Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Inverness > Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park Reviews

Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park
Daviot East
Inverness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV2 5XQ
Tel: 01463 772286  or  07974 008567
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 64 Reviews
                9/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Anitagcs1 1 review from this member

 We were very surprised and disappointed to read JennEd's review, as we would hate to think anyone had left here with such a poor impression, and can only apologise. We would encourage any visitor with complaints/ comments/ queries to please approach us asap so we can attempt to rectify things.

Not wanting to labour the issue/s, but hoping we will be allowed a 'right of reply' . When we bought this park in March 2004 it was indeed very neglected, run down and shabby, but we have gone to considerable lengths (and time and money)to improve things and this winter have completed the refurbishment of the toilet block which we would consider rivals any other! Work has also included installing new electric hook-ups; this meant relocating some trees which unfortunately did not survive the move but which we felt we may as well leave in their new positions until we were able to replace them, the bare stony patches were also the result of the EHU upgrade and it takes time for new grass to come through. The ground is hard in the EHU area, bearing in mind it is primarily for use by touring caravans & motorhomes who appreciate not getting stuck! Landscaping and decorative planting are on the agenda now that much of the structural work has been completed.

The toilet facilities are thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis, usually twice a day in peak season; unfortunately it seems that use of loo paper and bins had overtaken us on this occasion but these are also regularly attended to. We would admit to a few insects - one of the joys of rural camping in summer - but dispute they were present in every corner. Window frames & ledges have this spring been given a thorough clean and paint! As for the floors being covered in grass and mud, at busy times in wet weather this can occur, but again floors are cleaned regularly and in between times a mop is left by the shower cubicles for anyone wishing to clean up after themselves (perhaps guests could remove outdoor shoes before entering .?). No-one has ever complained of the 20p charge for showers being excessive; most seem to expect to pay something and this is cheaper than many sites (also bearing in mind our camping fees are very competitive).

As others have noted, we include a microwave, kettle, toaster for use by campers at no charge. The hairdryers had been out of order -this of course was not preplanned and they were replaced as soon as new ones arrived from the suppliers. Also the showers were repaired promptly; we are fortunate that Don (site owner) can do much of that sort of work himself so we don't have to wait ages for tradesmen.

To sum up, we defy anyone to say 'we don't really care' about the site or our visitors, and find that comment particularly hurtful in view of the time, money (and yes - blood, sweat & tears!) we have spent on the place over the last three years. We are only human, and while we appreciate we can't please all of the peope all of the time, we will certainly try! So come and visit us and see for yourselves - and please tell US what you think instead of voicing off on a website! Thanks for listening - Anita & Don Gibson, proud Auchnahillin Proprietors 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janso100 11 reviews from this member

 Cannot believe the review below. I found this site to be spotless, at the same time of year. I suppose it is subjective. A good feature is the communal food left in the kitchen for everybody to use. Microwave, fridge. Great site in the pine forest. Listen to the owls hooting at night and the stags. Well whatever noise they make - is it a moo!?lol

Owner even had a camp fire one night for us to sit around. Only a tenner a night. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JennEd 4 reviews from this member

 We were very disappointed with this site, and having booked it on the strength of the excellent reviews it was given previously I cannot understand what can have gone so wrong. We found that the site itself was a little shabby and in need of some TLC and the amenity block was just dirty!
Trees surround the EHU area but there are several dead conifers throughout area, giving it an air of neglect. The grass pitches, although mostly flat, had bare, stony patches and the whole site would benefit from some decorative planting. The ground is very hard and it was a real struggle to get ordinary tent pegs into it. However the location is ideal, being only a 20 minute drive to Inverness, Aviemore and Carrbridge.
The poor landscaping is a fairly minor point and is something that we would have been able to overlook had the facilities been up to scratch, however this was not the case. The amenity block was dirty – there is no other way to put it.
Upon entering the ladies’ shower block you are greeted with a brightly lit and spacious area containing sinks, this appears to be cleaned on a regular basis, however this also appears to be the only area receiving regular cleaning. The sanitary bins in several of the toilet cubicles were full to overflowing over a period of at least 3 days – this was disgusting! At one point I counted 4 of the toilets with no toilet roll at all and they were not refilled for several hours. There was an extensive collection of insects (both alive and dead) and lots of spider webs adorning every corner and window ledge, and these had obviously not been disturbed for some considerable time.
The shower cubicles were very dark, somewhat cramped and the floors were covered in grass and mud and were poorly drained. There is a 20p charge for 5 minutes of hot water (we could not find any mention of this on the web site). The showers were temperamental during our stay and at one point only one of the 3 showers worked, the owner did get them fixed fairly quickly but the pre-set temperature was very hot and was definitely too hot for young children. The hairdryers in both the Gents and the Ladies had "out of order" stickers on them for the whole week we were there.
We took to using the Family/Disabled "wet room" as this was well lit, spacious and seemed to get more regular cleaning, although there were still spiders and no toilet roll. Other campers seemed to have the same idea and unfortunately there is only one of these rooms.
The gents’ toilets and showers were just as poorly maintained, to the extent that the windowsills not only had webs and insects they also had moss growing on them.
The owners seem to be nice enough people and were certainly friendly, however the standard of hygiene gives the impression that they do not really care about the comfort of their guests  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: The_Kat 1 review from this member

 This site is perfectly situated, not too far from Inverness and other attractions. It was a very reasonably priced stay. We used the small onsite shop for milk, bread, fresh eggs and coffee, amongst other things. We also bought a refill of gas whilst here.
 
At the time we visited, (end of August), it was not a quiet site. There was a regular turnover of campers and tourers of all nationalities. This in itself was not the problem. Indeed, it made our stay more interesting. Nor did we notice any traffic noise, even though it was not far from the A9. But! Some selfish people seemed to use the nearby toilet block as a meeting point to discuss their grand tours, well into the early hours! Admittedly, it's not something that is peculiar to this site, however, perhaps a few signs, giving polite reminders to curb the noise late at night, wouldn't go amiss?
 
Otherwise, the site was family-friendly. There was even a designated dog-walking route. The owner(s) were very helpful, approachable and friendly. Our pitch had an electrical hook up point, (although we didn't use it). My parents also stayed at the site in one of the static caravans. In case anybody is interested, that was clean and well appointed. In fact, I can't fault this site in terms of cleanliness; it was spotless.
 
Would I go back? Possibly, yes. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John Evans 3 reviews from this member

 We spent five nights at the site and can honestly say that it rained every single day.  However, the facilities at the site were very good, the showers, toilets etc were cleaned regularly and the washing up area was indoors and heated.  There was even a kettle, microwave in there.  The owners were very friendly and were always willing to answer any questions thrown at them.  Very handy little shop, but the pub on site had closed down.  Not a problem for us, but it could be for other people.  Would recommend this site to other campers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eyrieman 1 review from this member

 We've just returned from a few days at Auchnahillin and would definitely use this site again. The toilet, shower, laundry block was kept very clean and fully stocked with an excellent range of facilities. The site was quiet and peaceful every evening and night (we were never there through the day) even when busy.
Many nationalities and families obviously use this site for a short stop as most tents moved on after one or two nights. This made for a really interesting diversity of people which our children enjoyed. While we were there the weather was awful - rain, wind and cold all day every day - so this may have had some bearing on some aspects of the site ambiance but for us it was a very attractive site in all areas.
Note: The on-site restaurant/bar referred to elsewhere, is no longer open and there is no alternative nearby - great for us and many others but obviously may be inconvenient for some. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susanm 1 review from this member

 This was a really well kept site with beautifully clean facilities. The kitchen area with kettle, toaster, etc. And a great supply of books was a really unusual touch and much appreciated, particularly as it was heated and May was particularly cold.

We were disappointed to find that the on-site pub had closed down around Easter as this had been a factor in our choice of campsite for a cold, wet weekend. The site shop has very little and without the pub the site was very isolated with a long drive needed on our arrival night to find somewhere to eat.

Overall a nice site in a good location for touring the local area. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Papa Pip 19 reviews from this member

 We had the pleasure of staying at this excellent site at Easter in 2006. The staff are excellent and are always keen to help out if and when needed. During the winter break the site has had some extensive work carried out including the refitting of the mains electric pitches and refurbishment of the amenities, which are looking great!

This is one of the first sites I have ever been on that provided tea and coffee making facilities in the Laundry, washing up areas and it was certainly a big hit with fellow campers as was the abundant supply of books and magazines which you may borrow while you are on the site, this also turned this area into a wee meeting place as campers and caravanners chatted away while doing their chores and enjoyed a wee cup of tea. I am sure this will be one idea that will be passed around the camp sites in the future.

The site is set amongst the highlands just a few miles from Inverness, with plenty of places to see and things to do in the area it is best to make this at least a weeks break in order to make the best of the area. There are plenty of brochures on hand in the Laundry/washing up area next to the kettle etc. And of course other campers will let you know what they have enjoyed on their trip as well.

The best day out for me was a trip up the Cairngorm's via the Funicular railway, the views on the ascent and descent are astounding but the view from the top is like being on top of the world, totally awesome!

The weather overall was very good to us and we managed to get out and about every day we were there and returned to the site mid evening for the BBQ and relax taking in the view of the surrounding mountains, which were snow covered for most of the time.
I know I say this a lot in my reviews but yet again this is a site that we look forward to visiting again and again in the future, with great staff and brilliant surroundings it really is another spot that we will enjoy for years to come.
A great big thanks to all at Auchnahillan for making Easter 2006 a holiday to remember! 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Bovril_lady 7 reviews from this member

 Excellent! Really felt at home on this site, if that is possible.

Kids loved it, facilities were over the ordinary, soap dispensers in toilet/shower block. Washing up liquid in kitchen block.

Friendly helpful staff, great base for touring, all in all a very good holiday. Will definitely be going back. New owners, so they are really doing well, keep up the good work. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Bovril_lady 7 reviews from this member

 Excellent all round. Plenty of space for the kids to play. Facilities were cleaned daily, and were obviously being renovated when time allows. The laundry facilities were great, washing machine, tumble drier, plenty of sinks to wash dishes, and they even throw in washing up liquid and scourers. The could however be doing with another washing machine and drier, but hopefully that will come. They were very friendly, could not do enough for you. The bar and restaurant were handy, but the restaurant prices would perhaps limit your visit to once during your stay. They had a pool table and darts in the bar, which was great cause you got the kids in and was able to keep them occupied. Would definitely go back. It is a great location for touring the country, and not far off the main A9, about one mile and a half. Well done to the new owners who are obviously making an effort to keep people happy. The shop was handy and there is also a phone box on site. Your mobile phones were able to pick up signals too. As I said would definitely go back. Great all round site and facilities. 


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inverness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3685 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement