Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stoke Barton Farm Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Bideford > Stoke Barton Farm Camp Site Reviews

Stoke Barton Farm Camp Site
Stoke Hartland
Bideford
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX39 6DU
Tel: 01237 441238
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Janev2 1 review from this member

 There was a warm and friendly welcome on arrival. We were given a choice of pitches and advised to go in the top field to get good sea views.

The pitch was large with lots of room for the car, awning and fire pit.

The site is well organised, quiet and secure. It's in a great location for coast path walks and the views are spectacular.

In the new Covid world, there might need to be an increase the number of ladies toilets. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 114firkin 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, very friendly ownerís who are very helpful,

Excellent for walkers although itís useful to know that the approach roads are narrow in places and should be treated with caution and common sense.

Recommend and will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jarecraven 6 reviews from this member

 A beautiful location, very relaxing.

We were met by the lovely Helen and Colin on arrival. Very welcoming helpful check in. Colin takes you to the pitch, explaining which are available and what might be best for your needs.

Love that all the pitches are on the outer edge of the field. Makes it feel very spacious and ensures the lovely views are not blocked. The facilities were spotless and cleaned very regularly.

Be sure to take your walking boots and picnic bag. Lots of fantastic walks with amazing scenery, but be aware all involve hills.

The local pub at the Quay is friendly and food good. Also went to the Anchor in Hartland very good atmosphere and food. Need to book for both. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rob Stamp 1 review from this member

 A lovely Farm Campsite and very nice people at an excellent coastal location for walking.

But when approaching through Hartland do not go down the one way high street, take the bus route which we missed. Parked vehicles make it to narrow and I scratched my van on a low level wall. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jaynechapman 1 review from this member

 Having just returned from another fantastic week at one of our favourite sites, I wanted to write a review for the benefit of others. We've never been during the summer holidays before and usually visit during May Whit week, so we weren't sure what to expect with how busy the area may be.

We had nothing to worry about, the space to pitch was even more than normal, one of the key things we look for. It was interesting to see other sites in the area, who still seemed to cram campers in, even in the currently climate with COVID.

The facilities were spotless every day, with very regular cleaning and hand sanitiser everywhere.

The roads into Stoke were busier, but that was the only real difference we noticed. The beach at Sandymouth is really nice and great for bodyboarding, but with a walk down from the overspill carpark, if you can't get onto the main one.

The walk to Hartland Quay and Spekes Mill is lovely with the views across the ocean. We ate at the Hartland Quay, which was disappointing this time, with a very limited menu. We had another meal at The Hart in Hartland which was lovely.

Overall, Colin, Helen & Kerry made our stay great and they are so very hospitable. This is a true gem of a site and although our children are older now, the space for children to play and make new friends is fantastic. Highly recommended 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tracey 1 review from this member

 Fantastic place. Quiet and lovely walks leading out of the campsite. If you want peace and quiet, space and beauty. Then look no further

I was with two friends in our two vans. Two dogs.

We will all return.

Child friendly. I do not know how to answer this due to not having kids, my friends have grown up sons and i would suggest they would say it was child friendly. But we were in part of the campsite away from everything so didn't see enough to comment. But i will say 5 out of 10 based on the above. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 17 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Pjbing 1 review from this member

 For a holiday during the COVID pandemic this was perfect when we decided not to go to France. Huge amount of space, we had half a field to ourselves so the young grandchildren had freedom to play.

Helen, Colin and Kerry were so welcoming and helpful. Showers and toilets were immaculate but quite a walk to them.

The views when there was no sea fret were stunning The roads on the peninsula are very narrow But Colin kindly escorted us out 😀

Very peaceful

Would definitely recommend if you like quiet peaceful camping. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Leeb2801 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely place, quiet and fantastic location. Views of the sea and well placed hedgerows offering shelter when the winds pick up. We stayed for only 9 nights out of our booked 10 but only because we had a long journey and wanted to break it up a bit. Otherwise I'd still be there!

Facilities are very well maintained. Showers were a bit of a walk away but not too taxing. There are some really beautiful scenic and challenging walks around the area giving spectacular coastal view right next to the farm.

The roads, as mentioned in some reviews, are a little narrow and definitely keep you on your toes, but this is a rural community and the lack of main roads practically guarantee peace and quiet.

The fields are relatively level and the space is vast. Even when the site gets busy there is still masses of room. We were treated to freedoms that many sites cannot offer in terms of space and where any extra pup or utility tents are concerned.

Hospitality was formidable. I mean this. The site is owned by Colin and Helen, a really lovely couple and Kerry who helps to maintain all facilities to an extremely high standard, as well as helping to run the shop (I am sure I do them all an injustice by labelling what they do, I am only going on my own experiences. I saw Colin quite a lot and he did not seem to stop working from dawn til dusk) They are all very helpful and approachable but I was particularly impressed by Colin's approach who addressed me by name and I was very impressed to have been given a brief history of how the campsite came into existence, along with its more recent developments.

The only minor, and by this I mean VERY minor criticisms would have to be:

1 the road from the entrance to the field across the yard is very uneven and for a non off road vehicle, this can feel a bit punishing

2 the limited time the shop is open, (could do with an extra hour in the morning) the shop is quite invaluable on the site as the nearest main supermarket is about 15 minutes drive away, or some small shops in the village which we kept missing!

3 Could do with a shower attached to the top field toilet facilities to save walking down the yard to the farmhouse (this could just be lazy but it can be a bit of a challenging walk on uneven ground with flip flops and arthritis)

That's it. Overall a really wonderful place and I would recommend it very highly and wish Colin, Helen and Kerry and her partner who's name I have forgotten, sorry) all the very best for the future. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Gypsydi 10 reviews from this member

 A really lovely site. Huge and over several fields but not commercialised in any way. Facilities spotless. A lovely stay, We had wonderful views.

Although grass it was firm. Were able to walk over fields with young lambs to Hartland Quay. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 106 reviews from this member

 Returned to Stoke Barton Farm after a few years away. I am pleased to say little has changed. The facilities are absolutely fine and kept clean and tidy. There is loads of space to pitch, some sea views and some shelter if needed.

The Hartland Quay Hotel is a short walk away (15 minutes, more if you stop to look at the scenery). Excellent food and beer. Other than that its pretty quiet, which is just what we wanted.

The coastal path to Hartland Point is beautiful, especially at low tide. The waterfall at Speke's Mill Mouth is worth a look too. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stoke Barton Farm Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stoke Barton Farm Camp Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Stoke Barton Farm Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bideford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1453 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement