Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Inverness > Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park Reviews

Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park
Daviot East
Inverness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV2 5XQ
Tel: 01463 772286  or  07974 008567
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oaksoft 5 reviews from this member

 Having read all of the comments on here and then visiting the site recently, I am amazed at the positive reviews this campsite is receiving.

Firstly, let's start with the arrival. Over the phone I booked a pitch with a friendly man. He offered to let us stay for a reduced price of £12.50 per night without me even asking. So far so good. Now we come to arrival time. I presume it was his wife who was on reception. Suddenly the price for two nights has leapt by £5. She does however see her mistake and recitifies it but she is still charging £13 for each night. At this point I mention that her husband had arranged £12.50 per night for me. Now you'd expect her to either check with him or apologise and honour the £12.50 because after all we are only talking about 50p per night but sadly not. She instead points me to a board on the wall to "prove she is correct" about it being £13 per night.

So now I'm in a bad mood but we pitch up anyway. The pitches are not marked very well and there's no room for an awning because the guy next to us who pulls up whilst we are out with the dog has parked too close. It's wasn't his fault. The site was busy, it was late and the pitches had no markings.

In the morning, the cheap night suddenly became less so when we used the showers. Now it's only 20p. Only it's not really 20p at all. Because the water only runs for a few minutes, it's 2 x 20p per person in the family which has just added £2 per night for a family of 5.
To make matters worse, the toilet doors are broken on the inside which explains why the doors were left open all the time. Sadly, no sign warned us of that and a humourous game of "open the door by telepathy or shouting for help" at 3am ensued. Fortunately I had enough strength to force the door open but the handle on the inside nearly came away in my hand with the effort.

The showers and toilet cubicles themselves have no lights. None at all. They rely on light coming through the top from the main light in the handwashing area but with partition walls stretching almost to the ceiling, you'd need the light to bend at 90 degrees to get a decent view when you shut the door. The showers themselves look at first glance to be clean enough and then you look a second time.

If all of this wasn't bad enough, the absolute piece de resistance came on the final night. As you enter the campsite you'll notice there are 3 houses on the left with the 3rd being the reception building. Now the 1st house on the left certainly like their late night barbecues and parties. We were treated to a late night of screaming children running around like banshees, loud thumping music and general revelry up to after midnight. All of this just 10 feet from the tent area. Fabulous! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BOB-D 17 reviews from this member

 Just back from this Camp site, the owners are very friendly & helpful the pitches are very large and all marked out. The toilet/shower block are kept very clean the pot wash and laundry room also clean and the owners supply a micro wave a toaster and a kettle for the use of campers there is also books and toys for the kids to play with. Only about 8mls from Inverness it makes a great base for touring the highlands, It has a small shop public telephone. Internet access in the shop at only £1 for half hour quite reasonable I can say that this is a site well worth a visit. My score 9out of 10. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamlivi 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a stay at Auchnahillin and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves despite the wet weather.
The pitches were spacious, the shower and toilet block were clean and 20p for a shower was fine.
Information from the owners regarding walks, places to eat and the nearest/quickest way to the shops was very helpful.
Don't understand the bad review as we probably saw the site at its worst (torrential rain and some muddy areas).
Ideal base for surrounding area and we would recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

 This was our first family camping trip (as opposed to his nibs disappearing into the mountains for a week), so I can't compare this site to others. For us, it worked out really well. Only three small showers on each side, so there was a bit of a jam at about 8am, but if you went earlier or later there was no problem. Good disabled/kiddie changing room with "open plan" shower, so room to hose down the wee one(s).
A good place to take little kids (ours is 20months) as it has a wee playground and lots of toys and books for borrowing in the kitchen.
I'd recommend this for families wanting to see the Inverness area, and I hope our next trip will be to a place as good! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CTS+CS Cheshire 1 review from this member

 My family and I stayed at the campsite for six nights at the end of May and can highly recommend the site for its facilities and tent pitches. The shower, toilet facilities were maintained to an exceptionally high standard throughout the whole period. Extremely clean, tidy and there were plenty of soap dispensers at the wash basins.

We had mixed weather, having rained non-stop for three nights and the use of the impressive kitchen / utility room was a real blessing. With electric kettle, microwave and toasters freely available to make snacks. Chairs, books, posters and papers to idle away the time out of the rain! Plus laundry facilities to dry out wet camping gear.

Having stayed at camp sites in the Lake District - the facilities as this site were significantly superior! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fuzzbasealpha 1 review from this member

 Family holiday in our schools half term, 2 adults & 2 children (12 & 8).The campsite was easy to find. Toilets were really clean and well looked after. The tent pitches were more than big enough for our huge 6 man tent (we had electric hook up). Play facilities for the kids were fine for ours, a play park swings etc.

Easy reach to Inverness about a 10 min drive to the centre with excellent 24 hrs Tesco on hand. Great scenery and a great base to explore the highlands.

On the downside there is only one toilet block that I coud see. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaydee55 10 reviews from this member

 Totally agree with everything the owners say! We visited this site in April 07 and found it to be spotlessly clean with flat spacious pitches  in a perfect setting.  No-one could fail to be impressed with this site, except perhaps JeanED.  Perhaps a 5 star hotel or a cruise would be more to her taste!
Well done Anita and Don - keep it just as it is. We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Anitagcs1 1 review from this member

 We were very surprised and disappointed to read JennEd's review, as we would hate to think anyone had left here with such a poor impression, and can only apologise. We would encourage any visitor with complaints/ comments/ queries to please approach us asap so we can attempt to rectify things.

Not wanting to labour the issue/s, but hoping we will be allowed a 'right of reply' . When we bought this park in March 2004 it was indeed very neglected, run down and shabby, but we have gone to considerable lengths (and time and money)to improve things and this winter have completed the refurbishment of the toilet block which we would consider rivals any other! Work has also included installing new electric hook-ups; this meant relocating some trees which unfortunately did not survive the move but which we felt we may as well leave in their new positions until we were able to replace them, the bare stony patches were also the result of the EHU upgrade and it takes time for new grass to come through. The ground is hard in the EHU area, bearing in mind it is primarily for use by touring caravans & motorhomes who appreciate not getting stuck! Landscaping and decorative planting are on the agenda now that much of the structural work has been completed.

The toilet facilities are thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis, usually twice a day in peak season; unfortunately it seems that use of loo paper and bins had overtaken us on this occasion but these are also regularly attended to. We would admit to a few insects - one of the joys of rural camping in summer - but dispute they were present in every corner. Window frames & ledges have this spring been given a thorough clean and paint! As for the floors being covered in grass and mud, at busy times in wet weather this can occur, but again floors are cleaned regularly and in between times a mop is left by the shower cubicles for anyone wishing to clean up after themselves (perhaps guests could remove outdoor shoes before entering .?). No-one has ever complained of the 20p charge for showers being excessive; most seem to expect to pay something and this is cheaper than many sites (also bearing in mind our camping fees are very competitive).

As others have noted, we include a microwave, kettle, toaster for use by campers at no charge. The hairdryers had been out of order -this of course was not preplanned and they were replaced as soon as new ones arrived from the suppliers. Also the showers were repaired promptly; we are fortunate that Don (site owner) can do much of that sort of work himself so we don't have to wait ages for tradesmen.

To sum up, we defy anyone to say 'we don't really care' about the site or our visitors, and find that comment particularly hurtful in view of the time, money (and yes - blood, sweat & tears!) we have spent on the place over the last three years. We are only human, and while we appreciate we can't please all of the peope all of the time, we will certainly try! So come and visit us and see for yourselves - and please tell US what you think instead of voicing off on a website! Thanks for listening - Anita & Don Gibson, proud Auchnahillin Proprietors 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janso100 11 reviews from this member

 Cannot believe the review below. I found this site to be spotless, at the same time of year. I suppose it is subjective. A good feature is the communal food left in the kitchen for everybody to use. Microwave, fridge. Great site in the pine forest. Listen to the owls hooting at night and the stags. Well whatever noise they make - is it a moo!?lol

Owner even had a camp fire one night for us to sit around. Only a tenner a night. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JennEd 4 reviews from this member

 We were very disappointed with this site, and having booked it on the strength of the excellent reviews it was given previously I cannot understand what can have gone so wrong. We found that the site itself was a little shabby and in need of some TLC and the amenity block was just dirty!
Trees surround the EHU area but there are several dead conifers throughout area, giving it an air of neglect. The grass pitches, although mostly flat, had bare, stony patches and the whole site would benefit from some decorative planting. The ground is very hard and it was a real struggle to get ordinary tent pegs into it. However the location is ideal, being only a 20 minute drive to Inverness, Aviemore and Carrbridge.
The poor landscaping is a fairly minor point and is something that we would have been able to overlook had the facilities been up to scratch, however this was not the case. The amenity block was dirty – there is no other way to put it.
Upon entering the ladies’ shower block you are greeted with a brightly lit and spacious area containing sinks, this appears to be cleaned on a regular basis, however this also appears to be the only area receiving regular cleaning. The sanitary bins in several of the toilet cubicles were full to overflowing over a period of at least 3 days – this was disgusting! At one point I counted 4 of the toilets with no toilet roll at all and they were not refilled for several hours. There was an extensive collection of insects (both alive and dead) and lots of spider webs adorning every corner and window ledge, and these had obviously not been disturbed for some considerable time.
The shower cubicles were very dark, somewhat cramped and the floors were covered in grass and mud and were poorly drained. There is a 20p charge for 5 minutes of hot water (we could not find any mention of this on the web site). The showers were temperamental during our stay and at one point only one of the 3 showers worked, the owner did get them fixed fairly quickly but the pre-set temperature was very hot and was definitely too hot for young children. The hairdryers in both the Gents and the Ladies had "out of order" stickers on them for the whole week we were there.
We took to using the Family/Disabled "wet room" as this was well lit, spacious and seemed to get more regular cleaning, although there were still spiders and no toilet roll. Other campers seemed to have the same idea and unfortunately there is only one of these rooms.
The gents’ toilets and showers were just as poorly maintained, to the extent that the windowsills not only had webs and insects they also had moss growing on them.
The owners seem to be nice enough people and were certainly friendly, however the standard of hygiene gives the impression that they do not really care about the comfort of their guests  


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inverness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3754 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement