Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Baconsthorpe Meadows

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Baconsthorpe Meadows Reviews

Baconsthorpe Meadows
Pitt Farm
Baconsthorpe
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6LF
Tel: 07884 432412  or  01263 713395
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Reduced due to Covid-19
Open: 17/05/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kcamper 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely family orientated site. There are great walks from the site, which is very well maintained. Grass is kept short & facilities are spotless. Water hot in showers & covered washing up area. Fires are allowed and there is loads of space for children to meet & play. There is a 10pm no noise rule, which is enforced by Emma, who goes out of her way to make sure all campers are happy. This is a little gem of a site & wish Emma all the best for the future. My little boy didn't want to leave! Definitely not party site, thankfully! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jettylot 1 review from this member

 Just took our two girls, 5 and 7, camping, first time ever, and Granny too. Found this site to be absolutely great, Emma and her parents very relaxed and helpful. We made no reservation and arrived and left when it suited us (we did call ahead to make sure there was space, though). We stayed an extra day as we enjoyed it so much. Emma was very helpful and warned us about roadworks in Kings Lynn. The toilets and showers were clean and welcoming and the pitches spacious and flat. We all enjoyed a campfire using a free wheel rim with welded legs. Our kids made nice friends with other children in nearby tents and us with the parents, such an enjoyable experience. Loved the fresh milk and marshmallows for sale at the shop. Will certainly be back soon if the weather plays ball. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chocolatewoozle 1 review from this member

 What a superb site! Masses of space, fantastic facilities, exceptionally friendly, even growing fresh herbs for guests to pick. I visited with four thirteen year old boys who played ball on the site all day long and enjoyed an evening by the fire. Short walk to the sublime Baconsthorpe Castle - perfect for hide and seek. Best site in many years of camping. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Antony Church 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this wonderful campsite for 5 days at the end of July. Because we had a dog we were allocated to the field furthest from the water supply, but this was still only a short walk. This field proved to be the quieter site as even though it was the height of the season, there still seemed to be ample spaces, loads of room for the kids to play. The owner, Emma, was very friendly and helpful, providing a fire pit for open fires and barbecues. The showers was hot, and clean. It was also good to have an area for a washing machine, and freezers for ice blocks. Even though there was no electric hook up, you are still able to charge phones and devices in the office, even a microwave!

The site is 5-10 minute drive to Holt, where there is a large Budgens supermarket for all you food etc. And some wonderful shops.

We hope to return next year for a longer stay, a well recommended campsite.

Tony C 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 1Pinklady 1 review from this member

 This was the location of our first camping trip with our 5 year old son and couldn't have been better. Originally we were looking for a larger site nearer the coast however due to it being the first weekend of the school summer holidays we struggled to find anywhere. We 'stumbled' across Baconsthorpe Meadows a few days before our trip and so pleased we did.

One of the best things about the site is the space. Approx. 5 fields of differing sizes to choose your own pitch from, 3 dog free and 2 dog friendly. To say it was the first weekend of the school holidays and I believe nearly full, still lots and lots of space left - our nearest neighbour was a good 12-15 metres away from us. The site was also flat.

There are 4 women's showers, 2 men's showers and a family shower with 2 showers in and a sink (portacabins). Although the site was nearly full, queues were very minimal or non existent and limited to the gents showers - the site would probably benefit from more gent's facilities. On a sunny weekend in summer, we had no heating issues. There are 3 covered sinks for pot washing, a chemical waste point and a room which had a washing machine, tumble dryer, freezer for refreezing your own ice packs and a hair dryer. Also one plug socket for anyone with their own hair straighteners. ! Fire points and water points are frequently dotted around.

Reception is manned between 8am and 10am and 5pm - 7pm (and often inbetween). If no-one is on site when you arrive you are asked to pitch up and return later to pay. Owners/staff are most welcoming and friendly and genuinely seem to enjoy what they do (rather than some of the 'greedy' camp sites we have stayed on in the past). Long may this continue. There are a couple of plug sockets where they allow you to charge your phone, ipad, etc. They also sell some 'basics' and at very reasonable prices - bacon, sausages, eggs, milk, butter, laundry items, etc. Along with things like firewood and marshmallows for those campfires (which are allowed using wheel rims you can borrow on site).

The campsite had a curfew at 10pm and pretty much everyone kept to this. Due to this being a non electric, tent only site, the only noise heard before this was from children playing. There are no playgrounds or children's facilities as such however during the 2 nights we stayed, our son was quite happy kicking a football around and making friends with other children on site. It felt very safe and he could be seen at all times. What we actually thought we wanted when looking for a site wasn't really what we needed and worked out for the better.

The campsite whilst in a rural location was a good base from which to explore the north Norfolk coast and should we find ourselves in this area again we would have no hesitation in returning or recommending to friends. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sherlock Holmes 4 reviews from this member

 Had a very short break (1 night only) at this campsite. The pitches are level and you can pitch where you like, which is nice. There are free fire pits to use and the wood is very reasonably priced. There are some nice touches, such as free herbs and a microwave and hairdryer. The showers are very powerful and hot, if a bit on the small side. Toilets were clean with plenty of handwash etc. We visited the ruined Baconsthorpe Castle, which is great for children to play in and on.

Emma, the owner, was very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and, as we don't live too far away, will be visiting again over the Summer. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zododo 2 reviews from this member

 Great break in this peaceful campsite. Large fields with no set pitches make this an easy winner for us as not restricted to a small pitch. We had a whole field to ourselves over the May day bank holiday weekend. Toilets and showers were spotless and soap provided. Washing up sinks x 3 outside with a plastic cover for shelter from rain, always loads of hot water. Freezers available for freezer blocks, a hair dryer and microwave provided as well. Reception manned twice a day, had map, tourist info plus a small range of essentials including logs etc for the fire pits which are provided free of charge.

Local area beautiful for cycling or walking, little or no traffic on most of the back lanes.

The fact there was no electric hook ups made this an instant choice.

Emma the owner was most friendly and helpful and would love to go back again regardless of the 3 1/2 hour trip to get there.

Norfolk was a big thumbs up from us! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Littleredcampervan 1 review from this member

 Lovely, restful weekend stay on immaculately kept campsite!

Well situated for exploring North Norfolk being located 15-minute drive from Holt, 20 minutes from Cromer and 30 minutes from Norwich.

Its rural location makes for a quiet site and having no electric hook-ups keeps it that way - no satellite dishes, blaring TV's which spoil many other sites, here - a nice traditional family campsite for campers!

This also means there is very little light pollution so ideal for stargazing!

There is a no noise after 10pm policy and everyone respected this request allowing for a very relaxing stay.

The campsite owner is extremely helpful and a fountain of local knowledge. Both her and her mum are very friendly and the campsite is very well maintained.

The shop is stocked with everything you might require- or have forgotten! -including firewood, some nice touches too - like marshmallows and skewers!

There is a room with a washing machine, tumble dryer and large freezer (ideal for freezer blocks!) as well as a sink for rinsing clothes in.

There are also several sinks outside for washing up in, under a plastic covering to keep the rain off!

The toilet and shower blocks are kept spotlessly clean and well supplied with loo roll and handwash. Great idea to have a family shower too - great for families with small children!

Good sized site with level ground - Masses of room for 53 pitches. Very well priced too!

Ideal for walking the dog with plenty of bridalpaths and a lovely 15 min walk to Baconsthorpe Castle -Spectacular!

Absolute gem of a site -will be staying again soon! 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Camperman73 1 review from this member

 Just returned unpacked and sat down after staying at this site and what a little cracker!

Checked the reviews on here and called, booked and away we went. As per other reviews its a large site 5 large well set out fields (2 for doggie owners ) and only 52 spaces so you know your not going to be packed in at the height of the season.

Toilet and shower blocks all new for this season and spotlessly cleaned at least twice a day.

There was about 7 tents on site the 3 days we were there, spread over 3 fields so loads of space to play etc without interfering with anyone else.

Torches are a must for evening time as the toilet block area is the only are lit up which leads to some super night sky's (and some very cold ones Brrrrrr ground frost. )

This site has a 10pm no noise policy which they remind you upon arriving, this is good and just another reason to like this site.

The owners are only to willing to help directions information etc and the site office/store keeps basic items should you need in a hurry, and they also sell logs for the log baskets, a really good item for chilly eve's and toasting marshmallows mmmm.

There is plenty of areas for dog walking and bridal ways and public footpaths from the site, the baconsthorpe castle is a must see little walk only 10 mins from site

The site is close to the coast sherringham, wells and cromer all worth a visit, as is holt.

Great site, great area, great owners, we will definitely will be going back to this site, only 13 a night and only an hour door to door.

The only little thing would be a little heat in the showers.

Book up and go enjoy the space and piece. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Naich 17 reviews from this member

 This is a large site, with lots of room between tents. We stayed at a quiet weekend, towards the end of the season and had virtually the whole field to ourselves. There is enough space at the site that you can pitch where you want when you arrive and report in to reception when it opens.

The campsite is set within a working farm, so there is some farm traffic going along the road next to the toilets, especially during harvest time when it can get a bit dusty. If your kids like tractors though, they will love it! Once the farming day is over, the site is very quiet as it is a long way away from any main roads.

The facilities were good, well maintained and clean, but I can imagine that in busy times the small number of showers might end up with a bit of a queue. Other than that, everything worked, the water was hot, there were three sinks for washing up, electrical sockets available for phone chargers, hair driers etc. , and two freezers for ice packs.

There is a small shop in the reception (staffed in the morning and evening), which sells a few essentials, along with kits of wood, kindling and fire lighters for use in their fire pits.

You can't beat a camp fire, and the addition of kindling and fire lighters made starting one a piece of cake. The site is far enough away from any cities that, once the fire is out, you get a breathtaking view of the stars on a clear night.

One of the best things we did was take a walk along the footpath to Baconsthorpe Castle, picking blackberries along the way. Although it is ruined, the castle and its grounds are beautiful and there are plenty of nooks and crannies in the ruins for the kids to explore.

It is impressive that the site is this good, given that this is the first year it has been open. The staff were friendly and helpful, and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely be coming back. 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baconsthorpe Meadows child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baconsthorpe Meadows?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Baconsthorpe Meadows dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holt      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3233 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement