Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lea Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

South Lea Caravan Park
The Balk
Pocklington
Pocklington
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 2NXCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BobMillward 4 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful site and a credit to how hard the owners work.

The toilet block is exceptional, the whole area is very clean and well kept. There is obviously a programme of planting going on with lots of new trees which will provide a lovely walkway.

Our dogs loved the special area set aside for them and we loved the space between the units.

We will definitely be going back to the site and couldn't speak highly enough of either it or the extremely friendly and helpful owner.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fleursmum 1 review from this member

We are 'residents' at South Lea and have been for perhaps six years, Nick and Louise are a super couple. What to say about South Lea, well it's close to home for us - we go most weekends, the showers are hot,free and most importantly CLEAN. We love the dog walk (between the four of us we have eight Cavalier King Charles Spaniels - they are all welcomed and often prove to be a visitor attraction.

We have great BBQ's - Nick has a BBQ for hire if you don't want to take yours.

It is close to York and the East Coast resorts of Bridlington and Scarborough with Whitby not much further. Pocklington is the closest little town with a good selection of pubs and restaurants.

Go soon . Do, we shall back just after Easter.

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barry millar 1 review from this member

We have been to South Lea on a few occasions and have always been made to feel very welcome. Nick & Louise who run the site are very friendly, so you won't want to leave. The area is so beautiful that we have now moved to one of the villages, but this will not stop us from visiting South Lea. There is a fantastic area for walking your dogs and the washing facilites are second to none. Roll on the first of march.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lozzie 11 reviews from this member

First visit to this beautiful, quiet, rural, site, the owners were fantastic and really helpful as we were first timers. The site is perfect if you have a dog as their is specific dog walking areas. The toilets and showers are immaculate and the play area good for the children without being too near to the vans to disturb people or too far away to watch your child. The pitches are flat and of a good size.You can hire a gas barbecue for £6 a night complete with the gas from the owners who deliver it to your van and pick it up again. Pocklington is 5 minutes down the road by car, and york approx 20 minutes away. Will definetely return to this site again,

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gazza100 3 reviews from this member

Friendly owners who were very helpful

Nice flat site, good pitches although slightly close together

Well cut grass & nice flowers in borders

Good facilities with hot showers , clean sinks & toiletsand easy access water & waste points

Good kids play area with football pitch

Pocklington has Sainsbury's & good shopping / cheap beer shop !

Only criticism was slightly noisy main road although if you are pitched in second field not as obvious

Will definitely go again

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Timetrialer 1 review from this member

We had 5 great nights at this excellent site. Our hosts Louise and Nick were very helpful(Thanks for the use of the car ramps for an emergency repair job to my exhaust on the car) and friendly.
The site is very well kept and the toilets were excellent.
Our son Sam enjoyed the play area. Anybody looking to explore this area would have a brilliant base if they were to stay at Southlea. We will definitely be back very soon.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sulwath 1 review from this member

Just returned from South Lea and must agree with other visitors that this is a wonderful site.  Both Nick and Louise make you feel really welcome and they just seem to work from dawn to dusk keeping the site in very good order.  The site is both very flat and also based on chalk land so if there is any heavy rain it disappears in a flash so I'm told.  If your in the area of Pocklington and want a very good site this is the one. 

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janey89 1 review from this member

Just stayed for a long weekend at south lea-this was our second visit - we last stopped 2 weeks ago & we were so impressed we went back again! Nothing is too much trouble for Louise who is friendly & very helpful.The pitchers are well spaced, will situated & very flat. The whole site is well organised & well suited to quiet breaks as a couple or family breaks. The toilet block is the best I have ever seen on a site with lots of hot water. I would recommend this site to anyone-we will be back there in a couple of weeks.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yeshouse 5 reviews from this member

What a nice site! The best sanitair on our holiday and a good pitch near to the children-play area. The bus to York stops on request at the front of the campsite for a nice day out. In Pocklington you can get everything you want.
Very friendly owners. Only critics: Noise of the main roads nearby.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Longeaton 1 review from this member

Well what can I say?  The pitch was perfect, the owners extremely friendly, the toilets were spotless, the campsite was quiet, the information in 'the hut' was bountiful.  The only downer was the weather which couldn't be helped.  We don't have a dog but the dog walk was so clean that we were able to walk round it without any fear of any mess.  We will definitely be returning and very soon!
 
We only visited Pocklington on the way home (Recommend The Feathers for their carvery!) I am looking forward to coming back and exploring the shops!

Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


278 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019