Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map
Tel: 01341 280262
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 208 Reviews
                9/10 from 208 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Worky 8 reviews from this member

Superb site, very big but well looked after. Toilets and showers etc are clean and tidy and there are plenty of them.
Easy walk to beach (but beware of trains as you have to cross the tracks). Walk along the prom to Barmouth or 4 for taxi.
Pitches are good size and level, most have their own water tap, electric and I think there was piped TV signal. Beware on leaving to take hill in 1st gear and down change until you get to the top. There is also a shop and snack food / breakfasts on site.
We will be back sometime.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Candy Floss 8 reviews from this member

We use this site every year and love it !

We have camped a few times this year already and we also camped at the end of Sept, we drove from work on Friday evening and arrived in the dark - they kept the office open and took us to our pitch when we arrived.

In the 7 years we have been using this site the facilities have always been impeccable - the location is brilliant ideal for anyone wanting to ditch the car.

The Beach is really clean and safe also a very small walk with all your buckets and spades !

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VONCOL 1 review from this member

Site was very clean, owners drive round often to keep check of everything, toilets and showers are spotless and free to use. On site is a small takeaway that do hot breakfasts and teas, shop sells just about everything including beers and wines. Small safe playground for children under 12. 3 min walk to beach and 20 min gentle walk into Barmouth itself where there is plenty of things to amuse the kids. Nearby you can visit Shell Island and local slate caverns. The only criticism about site is the entry on and off the site which is rather steep, although if you are towing a caravan I'm told the owners are only too happy to help out.
We will certainly be going again.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hannah E 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely camp site. We were very impressed by how clean the toilet and shower facilities were. We were told to leave plenty of space in between the tents to give people some privacy, which we thought was very respectful.

The town is a 15 to 20 minute walk along the beach but you do have to cross a railway line.

The only thing that I felt could improve this campsite is that there could be a pub on site or a restaurant.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yoda2708 1 review from this member

It was the first time we went there - and we will be going back!

We got a very nice pitch which was close to the park for the kids, the toilet block and the shop. It was very convenient.

The toilets and showers were very clean.

The kids enjoyed having a play area to play at when we went back to the tent. They made a lot of friends.

The beach is also close and we enjoyed not walking far.

We used the washing facility and it was also nice to have that on site. It is really worth going to! Definitely will be telling all friends and family about it. We are already planning to go there with my parents next year.

There is nice views as well.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Monman 2 reviews from this member

Well My wife and I would gladly recommend Hendre Mynach to others. We have stayed here probably 5 times in three years and will go again next year.

We find the new owners to be just as helpful, toilets are kept clean and tidy if a little dated, shop perfectly reasonable with not too much of a mark up on prices, tv reception is fine with a decent aerial.

Pitches are large but in high season does have a slightly crowded feel, probably due to the fact that some people use more than one car or invite friends to the site. Mains hookup was fine, never tripped on us although to be honest we don't have any power hungry equipment

There is a choice of pitches being hrdstanding, grass and all service, and even a drive over waste point for motorhomes.

Small park for children, which locks at 9pm, even on nice evenings, wireless broadband is available from the office for those in need.

Barmouth itself 15-20 minutes walk and is a lovely seaside town with stunning scenery all round, the views from the hilltops are great.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Liquid 4 reviews from this member

Went here on a family trip. Site is very good, clean and well run. It runs adjacent to the main Cambrian railway line, but noise was not really an issue.

Shower / toilet blocks are modern and well maintained. We had no children in the party, but there is a playpark on site, and also a small BMX / skatepark adjacent to the campsite. There is a small shop on site, selling all basic essentials.

The beach is a 2 minute walk from the campsite, although it does involve crossing the railway line - quite safe as there is a designated pedestrian crossing with good visibility.

Barmouth is about 15-20 minutes' walk away along the coastal road, quite a nice walk.

Only thing to watch for is that the access road from the road to the site is very steep, with a steep climb once exiting. Not a problem for most vehicles, but smaller vehicles towing caravans may need some assistance to get out.

All in all a well recommended site.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peggybabcot 8 reviews from this member

With the newspapers reporting the worst August wind speeds in 12 years and this being only our second camping trip we were rather apprehensive to say the least. Barmouth is a lovely unspoilt and non-commercial seaside town with stunning views to the Welsh hills. Hendre Mynach boasts that it's the closest site to the town and a gentle 15-20 minute walk along the prom takes you there.
The only thing that separates the campsite from the beach is a railway track with several trains passing daily including a steam train at around 11.05am
Our pitch was well sheltered and backed onto the railway line and surprisingly the trains didn't bother us including the 6.10am or the 10.20pm (I think they were the first and last trains anyway!) It wasn't until we took our tent down that we realised the true cost of the steam train. We had been showered with hot ash from the steam engine and discovered the remains stuck to our tent roof and when we brushed it off we were left with a hole the size of a 5p piece where it had melted the fabric. I'm really miffed as it was only the second time we'd used our Monty 6 and already it needs a repair!
This aside the location of the site was wonderful and you could even tell whether the tide was in or out by listening carefully. The staff were really lovely and very friendly. The showers and toilets were fine but I did feel there weren't enough showers for the number of campers on site. That said I only queued once all week but maybe that had more to do with what time we got up! LATE!
There was a shop and cafe on site as well as a kids playground which all proved useful. The nearest supermarket was the Co-Op in Barmouth with major supermarkets like Tesco, Lidl & Aldi much further afield in Porthmadog.
Other than the steam train incident I found this site great and had the weather been better, the location makes it a fantastic place for a beach holiday with kids. I'd go again but keep away from the railway is my advice.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JaneBT 1 review from this member

Not long got back from our first visit to this area and campsite and couldn't have wished for a better introduction to Barmouth! We camped on the flat side (there is a sloping area over the other side) where there was a specific area for tents only - conveniently the closest to the beach!

The site was lovely and clean with all the facilities that we needed. There is a children's playground(always full - even in the rain!), a shop (sells the basics but it did us) and off licence (much to the OH's delight) and a cafe/takeaway (reasonably priced fried food only - but we were on holiday!)

The toilets and showers were lovely and clean and (very importantly) always had toilet paper in them! Although we didn't use it, there is a launderette and baby changing facilities next to showers / toilets (sorry, can't comment on these) and pot washing / chemical disposal facilities around the other side - so you can kill a few birds with one stone just visiting the loo.!

We were literally, a stone's throw away from the beach - a very short walk (unfortunately across a railway line, so when my little one is older I don't know how happy I would be to let her go on her own) and you are there! There is also a cafe and another takeaway just outside the site near the beach. Barmouth itself is a short walk down the promenade (or you can take the land train that runs fairly regularly).

All in all, I would definitely recommend this site and would definitely pitch there again!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justinvikki 3 reviews from this member

Nice Campsite.

Was like a mirage after we spent a lot of that day driving around trying to find somewhere Suitable to stay as most sites had very few facilities around Borth,Fairbourne and Barmouth.

Possibly the cleanest toilets,showers and wash area that I have ever seen! Well thought out with pegs to hang your clean cloths on and a little wooden bench to sit on. Proper shower curtain too. Flow of water from shower is not that strong but nice and warm.They do lock the doors to the shower area at 10pm but as long as you are aware of that before you go it is no problem.

Nice little shop and takeaway there. Nice clean level pitches. 5 mins from the sea which you can hear swishing through the night which I find very pleasant. Nearest pub is about a 20min walk along the sea front in to Barmouth itself. This is quite a way but if it's a warm evening its not too bad.

Price is per tent also,not how many occupants, which is nice.

All in all a very nice Campsite.

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9842 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977