Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wyton Lakes Holiday Park (adults Only)

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Wyton Lakes Holiday Park (adults Only) Reviews

Wyton Lakes Holiday Park (adults Only)
Wyton Lakes
Banks End Wyton
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 2AA
Tel: 01480 412715
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 145 Reviews
                9/10 from 145 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  145 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MotorhomeLady 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our visit which we have enjoyed. The staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful. The toilet block was clean with hot showers and free hairdryers. The individual rooms with shower, toilet and hand basin are nice and roomy. The site was tidy, clean, and the grass was nicely cut despite the wet weather. There are plenty of bins with recycling.

My husband had a good time fishing and caught some bream, roach and carp, including some of the new stock fish that were put in earlier this year.

The bus stop near the entrance is handy with a good regular service to Huntingdon and St. Ives through to Cambridge. The large garden centre opposite is great for a wander around.

Will definitely be going back later this year, possibly during school holidays as with this being an adult only site there are no kids allowed! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: W44NTY 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 7 night stay at this campsite, it is a lovely site, very nice owners, and wardens, toilets and showers were very clean and well kept, with plenty of hot water, fished every day caught plenty of fish, my son and I caught over 20 good carp up to 17lb, tench to 7lb, and bream into double figures, also plenty of good roach and rudd.

It was one of the best fishing weeks we have had, we will certainly be returning again, we enjoyed evey minute of our stay, even though it rained most days.

The pub next door at the marina served good food with 2 for 10 offers all good value. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachaelanddave 2 reviews from this member

 We have just good back from a week on this site.

The site itself is nice. Peaceful, lots of nature - birds, ducks, swans, clean toilets, lots of hot water, washing up area clean, site tidy - no over flowing bins or litter.

The local towns were very nice, the garden centre over the road did a great breakfast and also sold a lot of local produce.

Even though we had very poor weather we made the most of it and fished nearly everyday. But the fishing was very poor, only caught 4 fish all week, yes they were nice sizes 5 to 14lb but it was painful.

After speaking to other fisherman on the site we were advised that the fishing has gone down hill over the last 3 years, but you didn't get that impression when booking.

We also agree with Tammy and Brian's review, site was not very welcoming and did make us feel uncomfortable.

We would not go back to this site, which is a shame as if the fishing was good and the customer service improved this would be a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tammy and Brian 4 reviews from this member

 This is not a four star site! Site very tatty and unkept.

We had booked for 4 nights but was told in a brusque manner that we had booked for 3. Luckily this was done by email so proved it was 4. After we had sited our caravan and started to put up the awning a voice bellowed to us 'I told you to reverse on' never before have we been told which way to park just allow a certain space between pitches. So instead of a lake view we had a view of the bins and back of a motorhome.

At this point we were seriously considering leaving. The camp site was tatty. Showers hot but old. Fishing not possible unless you had a lakeside pitch as fisherman with these pitches also took up pitches elsewhere on the lake.

Caravans far too close together. Customer service skills seriously need looking at. The way the site was patrolled made it feel like a concentration camp. Needless to say will not go back. We have always enjoyed the sites we have been on

But not this one. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this site, the tent area was closed due to the wet weather.

All the facilities were clean and warm, the showers were good but an extra hook or two would have made them perfect. There are lots of bins for recycling and everywhere is clean and tidy.

Most pitches are hard standings some of these were very wet with puddles but the warden / owners were not greedy like some would be, they left these bad pitches empty. I thought that some of the pitches looked on the small side and most could have done with some more gravel / stones on the the top as they were quite bare.

In nicer weather the views over the lakes would be smashing and it would be most tranquil to stroll around them and sit on the benches by the river watching the boats go by.

Can't comment on the fishing as we don't fish.

As has been said the pub next door does good meals at very reasonable prices.

There is a bus stop outside the Marina next door, to Huntingdon or St Ives every 20 minutes.

We walked to St Ives via Houghton Mill and it took us just over an hour. The mill itself is a short walk away and has a tea room.

The garden centre opposite has lovely things at inflated prices but they do offer a buy one get one free breakfast before 10. 30am for 6.

We would like to visit this site again pref in better weather, we hope to get back there soon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wendle 19 reviews from this member

 We really liked this site.

Very picturesque with fishing lakes from which we saw a few people catch really big fish.

I have to say this is one of the friendliest places we, ve camped. Other campers stroll around the lakes and stop to pass the time of day. I'd say the majority of pitches could see one of the lakes from their units.

The facilities were good. Plenty of hot water at all times of day. Enough showers and washing up sinks so we didn't have to queue once. Some of the shower cubicles had the toilet and sink incorporated which is a bonus.

We tried the pub down the road. 5 minute walk away and got 2 really good meals for 11.

We visited Cambridge which we really liked.

The only down side of this site or maybe I should say our pitch is we had a lot of road noise, but not the worst we had.

The road it's on is a busy road.

Having said that I would definitely go back. The friendliness of the place and the sunsets over the lakes really out weigh a bit of road noise. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blond1ejohn 1 review from this member

 Wonderful facilities, clean toilets, lovely free hot showers. Although close to a busy road after the first night soon got used to the noise.

St ives is only 3 miles away so don't miss this beautiful picturesque visit.

Also visit the marina right next door, they have a shop, also next door to that is a 2 meals for 11 deal.

I would definitely visit again and maybe next time I might be lucky with both. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AniaiSlawek 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site !

Quiet and peaceful, friendly staff, great place for dogs owners. Beautiful river views, two small fishing lakes. Tents field is nice and secluded from motor homes area and close to lake and river which was really relaxing watching fisherman, birds, boats passing on the river. Very clean toilet/shower blocks, dish washing area and freezer. That is perfect place when you need to switch off from busy city life. 10 min drive to 24h Tesco. 2 min walk to the marina with pub.

WE spent great four nights in there and we definitely will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sid2011 3 reviews from this member

 Just had 4 nights at this site in a caravan. On arrival we found the staff friendly and very helpful. The site is clean and well looked after and plenty of spaces between the vans although it could benefit having laundry room. The fishing lakes are well stocked to double figures although the fishing was slow on this occasion this was probably due to a busy week before we arrived. There is also the added bonus of a spot of river fishing or just watching the boats go by just out of the site to the right. A 5 minute walk to the Boat Yard pub on the river - the staff were welcoming and serve fresh home cooked food and a carvery on sundays [don't be put off by the no frills restaurant/bar]. And a 5 minute walk out the site to the left the marina and restaurant which we found very busy and commercialized. We would definitely pay a return visit to the camp site 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charlie Bravo 1 review from this member

 Having made contact with one campsite in Cambridgeshire, I was barked at down the phone so gave that a miss. I then emailed another and got no reply so decided to give Wyton Lakes a try.

The person who took my call was very friendly and took all my details accordingly. A good start!

Upon arrival on Saturday we went into reception, checked in and were given details about the site (location of showers, toilets etc).

Location wise, the tent field was nice and flat with relatively short grass more or less next to one of the small lakes. There was also a water tap located at the end of the field. The tents were nicely spread out with everyone adhering to the 6m between tents rule.

The park facilities are situated near the entrance which is also where the caravans and motorhomes were located. I didn't quite understand why those with more inbuilt facilities were closer to the site facilities than those of us with nothing but then it was an extremely hot weekend with me being too lazy to want to walk for 3 mins!

The facilities themselves included free hot showers (which were very hot!) clean toilets, 2 chest freezers for ice blocks, washing up area etc. All very clean with no issues there.

My only issue during the entire stay was the grass being cut around the park from 0930 onwards on Monday morning. Given that kick out time is midday, I would have thought that starting the cutting after that time would be more suitable to allow those leaving on that day to enjoy a peaceful morning.

Overall I would recommend the park to anyone wishing to stay. It's a very peaceful site with only the faintest of road noise and very good, clean facilities. There is also a Tesco Extra just a 5 min drive away which is most handy.

A message for the Crow that used our tent as a perch early on Monday morning though. If I catch you again, it'll be your last! 


Previous     145 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wyton Lakes Holiday Park (adults Only) child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wyton Lakes Holiday Park (adults Only)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Wyton Lakes Holiday Park (adults Only) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Huntingdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2764 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement