Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lea Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

South Lea Caravan Park
The Balk
Pocklington
Pocklington
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 2NXCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 132 Reviews
                9/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlesowen 1 review from this member

Neat and Tidy site. Nice area for dog walking.

Huge place with only a very small ablution block in the centre.

Be aware that you can a long way from from the facilities which can make it really difficult if you have to us them when it is raining or during the night or have mobility problems.

Grass was cut when we were there but not collected. When it rained grass was taken inside one's accommodation.

A very clinical site which lacks any real character or warmth.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jubilee1949 11 reviews from this member

Just been to south lea and what a gem this site is. Play area for the children and a small football pitch. Lots of wild rabbits wandering around. The site and toilet and showers were very clean and tidy. Every thing about the whole site and staff were faultless. We will be going again. There are a few pubs nearby who serve good food and supermarkets about a mile away in pocklington and a few shops as well

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Landauman 13 reviews from this member

We booked for two nights on this site but found it so quite that we booked for a third night.

The site is flat and well kept, there is a large kids play area for ball games away from most of the pitches, the gents toilets had 4 toilets and three showers, no urinals and was a bit dated but very clean and tidy, rubbish - wastewater - dish wash and elsan are all around the toilet block.

The site is just outside the small but very nice town of Pocklington, to walk it would take 30/40mins but it is quite a busy road and the first 600yrds you have no foot path, we went by bike as it is so flat, you can also get a bus right outside the site entrance, they also go to York and Beverly from here. Their is a pub 10mins walk from the site, and in Pocklington their are several we would recommend the Railway hotel, there is also a good butchers-chip shop and wet fish shop to name but a few.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Y495JUM 1 review from this member

We have been visiting this site for 5 years and have very fond memories of our stays there.

The facilities where ideal for what we wanted and needed eg impeccably clean toilet and shower block, safe playground area for the Grandkids and a huge Dog walking area.

The site is ideally situated to travel into York, the North Yorkshire Moors and the Coast.

The town of Pocklington itself is nearby with plenty of pubs and ample shops including well known Supermarkets.

I would genuinely recommended this site to anyone, but would add a cautionary note that its is very quiet and any slight misdemeanour, which might upset one of the many seasonal pitch holders, could land you in hot water without you being given the opportunity to defend yourself with the owners.

Sadly, we will never return, but that is due to how we were treated rather than the quality of the site which I will always maintain is superb!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Hume 17 reviews from this member

After reading reviews, we decided to visit this site. What an excellent choice. Louise could not be more friendly or helpful. On arrival Louise was out. I rang her mobile. She told us where to find a barrier fob & where to choose our pitch. She later came to see us when she returned. She told us to see her in the morning & gave us a few ideas on where to visit. Shower/toilet block was excellent.

All in all we had an excellent 3 night stay. I suggest you read all the other reviews to find out more. We will go back to south lea if we are ever in the area. Thanks Louise.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AndyR1 6 reviews from this member

We visited this site for the second time and have found it to be excellent on both occasions.

Louise, the owner, is extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome on both occasions organising suitable pitches for our needs.

The facilities on site are very good and always kept very clean.

The pitches are well laid out and have plenty of space.

The site is close to Pocklington which is a very pretty and historic market town. York is within half an hour while the seaside resorts of Bridlington, Scarborough and Whitby are within an hour or so trip.

I would highly recommend this site to anyone wishing to visit the area.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hawki 9 reviews from this member

Received very nice welcome on the site, best kept toilets and showers we have been to spotless all the time. Recommended the local pub which we went and had meal, well worth a visit. Went into pocklington nice little town, had meal in local pub where we could take dog inside. Supermarket on the way into pocklington. Bus stop outside site which was handy but didn't get to use. Nice area for children to play on. Will be returning again hopefully for longer. First class site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JTNILES 8 reviews from this member

We visited this site for 2 nights in August, Louise was very helpful when we arrived, also helped with local areas to visit.

The site was very nice and kept very clean and tidy.

The toilet/shower block was kept clean at all times,

There was a playing area for children but nothing for babies (could do with some baby swings)

There is not shop on the site but there is a sainsbury's and Aldi about a half a mile from the site.

There is also a pub at the end of the camp site which do meals. Excellent all round, will be visiting again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nic0 1 review from this member

We were looking for a site around north/east yorkshire to have a one night stay to test our new tent. We found South Lea via this site and as a dog friendly site it sounded very suitable.

The site is located just off the A1079 and is very easy to find. There are bus stops just outside the entrance (so presumably accessible for those without cars, or for those in a camper van wanting to explore?). Inside the entrance there is a reception hut and an automatic barrier at the gate. After checking in at the reception (there is an intercom there if no one is around) you will be given a card to activate the barrier which then allows you to freely come and go, and gives some security.

There is a central toilet/shower block that also has a sluice point, washing-up sinks, refuse and recycling area. The toilet/shower area is fully tiled, clean, and the showers have a lockable door plus internal shower curtain (thus ensuring anything you leave on the peg/stool/floor doesn't get drenched). The washing-up area is a great idea (especially if in a tent as we were), two stainless steel sink + draining board fixtures with a plastic plate/cutlery drainer with each. There is also a couple of standpipes, but Louise pointed out that these and the sinks were not recommended as drinking water (as they took water from a storage tank) - the drinking water stand pipes are available around the site and we were given a map showing their location.

The camp site has a number of pitches, some on hardcore, all have EHU. We didn't require electric and as there were no children currently staying, Louise suggested we could pitch on the edge of the playground as it was closer to the toilet block. All the pitches are on a flat area and the grass is kept in decent condition (we saw a sit-upon mowing as we left).

Other facilities include a children's play area and a dog walking area. The latter looks like an empty camping section where the grass has been allowed to grow and paths mowed in the grass. It is a nice addition and there are several dog-bins around. On the subject of doggy facilities, there is a dog shower (standpipe with shower hose) near the toilet block, which is a novel idea in case one's best friend gets a bit muddy or rolls around in something they shouldn't.

The owners are very friendly and we would recommend the site to anyone. The price is reasonable too (cost us 12 for the night). Some reviewers have mentioned the noise from the A-road, though as we live in an inner city we didn't find it any different to home.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Apb1980 1 review from this member

We stayed here for our first weekend caravanning, we had just bought our Caravan and wanted to test things out and have a go at setting the van up as the site is not far from home we thought we would give it a try. The first dealing we had after booking the site was a call to my father in law who was meeting us at the site from Louise the owner, it was to say that with the recent weather we had that there was a slight problem with standing water on the field. She said as we were local and new to caravanning we are more than welcome to view the site and decide if we want to stay or not.

As it happens it was not as bad as we expected and got set up with no problems at all, Louise even offered to help if we needed it and even put the van on the pitch with their own 4x4 if required. This good service and helpfulness continued throughout our stay

The site was well maintained and very clean I can recommend it to anyone who would like a quiet get away at a nice friendly site.

If I can say anything slightly negative is that it would benefit from a small shop on site although not essential as Pocklington is not far away. The play area could do with something for younger children (ours is 18 months) as the swings and play area was for older children, but other than that great site and great owners.

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1395 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019