Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Baconsthorpe Meadows

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Baconsthorpe Meadows Reviews

Baconsthorpe Meadows
Pitt Farm
Baconsthorpe
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6LF
Tel: 07884 432412  or  01263 713395
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Reduced due to Covid-19
Open: 17/05/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Beepee Camping 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely tents-only site; great for not being looked down on by enormous caravans and campervans. Pitches are level and generously spaced. Plenty of space for activities and a simple but well used children's play area. We had one of the electric hook up pitches which worked fine.

The showers are spacious and along with the whole site, kept very clean. The washing up area is covered and well lit when it gets dark outside. Water in showers, washing up and wash basins always came out nice and hot.

This is one of the few sites we have used where the "no noise after 10pm" rule was strictly adhered to. A wonderfully friendly reception added to a feeling of being welcome and appreciated rather than just another booking.

Unless you are looking for on-site entertainment and a club house, I would thoroughly recommend Baconsthorpe Meadows as a proper no nonsense, traditional, but not basic campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pgoody 1 review from this member

 What an amazingly clean and tidy site. Facilities are clean regularly and very well maintained.

Pitches are level and the hedging is a fantastic way to add privacy to your pitch!

Very quiet after 9 pm and the only noises heard in the night was the owls! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lady Ramoska 1 review from this member

 This is the kind of site where children sing in the showers and dads wear Boden pyjama bottoms with wellies. Emma is a fantastic host. Nothing is too much trouble from your first tentative email through to the end of your stay. She even shows you to your pitch. In our case in the rain after a six hour journey.

Holt is the major draw for us (Bakers and Larners, proper green grocers and a wonderful bakers) but Sheringham and Cromer are nearby for old fashioned seaside fun. If you have a car there is plenty to do. Norwich is only an hour away when the rain comes (great shops and covered market).

Free fire pits, lovely hot showers and a simple but well stocked little shop on site. I love the fact you can buy eggs individually at 20p a go. Itís the small things that make all the difference when you are camping and when our air beds developed holes Emma was able to supply not one, nor two but three new air beds for us immediately at a reasonable £10 each. Phew.

This is our second visit and we will definitely be back. This site is perfect for young families and outdoor loving teens. (And dogs of course). Just wish we had stayed long enough to sample the friendly fish and chip van when it rocked up on the Thursday evening. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coogee 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first time at this site, an experience we will hopefully repeat. Granted this was the World Cup Quarter Final weekend which may have effected the numbers visiting but from what we could tell, even with a full site there would have been plenty of space per unit.

The owners are lovely and extremely helpful (they rang round child friendly pubs to see who had the football on). The site atmosphere is calm yet playful and happy.

Loads to visit within a few minutes, or plenty of space for cricket/ football/ frisbee etc on site without worrying about annoying fellow campers. Many good pubs and restaurants nearby although Holt can be a bit pricey and a few I would not take excited or tired children to.

Toilets and showers were clean and adequate with a good area for washing up too. We did not use the freezer but did see there was one. Fire pits to borrow and logs to buy at a reasonable price made the evenings a joy.

All in all, a big hit with our family. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaxc75 1 review from this member

 Such a lovely small quiet site with very helpful hosts. Perfectly adequate with nice clean toilet and shower facilities. Has a separate side for guests with dogs.

You have free use of the metal drum things to have a campfire, which is a great bonus. Plenty of space for the kids to run around and small playground area. Having been here twice now for short stays with and then without electric hook up, I would say this place is perfect for visiting the local area.

The ruins of Baconsthorpe castle makes a nice safe walk along a track from the campsite. There is a little on site shop and laundry room, even somewhere you can put your freezer blocks in if you need to refreeze them.

The nice small town of Holt is a mere 5 min drive away, the coast too is close. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karon69 5 reviews from this member

 4th visit to this super campsite. Hook up pitches are great with plenty of space between. Very clean toilets and shower blocks. Owner is friendly and helpful. Freezer washer and plugs for phone chargers available. Very reasonable prices and a great base for exploring north Norfolk! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Priddypix 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site, immaculately clean, well appointed with a friendly owner. Well situated for all North Norfolk fun.

The cost for me on my own was a bargain, on my second visit I took my adult son and had electric hook up. Still a bargain!

I will definitely be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Messy71 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this campsite (we spent a week here last year) and it's even better now!

The site operates a 'pitch where you like' policy, which could result in chaos but doesn't because there is plenty of space for people to choose from. There are a few different fields for people to choose from, the largest being the dog-friendly area, the busiest being the one with the play equipment. Even though this area was busy, people pitched around the edge of the field leaving plenty of space in the middle for kids to run and play. The play equipment was solid and makes a great place for the children to met new friends (our daughter had a fantastic time with her new playmates). The vast majority of people were considerate in how close they pitched to others as well. Also, although there were a few groups dotted around the site, everyone respected the 'Quiet by 10pm' rule. (Or at least were quiet by half past ten, anyway. )

The toilets and showers were clean. The showers have been upgraded and are now a room rather than a cubicle - brilliant for those who have to hose down younger children, and luxury for those who get the opportunity to shower alone. The showers have push buttons but they stay on for plenty of time and you can control the temperature. Always a bonus!

The fish and chip van is also a new idea this year, it is visiting every Thursday in August and the food was cooked fresh on site and was delicious. Fire pits are free to borrow, and wood/kindling is available at the little shop. There is plenty to do in the local area, including the lovely walk to Baconsthorpe Castle. Emma (the site owner) was friendly and helpful.

Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and have already decided that we will be back next year! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cazz51 11 reviews from this member

 This was my 3rd stay at Baconsthorpe Meadows and it just gets better. Shiny new showers (free), constantly cleaned facilities, free freezer, books and games to borrow or swap, roof over washing up sinks as Emma continues to make the site a happy relaxed experience. The children have a great time around the site and I camp in the huge dog friendly field relatively peaceful. There are several permitted walks through the fields as well as to the Castle and Holt is just down the road. Steam train coastal path Sheringham Park Cromer all close by but a step back from the crowded sites. I've stayed in several sites in Norfolk and looked at several others but this is by far my favourite. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 39 reviews from this member

 This was my second visit to Baconsthorpe Meadows (see my previous review dated August 2016) and the site was even better this time.

There have been several improvements; more showers, additions to the facilities area, roofing over the washing-up sinks, and the windbreak hedges are growing well.

As before, the welcome and service from Emma and her colleagues was first class. The site was very well maintained, the grass in good condition, and everything neat and tidy.

Compared with nearby sites that are crowded and noisy, Baconsthorpe Meadows is very spacious and it is quiet at night.

As before I highly recommend Baconsthorpe Meadows and give it full marks. 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baconsthorpe Meadows child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baconsthorpe Meadows?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Baconsthorpe Meadows dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holt      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4151 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement