Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lea Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > South Lea Caravan Park Reviews

South Lea Caravan Park
The Balk
Pocklington
Pocklington
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 2NXCheck Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 132 Reviews
                9/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kelkawitch 2 reviews from this member

Outstanding. The cleanest bathrooms I've ever used. The owners are wonderfully friendly and the site is immaculate. There's a place for kids to play and it's only a short journey into Pocklington. Customer service is outstanding.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Taurus25 1 review from this member

Just spent 2 nights at this site, and wish we had found it earlier in the season, what a little gem, extremely well kept site lovely wardens and owners.

Shower and toilet block immaculate and well heated.

Walked into Pocklington not too far to go, about a mile to a mile and half. There is a bus stop just outside the site for those who don't do walking.

Will look forward to next season and many more visits here

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Addvic 8 reviews from this member

A site we use every year and have been coming to for a number of years as its central to lots of things to do with our children.

Clean, well maintained site, well priced, good play area (not as suitable for really young children ie toddlers in my opinion) and a field for football/games.

Dog walking area with a dog shower to hose off mucky paws.

We visit Allerthorpe lake so the kids can go canoeing, paddle in the lake and a nice walk for the dog, food reasonably priced.

York Maze isn't far and a great family day out and we can take the dog.

Piglets my youngest child loves going to (no dogs) and is great day out and a very reasonable price to get in. The road to get there can have lots of queuing traffic so though not far from the site it has taken us an hour to get there in the past.

Trips on the boat on the canal on a weekend/BH Monday are free (donation), last about 30 mins these can be really busy and can only accept 12 people at a time so you may have a long wait, though there is pub on the road/path leading to the cannal trip and walks.

Pocklington is a lovely place and we have visited the gardens and fed the fish (but can't now as have a dog), but nice shops and dog friendly pubs.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brievans 6 reviews from this member

A nice site, clean and well laid out. Owners/staff very nice and helpful.

Very easy to find

Pocklington is a short drive away with everything you need, pubs, chippies etc

Will return when in that area again

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

After a warm welcome we were put on a hardstanding pitch near the toilet block. All the grass pitches were not in use due to the waterlogging. The toilet facilities were spotless, the pot washing which was around the back were clean. Not sure if the facilities are quite big enough when the site is full but this didn't effect us.

There is a good dog walk down one side which given the wet weather was good underfoot. Pocklington is about a mile down the road. A lovely small town with a lovely Church, many coffee shops, charity shops and four or five Pubs. At least three of the pubs were dog friendly as was the Market Sq Café. The only thing we didn't like was the first 300 yards on the road into Pocklington which didn't have a pavement, that was risky.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TrevorTea 3 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to South Lea, we were greeted with a pleasant welcome from the owner. The site is over several fields but separated by shrubs and hedges making it more homely. Immaculately kept grass and flower beds add to the pleasant feeling, the pitches are a decent size with good hard standing and plenty of room. The facilities were kept clean and there's lots of hot water, all in all very good indeed.

There's a hotel nearby if you want something to eat or drink and there's lots of things to do in the area.

Worth a visit, yes very good indeed

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SammieJaie 5 reviews from this member

Excellent site.

Very roomy pitches.

Heated toilet block.

Free showers & hairdryer. Lots of room and pegs in showers too.

Clean and tidy throughout the whole site.

Quiet, peaceful with a view.

Friendly owner and staff.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pat B 1 review from this member

Excellent site.

Very friendly & helpful owners & wardens.

Spotless facilities on this well maintained site.

Bus stop at entrance to Pocklington/York & opposite entrance to Beverley/Hull.

Selection of good restaurants, pubs & independent shops in Pocklington as well as Sainsburys, Aldi & Co-op.

Burnby Hall & gardens situated in Pocklington are well worth a visit & feeding the huge fish in the lake is a must!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lainey7071 4 reviews from this member

We left it late to find a site for Easter weekend and managed to get a cancellation at South Lea. Louise was very helpful and friendly when making the booking and on arrival.

Great sized Hardstanding pitch just across from the football field which was perfect for our footy mad 7 year old who made a couple of friends. There was a small play park also but he didn't take much interest in that although plenty other children did.

The toilet block was spotlessly clean at all times, the only slight critism was the showers were not very powerful, it seem to take an age to wash & conditon my hair. My husband doesn't have this problem! The water however was plentiful and hot.

Everyone was friendly and the owners were always around to help and answer any questions. You can hear road noise but that didn't bother us in the slightest and certainly would not deter us from returning.

Pocklington village was a very short drive from the site and although on this occasion we didn't sample the pubs/restaurants they looked lovely. There was a Sainsburys and Aldi in the village too.

There is loads to do around and about - We spent a sunny day in Bridlington on the beach and another rainy day shopping at McArthur Glen and Monks Cross. We didn't got into York as we often visit there anyway but if you wanted to there are excellent park & ride facilities nearby.

We will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cruddybones 3 reviews from this member

Just back from this fantastic site. Unfortunately only stayed for two nights but somewhere we will definitely visit again. The site is spotlesss and probably one of the most level sites we have stayed on.

The toilet and shower facilities are great and the pitches are of a good size. The children's play area is of a good size with a Good area for ball games. The dog walk area is well thought out and a great addition. Everyone on the site was friendly with lots of annually sited vans.

The site staff where super friendly and do a great job of making sure you know where to go etc.

Plenty to see and do in the local area.

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4173 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019