Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Inverness > Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park Reviews

Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park
Daviot East
Inverness
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV2 5XQ
Tel: 01463 772286  or  07974 008567
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Halfpint78 9 reviews from this member

 Just back from a fantastic stay at this site. It has a lovely big tent area - which was pretty full for the duration of our stay! The playpark is right beside the camping area and my 8 year old son had a ball playing with his new friends - apologies for the noise! As the site is fairly remote I felt totally safe and happy for my son to come and go from park/toilets himself.

I found the location ideal as it was nice and quiet but close to the major attractions so there wasn't too much driving. We did a boat trip on Loch Ness, Landmark (3 times), Highland Wildlife Park, Chanonry point for the dolphins and the Museum/Art Gallery in Inverness. My 8yo particularly liked Landmark.

The site facilities were good. The camp kitchen has kettle, toaster, microwave and even food etc left by others. The toilets were as clean as can be expected given the wet weather when we were there. The 20p shower lasted more than long enough, in fact both myself and son managed a quick shower for 20p. The site shop has a stock of basics and the staff were helpful - refreezing ice blocks etc!

At £11 per night you can't go wrong - we will definitely be back :) 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

 Some changes here since our last visit (2007). The central tent area now has EHU, which seems a strange choice of positioning as this is the area most prone to flooding. There’s a new playground with swings, slide and things to climb up – suitable for age 3 and up. New building that houses the tiny reception/shop. Toilet block was clean, but not maintained as regularly as some places – toilet paper and paper towels that ran out in the evening weren’t replaced until midday. Family/disabled room with changing table and shower, baby bath also provided.

‘Campers kitchen’ in the laundry. Good selection of leaflets from all around Scotland so that you can plan onward journeys, lovely to have toys for little kids to amuse them while the pots are getting washed. Ice-blocks can be frozen if you ask at reception – unfortunately we kept missing the opening times as we were out all day.

Great family leisure pool in Inverness; Highland Wildlife Park half an hour away, also very good (family ticket £42). Given its location, this is a midge-spot, but not so much that it stopped us doing much differently – just no sitting outside for meals. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FossRid 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for one week and were very happy. The level of service was fantastic and the price very reasonable.

The campsite owners were very friendly and helpful.

We were cold on the first night and asked if we could by any chance borrow some blankets - they lent us thick warm quilts.

The laundry facilities were good and the owners provided lots of small items that could be borrowed if required (cutlery, pots / pans / toys and books). We forgot a towel for drying pots so borrowed one and my daughter borrowed and small bucket and spade. We appreciated this.

The toilets and showers were clean. The showers were not very fast but they were certainly OK. They operated on a coin slot - but only cost 20p and worked for 5 minutes. So this was certainly not expensive.

The child play area was good.

The site was very quiet when we were there so we did not have to queue for showers etc - I don't know what this would be like when busy.

There was a disabled \ family bathroom but we did not use this.

The site was very quiet and very peaceful. You could camp in open spaces or near tress - it was lovely. As there was so little noise from traffic you did notice the sound from the odd car \ van - but we never heard noise from traffic and night. Just noisy wildlife (can't blame the owners for that).

It had been raining quite hard before we arrived and the ground in places was a little squelchy but not too bad - the drainage seems reasonable but could possibly be better. I have certainly stayed on campsites that were far muddier.

The campsite was 5 - 10 mins drive from Inverness so it was easy to get from there to all the touristy locations.

To summarise we had a great time and will certainly be visiting the site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redguscat 15 reviews from this member

 I stayed one night at this site, mid week in early May so it was very quiet (only one other tent).

A very clean, well organised and pleasant site a short drive from Inverness - I saw a bus stop but I'm not sure how regular the service is?

I didn't use the site shop but the toilets / shower block and kitchen area were very clean and looked fairly new. The kitchen provides free use of a toaster, kettle and microwave as well as an excellent washing up area, magazines / books / games etc and lots of local information - very impressive.

The pitches also all have picnic tables, which is particularly good if you are touring on a bike, as I often am (I had a car this time) and don't have a chair to sit on!

Prices were very reasonable indeed for the facilities offered, I'd definitely return if I was in the area again! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: William wallace 1 review from this member

 Great little site, 10 minutes drive to Inverness. Toilets and showers were clean and quite warm for the time of the year. Cheapest campsite I've been on for years. Campers kitchen was a god send for the little things we forgot ie A tea towel and mugs, as well as free toaster and kettle. Really quiet after 10.30.P.M. (did get woken at 7.A.M. By some nearby residents making their way to work) regular bus service to and from Inverness if you wanted to leave the car and have a drink in the city. Only met the owner once when we paid for an extra night. Would go back again and highly recommend it for exploring the Highlands 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Seadog 4 reviews from this member

 This was one of the best sites we have stayed on for a long time. The site was almost empty other than the occasional tourer and the central tent pitch area was flooded but, as we don't need hook-up, we found a dry pitch around the edge of the main field.

The owners were exceptionally friendly and were were made to feel most welcome. The toilet block was very clean and, importantly, very warm. We timed our visit to coincide with an exceptional cold snap so the first night was not pleasant (cant blame the site for that, the owner did offer us blankets for the next night as they were a bit concerned about our well-being!).

I particularly appreciated the toys in the washing up room as this kept the little ones amused while I did the pots and pans.

The play area was good and the children were able to keep themselves amused for hours at a time.

The site is within an easy drive to Inverness and Loch Ness but remote enough to be very quiet at night.

We plan to go back to this site next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lynne 57 1 review from this member

 Brilliant campsite very clean and tidy friendly owners work hard to keep it that way.Great camping kitchen with sinks, plenty hot water, microwave, toaster and kettle even supply the coffee and tea.

Playground for the youngsters which was well used. Shop selling the basics owner will take orders for fresh bread. Large pitches and very reasonable cost will certainly visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sblyth 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 5 night stay at Auchinhillin with my wife and kids (4 & 7 years old). One of the cheapest sites in the area at £14 high season with electricity. Dogs only 50p/night extra.

The pitching area is fairly level with a picnic bench at each pitch. Electric pitches are in the centre, so a bit restricted where you pitch if you want a hook up. Well drained and close to amenities block.

The amenities block was spotless including showers and toilets. There is a large 'campers kitchen' which contains a kettle, toaster, microwave, washer, dryer and iron. There are loads of leaflets for local attractions, books and toys for borrowing and many extras available to borrow in case you forgot anything (chair, bottle opener etc.). There is also a great kids playpark and a dog walking area (which is a bit rough). The reception sells many items with a pint of milk being cheaper than the local Tesco!

The site is a few minutes off the A9, 15 mins from Inverness and a Tesco Extra. Many attractions are within a 30min drive, Loch Ness Centre, Nairn, Landmark, Culloden Battlefield.

Highly recommended, we will be going back again! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ryalls28 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite was very good, very friendly staff

Lovely scenery, good disabled toilet. Men and womens toilets very fresh new and clean. Some traffic can be hard as well as some planes, but the scenery makes up for this. Drainage on tent area not as good as could be, the weekend we went it rained for three days so there was a lot of standing water, but it was not muddy at all considering the rain that come down on us. There was not many people at the site.

(Jasmine 9 years says) excellent kids play park, the swings where great for me. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Artibee 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, lovely owners, good facilities and is on a bus route to Inverness. Loved the fact that it was out on it's own and we were right at the end of the season which meant we more or less had the place to ourselves!
Dog walk area or as my young son called it 'the jungle' is fine for dogs or mini explorers alike - as we have no dog! All in all a very peaceful break here and it wasn't expensive. 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Auchnahillin Holiday ( Caravan & Camping ) Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Inverness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3493 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement