, free to use with hot water piped directly in from a volcano.

The pitches are well spaced out and large, very large. Pitched my Blacks 3 man 'Stellar' tent from left to right across the allocated space and still got my car next to it with enough spare room to land a space shuttle. Very Impressive.

The site manageress was helpful when I made each of my several enquiries.

This is great for kids, nice and safe with site access via a keycard system, this also applied to the toilet block as well, where the site supply both loo roll and hand wash gel.

However, if you are not partial to children then go elsewhere. I was shown my initial pitch which appeared to be in the middle of the kids playpark. I moved.

On my return, so had the kids, only now there were 12 of them. Playing football (as kids do) with my tent and car in the firing line. I moved.

Eventuall at pitch No 63, the boundary fence stopped further migration and all was well. The children chose not to follow and I was afforded peace and quite.

When the light starts to fade so does any camp noise. Only the vehicles passing along the adjacent road offer any break to distant bird song.

The nearest decent chip shop is in Settle (5 miles away) the local chippy in Hellifield is not recommended. If you want something other than chip shop fare - then its off to the pubs.

Good site, good facilities (but no on site shop), good for kids. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeanlynne 1 review from this member

 It was a brilliant weekend. We took our five year old granddaughter with us. We had bought a new connection for our electric hook up and it was only when we had put the tent up that we discovered they had given us the wrong connection. The owners of the site came to our rescue. They were so helpful.

The site is lovely and clean as where the toilets and showers. We will be going back there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliet Fairlee 2 reviews from this member

 This was my husbands and my first sole tenting trip with our owen tent. Picked this sight for closeness as only went for two nights. Could not have picked a better site. Was great. The pitch sizes are great with plenty of space. We had a 3 year old and the sight was safe for him to run around and have fun.

Toilet and shower block were good did not have to que. Washing up facilities good. There are laundry facilities but did not use them. The sight has two play areas one for small kids near the camp pitches. The second is for old kids but this is in the field at the back of the camping pitches so you can not see the kids if you wanted to keep an eye on them.

There is nothing immediately near the camp sight like shops and pubs but not to far a drive away. This is the best sight I have used so far and will be going back for Easter. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katebrown12 5 reviews from this member

 Have stayed at this site several times this year and we will be back again soon no doubt! One of the best we have visited. With a tent no hook up required you have the choice of a very large tent area no set pitch allocated / defined so privacy is very good. Even when the site has been busy there is plenty of space. Some road noise at tent area but only to be expected and not a problem for us.

Great playgrounds for the kids and dog walking area is a really good idea, although there is definitely a need for a shortcut from the tent area to the path.

Showers and toilet facilities are absolutely spotless with separate washing up facilities.

Boars head is a great pub for lunch although dogs not really welcome inside (when we asked they responded 'do they moult a lot' so we just opted for the beer garden!) and food is pricey but good.

Site could do with an on site shop I think. And the site Manager really is not the friendliest. However I really recommend this site to families and couples alike. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thejohnsonfour 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend away at Gallaber Park. It was our first ever camping trip and despite having to pitch our tent in torrential rain we have had a fab time. There were four families and we all had a large pitch with lots of room between.
The facilities are very clean with a wash room, freezer to refreeze any ice packs, washing up room and the shower and toilet block was nice and clean with plenty of free hot water.
There are a couple of playgrounds for the kids, miniature pitch and put and a large field to play any ball games on. Dogs are allowed but have to be kept on a lead at all times.
As we were only here for the weekend we did explore the surrounding area, but not far from some nice walks etc. One of the families are 'expert' campers and said we would be hard pushed to find a better site! So we will definitely be coming back. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gallaber Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gallaber Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gallaber Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4739 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement