Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Padstow Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Padstow > Padstow Touring Park Reviews

Padstow Touring Park
Padstow Touring Park
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8LE
Tel: 01841 532061
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 187 Reviews
                9/10 from 187 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kellyclan 6 reviews from this member

 A friendly clean site.

The showers were a bit of a nuisance when others showering as well. The water flow runs to a drizzle. The site goes very quiet at 10pm which is great if you have children.

Tents and Caravans are mixed together, which is lovely. We made friends with our neighbours.

Tesco is a short drive away or short walk along the foothpath from the site. It stocks everything you would need. But be warned it gets very very busy and the carpark gets packed out.

The park and ride is next to Tesco and costs £4 which takes you straight into Padstow. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Struggs 1 review from this member

 We are new to camping, so to speak. We have camped lots as children and spent many holidays in France with our family in pre-erected canvas tents so do have experience with living in a tent.

We spent 7 nights on this site in late August 2011.

On arrival we were given a pleasant welcome and check-in was very quick. Pitch was a good size and well maintained. Very little privacy between you and your fellow campers. Some hedges separating you from the rear but nothing to the sides.

We had a deluxe plot and water and electric are close to hand. We found the water to have a very chlorinated taste, even when boiled, so ended up using bottled water from the start!

Facilities on the site are limited. The shop is stocked with all the basics and we found some really tasty local jam and bread but the prices are very steep. Tesco is 3 mins away in the car. Be warned, Tesco gets very very busy at peak times 4-6pm so get in early if you don't want a mental breakdown!

The toilets were our biggest disappointment. We booked the site based on reviews from ukcampsite.co.uk and nearly everyone raved about the toilets being clean and of a high standard. Well, we might be a very fussy family but we thought the toilets were very dated and unless you got in to them straight after a clean, which from our experience was first thing in the morning and last thing at night, they were far from spotless. Being used to France and the way they are constantly cleaning throughout the day we were unimpressed.

Showers were very weak and had those awful push valves which you had to either hold for a contant flow or keep pushing. We wouldn't have minded them if they had lasted longer than 20 seconds!

At peak times the showers competed with each other for the flow and at times nearly stopped!

As we say, we can only go by our French experience and I am sad to say that Padstow Touring Park could put a little more effort in the toilet and shower departments.

Of course, we are inexperienced campers and from what other people say the site is a good example so maybe our expectations were set high?

The price per night was £35 which included a deluxe pitch and EHU which at first appeared to be good value but we think it was over priced and after speaking with my Father, who has over 30 years caravaning experience, he confirmed that better value sights were easily found. We think that we were paying what we coined the 'Padstow Tax' anything in or nearby seemed more expensive than further afield.

The site was pleasant enough but as it is positioned high up on a hill it did suffer with high winds and with very little in the way of trees to screen the site many tents got buffeted.

The other issue we found a little off putting was the Farm next door. We love cows and cockerels in small doses. We both grew up in rural Suffolk, so know what farms sound and smell like but the odour from the cows could be very strong and a little off putting when trying to enjoy a meal Al fresco! Also, if I wanted to be woken at 5 o'clock in the morning by Cockerels crowing and Cows Mooing I would stay on a farm.

The children used the play area but again we felt that it was a half baked affair and no real attention to the little people who would be using it. I would not class this site as family friendly in the sense of facilities for children.

Despite our Niggles we enjoyed our stay and did find the close proximity of Padstow handy but we only visited it a few times, there are equally nice towns all over Cornwall so we will go elsewhere next year and hope to pay less.

Would we return to Padstow Touring Park. No, in short. We met a few people who had returned year after year but we are convinced that there are equal if not better sites in the region offering superior facilities and better value. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

 Had a warm welcome from the lady in reception and given a map of the site, a good leaflet about the area and even a leaflet on how they expect you to pitch your unit and park your car!

The pitch was a good size and the site was exceptionally well maintained, every day whatever the weather they were out cutting grass, filling in pot holes, painting etc.

The pitch we had was large, very slightly sloping but nothing that ramps could deal with, and with a pleasant view.

All the facilities were to a high standard and always clean, the only let down were the silly push button showers that only lasted a few second before needing to be pushed again. The on site shop had all the basics, must admit I didn't notice if things were expensive or not.

The walk to Padstow is nice through 4 cornfields and over 3 stiles, I would have thought not suitable for pushchairs as the ground is rough and muddy in places.

Padstow is lovely, with plenty of places to eat and drink, from the cheap to the expensive. One thing I would recommend is taking your bike or hiring one and riding along the Camel train, such a nice way to spend a day.

A word of warning, the site is on top of a hill over looking the estuary and is exposed, the wind was strong some days when we were there, blowing our table across the field.

Overall a good clean, well maintained site and I would be happy to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jandan 16 reviews from this member

 A nicely laid out site just a mile from Padstow's restaurants and various beautiful beaches. There are plenty of shrubs and well kept grass.

Most pitches have views and are backed against a hedge which offers a limited amount of shelter up here on top of the hill. When the wind blows here, you know it. Two tent poles snapped during the first three days. We had a very large pitch with EHU and had plenty of room. Pitches are flat for the most part.

The site is on farmland and so you hear cows and cockerels. It is a myth that cockerels only crow when the sun comes up. They crow when it is still pitch black at 4am!

The facilities were clean and sufficient for the number of people on site at the time. One of the shower blocks has loo, shower and washbasins in the same room and there are also private washrooms which are shared between three pitches - these are actually in the shower blocks and not sited between three pitches.

The reception block from the outside is rather plain and some hanging baskets would make it more welcoming.

The shop is in the reception area and sells basic essentials, but no fresh produce at all apart from milk. We found the prices for some items ridiculously high - £1 for a can of coke. Tesco is a pleasant walk away across fields (during daylight) or a drive - there is no pavement on the roadside and it can be very busy.

The walk down (and up again) to Padstow is not for the fainthearted - it is a very long, steep hill. Once in Padstow marvel at the queues at Rick Stein's Fish and Chips. Whatever your budget, clever Mr Stein caters for everyone. We ate at his cafe and his pub, The Cornish Arms in nearby St Merryn - it does get very crowded but the food is good and no more expensive than other pubs.

Back to the campsite, although there is a small play area (adventure playground style) and a family washroom, I wouldn't say this was a site for children unless you are using it as just a base.

We very much enjoyed our time here; the only drawback that may stop us going back is that it can be such a windy site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Helen + stew 2 reviews from this member

 A warm welcome on arrival the map of the site and pack giving lots of really great info everything from shop opening times to taxi numbers, probably the best I've seen yet.

The site was very busy when we stopped but facilities seemed just about able to cope, three very different blocks of showers and loo's varying in age, possibly could have been cleaned a bit more often.

Our pitch unfortunately overlooked a pile of rubble on the track down to the farm, bit disappointing as every other spot seemed to have wonderful views.

Nice walk over the fields into Padtow, fab views across the countryside!

Beach, shops, pubs etc very nice. Tesco's handy. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hursta 2 reviews from this member

 We spent two weeks here during July and August. On arrival we were greeted at reception and handed the welcome pack. Pitches are already allocated so no choice!

We had booked a deluxe pitch which was of a generous size and included a shared water tap. This was supposed to be shared with the pitch next to us but in reality other pitches around us used it as well which could be annoying when water was required at 11pm.

The location of the site is perfect and well situated for all the stunning nearby beaches and amenities.

We found the facilities on site to be adequate at best. There were not really enough showers and toilets for the size of the site and these were often dirty and muddy.

The showers, as has been mentioned before on here, are of the push button type as are all the taps. This makes filling the sink for washing up frustrating as did the lack of plugs for the sinks! The access road to the site is pot-holed and scruffy and the pitches although well spaced side to side, are close together back to back.

We found the site to be noisy at night with several large groups being noisy well into the night. There did not seem to be any warden presence during the evenings and often it did not fall quiet until around midnight (in spite of claims to have a policy of 'no noise after 10pm'). When we raised this with the owners they were not very helpful and did not seem particularly interested.

This has the potential to be an outstanding site to stay at but is let down by a lack of attention to detail. Overall we would probably stay here again due to the excellent location but we endured rather than enjoyed the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TheSyddies 2 reviews from this member

 The staff at this family run site were very friendly and helpful.

The site was lovely and very well kept, and the facilities were very clean. They have family bathrooms with a shower, basin and toilet which is much appreciated when you are camping with young children. There is a useful shop in the reception area.

It was a lovely walk through the fields into Padstow and to a handy Tesco store. The Camel Trail offers a good level bike ride with children.

We had a level hard standing and the pitch was huge. We stayed during the May half term and it didn't seem busy, mainly due to the pitches being so large and well spaced out.

On arrival at the site we were given a useful map of the site, which also gave lots of local information and places to eat. We had a meal at The Basement restaurant in Padstow which was excellent. It also gave info on local beaches and said which beaches were dog friendly which we found really helpful as it's always hard finding out which beaches you can take the dog to, until you get there.

An excellent site. We enjoyed it so much we've booked to go back in July. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: UXO8 23 reviews from this member

 After reading the previous reviews I must say we're slightly disappointed in this site. We had a pleasant and informative welcome with a good information sheet

We had a deluxe pitch which was very large and nice. We had a look in all 3 shower blocks and they all ranged in cleanliness and quality! The better ones being behind the reception block but even those did smell musty.

The site could be a little better maintained i.E overgrown grass, broken tarmac and the storage area which you go through on the path to Padstow/Tesco is rather scruffy. The path in place is uneven so we would recommend good walking boots

The site was quiet but we didnít have many vans/children around us.

Padstow lovely as always and the cycle trail was great

We have been to better and worse sites than this and would give it 6/10 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 1st citizen 2 reviews from this member

 We have visited several times and find this a pleasant and not over-commercialised site.

It has very good toilet/shower facilities with all-in cubicles which we like. Site quite exposed but not unpleasantly so.

Site walkable across footpaths to town, muddy in places but OK. We used the sloping grass sites with views until stopped last time we booked as the van Compass 505 was considered too long. Odd and in the end we went elsewhere.

Staff friendly. Nevertheless it is a good clean site which I recommend and we will use again. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark+Gail 2 reviews from this member

 We found this camp site excellent, very good pitches, good facilities and we found the shower block very clean, although there is one older block of showers which probably does need updating.

Very helpful staff, the shop does have the basic supplies you may need but Tescos is just a short journey away for all other groceries etc.

Padstow is just a mile away and can be walked too

Although do take a torch at night time.

Plenty of other attractions in the area and great beaches if you get the weather.

We would definitely return to this camp site. 


Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Padstow Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Padstow Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Padstow Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Padstow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4614 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020