Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Wyton Lakes Holiday Park (adults Only)

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Wyton Lakes Holiday Park (adults Only) Reviews

Wyton Lakes Holiday Park (adults Only)
Wyton Lakes
Banks End Wyton
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE28 2AA
Tel: 01480 412715
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 108 Reviews
                9/10 from 108 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline and ole 7 reviews from this member

What a lovely site. we got a super pitch by the lake and close to the toilets etc. The owners are a lovely friendly couple. The facilities are good and the pub next door provided good food after a long journey. Would definitely go back. I don't know what the bad reviews are all about but we are quite fussy on certain things and it was fine for us. Bus stop also close by if you don't want to use the camper van.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Briarthorn 2 reviews from this member

Love this campsite easy access to bus for Cambridge, St Ives & Huntingdon. The toilet block is kept clean, lovely hot showers all facilities excellent. Adult only site which is nice when you are fishing ( always worry about children near lakes & river )

Camp Wardens very friendly and helpful. Fishing is great with a good head of carp, never fail to catch, try to visit twice a year. Fayre and square at Hartford Marina great value for money two meals for ten pounds

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LTYLER 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from another week at this site. Was very pleased to see that the hard working and very pleasant Wardens are still there. Only saw the owner once and never saw her Husband at all so assume he no longer does any work on the park, pity this as the Warden does his best to keep the park looking nice, but as far as we can see has very limited equipment to use, having to manhandle branches down to the fire area and at the time we were there both the hedges and the reeds were in desperate need of cutting, which the owners husband used to do with a tractor and cutter.

I do agree with other reviews some parts of the park do look tatty and again the fishing was terrible. Yes, some new fish have been stocked in the large lake but why have none been put in the other two fishermen pay the same to fish these so why not treat them all fairly. Surely with all the revenue taken from fishing tickets it is not too much to ask for some more fish to be stocked.

We will return again as we have relatives in the area and my wife likes to catch up with them but please Wyton Lakes get yourselves sorted or you will loose custom.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MotorhomeLady 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our visit which we have enjoyed. The staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful. The toilet block was clean with hot showers and free hairdryers. The individual rooms with shower, toilet and hand basin are nice and roomy. The site was tidy, clean, and the grass was nicely cut despite the wet weather. There are plenty of bins with recycling.

My husband had a good time fishing and caught some bream, roach and carp, including some of the new stock fish that were put in earlier this year.

The bus stop near the entrance is handy with a good regular service to Huntingdon and St. Ives through to Cambridge. The large garden centre opposite is great for a wander around.

Will definitely be going back later this year, possibly during school holidays as with this being an adult only site there are no kids allowed!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: W44NTY 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 7 night stay at this campsite, it is a lovely site, very nice owners, and wardens, toilets and showers were very clean and well kept, with plenty of hot water, fished every day caught plenty of fish, my son and I caught over 20 good carp up to 17lb, tench to 7lb, and bream into double figures, also plenty of good roach and rudd.

It was one of the best fishing weeks we have had, we will certainly be returning again, we enjoyed evey minute of our stay, even though it rained most days.

The pub next door at the marina served good food with 2 for 10 offers all good value.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rachaelanddave 2 reviews from this member

We have just good back from a week on this site.

The site itself is nice. Peaceful, lots of nature - birds, ducks, swans, clean toilets, lots of hot water, washing up area clean, site tidy - no over flowing bins or litter.

The local towns were very nice, the garden centre over the road did a great breakfast and also sold a lot of local produce.

Even though we had very poor weather we made the most of it and fished nearly everyday. But the fishing was very poor, only caught 4 fish all week, yes they were nice sizes 5 to 14lb but it was painful.

After speaking to other fisherman on the site we were advised that the fishing has gone down hill over the last 3 years, but you didn't get that impression when booking.

We also agree with Tammy and Brian's review, site was not very welcoming and did make us feel uncomfortable.

We would not go back to this site, which is a shame as if the fishing was good and the customer service improved this would be a lovely site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tammy and Brian 4 reviews from this member

This is not a four star site! Site very tatty and unkept.

We had booked for 4 nights but was told in a brusque manner that we had booked for 3. Luckily this was done by email so proved it was 4. After we had sited our caravan and started to put up the awning a voice bellowed to us 'I told you to reverse on' never before have we been told which way to park just allow a certain space between pitches. So instead of a lake view we had a view of the bins and back of a motorhome.

At this point we were seriously considering leaving. The camp site was tatty. Showers hot but old. Fishing not possible unless you had a lakeside pitch as fisherman with these pitches also took up pitches elsewhere on the lake.

Caravans far too close together. Customer service skills seriously need looking at. The way the site was patrolled made it feel like a concentration camp. Needless to say will not go back. We have always enjoyed the sites we have been on

But not this one.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

Just got back from this site, the tent area was closed due to the wet weather.

All the facilities were clean and warm, the showers were good but an extra hook or two would have made them perfect. There are lots of bins for recycling and everywhere is clean and tidy.

Most pitches are hard standings some of these were very wet with puddles but the warden / owners were not greedy like some would be, they left these bad pitches empty. I thought that some of the pitches looked on the small side and most could have done with some more gravel / stones on the the top as they were quite bare.

In nicer weather the views over the lakes would be smashing and it would be most tranquil to stroll around them and sit on the benches by the river watching the boats go by.

Can't comment on the fishing as we don't fish.

As has been said the pub next door does good meals at very reasonable prices.

There is a bus stop outside the Marina next door, to Huntingdon or St Ives every 20 minutes.

We walked to St Ives via Houghton Mill and it took us just over an hour. The mill itself is a short walk away and has a tea room.

The garden centre opposite has lovely things at inflated prices but they do offer a buy one get one free breakfast before 10. 30am for 6.

We would like to visit this site again pref in better weather, we hope to get back there soon.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendle 19 reviews from this member

We really liked this site.

Very picturesque with fishing lakes from which we saw a few people catch really big fish.

I have to say this is one of the friendliest places we, ve camped. Other campers stroll around the lakes and stop to pass the time of day. I'd say the majority of pitches could see one of the lakes from their units.

The facilities were good. Plenty of hot water at all times of day. Enough showers and washing up sinks so we didn't have to queue once. Some of the shower cubicles had the toilet and sink incorporated which is a bonus.

We tried the pub down the road. 5 minute walk away and got 2 really good meals for 11.

We visited Cambridge which we really liked.

The only down side of this site or maybe I should say our pitch is we had a lot of road noise, but not the worst we had.

The road it's on is a busy road.

Having said that I would definitely go back. The friendliness of the place and the sunsets over the lakes really out weigh a bit of road noise.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blond1ejohn 1 review from this member

Wonderful facilities, clean toilets, lovely free hot showers. Although close to a busy road after the first night soon got used to the noise.

St ives is only 3 miles away so don't miss this beautiful picturesque visit.

Also visit the marina right next door, they have a shop, also next door to that is a 2 meals for 11 deal.

I would definitely visit again and maybe next time I might be lucky with both.

Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Huntingdon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5641 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019