Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Padstow Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Padstow > Padstow Touring Park Reviews

Padstow Touring Park
Padstow Touring Park
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8LE
Tel: 01841 532061
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 190 Reviews
                9/10 from 190 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Atr2010 3 reviews from this member

 Great site! Plenty of space and super facilities.

You can take a lovely walk across the fields to Padstow that brings you right outside Tesco. This is quite fun and challenging in the dark after wobbling back from the pubs in Padstow!

Nice, well stocked shop on site and the people are friendly which always helps.

I have been here twice, once with my car and once with my motorcycle and had a warm reception each time.

You can't really ask for much more in a campsite. It's got plenty of space and the ground is mostly flat and stone free.

I would visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J cooper 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite. Very clean toilets and showers.Well stocked shop. Friendly and helpful staff. Short distance to Padstow and Tesco.Plenty of nice beaches nearby. The park and ride next to tesco was very useful for popping in to Padstow, which has a nice harbour and plenty of shops.

Our tent was on a slight hill so my coffee cup would never stand up on its own, but I think most pitches were level. The only downside was my daughter got bit by someones dog that was not on a lead.

Overall, a nice site and I would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jacko383 13 reviews from this member

 This site was just the right size, with plenty of families and really peaceful. We stayed with our 2 boys who adored meeting friends on the play area which was equipped enough for their pleasure.

3 sanitary blocks all kept immaculately clean. The family block by the shop was better than some bathrooms at home I'm sure!

Shop sells essentials (and alcohol but no papers), where staff really helpful.

I thought the Launderette was expensive at 4.50 a pop plus 2 for 30 mins to dry it. Iron can be hired from reception.

I agree with other reviews, I missed a local pub, but at least Padstow is a walk away.

The only oddity was the water on site tasted awful so we ended up buying bottled from Tesco!

I would recommend this site to families and couples, great value and wonderful staff and facilities! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Klfi 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first major camping outing with the children and we were very worried! However the site was fantastic. Friendly, helpful, clean and spacious.

The showers were clean and we never had to queue and were separate from the loos/wash basins which meant they were kept cleaner and less busy.

The shop was great and the staff very helpful, charging phones up at no extra charge was very kind and useful! The walk to padstow was beautiful and manageable with 2 children of 3 and 5 yrs old.

The playground was good too and the kids played happily there (supervised!) and made lots of friends. Would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Urby 5 reviews from this member

 Brilliant! the only minus it would have been nice to have a pub around the corner, nearest one being in padtow itself ( right killer walking back). Tesco just down round, don't want go on but this site does the business, well impressed!

Nice drive on the coastal road to newqauy

Check out trevone beach has a little river for the toddlers to play in,

Padstow itself lovely cornish harbour

Bike hire available 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woolycomb 6 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site and this time we recommended it to friends and they joined us. We all agreed that it would be hard to criticise it - as a previous reviewer said, it's pretty well perfect.

All the facilities are in good order and clean at all times in our experience. The only time we had to queue for showers was when we wanted to use the bathrooms behind reception at busy times. These are a great idea - I took my own bath mat and was very comfortable! There are taps all over the place so you never have to walk far for water, the shop was well stocked and staff there and on reception extremely helpful and efficient.

We loved either being able to walk into Padstow across the fields or just being a couple of minutes drive away. The car park above the park (with adults play equipment!) is free after 6pm and actually a quicker walk to the harbour/shops than the car park by the bike hire in town - plus you still have to pay in the evenings down there.

Padstow itself is just lovely - lots of eating places, lovely shops, beautiful harbour and walking distance from a lovely beach too. The Camel trail is great too. We parked at Wadebridge (cheaper) and cycled to Padstow (stopping for coffee and fantastic oat/date bake at Treats on Trikes half way along) and then parked up our bikes in Padstow and took a picnic onto the beach beyond town and had a lovely lazy picnic. This beach is very sheltered so perfect for days when it might be a bit cool on other beaches.

With regards to eating places in Padstow we have to say that Pucceli's upstairs overlooking the harbour was just excellent. We read some awful reviews on it from last year but it would seem that they've taken note - we had two excellent meals there and the service was very good.

You are just spoilt for choice with beaches in this area, especially if you like body boarding and surfing. We tended to park at Treyarnon and either stay on that beach or walk round to Constantine (bearly any parking at Constantine itself) which took about 10 mins and wasn't strenuous even loaded up with beach gear. Both beaches have places to buy excellent coffee!

I would return to this campsite year after year if I were allowed - husband likes to go to different place each year so I was lucky to come two years in a row, but will be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenniboo 2 reviews from this member

 Not much to say about this site other than it is perfect!

Hubby and I are in the in our late twenties/early thirties, we took our puppy too.

Really clean, plenty of showers, loo's, washing up sinks.

We stayed for 6 nights the first week in July and loved it.

We had a deluxe pitch, which mean we had our own tap and electric (well shared tap, with one other unit).

The site was friendly and quiet mainly, not sure if groups are allowed although did see a couple of tents pitched together at one end of the site.

Shop on site, also laundry and recycling, kids play area.

Only 1 mile walk to Tesco's, prob 1.5 miles into Padstow town.

2.5 Mile walk to the 'Cornish Arms' (Rick Steins pub). We went twice :)

1 mile ish to horse riding, where we did a 1 hour pony trek www.Tresallyn-riding-padstow.Co.Uk

Cycle hire just in padstow by the first car park. We cycled the Camel Trail and hired a doggy cart so we could take our puppy. Must pre book the dog cart though as they only have 2.

Newquay is approx 14 mile drive on a coast road.

Approx 9 miles to Bedruthen Steps a must see if you like the outdoor, but must be able to claim the steep steps. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aysha 2 reviews from this member

 I have been camping for 11 years now and this is one of the best campsites I have been to. It is the cleanest I have ever been to and the only one I have never worn my flip flops in the shower! The grass is kept short, the flower beds are always being watered and the staff are really polite and helpful.

The pitches are of a good size and have never felt 'squashed' in anywhere. The walk into Padstow from the site along a costal path is lovely, quite steep coming back though but discovered a taxi back is only 5.Bargain! There's a little on site shop that sells mostly of what you would need, but there is a Tesco only 5 mins away.

I think some people expect too much when they go camping, it is camping after all! which also reflects the price which is very reasonable here too and as long as I can have a hot shower in clean surroundings I am more than happy. If you want more luxury then stay in a hotel! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pallett 14 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately we have mixed views of this site, it is very nicely laid out and very convenient for Padstow and the bus down into town (if you manage not to get run over crossing the very busy main road).

Having a 3.5 ton motor home we need good pitches and the one we were allocated when we prebooked was rubbish. After I had come off the top of both levels because they tipped up on the uneven ground and ruined them at 40 a set I was not happy.

Anyway it is a very nice site and the reception staff really know their job. I think though that at the price we paid we could expect better loo blocks, the gents urinal was of a council run facility type and constantly smelled.

We will go back because we like Padstow, but we will not prebook 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gatesy 20 reviews from this member

 This site has mainly grass pitches, with a few hard standings which are a little odd in some cases! Our hardstanding was basically the width of the motorhome, and I did find it pretty irritating when our neighbours found it necessary to walk within a couple of feet of the van - it would have helped if we'd remembered to take a windbreak so our fault I suppose.

Reception helpful, shop selling basics (and I think gas??), lots of tourist leaflets and maps showing the nearby beaches. The toilet/shower block we used (next to reception) was very good - all good sized separate cubicles with shower, toilet and sink. There is a small play area at the top of the site, but I wouldn't want to pitch around that part because it seems to back onto a working farm or similar and it's pretty noisy with tractors etc.

There is a footpath across fields to Padstow, or if the weather is particularly wet you can walk along the road although there is no footpath until you get to the edge of town. It is very steep getting down into the town and harbour area - you can't avoid the hills! I really like Padstow, lots of places to eat and drink and nice shops to wander around. Fortunately, even though it was the Easter weekend, it wasn't heaving with people, probably mainly due to the changeable weather. We cycled along the Camel Trail from Padstow to Wadebridge - only about 6 miles, but not long after we started out it started raining, and we were soaked by the time we got to Wadebridge so decided not to go further. Really good route, though - this section at least is really flat and very pretty. You can hire bikes in Padstow, near the start of the trail if needs be. From Padstow you can walk about the coast path - we didn't go very far but found lovely sheltered bit of beach to enjoy the sun whilst it was out.

All in all, would return to this site for the location mainly. 


Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Padstow Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Padstow Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Padstow Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Padstow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement