Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gallaber Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Gallaber Park Reviews

Gallaber Park
Long Preston
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 4QF
Tel: 01729 851397
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 63
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Newt03 10 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet, well kept site. A bit of a noisy road near by, but not too bad. Play park for the kids was basic. But then they found a more of a adventure one which kept them happier.

Showers very clean and tidy. With a bathroom available on request of the key.

Dog walk area was great.

Pitch and putt good fun.

Loads of places to visit in the area.

Great value for money at only 23 a night all in ! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brooks177 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend in our new tent. We were the first campers on the tent field which is right opposite the toilet block. They could have been slightly cleaner but overall they were a good standard. The washing up room was lovely with 4 sinks. There was a laundrette however we didn't use but there was a washer, dryer, ironing board and a tall freezer to store food.

As mentioned the site has a key fob entry system that made you feel safe. The smaller playground was in view from we're we pitched so felt safe enough for kids to go alone. There is an assault course play area in the top field for older children. There is a dog walking area and the kids enjoyed playing in 'the forest'.

The views are amazing, the road right next to the site is busy so unfortunately there is no where to walk although Long Preston is only 5 mins away in the car.

We had a lovely weekend and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Malcolmfoxwist 12 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a short stay at Gallaber Park and have to say how impressed we are.

This is a large, open site with good distances between the pitches which are all electric hook-up and the surrounding scenery is glorious.

Due to the key-fob entry system one has a real feeling of being in a secure environment.

The shower and toilet block also includes a washing-up room and launderette and the whole building, which appears brand new, is warm and spotlessly clean.

During our visit there were deer wandering around the site which certainly added a wow factor to our stay.

Long Preston is a very short drive away and whilst only having one general purpose store, does have two good pubs (both of which were visited during our stay).

I have no hesitation in recommending this site and will certainly visit again as it is an ideal base for the Southern Yorkshire Dales. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dales Tourer 1 review from this member

 Myself and small family stayed August 2012 for one week. 2012 was a wet a summer but it did not dampen the delights of this site. We did need wellies though!

We were attracted to this site by its David Bellamy award for Conservation and its close proximity to the Yorkshire Dales. From the moment you arrive its a well laid out site. An existing pond just off the entrance drive was having a new walk way built in the form of a natural looking, double arched, stone bridge. We can't wait to revisit in the summer of 2013 and see if all the work is completed.

You pause at reception for your key fob. Doris who works in reception is very helpful. The touring caravan area is through a secure gate on the left.

The toilet and shower facilities are excellent. Laundry facilities which are coin operated are very efficient. You can travel a bit lighter, take less clothes, and use the on site washing machine and tumble drier.

To stay at this site is a wonder of feeling in a natural environment. There are well laid out hedgerows alive with the songs of birds. Also rebuilt stone walls that use the stone from the old field boundaries when the area was a farm. The place is a hive of nature. We saw numerous song birds, pheasants, squirrels and even a stoat. All creatures seem unbothered by the caravan park.

The site has been built with respect to its surroundings and is well shielded by young trees. There are also plenty of mature trees around the site that are the age of the original farm that used to be here.

There are a couple of playground areas on the caravan site with swings and things for the kids.

When night fall comes we often heard owls. On a rare clear night in the wet summer of 2012, to look up and see the starry heavens, its a sight to behold! If you leave in a city the dark skies available at this site are brilliant. Its a good chance to teach the kids the constellations.

Hellifield village is within an easy walk of the site and can be reached safely on footpaths and pavements. Ask at Reception if you are unsure of the directions. There is a village shop, a post office, a fish and chip shop that is open on several lunchtimes and evenings per week. Moorhouse's Butchers that do superb locally sourced meats. Finally Hellifield House is a local social club but none members are welcomed and there is a family room to the rear of the main bar. A bonus, on the road to Hellifield train station there is the village playground with more swings and a hell slide for the kids.

In the other direction from Gallaber Park is Long Preston. The Maypole Inn is worth a visit, its not the cheapest for food, but its all hand cooked, even the chips. A word of warning though if you walk. The A682 that runs past the site and leads to Long Preston is a dangerous road. Its a 60MPH road and very narrow in places, its not a good road to walk on with the kids. So if you want to walk to Long Preston, walk through the site as far as you can, using the dog walking area, step over a gate and walk on the verges of the A682 for about 20 metres, then you are best to turn left at Bend Gate Farm and follow a country lane called Flat Lane. This takes you to see the river Ribble in the valley bottom. From here you can then walk up to Long Preston on a slightly quieter road, where traffic is not quite as busy.

For local shops there are three market towns close by, each is in a different direction. We went to Settle (6 miles) which is off the A65 to the north of the site. Skipton (7 miles) (with a 24 hour Tesco) off the A65 to the south of the site. Finally Clitheroe (9 miles), follow the A682 south west from the site until it reaches the A59. Then turn west. Clitheroe is sign posted.

My rating - this site is well worth staying at - we will be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lelly76 1 review from this member

 We visited this site for the first time this year for the Queens Jubilee weekend. We booked based on the reviews here and that they said they could accommodate our Monty 6 and front extension (turned down by 3 sites as they said it was too big?) we booked two pitches next to each other with EHU. On arrival we were very impressed by how picturesque the site was. Lots of lovely green open space and spotlessly clean.

The booking in process was extremely simple and before long we were pitching our tent. A slight negative would be that it was not clear where our pitch started and the next one started as we were on an end. I prefer the pitch numbers to have a number and an arrow as to which way you should pitch! A minor issue though overall! The ground was lovely and soft and reasonably flat for easy pitching. The pitches were huge and water points in easy reach!

The toilet and shower facilities were fantastic! Spotlessly clean and hot and never had to queue at all. Also loved the fact they were free and minus those annoying push button timer things! My husband said the Elsen point was easy to use and very clean although there is only one so there was a bit of a walk! The children's facilities on site were great although due to the weather we only used once!

The location is really good and there are lots of places to go and see. Long Preston itself is very pretty and we visited the Embssey and Bolton Abbey Steam Railway for the day out with Thomas which we would highly recommend. The only negative I have is that open fires are not allowed. We normally use a fire pit when camping, especially when the weather is inclement so this was a real shame. Overall this site has everything you could want and we will definitely be visiting again with our friends next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: P90tac 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights

Facilities are excellent and very clean. Plenty of toilets and showers. Washing up area very clean, has more than 2 sinks,

Has fob key access onto touring site and to access the toilet block had a family shower room and disabled shower room, also laundrette but we didn't use these,

Pitch size great and hard standing. Has a small children's play area with swings etc that is enclosed and there is also a adventure play ground further up the site for older children,

Good dog exercise area. The site is very clean and well maintained and the lady at reception is very helpful.

Short walk into Hellifield (ask at reception for directions) there is a small shop fish and chip restaurant and post office.

Also a nice pub in Long Preston with children's menu.

Short drive to Settle. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nerolab 2 reviews from this member

 We found this place many years ago when it first opened and have stayed here with family and friends in our Tent many times. I returned with our new tourer as we had enjoyed the facilities and location and were visiting the Gargrave country show that weekend.

Great, level pitches, some with full plumbing available too. Well located for Settle and the dales. Great showers/WC's, Family friendly, no noise in the evening. Only downside is the occasional noise of motorbikes who come from West Yorkshire and Lancashire on either side of the site en route to Devils Bridge. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rhinouk 12 reviews from this member

 Spent the bank holiday weekend here and had a very nice time. We had a very spacious pitch but the ground was a bit soaked and we had to use our friends 4x4 to get the caravan out when we left.

Very nice campsite with modern facilities, plenty of water points around but only 1 grey area and 1 chemical disposal point near the showers which meant a long walk.

Was not a problem for us but would be even better if there was another point at end of the touring site. Site was very peaceful on an evening and secluded with a security barrier.

No shop on site and Settle is about 5 to 6 miles away where there is a co-op and fish and chips etc.

Would visit again but would try and get a hard standing pitch near to the shower block where the waste points are. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Katzeyz65 2 reviews from this member

 This is a stunning site, peaceful and tranquil. Immaculate loo/shower facilities. No shop so go well stocked.

Amazing adventure playground (obstacle course type thing made from wood, rope, tyres etc) on the top of the hill and traditional young kid's park area at the side of the camping field.

We also enjoyed playing pitch & put (no charge!) This site is a gem nestled in some beautiful N. Yorks countryside.

Feels unspoilt and non-commercial. Good flat hard-standing pitches and plenty of field space for tents. Would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: OLIROW 2 reviews from this member

 We booked this site due to location more than anything as my partner had a landrover experience nearby, I was concerned about the nearby roads however this wasn't a problem and only heard distant road noise.

The lady on reception was really helpful when booking and arriving, the site is excellent, very clean and the pitches are ultra spacious ! we were on 54 and 55 and these were massive with lovely views across nearby farmland.

The showers are top class, very clean and modern. The statics / lodges are all kept lovely, they even have pitch and put which is free and you just ask for the golf clubs at reception.

All this for 20 pe night with electric hook up. Which is really good value when compared to some sites.

The only downside to this site is it was very quiet (not a bad thing sometimes) and also no shop on site, but you can walk to hellifeild village which takes about 10 mins where they have a nice little shop. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gallaber Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gallaber Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Gallaber Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4457 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement