Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Lea Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > South Lea Caravan Park Reviews

South Lea Caravan Park
The Balk
Pocklington
Pocklington
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO42 2NX
Tel: 01759 303467  or  07989616095
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 134 Reviews
                9/10 from 134 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  134 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Speedway 3 reviews from this member

 We booked this site as a stop over on our way up to Bridlington. We wanted to visit York, and the location was ideal for us travelling up from Norfolk.

Bearing in mind this was August, and we did book late, the owners were very helpful in fitting us in, although the site appeared full.

We had a nice grass pitch with hook up at one end of the site, which suited us just fine. Most of the pitches appeared to be seasonal, as many of the vans were unoccupied during our visit.

The wardens were delightful and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The whole site is neat and very well kept, we watched some gardening going on near our van, so they take pride in the site which is always good to see.

The facilities were excellent, although we do use the shower in our van rather than site showers, but it all looked immaculate to us.

The entrance is easy to negotiate if you have a large outfit, and there is a barrier for security. The location is ideal for Pocklington, and we would recommend a visit to Burnby Hall Gardens there.

A short drive takes you to one of York's Park & Ride sites for easy access to the beautiful City.

We enjoyed our stay and would certainly visit again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Kathfa26863ya 1 review from this member

 Fantastic place to relax, spotless and hosts very helpful. Shower and Toilet facilities immaculate.

There is a play area for children, which has swings and other equipment, plenty of spaces for children to run about.

In walking distance to Pocklington, about a 15 mins walk, although the walk is along a grass verge and sometimes the road can be busy, not ideal if you have a young family

However there is a bus stop directly outside, which appears to be reliable, having used it a couple of times

There is also Yorkway motel about 500 yards to the left, good for meals and drinks (all you can eat breakfast and dinner and evening meals and drinks all reasonably priced if you are on a budget), families are welcome.

Overall the site is great for families and adults and well maintained. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kelkawitch 4 reviews from this member

 Outstanding. The cleanest bathrooms I've ever used. The owners are wonderfully friendly and the site is immaculate.

There's a place for kids to play and it's only a short journey into Pocklington.

Customer service is outstanding. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Taurus25 1 review from this member

 Just spent 2 nights at this site, and wish we had found it earlier in the season, what a little gem, extremely well kept site lovely wardens and owners.

Shower and toilet block immaculate and well heated.

Walked into Pocklington not too far to go, about a mile to a mile and half. There is a bus stop just outside the site for those who don't do walking.

Will look forward to next season and many more visits here 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Addvic 8 reviews from this member

 A site we use every year and have been coming to for a number of years as its central to lots of things to do with our children.

Clean, well maintained site, well priced, good play area (not as suitable for really young children ie toddlers in my opinion) and a field for football/games.

Dog walking area with a dog shower to hose off mucky paws.

We visit Allerthorpe lake so the kids can go canoeing, paddle in the lake and a nice walk for the dog, food reasonably priced.

York Maze isn't far and a great family day out and we can take the dog.

Piglets my youngest child loves going to (no dogs) and is great day out and a very reasonable price to get in. The road to get there can have lots of queuing traffic so though not far from the site it has taken us an hour to get there in the past.

Trips on the boat on the canal on a weekend/BH Monday are free (donation), last about 30 mins these can be really busy and can only accept 12 people at a time so you may have a long wait, though there is pub on the road/path leading to the cannal trip and walks.

Pocklington is a lovely place and we have visited the gardens and fed the fish (but can't now as have a dog), but nice shops and dog friendly pubs. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brievans 6 reviews from this member

 A nice site, clean and well laid out. Owners/staff very nice and helpful.

Very easy to find

Pocklington is a short drive away with everything you need, pubs, chippies etc

Will return when in that area again 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

 After a warm welcome we were put on a hardstanding pitch near the toilet block. All the grass pitches were not in use due to the waterlogging. The toilet facilities were spotless, the pot washing which was around the back were clean. Not sure if the facilities are quite big enough when the site is full but this didn't effect us.

There is a good dog walk down one side which given the wet weather was good underfoot. Pocklington is about a mile down the road. A lovely small town with a lovely Church, many coffee shops, charity shops and four or five Pubs. At least three of the pubs were dog friendly as was the Market Sq Café. The only thing we didn't like was the first 300 yards on the road into Pocklington which didn't have a pavement, that was risky. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TrevorTea 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to South Lea, we were greeted with a pleasant welcome from the owner. The site is over several fields but separated by shrubs and hedges making it more homely. Immaculately kept grass and flower beds add to the pleasant feeling, the pitches are a decent size with good hard standing and plenty of room. The facilities were kept clean and there's lots of hot water, all in all very good indeed.

There's a hotel nearby if you want something to eat or drink and there's lots of things to do in the area.

Worth a visit, yes very good indeed 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SammieJaie 12 reviews from this member

 Excellent site.

Very roomy pitches.

Heated toilet block.

Free showers & hairdryer. Lots of room and pegs in showers too.

Clean and tidy throughout the whole site.

Quiet, peaceful with a view.

Friendly owner and staff. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pat B 1 review from this member

 Excellent site.

Very friendly & helpful owners & wardens.

Spotless facilities on this well maintained site.

Bus stop at entrance to Pocklington/York & opposite entrance to Beverley/Hull.

Selection of good restaurants, pubs & independent shops in Pocklington as well as Sainsburys, Aldi & Co-op.

Burnby Hall & gardens situated in Pocklington are well worth a visit & feeding the huge fish in the lake is a must! 


Previous     134 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Lea Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Lea Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is South Lea Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5945 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement