Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lea Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

South Lea Caravan Park
The Balk
Pocklington
Pocklington
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 2NXCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparkiesdad 7 reviews from this member

Just stayed 1 night as en-route. Clean and tidy site with very friendly staff. Agree road proximity although we had windows closed and did not hear road noise, may be a problem in warmer times this might be disturbing. Found water was not hot enough in both male and female facilities.

Lot of seasonal vans occupied best pitches although mid week these were mainly unoccupied.

Very very nice place to eat was at the nearby motel at the crossroads. Lovely gravy!

Pockington is nearby and difficult to find parking.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rickym34 27 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have stayed at this site, as we were visiting our friends who run the award winning Jug and Bottle off-licence and delicatessen at Bubwith, about 11 miles away, for a couple of days, so this made an ideal base, and it has got better since the first time.

Louise and Nick, the site owners, were incredibly friendly and helpful and the site is an absolute credit to them.

It has flat pitches, a good-sized play area for the kids, and nice very-clean-at-all-times toilet block, and good recycling facilities.

York is close, but we did not go in to the city this time as we were busy the whole time with our friends, however, we will definitely be returning to this site again next time we are in the East Riding of Yorkshire.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julesxxxxxx 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from a lovely week at South Lea, what a lovely site can understand how it has won the awards it has,

On arrival had a very very very friendly welcome from Louise had a chat and was well informed about everything the surrounding area has to offer, she even remembered our parents coming to visit over Easter,

Was told where our pitch was. It's so peaceful. Can't fault the site and facilities

The toilet and shower block was lovely and clean. The water was hot and no push button bliss,

Would recommend this lovely site without hesitation.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janetfromleeds 2 reviews from this member

We stopped here for a week and had a great time, the dog walk is great, not many places have an on site dog walk. The toilets and showers were very clean, the owners are very friendly and informative about the area, only downside is that you would have to drive in to Pocklington, if a footpath could be created this would make all the difference. Pocklington has some really nice places to eat and drink, there is a large supermarket and a car boot was held in the carpark, whilst we were there. It has a playground for the children plua a large field for them to run wild, play football etc. I would recommend this site it is great for couples and children

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Norman181 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely spacious clean site, upon arrival you come to the entry barriers and check in with the site warden who was extremely friendly and helpful you are then given a fob key for the barriers to entre in and out.

The site is well maintained with attractive plantings and a children's playpark.

The toilets, showers were clean and tidy.

We went on the park and ride bus to York which is easier than driving into the City and only cost 3.50 each, it took about 20 mins. The town of Pocklington is only about 15 mins walk away and worth a look round.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Victoriaa5320 2 reviews from this member

Just spent 3 nights at South Lea, Louise was very friendly and helpful from booking to checking in and gave information on surrounding area.

As I had my 2 children with me we were offered a huge EHU pitch on the edge of the play area which was fab for the kids and they made friends, but at the same time I could keep an eye on them.The ground was flat but quite muddy (glad I had a good mat inside the awning).

The ladies toilet/showers were really clean and although the showers are free (plus point) they are very poor pressure and the water goes everywhere but on you. Good size cubicle and your clothes don't get wet.

The site is really big and it seems appeals greatly to caravans (which are lined up like soldiers in a row)and it appeared that a lot of people keep their caravans there on a permanent basis.

I didn't feel that it was safe to walk into Pocklington from the site, it is along a busy unlit straight road with no pavement until you get closer to the centre.

You have to use your car whenever you want to go anywhere this site is really only a base camp but is ideally situated for visiting the surrounding areas.

The only downfall I found and I am so surprised that this has not been mentioned in other reviews, is the fact that there is a major 'A' road running along the side of the site. There is only an open field separating you from this so does absolutely nothing to protect your ears from the noise.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marshalldd 20 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful site, friendly staff who gave us advice on the nearby town. We walked and yes there is no pavement but with two children and a puppy I was fine.

The toilets are really clean as is all the site. Pitches big and most have EHU.

We travelled to Flamborough which was lovely takes you back to your child hood although nothing had changed.

We will be going back this year.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Delatron 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a four night stay at this site. We decided to try South Lea based on the reviews we read and were luckily able to get onto the site despite booking late and liked it the moment we arrived.

Louise greeted us and showed us the various places we could pitch our tent, gave us the welcome leaflet which had the rules of the site and some info on a local gp, vet etc and also suggested some places in pocklington for take out etc, there were also some picnic tables and benches dotted about the park and Louise showed us one that wasn't being used that we could move to our pitch which was fantastic.

The park itself was immaculate, a lot of attention to detail has gone into the set up of it, the block which housed the showers/toilets and washing up area seems very central to the whole of the camp and you are never too far away from a water point.

There is a huge area for children to play in, the actual play equipment was too big for my two toddlers to get full use of but they had a good go and enjoyed just running around between the goal posts anyway.

There is lots to do and see in the surrounding area, we went to Castle Howard (40mins by car) and Bridlington(45mins) which has a lovely stretch of beach and a lovely little shop called beachcomber which had some nice little bits and pieces and would recommend a visit to both if you haven't already been. We luckily had beautiful weather for our stay.

We have no negatives for the site or its owners and are planning a return trip next year.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scfcpad 3 reviews from this member

I have just returned from a 3 day stay at this site and found it to be one of the best I have stayed at.

All pitches are flat and of a good size and very well maintained.

The shower block was always clean and tidy no matter what time you went in.

They have a small play area which was suitable for my childs needs.

The only thing that I think this site needs is possibly a small shop on site where you could get some basics but Poklington is only a 5min drive away.

In the local area there is Poklington which is a lovely little town with everything that you need.

Also worth a visit there is Burnby hall and gardens which has a large lake where your kids will just love to feed the carp which come right up to the waters edge.

All in all can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: W+T Thomas 1 review from this member

Best campsite we have stayed at yet. Stopped 3 nights. It was busy but didn't feel busy as there was plenty of room. Pitches very large and well cared for very good lighting and plenty of water points clean free showers and toilets. The nearby small market town of Pocklington was very close with its choice of takeaways, pubs, supermarkets, cinema, swimming etc and with York just a 25 min car journey away. With a trip to the Theakstons Brewery, Masham, made our visit that much better ;-) Owners were really kind and helpful. Will definitely return.

Thanks guys we enjoyed our time at South lea.

Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2200 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019