Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map
Tel: 01341 280262
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 208 Reviews
                9/10 from 208 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Betty Lou 2 reviews from this member

Our two week stay at this site far exceeded expectations. It did feel busy on the weekends but it is the summer! A friendly site with very clean facilities. The toilet block for non hook up is a bit of a trek. The other block further up the site was also well maintained. All the staff are very approachable and the lady in the shop is particularly cheerful and helpful. The shop stocks enough to provide a good fry up in the morning and a cup of tea, opening times are clearly stated and adhered to. The co op is easy to access in Barmouth. There is also a lovely butchers attached to the Spar in Talybont about 3 miles up the road. When the sun shines this camp site is a top location for children. The beach is a short walk away, beautiful with shallow safe water to swim in and the harbour is a great area for crabbing. The Last Inn and The Anchor both near the Harbour gave us two excellent evenings out. Enjoyed all the old favourite walks in the nearby hills and mountains. We did the Torrent Walk, Precipice walk, The Roman Steps and conquered Cader Idris. Check out the King George Hotel at Fairbourne toll bridge, worth a visit and part of a great cycling track, it provides a quiet setting for a drink. We booked a fishing trip with John at Viking Tackle Shop in Barmouth. Our first fishing experience. John was very patient and helpful. We landed 12 mackerel between us - a very fishy two nights! Our daughter caught two dog fish but they were put back. For more ideas and walking books check out the Tourist Information based in Barmouth Station. Sad to leave, hope to return sometime.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andypye 12 reviews from this member

Just returned from 7 nights at this site with my 2 children and feel as though I have had one of the best holidays ever. This is a top campsite. From the minute you arrive there are friendly cheerful staff around. After 'checking in' we were escorted to our pitch which was ample in size for caravan and awning and with its own water, electric and tv points!

The grounds are really well kept with nice landscaping throughout. There is a play area on site (perfect for my daughter) and just outside the site by the seafront is a skate park (perfect for my son)!

Showers are really hot. A couple of times we had to wait a few minutes for one to become vacant and odd time the person before had not left them as they should but there is a mop and bucket there so that is soon remedied.

Location wise this site is perfect and a 5 minute bike ride or 20 minute walk into Barmouth which is absolutely delightful. I could write a fantastic book about the charms of Barmouth!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gnrkev 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned after a five night stay and enjoyed every thing about it. The pitch was great, toilets /showers spotless, and the staff are excellent. It was our second visit and well be back soon. There is a railway line to cross, but trains are well spaced out and you have good vision of any thing coming. There is a land train that runs every half hour into Barmouth from just up on the prom. The pub is a 10 min walk down the prom which does really good meals. I would recommend this site to any one.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Petra8315 23 reviews from this member

Went to this site, probably expecting a bit more from it, 31. 00 a night was a bit expensive for small pitches and located right next to the main railway line along the coast, trains started at 0630 hrs and every hour till 2230hrs, last thing you want is being woken at 0630 when your on holiday with the caravan shaking.

The beach is great and the best thing about the site, just a short walk across the train line and your there. Toilets and showers are good and free spotlessly clean, town is a comfortable thirty minute walk down the prom or beach, we found it to be quite busy in the day but rather quiet at night.

Will not be going back

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkypair 7 reviews from this member

Have just enjoyed a 2 night stay at the site & enjoyed it very much.

Called at very short notice & was greeted by Andrew, a top bloke, very helpful, efficient & most welcoming indeed, thanks friend.

Pitches are slightly smaller than what we have experienced previously, though adequate. Toilet block was very clean & of a good standard.

The position of the site is great for access to the town of Barmouth, either on foot, 20 mins stroll, or via a land train running from just outside the site on the promenade.

Highly recommended by us, will certainly re visit.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smiga13 1 review from this member

Great place.

Our family of four (2 kids age 9 & 7) stayed here for a week. Theres a good choice of areas to choose to camp - we were lucky and arrived on a Monday (Not in main school holidays) so it was only half full and found a lovely space close to the beach. However, this is a busy site at peak times. Over the weekend the campsite was full and some were having trouble finding spots to pitch. The owners give no guidelines on this and so someone ended up putting their tent really close to ours - luckily this was only one night.

The beach is really close and its no trouble crossing the train line to reach it. The trains toot and you can see a huge distance down the line so it felt safe even for the kids. Absolutely gorgeous beach at both hide tide and low when it stretches out for ever. Really shallow so super for kids. Lots and lots of jellyfish but nobody seemed to get stung and there was a lot of people in the water !

The campsite shop is minimal and hardly open - it would be more useful if this was combined with reception which was huge and open much longer. Ice pack freezing was 50p a bar.

Shower block and washing up area clean and functional - a little queuing on the weekend and they did run out of hot water at the very busy times - as we were there in a heat wave this didn't really bother us for showers.

The promenade is a great way to get into Barmouth town about 5 mins by bike or 15 walking. Enjoyed strolling about the harbour and town when it was quieter but on the weekend when it was very, very busy not so much fun !

So much to do near this place if you are into outdoor activities. Would come back here as really enjoyed our stay but would try and ensure it wasn't at peak time.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dennisnicoll 8 reviews from this member

We stayed 6 nights at this site and really enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly & helpful, the toilet/shower blocks are clean & well maintained although they can get very busy at peak periods. The shop is small but you can get the essentials from it. Pitches are a decent size but the tent areas without EHUs are a bit of a walk from the toilet blocks. The children's play area is well equipped. There is a railway between the site & the promenade but the trains only run every 2 hours between 6am and 10. 30pm so you are not disturbed in the night. The nearby beach is very nice, ideal for families with children & the walk along the prom into Barmouth is very pleasant. If you like walking, there is a 9. 5 mile walk from Barmouth to Dolgellau along the old railway track.

Only had 2 complaints which were dealt with swiftly by the staff. The first was a group of people who pitched their 2 tents in the wrong field, went out & got drunk and were shouting & swearing until late at night & the following morning, when they continued drinking. They were evicted immediately, spoiling their children's holiday! The second was the 2 piles of dog muck which were not cleaned up by the irresponsible (and criminal) dog owners. The staff cleaned it up immediately after I reported it & would have evicted the dog owners had I been able to spot them which, sadly, I hadn't.

Foul mouthed drunkards & lazy dog owners beware!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kaz + Dave 12 reviews from this member

Great site - we really enjoyed our stay. Toilet/shower blocks were very clean. We were welcomed by friendly staff who gave us a pitch which was just what we asked for. The grounds are well tended and the roads are well surfaced. Location wise, it was perfect for us (having 2 dogs) - it was right on the promenade which is a lovely level walk into Barmouth. The beach was also fantastic for them to run around on. The shop was a little basic, but there is a Co-op in Barmouth, which sold everything we needed. Can't wait to go again soon.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debip 5 reviews from this member

Stayed in Hendre Mynach for a couple of nights last month, and it's a great site if a little crowded, we had sent an email earlier in the week and told just to turn up but honestly think that if we'd been later in the day we would have found it difficult to find a spot as it was our pitch was good, it was quite a walk for a 2 year old to get to the loos and I think the electric free campers are a bit of an oversite. Saying that the main site were really crammed in and the pitches seamed really small in that part of the park

The Kiddies park and shower block are all next to the main office and are very good and the beach is great over a train line but the train hoots before coming near to the park even at 6:00am :(

Would use this site again

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bowlerfamily 6 reviews from this member

Love love love this site - we have been to this site a few times now & we were actually booked somewhere else but really didn't like the look of it when we arrived - so a quick call to Hendra saved the weekend :-)

Super friendly staff - loos always clean - showers always lovely and warm - little play park for little ones & a lovely walk into Barmouth town - it is a great base to explore the area & we are booking again for August

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth 239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


9470 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938