Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Lea Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > South Lea Caravan Park > Reviews

South Lea Caravan Park
The Balk
Pocklington
Pocklington
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 2NX
Tel: 01759 303467  or  07989 616095
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stilllearning 2 reviews from this member

 Can't fault it! lovely place, well set out, friendly staff,

Everything thought out and catered for.

Slight noise from main road but nothing major.

Sharron very helpful on arrival 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Locky65 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely site spotless showers and toilets grounds well looked after bus stop outside gate.

Site is very secure

It was our first time here but we will definitely be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulha 5 reviews from this member

 Fantastic! Owners are hard working. Site is ideal for walking.

The site is so well looked after its unbelievable, and really good value for money,

Each pitch has its own clean water tap adjacent to the ehu,

Only thing is I wish they were open all year round but come next season will 100% be going back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Russel 3 reviews from this member

 An excellent campsite, clean, tidy, well maintained with nice showers and facilities.

Very nice staff with excellent customer friendly communications. As we were tent camping, we appreciated that the ground was flat and soft enough to get the pegs in easily!

The picnic bench was also very handy!

The site is well situated with a restaurant within 5 minutes walking distance. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: CC05 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a lovely 4 day break at this fantastic caravan park, with our two dogs. Although it was Mid-August (with brilliant weather), the site was lovely and quiet.

The setting is beautiful and the grounds lovingly maintained. We were the only tent on the camping field ( as we didn't require electric) and had lots of space on our pitch, which included our own wooden picnic table.

There was only one other tent that we saw on the electric pitches and the rest were mainly caravans and motor homes. The shower and toilet block were immaculate and there was a 'Covid friendly' system in place, to make sure only 2 people in the block at one time.

The wardens were very friendly and so helpful in advising us of great dog walks in the area and lent us a map so we could navigate properly!

The area is perfect for walking with, or without dogs and most start only a short drive away from the site. We were amazed at how many free parking places there were at the start of many of our walks!

South Lea Caravan Park is definitely a site we will return to and highly recommend, especially if you have dogs. The site had a fantastic dog walk, which took up nearly a whole field, with an additional enclosed area too with a bench for the humans!

Our dogs absolutely loved running free in here sniffing the trails of previous visitors and couldn't wait to get in there, even after a 12 mile walk earlier in the day!

The town of Pocklington is a few minutes drive away ( we didn't fancy walking on the grass verge alongside the road with dogs, as it was very busy) with Sainsbury's and Aldi for provisions and many takeaways that will deliver to the site also.

Highly recommend this friendly site! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Di39ho 1 review from this member

 First time here, just wanted a short break at short notice. The site is lovely. First impressions are great grass well tended and pitches neat and not on top of each other.

The showers and toilets are spotless and closed twice a day for thorough cleaning. Covid friendly.

The other campers mainly seasonal were so friendly.

Will definitely be booking again but longer next time. Thanks 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Turbo123 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site. Clean, tidy and well maintained. Felt safe with COVID restrictions in place.

We will be visiting here again very soon. As we have a camper we decided to use the local transport to venture around Yorkshire

Bus stops outside of main gates, so itís easy to travel and visit other places while staying at South Lea farm. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Viks32 6 reviews from this member

 Great site. Quick and easy booking in.

Friendly welcome. Clean, quiet spacious site. Good facilities.

Great location for getting out and about to adventure or just sit back and relax. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Happy Hobos 15 reviews from this member

 A couple of days prior to visiting we received a call from the site wardens just to confirm that we were going and a secure link to pay for our stay.

The site was easy to find and well laid out with plenty of open space around the pitches.

There is a bus stop outside the entrance with buses to York every half hour or to Hull, Beverley or Bridlington every hour.

We can't pass comment on the facilities as they were still closed due to covid restrictions.

All in all an excellent place to stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Big Brian 56 36 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant staff answering phone, money was taken by what seemed to be a resident in the adjacent field, not many pitches which added to the ambiance, the guy showed us to our pitch, took our money (£22 a night ) he was very pleasant, told us where facilities were, had a bench adjacent to pitch, not far to water, facilities dated but spotless. Even a hair dryer in the gents !

Itís all grass, a bit muddy but nowt to write home about.

A short walk through the adjacent site takes you to the Ship inn with an eclectic mix of clientele, didnít eat there but smelled nice, bus stop outside Ship, bishopthorpe up the road for papers. Three more pubs there plus a butcher, whatís not to like ?

Would we go again. For sure, but wouldnít follow sat nav, if coming up A64 take the turning after the ring road turnoff and go past the college and straight through bishopthorpe. 
via mobile


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is South Lea Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Lea Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is South Lea Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


49336 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement