Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map
Tel: 01341 280262
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 208 Reviews
                9/10 from 208 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmy3321 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights (going back next week )and it's a lovely site, well manicured with an immaculate shower/toilet block, (plenty of hooks which I believe is a must have) which even has a wash basin in the shower cubicle and a folding chair.

The staff recommended a pitch for us and they were happy to chat. Barmouth is a gorgeous holiday town with lots of amenities and a nice beach and pier. We went to a couple of pubs which were reasonably priced and friendly. The 'Last inn' had a great 'open mike' night on the Tuesday. Barmouth is a nice stroll from the site but uphill going back. The site also has direct walking access to the beach/ front.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Col77 3 reviews from this member

Great family site, pitched on field 2 after being directed by helpful staff member. Nice little park for the kids in our party 5, 6 & 7.

Great location for the beach, which was nice and sandy, ideal for paddling. 15 min walk to Barmouth town, but because the site is on the prom it is a nice safe walk for the kids.

Showers and toilet block were more than acceptable, always had hot water. Didn't go into site shop, as Barmouth has a Co-op and an Iceland.

This is not a site for a quiet getaway, although the 11'o'clock rule was well observed, it is ideal for families with kids who want to run around and enjoy themselves.

Cafe on prom just outside site does lovely garlic bread and hot chocolate!We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steveyamy 1 review from this member

Stayed for 2 days as this was out first camping trip and was recommended this site, there was 5 of us 2 adults and 3 children, we were met by friendly staff and shown to our pitch by a friendly man.

We were in the perfect location, we had the showers/toilet block and play park one way and the beach the other. Toilets and showers are cleaned every day and are really clean.

Close to barmouth town - which is a beautiful town. The beach and sea are both clean and there is lots of it. There is a train track right by the camp but very rare we heard or seen a train.

We really enjoyed ourselves and will be returning again and we would and will recommend this site to others. There is a shop on site but we didn't go into it.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AFamilyof5 1 review from this member

Lovely friendly welcome, We pitched in the field furthest from the shower block was a nice flat field. Quite site only one group of noisy teenagers who were soon told to be quite from someone

Very friendly welcome found the shop and take away to be a bit rude with customers

Beach just a few mins away, Lovely cafe on the front they do really nice meals and are very friendly.

Shower block nice and clean as were the toilets mother and baby room needed a bit of a wipe round.

Park kept nice for younger children although we found quite a few older children riding round on bikes and scooters and cutting in front of cars even though there are lots of signs asking them not to.

We have already talked about coming back next summer!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Markis42 15 reviews from this member

First thing about this site is getting there. The approach to Barmouth is very tight in places so take care with those larger outfits.

The entrance to the site itself is very tight from Barmouth side but a gentle swing out and in you go down a very steep bank to reception. We had a warm welcome and were shown our pitch which was hardstanding.

Very nice indeed, tv, water and mains all there. We had sun all day which was nice as the weather was superb. There are two shower blocks which were clean at all times and the showers gave a great warm spray, just the job!

The site borders the beach and is split from it by the railway line. There is a very safe crossing with good vision both ways so no problems here. Just past the gate is a skate/stunt

park which my son loved and so did many others from the site.

Its then about 40 feet to the beach and what a great one it is. Nice safe clean water that's not deep until you are a long way out so great for kids and the water was warm!

From this point you can walk into Barmouth or take the land train if you like.

There is a cafe on the prom next to the stunt park

Which does lots of snacks from 8am till 9pm, very handy.

On site there is a shop and take away selling basics but to be honest the woman who runs it had a very miserable attitude to customers so we did not bother.

The play area is fine for younger ones and is closed at dusk which we thought was a good idea.

The camping area is very large and had a very nice 'family' feel to it despite there being many types of campers on site.

Everyone seemed to follow the basic rules and we found all the people we met to be very chatty and friendly.

All in all a great site and boy are those sunsets superb.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulhe 5 reviews from this member

What a gem of a campsite. If location is everything then Hendre Mynach is everything. Almost on the beach without the wind due to the way hedges are located. But in my experience location is not everything.

The staff go the extra mile and the facilities are well maintained and in excellent condition. The play park kept our little one (7) amused for hours and we felt comfortable leaving him alone in safety.

As far as we are concerned this is the best site we have been to in 20 plus years of camping. A definite booking for next year.

Barmouth is a lovely place and with the right weather better than any foreign holiday.

So onto the criticism. Water pressure is low at peak times but we went in a very busy period. That's it.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Greenway4 2 reviews from this member

Hendre Mynach is a pretty and well manicured site. We were offered a choice of pitches and opted for the high ground to take advantage of the fabulous view.

Being novices, we selected a pitch on quite an incline but I must stress that such pitches are in the minority.

After pitching we wandered around the site. The ablutions block was excellent, plenty of showers, sinks and W. C. S. All were in impeccable order.

The washing-up area and laundry were also in A1 order.

We found the on-site shop a little pricey but useful.

The office provided a mine of local knowledge and all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

The position of this camp site is superb, although the entry road is a bit on the steep side. It is a stones throw from the beach and a 15 minute walk to Barmouth town.

I would recommend this site unreservedly.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spa lady 5 reviews from this member

This was our first stay at this site and it won't be our last. The site is very clean and well maintained, the staff very helpful and friendly.

Excellent location, just a short flat very pleasant walk into Barmouth along the prom. Never been to such a dog-friendly place.

My husband went into the camp shop/take-away on two occasions but said that the woman serving was so disagreeable we didn't use it again.

When we spoke to other campers we found we weren't the only ones to find her difficult.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mjbos 1 review from this member

I Am 44 years old and this trip was only my second camping trip ever! Visited this site with my 6 year old daughter and alas my wife positively refused to join us!

We had a wonderful 3 days, the sun shone and it was a super holiday and so much enjoyed by my daughter that she (nearly) forgot mum wasn't here! The site is superb with a beach-side location and access to this beautiful part of Wales (though we never moved the car a inch!).

We camped in a spacious 4 berth tent (no electric) and I have to say it was superb. The site management are professional and ultra efficient and will do anything to help.

There is convenient access over the railway line and then you are straight on a beautiful quiet beach - what could be better - and Barmouth is less than 10 minutes cycle down the prom (20 minute walk). There is a shop on site and shower/laundry facilities etc, to be honest we could ask for nothing more!

We even managed a present for the grumpy wife/mum who sadly opted out. A bucked of dirty pans and crockery!

Will definitely be back

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sweetrunninggir 17 reviews from this member

Another trip to Hendre Mynach, another great weekend at an immaculately kept, well maintained campsite. We arrived in torrential rain but the ground must be well drained as there was no mud, despite the wettest summer on record in the UK this year!

The staff cannot do enough for you, the pitches are roomy and well maintained. My car battery kept draining and the helpful staff didn't mind how many times I asked for a jump-start, they were right there with the battery booster. The RAC eventually diagnosed a faulty battery, but I was so grateful to the staff for their help. If I had needed it they would have pitched the caravan for me.

There is a sharp turn and a steep hill to access the site, but whilst it looks awkward, people negotiate it all day without issues, and in the unlikely event you had a problem, the staff would sort it for you.

Great location, just 20 mins walk down a flat straight promenade road into the town centre, but just across the road from the beach. The trains only add to the charm and didn't disturb us at all.

All facilities are always clean and well maintained, and with the sea across the road, the mountains of snowdownia behind you and the mawdach estuary to explore by rail, bike, car or foot, you really could not ask for more.

This is our second trip to Hendre Mynach and wont be our last. Congratulations to the owners, a well managed, well maintained site in a great location.

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4221 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977