Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wyton Lakes Holiday Park (adults Only)

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Wyton Lakes Holiday Park (adults Only) Reviews

Wyton Lakes Holiday Park (adults Only)
Wyton Lakes
Banks End Wyton
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 2AA
Tel: 01480 412715
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 108 Reviews
                9/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coleman11 6 reviews from this member

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely weekend at Wyton Lakes.
The site was well kept and had a nice clean shower and toilet block with a separate section for washing up. There was no camp shop from what I could see but there were plenty of supermarkets a few miles away (2 Waitrose and 1 Tesco). The site was large and accomodated caravans, motorhomes and tents and it was all set in a lovely location surrounded by woodland and lakes.

There were rabbits and ducks and swans and the birds singing drowned out any noise from the road nearby. My husband caught several smaller fish and an eel but we could see much, much larger fish in the lake too. The site was very quiet and so I would not recommend going with a group of friends to this one. If you want to relax and fish, this place is perfect though.

St Ives and Huntingdon were only three miles away (in opposite directions) but had a good selection of shops and pubs. I would however recommend that if you plan to eat in the evenings at St Ives book ahead. A cab into St Ives cost under £9. The nearest pub is in the marina next door (5 min walk). It was mainly a food pub but did have a t.v. So my husband got to see some football! There are another couple of pubs about 20 minutes walk away but we didn't go to these.

All in all this campsite and the surrounding area was great. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 1018jackie 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from this lovely site.
Fab views from our tent, overlooking the lake, so peaceful.
Nice clean toilet and showers, plenty of hot water always.
Freezer in washing up area for icepack freezing, very handy, plenty of space even though it was half full of food !
Very nicely laid out site with parking next to your tent/caravan.
All in all we had a very nice weekend, and would return for sure !

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Shadowseeker 1 review from this member

We have just got back from spending the weekend (Fri night to Sun morning) and on first arrival we thought it looked like a pleasant enough place.
The lady on reception was nice and explained to us the pitch we were on was likely to get very wet and did we want to move, which I thought was nice of her, she could of just let us get wet. As it happened it didn't rain and we were ok.
The site its self is very quiet and peaceful, the toilet and shower block were very clean but did have a strange smell to them, could of been the cleaning products used. The showers were of a nice size and apart from the initial cold feel when first turned on they did warm very quickly. The only thing I didn't like about the showers was the push button to turn them on with and then having to keep pushing it to keep them on, they never seem to stay on long enough. I can't say much about the females side but I never heard any complaints from my partner so I must presume they were ok
There is not much going on at this site except for fishing so if you like fishing or you are after a very quiet site its ideal but if you are after a site that has things to do except fishing then it might not be for you, although saying that there are facilities very near by such as tesco for shopping and a cinema and lots of fast food outlets.
Over all I was very pleased with the site, a very clean, pleasant and quiet site with electric and water very close and I would have no hesitation in booking another weekend there to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anne S 1 review from this member

My husband and I and our dog have visited this site many times, the fishing is great, the owners and very nice people and tour the site and chat to guests, the toilet and shower block is always clean and plenty of hot water, the washing facilities are very good and there is a freezer there for you to use free of charge, the site is clean and tidy, we have a twin axle Baily Louisiana and the pitches are plenty big enough for that, the dog walk is great and you can walk by the river, it is peaceful and tranquil and a great place to just chill out. 
There is a Tesco superstore 5 minuites up the road, a pub next door that does meals, a garden and leisure centre opposite where you can get your sunday lunch if you don't want to cook.  All in all this is our favourite site for a peaceful fishing holiday. I cannot praise it enough.
 

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PTsx1 1 review from this member

I visited this site over the Bank Holiday weekend.  It wasn't too full but a couple of the other guests I spoke to all agreed that the site roads were in poor condition.  I personally didn't rate the shower blocks as when we left late afternoon they had still not been cleaned and the doormat at the entrance to the shower block was worse than useless as the grit from the road outside walked in and consequently into the showers.  Only saw the site owners as we arrived and never again.  Gardens needed tidying and bins were overflowing.  I agree with the guest I spoke to that if they smarten up their site then this is ideal for fishing people. 

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Eel28 16 reviews from this member

Very quiet site, ok so there is a faint 'hum' of a nearby road, but its not loud enough to be a bother.
 
This site is not too far from home for us, so was ideal place to try out our new Pennine Sterling, and it certainly worked out as well as expected.
 
Quite a big garden centre on the otherside of the road which sells lots of things that are not garden related well worth a visit, but if taking the misses don't forget your plastic :)
 
Showers and toilets were wonderful, very clean and plenty of hot water.  Washing up area was more than adequate again plenty of water - just one criticism here though, there are a few 'adverts' on the walls for local pubs, tea rooms etc. Which look very inviting, only trouble is no address / directions etc. for them.  Not knowing the area or where these nice looking places were, I'm afraid they lost our custom this time.
 
Pitch was clearly marked out, and bounded by a few small conifers - we found it a Little tight on space for the camper, awning and the car - that said, it could well be just our lack of experience with the camper that made it seem tight.
 
All in all a very nice and friendly site, which we have now added to our list of sites to revisit in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tjillings 3 reviews from this member

This site was in a lovely setting with first class shower / toilet etc facilities.
 
Adult only made a nice break from the kids and those belonging to others.
 
Ground was extremely hard and pitch was under trees so tree roots added to this problem also not much room for hartford xl ( a large tent for two adults I admit).  We had Electric hook up so could not pitch in the lovely tent field.
 
That aside the best thing about this site was the visible and very very friendly site owners and I would recommend this site to anyone wanting a peaceful retreat full of friendly people with good clean facilities and simple but effective rules.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chrisurk 1 review from this member

Our second visit, site was full, but was still really quiet,  owners are great, very friendly and always seem to be available.  Facilities are fine, this is a good site even if you don't want to fish, plenty of places to walk to, will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Rgooch 4 reviews from this member

Visited this site for 2 nights, very nice and relaxing, lovely loo & shower building. Nice and clean and always hot water good dishwashing area too. Nice site to walk around with a dog and down to the river. Visited St Ives and the Huntingdon garden and leisure centre opposite site entrance which is a very big place and can spend several hours wandering around. Only downside was traffic rumble as we were in a tent but in a caravan probably wouldn't notice it so much. A very nice site and would visit again nice friendly owners too

Reviewer: Liz G 19 reviews from this member

July 2005
Tented on this site for three nights and can recommend it. The site is situated off a busy road, but we found despite the background rumble to be a peaceful and relaxing site. We found the owners / warden and fellow campers to be very friendly. It was nice to be surrounded by lakes and we saw plenty of wildlife.

We found the showers and toilets to be clean and perfectly adequate, although a couple of shelves or a worktop near the handbasins would be welcome. As has been said the showers are free, the push button type. They were hot at all times and powerful too.

The surrounding area is lovely. We visited some charming towns and villages within a few miles of the site (St Ives, Houghton, Wyton, Hemingford Abbots). We will definitely be back to explore further.

Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Huntingdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5973 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019