Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Alnwick Rugby Club Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnwick Rugby Club Campsite Reviews

Alnwick Rugby Club Campsite
Greensfield
St James
Alnwick
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE66 1BG
Tel: 01665 602342  or  07393453217
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: 12/04/2021 to 01/11/2021
           01/05/2022 to 01/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 139 Reviews
                9/10 from 139 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  139 in total, now showing 131 to 139                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 296 reviews from this member

 We didn't like this site at all. It was the only one with space having phoned the previous day and we know why. It's completely open, anyone can just drive on without questions. There is only one push button type tap, the bins are by the entrance, a long way from the 'site' (which is the perimeter of the rugby ground with some hook ups). The price is £12 per night, too much but we were only charged £10.

The facilities looked horrible but we didn't actually use them. We didn't see anyone until the following morning when some 'travellers' turned up, drove onto the site unchallenged and set up their equipment. We complained and they were got rid of (luckily they went quietly), but not in time to detain us for more than one night. I wanted to see more of the area but this was not to be, so will book well in advance at another site next time. We did go and have a look around Amble harbour, lots of terns flying around which was good to see. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davepolly 1 review from this member

 We go to this site 2/3 times a year. I see comments about the showers etc, this is a great site, but remember its a rugby club not a camp site, the camping helps towards the club funds.

We always have a great time, if any one is seen to be driving fast around the club, they will be asked to leave.

If you go into the bar for a pint or two, you will find all the help you require, we asked about taxis into town, and the girl behind the bar, sorted it out for us and we were on our way into town.

Great place to go and we are there again on the 20th of may 2011. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Niggit 3 reviews from this member

 We were directed to this site by an immensely helpful lady in the Tourist Information office in Alnwick. It was lovely ground to pitch on, and because you are camping around the perimeter of a rugby pitch, it feels very spacious and open. You just turn up, pitch your unit, and in the early evening a very chatty and informative man comes round and collects your money.

The facilities are shared with the rugby club, and it's here this site falls down a bit. There is one water tap, no washing up room, and only two showers and three handbasins for all the women on what is, after all, quite a large site; the men have enough toilet facilities, but the shower is a big communal one. On one of the nights we were there, there was a big rounders competition going on, and the ladies' toilets were full of teenagers repairing their makeup and loudly discussing how much they'd had to drink and which lad was doing what with whom.They didn't appreciate me emerging from the showers.

There is a chip shop within easy walking distance that does the most delicious fish, chips and gravy (don't knock it 'til you've tried it!): Alnwick centre is only 10 - 15 minutes' walk away, and is an attractive town well supplied with pubs and coffee shops. There is a castle, and do try to make time to visit the small museum - it's wonderfully laid out with lots of interactive displays, and would be a terrific place to take bored children when it's wet.

We would certainly camp here again (£5 per person per night), but I suspect it would be better in a motorhome or with a trailer tent, so you weren't so reliant on the site facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KennyE 3 reviews from this member

 Nice location for Alnwick just 10/15 mins walk. Supermarket just over the road. How ever I found the facilities a little grim they were clean but womens showerblock could do with being larger two showers for a large campsite is not enough.

There is no one on site at night to help keep noise down like dogs barking!

This would be a very good site if a few pounds were spent and some one to patrol the site at night. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 2+2kids 8 reviews from this member

 Will do a basic pro/con review:-

Pro's:-

1. Excellent base to view all of Alnwick without having to use transport. If willing to walk, that is!

2. Huge big area to pitch up around the perimeter of, so loads of space out front for kids to run around, play football etc.

3. Lovely chip shop on Alnwick's main street, nicer and a little better value than the chip shop in the street around the corner from the site.

4. BBQ's allowed.

5. Close to a leisure centre, Sainsburys, Argos and Homebase!

6. Very cheap - about £11 per night. Very friendly chap will come around in the evening for your money. So friendly, he chatted to us for ages while we sat at our table trying to eat our fish n chips!

Con's:-

1. No-one to welcome you on site, so don't look all around the Rugby buildings for someone when you get there (like we did!) just pitch your tent or look for your name against the electricity points if you've booked ahead.

2. When we were there it seemed as though a lot of people had just planned to meet up in tents, get drunk, have BBQ's and stay up late with loud music, although they were at the opposite end of the field to us.

3. Cars were driving through really fast - this seemed to be a very common theme so beware if you have kids or dogs.

4. Showers and sinks were very basic, ladies were better than gents!

5. Our kids took a wander across to the seating stands, which I would definitely NOT recommend! They had bottles and broken glass all over them. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Geordie01 14 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for one night the site is grass and is handy for the a1 the gents shower block and toilets are not the best I have seen the showers are communal and are very old and not very clean.I only found one tap for the whole site.

There is a sports center and swimming pool opposite the site and a sainsbury super market next to that there is also a bus stop close to the site. When you leave the site if you turn left there is a fish and chip shop a couple of minutes walk away and also a co op. Alwick town center is about 20 mins walk away and has all usual shops and quite a few pubs and takeaways. Buses are not that frequent but a taxi back to the site was only £3.00.The site is close to Alnwick castle and gardens.

The clubhouse on the site is open at night and does good Guinness. The price for a night with hook up is £12.00 and I think it was £8.00 without electric. This is a well placed site and good if you have your own facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Flossyjamba 4 reviews from this member

 I would recommend this campsite because:

1. Clean toilets and showers

2. Walking distance to Alnwick - garden is a must

3. Really close to A1 but no traffic noise

4. Loads of space for kids to run around

5. Rugby club bar open in evenings

6. Cheap! £11 hook up

7. New and large sainsburys just down the road. Or local co-op on washway road on the way into town

Would have liked:

1. Dishwashing facilities

2. Kids wanted a play area - although didn't want to leave at the end 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lindsey1999 1 review from this member

 This is a fab and cheap campsite and really easy to find you can see the rugby posts from the A1 but we never heard any cars. It has loads of space for children to run around and play. There is a rugby club for guests to use but we didn't use it, a leisure centre over the road for swimming, and a supermarket about 10mins walk.
There is only 2 Womens showers but nice and hot, You can walk into Alnwick approx 10 mins and visit the castle and grounds or the shops. There is a beautiful beach at Almouth which is well worth a visit. Will be definitely going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5boys+ 1 review from this member

 We stayed 5 nights with our 5 boys who really enjoyed the huge amount of grass space. We also travelled there by public transport which is possible though a slightly long walk up hill from the town when laden with tent etc. The toilet block is basic and the men's at least geared towards rugby players with shared showers and two huge baths! There is plenty to do in the town, mostly very touristy such as the Alnwick garden and castle. There is also a swimming pool just across the road from the site where you can buy a ticket letting you swim as many times as you like during a week for only £6 adults or £3 children. There is a well stocked CoOp supermarket 5 minutes walk down the road with a cash machine. All members of our party want to go again! 


Previous     139 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 139     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Alnwick Rugby Club Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alnwick Rugby Club Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Alnwick Rugby Club Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alnwick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2812 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window