Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Inverness > Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park Reviews

Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park
Daviot East
Inverness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV2 5XQ
Tel: 01463 772286  or  07974 008567
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Static
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jangus 2 reviews from this member

 Visiting this site before reading any review we were apprehensive, but all our fears were groundless as the caravan and all utensils were spotless.

This was a good centre for touring with easy access to Culloden and the Moray coast, both sides of Loch Ness and the Black Isle and all points north, as well as the centre of Inverness, 10 miles away. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Maybr1 1 review from this member

 Very clean very organised. Very quiet site situated of the busy A9 far enough away so you don't hear any noise. Easy distance from Inverness and surrounding attractions.

Toilet blocks and showers weren't open due the covid 19 which is understandable. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BigTroot 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived quite stressed as this visit was a last minute booking. Anita the site owner sent an email with cover docs and fonts along with pitch number.

The site has a small number of touring pitches a few miles from any shops or pubs. Dog friendly. The "neighbours were all friendly and we learned a lot about other sites and places to go.

Ideal if you want to get away from all lifes distractions.

They had WiFi if needed. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ashbash 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights as part of our journey around the highlands and on the whole our experience was a good one. The shower and toilet block was clean and pleasant to use.

The dog walk is fairly short, but handy to have nonetheless as there aren't really any decent walks direct from the site. On arrival you choose your own pitch and we managed to get one of the larger ones, which was a relief as a couple of the pitches in the middle of the site would have been tricky to manoeuvre our caravan onto.

The site is handy for Inverness and I would definitely use the site again if staying in the area, but my overall opinion was that it is great for a couple of nights, although perhaps not for longer holidays. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skodie 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night as a stop of before starting the NC500. Most other people also seemed to be using the site as a stop off whilst touring. Judging by previous reviews the site now has new owners and improvements have been made. Reasonable value for money at 19. 50 for a family of 5.

Good location for inverness and A9 but not a lot in the immediate vicinity of the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hurfs77 4 reviews from this member

 What a great little site! stayed here for just two night to try out are new trailer tent! After a very poor camping experience on the west coast of Scotland this site was exactly what we needed.

Great location only 10 mins to Inverness, 15 mins to Aviemore and just under 15 mins to Landmark (great for the kids).

Small shop on site! had every thing you we needed and all at good prices.

Pitches are well spaced and big, even August they were in good condition.

Kids Play area was great, kids loved it (2 year and 8 year old).

Toilets were clean and the showers were hot! OK its not the newest of toilets blocks, but you can tell its well looked after.

Camp kitchen and laundry room is well stocked with leaflets covering the whole of Scotland.

The staff were fantastic and very helpful.

Very good priced site, for the area its in.

Dog walk was the only let down on the site as it was very wet under foot, but you can see they are trying to sort this by planting willow all along it (by time the willow grows the walk will be much nicer). But not that much of a problem there are walks just 200m down the road you can take your dog.

Got to say I can't believe people have giving this site bad reviews, we found it fantastic and will be heading back for a long weekend in September.  
Management response: We are pleased to let visitors know our amenities building has recently been refurbished, with new showers, toilets, and dishwashing sinks, available to use free of charge by our customers.
We have also upgraded our dog walk with an all-weather gravelled surface, making access for you and your pooch much easier.


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Treen67 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night stay at this lovely little site. We booked a tent pitch with electric hook-up. There were no problems with email communication or booking. We paid 84 for 4 nights for 4 people.

The site was more than adequate for our needs. Ok, there is no bar or restaurant but there is a small shop at reception (selling Citronella candles and preowned DS games much to my son's delight) and Inverness is only 10 minutes away by car. Ice packs were frozen for us free of charge too.

Pitch sizes are large and some have shade. The central sloped are is reserved for tents requiring electricity.

Toilet block was ok but toilets did not always flush and sanitary bins (just ordinary pedal bins) were not emptied daily. Showers were free and clean enough. There is a hairdryer for use which takes 20p coins.

There is an indoor laundry/washing-up area/campers kitchen. The provision of bar stools, kettle, toasters and microwave is a nice touch for when the weather is bad. There are also boxes of toddlers toys to keep wee ones amused when doing the laundry or dishes. You can also find a plentiful supply of tourist leaflets in here as well as a small supply of magazines and books to borrow. This is where the tv is also to be found so for the World Cup matches this was the place to be.

There is also an on site enclosed playpark with wooden equipment which seemed to be popular with the kids and wasn't over run with teenagers as on some parks. This is visible from the tent area so I had no concerns about letting my 9 year old play there.

I would definitely return if I was in the area again. 
Management response: We are pleased to let visitors know new toilets - and showers - have recently been installed.


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chalky9 31 reviews from this member

 I don't understand the general enthusiasm for this site. Its location is reasonably convenient for Inverness and for touring the area, but there is nothing nearby and no view. The pitches are a reasonable size, but there are very few hardstandings and the ground can get spongy after rain.

The toilet block is quite old. The toilets do not flush properly - it takes at least two 'pulls' to get the water to flow and even then the result is unsatisfactory. The shower stalls are minute, with the flimsiest of shower curtains. There are panel radiators, but they did not appear to be on despite night time temps in single figures.

There is a 'dog walk', but it is just a very narrow path through undergrowth with no space for dogs to 'express themselves'. 
Management response: Thank you for the review, however these comments are now out of date and irrelevant due to improvements we have carried out here since then.

Please come along and see for yourself the changes we have made


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alister Oz 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at parks across Scotland in the last ten days and this park, without comparison, has been the best. Clean and well appointed amenities, friendly service and very competitive pricing. I would strongly recommend this park to anyone. They seem to anticipate the needs of their customers providing not just the major requirements but the finer details to ensure a pleasant stay.

Regards

Alister 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wilmadunc 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely little camp site on the edge of Inverness. Very easy to find and the site owner very helpful.

Showers a bit weak but the facilities very clean and tidy and warm which was brilliant as the evenings were a bit cool.

No bar or eating facilities here but only a few miles from Inverness so no shortage of restaurants or supermarkets to cater for all your needs. Attached to the shower block there is a kitchen and laundry area which had a kettle, toaster and microwave with basics such as milk sugar and butter. A brilliant idea which I have never seen anywhere else.

A small play park for the children which was always full so that must be a good sign.

Close to touristy things to do such as the Loch Ness boat trips and the Culloden battlefield both of which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Watched the dolphins at Kessock Bridge and despite only staying for a couple of days we will definitely return to Inverness and Auchnihillin. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inverness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4764 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement