Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us


Reviews of Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Inverness > Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park Reviews

Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park
Daviot East
Highlands   (Browse area)
Tel: 01463 772286  or  07974 008567
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 64 Reviews
                9/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hurfs77 4 reviews from this member

 What a great little site! stayed here for just two night to try out are new trailer tent! After a very poor camping experience on the west coast of Scotland this site was exactly what we needed.

Great location only 10 mins to Inverness, 15 mins to Aviemore and just under 15 mins to Landmark (great for the kids).

Small shop on site! had every thing you we needed and all at good prices.

Pitches are well spaced and big, even August they were in good condition.

Kids Play area was great, kids loved it (2 year and 8 year old).

Toilets were clean and the showers were hot! OK its not the newest of toilets blocks, but you can tell its well looked after.

Camp kitchen and laundry room is well stocked with leaflets covering the whole of Scotland.

The staff were fantastic and very helpful.

Very good priced site, for the area its in.

Dog walk was the only let down on the site as it was very wet under foot, but you can see they are trying to sort this by planting willow all along it (by time the willow grows the walk will be much nicer). But not that much of a problem there are walks just 200m down the road you can take your dog.

Got to say I can't believe people have giving this site bad reviews, we found it fantastic and will be heading back for a long weekend in September.  
Management response: We are pleased to let visitors know our amenities building has recently been refurbished, with new showers, toilets, and dishwashing sinks, available to use free of charge by our customers.
We have also upgraded our dog walk with an all-weather gravelled surface, making access for you and your pooch much easier.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Treen67 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night stay at this lovely little site. We booked a tent pitch with electric hook-up. There were no problems with email communication or booking. We paid 84 for 4 nights for 4 people.

The site was more than adequate for our needs. Ok, there is no bar or restaurant but there is a small shop at reception (selling Citronella candles and preowned DS games much to my son's delight) and Inverness is only 10 minutes away by car. Ice packs were frozen for us free of charge too.

Pitch sizes are large and some have shade. The central sloped are is reserved for tents requiring electricity.

Toilet block was ok but toilets did not always flush and sanitary bins (just ordinary pedal bins) were not emptied daily. Showers were free and clean enough. There is a hairdryer for use which takes 20p coins.

There is an indoor laundry/washing-up area/campers kitchen. The provision of bar stools, kettle, toasters and microwave is a nice touch for when the weather is bad. There are also boxes of toddlers toys to keep wee ones amused when doing the laundry or dishes. You can also find a plentiful supply of tourist leaflets in here as well as a small supply of magazines and books to borrow. This is where the tv is also to be found so for the World Cup matches this was the place to be.

There is also an on site enclosed playpark with wooden equipment which seemed to be popular with the kids and wasn't over run with teenagers as on some parks. This is visible from the tent area so I had no concerns about letting my 9 year old play there.

I would definitely return if I was in the area again. 
Management response: We are pleased to let visitors know new toilets - and showers - have recently been installed.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chalky9 34 reviews from this member

 I don't understand the general enthusiasm for this site. Its location is reasonably convenient for Inverness and for touring the area, but there is nothing nearby and no view. The pitches are a reasonable size, but there are very few hardstandings and the ground can get spongy after rain.

The toilet block is quite old. The toilets do not flush properly - it takes at least two 'pulls' to get the water to flow and even then the result is unsatisfactory. The shower stalls are minute, with the flimsiest of shower curtains. There are panel radiators, but they did not appear to be on despite night time temps in single figures.

There is a 'dog walk', but it is just a very narrow path through undergrowth with no space for dogs to 'express themselves'. 
Management response: Thank you for the review, however these comments are now out of date and irrelevant due to improvements we have carried out here since then.

Please come along and see for yourself the changes we have made

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alister Oz 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at parks across Scotland in the last ten days and this park, without comparison, has been the best. Clean and well appointed amenities, friendly service and very competitive pricing. I would strongly recommend this park to anyone. They seem to anticipate the needs of their customers providing not just the major requirements but the finer details to ensure a pleasant stay.



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wilmadunc 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely little camp site on the edge of Inverness. Very easy to find and the site owner very helpful.

Showers a bit weak but the facilities very clean and tidy and warm which was brilliant as the evenings were a bit cool.

No bar or eating facilities here but only a few miles from Inverness so no shortage of restaurants or supermarkets to cater for all your needs. Attached to the shower block there is a kitchen and laundry area which had a kettle, toaster and microwave with basics such as milk sugar and butter. A brilliant idea which I have never seen anywhere else.

A small play park for the children which was always full so that must be a good sign.

Close to touristy things to do such as the Loch Ness boat trips and the Culloden battlefield both of which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Watched the dolphins at Kessock Bridge and despite only staying for a couple of days we will definitely return to Inverness and Auchnihillin. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JulieBL1 5 reviews from this member

 We have a 34ft long RV towing a trailer and car (44ft in total)so finding sites that can cope with us can be difficult. Our first site after embarking on a 5 week tour of Scotland, at Auchnahillin they were keen to help and offered us a suitable site (long ways across two pitches)and 'dumping' facilities as we were unable to use the raised sink supplied.

The staff were very helpful and the facilities for laundry and ablutions were very clean and well cared for. A very nice touch were the facilities for campers, with the ability to eat under cover and make toast/use a microwave etc.

Lots of information on local attractions and walks. Nice to see recycling in operation and free 'dog poo' bags if you needed them. The site was wet underfoot after our Spring weather, particularly the dog walk though still usable. A lovely quiet location with good views. The Dairy at Daviot is well worth a visit for lunch! Highly recommend a visit to this site. 

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scottish camper 1 review from this member

 We liked this site, no litter.

The bathroom facilities WERE clean and modern (I read a review that states that they were not. NOT SO, I saw them being cleaned regularly, with frequent replacing of toilet roll and hand wash. )The showers were lovely and hot and FREE!

We originally booked 3 days ended up staying an extra week as the price was so reasonable and there was a lot to do in and around Inverness.

The kitchen area is practical and usable it has some nice touches like a spare tin opener and plates for anyone who has forgotten to bring them and a microwave oven. The kids books/toys were a good idea and the mini lending 'library' gave me a choice of plenty of old magazines/books to read in the more quiet times.

The washing machine and drier work fine and are reasonably priced.

The kids play park is small but it is adequate it was enough to keep our four kids aged between 4 and 9 years occupied just, for the time we were on site there is also a really good flat grass area at the far end of the site that the kids liked to play ball on.

The owners were open, welcoming and helpful.

This is a small site it has not got amusements, clubs or a bar which is exactly what we were after.

You can order a Chinese meal cooked locally and delivered a little expensive but of good quality.

One small gripe would be that the dog walk was over grown (please cut the grass) had an awful lot of dog waste along the route more a reflection of the lack of care by the dog owners than the camp owners, we walked our dog completely off the site so it was'nt a problem.

LOCATION as a base to explore the local highlands and Inverness great as a self contained holiday park limited.

15 minuets and your in Inverness the swimming pool is worth a visit as is, . The ice skating rink. Nairn beach is beautiful yellow sand, (dogs welcome further up).

This site is priced correctly any more expensive and we would probably go else ware.

we are going again this weekend (may 2013). Looking forward to it. 

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Crestdale 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here after the 'shannanigans' at Bunchrew, when we phoned up we where told to just come on. We arrived and where told to pitch where we wanted as they where not busy. EHU where available everywhere.

We had a very enjoyable stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone. I took a wee walk around the site the following morning and can only say that it is very well organised. Information on the area was available.

The toilets facilities where excellent and the campers kitchen had everything one could need hre if it was wet weather. Iron and ironing board available along with laundering facilities.

A very quiet site, no noisy children, no loud music etc. such a difference to the previous site.

We have certainly made a note of this and will definitely be returning here. 

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Timandjacky 16 reviews from this member

 Just an overnight stay for us. There had been a lot of rain in the area and our pitch was a bit waterlogged but not really a problem.

Clean toilets and showers although the shower pressure was very poor, still went in grubby and came out clean so the end result was the same!

Nice kitchen/pot wash area. Toaster and kettle - didn't need them ourselves but a nice touch.

Warden said we could just leave when we were ready as they weren't busy which was nice. 

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Schar8 3 reviews from this member

 Cheap prices but still not worth it. Toilet / shower block floor was muddy / grubby and it hasn't even rained in days! Everything else in toilet block was grubby too, toilet paper everywhere, most of the flushes didn't work and toilets constantly had 'remains' in them because of this. I did not see any evidence of cleaning - quite disgusting and husband said gents were even worse.

The tent pitches seemed nice enough to begin with, spacious marked out pitches for those with EHU and plenty of space along the perimeter, next to the trees for those without. However, we quickly realised noise was a problem as families kept us up until the wee hours as the park doesn't seem to have any rules about noise after a certain time. Another possible problem is that there seemed to be problems with flooding and boggy ground on the bottom pitches including those with EHU.

Dog walk was also quite disappointing as it was very dirty with dog poo along the short narrow grass path which just lead us to a field with highland cattle in it - not exactly an ideal dog walk.

Along the entrance into the dog walk there was also the stench of sewerage which was most concerning as it is right next to the lower tent pitches.

Overall I was glad to leave and I would not stay again which was a huge disappointment to me as park looked nice when first arrived. 
Management response: We can only apologise if we didn't meet your standards, and - while we cannot agree with your comments - we can assure you that if you had addressed any of the issues mentioned to us during your visit, we would have done our best to resolve any problems; unfortunately you apparently didn't consider that to be necessary, and by the time your comments have appeared online it's a bit too late for us to help.

However we would like to assure other campers that we endeavour to provide a clean, tidy and quiet campsite at value for money rates, and if anyone staying here has any concerns or questions please let us know during your visit - we are always available to assist as much as we can.

Best wishes for your future camping trips,

Donald & Anita, Auchnahillin.

Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities

Other Sites Near Inverness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3742 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021