Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lea Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

South Lea Caravan Park
The Balk
Pocklington
Pocklington
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 2NXCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 132 Reviews
                9/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allanj 1 review from this member

We visited South Lea Caravan Park on our first-ever camping holiday. We found it to be ideal for our needs and our two children had a great time mixing with the other children in the Play Area.

The owners Louise and Nick were always helpful and their advice about places to visit and things to do was invaluable. They keep a high standard and are very hands-on, which was reflected in the general high standard of the toilets, showers, flower beds etc. They would always stop for a chat, workload permitting.

The Site is very well situated. York was easy to get to using the Park and Ride a few miles away, and the East Coast wasn't very far either. Ditto the Yorkshire Moors.

The nearby small market town of Pocklington was very close with its choice of takeaways, pubs, supermarkets, cinema, swimming etc.

Talking to people at the Site, it seemed to me that nearly everyone had visited South Lea on previous occasions. And my kids are already wanting to go back next year!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Randa 4 reviews from this member

This site has restored my faith in camping! Very warm welcome and very secure as there is a barrier to enter that you are given an entry card for. Spacious pitch and very clean toilets and showers that never seemed to be busy. Quite a large site but because it is in separate fields didn't feel too big.
Owners gave us good tourist tips aswell as recommending the italian restaurant and it's early bird menu in Pocklington about a mile away. Couldn't rate the italian restaurant high enough-delicious! Would definitely recommend this site to everyone and will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pippajade 3 reviews from this member

I booked this campsite after reading excellent reviews and it really lived up to them. We visited SouthLea on our first ever caravan outing and we could not have picked a better one.We stayed 3 nights but really could have stayed longer! Since visiting here we have since visited other campsites dotted around , in a mad 2 week tour! and my 9yr old daughter compared them all to southlea as this is her favourite! She loved the large green play field and easily made friends.

We took our dog and on site is a lovely meadow walk to take dogs. It is a lovely quiet friendly site and the owners cant do enough for you.

The loos/showers spotless and clean and the site is ideally located for visits to York. We had a fab time and would def recommend to others.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rae_t 23 reviews from this member

A lovely site. Large, flat and very green!

Toilets and showers very clean.

Small playground and large play field which the kids loved.

Very quiet, most noise (of which there was very little) had stopped by 9 o'clock.

The owners were lovely. They popped up and down the site making sure everyone was ok. We stayed here during a very windy few days and after a day out in York, came back to find them re pegging our awning for us! They were even helpful enough to find us a plaster when our daughter fell off her bike, even though they were in the middle of their dinner!

Short driving distance to York and Hull, near Pocklington, with it's cute market and lots of pubs and eateries.

Note: Don't come to this site if you are expecting a clubhouse or bar or Sky tv to watch the match.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Teacherandmum 6 reviews from this member

This is such a great site. We were given a choice of pitches and chose one by the playground as Louise the owner said it would be quiet as the school holidays hadn't started and it wasn't busy. We had plenty of room on a flat and level pitch.
Park was well kept, tidy and kept clean in poor weather. Grass was kept short too. The shower block was always spotlessly clean - 4? showers and toilets and 3 sinks separated by screens. There was also a hairdryer. Never had to queue. Also an undercover dish wash area situated here as well as a phone box and you can buy calor and camping gaz.
In the reception chalet, there were plenty of local attraction brochures, novels and magazines to borrow. Also board games too. There was a security barrier to let you in and out - operated by a card. Some road noise until late but makes it easy access to York. Nearest park and ride is Grimston Bar 2.30 return.

Really enjoyed it here - check out Pocklington (good selection of shops and takeaways), anything in York (rail museum, minster, york boat, maze, really good), Jorvik overrated in our opinion.

An excellent site with lovely owners - would recommend. Shame it's so far from home for us!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BigTw 2 reviews from this member

We visited this lovely site for our 1st trip away as a camping family. Upon arrival we were met by the owner, a very nice lady, who informed us we were the 1st to arrive and so could choose our pitch. She then took us to the pitch , gave advice on best way to put the tent and then showed us where all facilities were. Lovely level pitches, clean tidy site.

The toilet / shower block was spotless and well maintained.

There is a large play area for the kids with climbing frame, swings, football goals and a flat bit for bowls, boules etc.

We will be visiting again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nerys Jenkins 9 reviews from this member

We have just returned form a short break at this site. I would say that it is one of the best campsites that we have ever stayed on. The owners, Louise and Nick are more than helpful. When we arrived and started to put up our tent, there was a torrential downpour and our inner tent was soaked. They offered us a loan of their spare caravan straight away, luckily the inner tent dried out quickly after the rain stopped so we didn't need to borrow it but it was nice that they offered in case we needed it. They also exchanged our freezer packs which was very helpful and gave us a list of places to visit and good places to eat out in the area.

The toilets and showers are very clean and were not busy at any time.

The campsite had an excellent playing field which like the rest of the campsite is completely flat. There are swings, climbing frames and good sized goal posts.

The campsite feels very safe, there is a barrier to come in for which you get a card which opens it for you to go in and out.

Pocklinton itself was a nice small village, the people we met were very helpful and friendly. Even though it is only a short distance from the campsite, I probably would not try walking it with children as there is not much of a path and is quite busy.

I would recommend visiting York and Castle Howard whilst you are there and Beverly is also a lovely place to go.

There are various pubs and places to eat in the area all of which served good food.

All in all I can't think of anything negative to say about South Lea, it was excellent!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debbienicola 21 reviews from this member

What can I say about this site but just fantastic. We were situated right next to the park which was brilliant for our 8 year old son. The toilets are spotless and there is plenty of room especially on the play area. There are also plenty of recycling facilities.
All in all a fab site which I would definitely recommend and would be visiting again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Donna86 14 reviews from this member

What a fab site. It's well spaced out and the owners are great. The toilets are spotless as is the site.
Our children aged 6 and 8 loved the park and all the space they had to play. Everything about it is fantastic I cant praise it enough we will certainly return. It also has a great recycling facility.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janbo25 17 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fabulous Bank Holiday weekend at this site and despite being full it had a lovely peaceful feel to it. We were greeted by Louise the owner who was extremely friendly and helpful and we were directed to our pitch which was a very good size with plenty of room for awning & car and a great distance to the neighbouring caravan.

The whole site is perfectly flat so you should not be disappointed with whatever pitch you were given. The toilets and showers were very clean and warm, and no queues at all despite it being Bank Holiday.

My son loved playing football on the play area, and following on from a previous review, you feel very safe on the site especially for children.

Overall a terrific site which is in a great location, we visited both York Centre and Bridlington, and popped up the road to Pocklington a few times. We will definitely be booking again in the future.

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


114 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019