Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Baconsthorpe Meadows

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Baconsthorpe Meadows
Pitt Farm
Baconsthorpe
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6LF
Tel: 07884 432412  or  01263 713395
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 53
Open: 29/03 To 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 68 Reviews
                9/10 from 68 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Burchybear 1 review from this member

Clean, family friendly, loads of room to pitch your tent. Gorgeous countryside! Friendly, accessible, tidy. Fantastic showers. Excellent campfires.

Toilets clean and plenty of them. Showers powerful and warm, and the family shower is an excellent idea when trying to get yourself and the kids washed. Clean spacious washing-up area. Plenty of hot water. Loads of space for the kids to run around and play games. The starlit sky was amazing, as there are no street lights to spoil it. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Permanentlyfrazzled 1 review from this member

Just returned home after a wonderful 12 days at Baconsthorpe Meadows.

The site is quiet, very well-maintained, plentiful facilities are clean and tidy at all times (I do wonder if the owners ever take their Marigolds off!) and wonderful space for all guests to pitch their tents and for children to play.

Lots of little extra touches ensured our stay was easy and enjoyable: 2 freezers for ice-blocks and food, free charging of phones, pits provided for campfires and tourist information leaflets, to name but a few.

The owners are welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable about the local area, and even humoured our four children on their frequent errands to the little shop on site.

Our overwhelming feeling is that nothing is too much trouble for the family who run this site, and we left feeling more like friends than paying guests. We are already planning a return trip for the start of the season next year.

It's with a heavy heart that I have to give it full marks because I don't want it to become so popular that there's no space for my family next year!

It's a simple, no-frills, family campsite that's being run extremely well - a real gem!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Agjavjones5 1 review from this member

We have just returned from 12 days camping at this lovely rural site. Booking was easy and quick. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and valued as clients, the owners are friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The site is large and spacious, flat and well tended; plenty of room between tents and we could pitch where we chose.

As other reviewers have commented facilities are fairly basic at this fledgling site. Nevertheless the showers were hot, free and clean and we had no problem showering at times to suit us. A second toilet block was added while we were there, although we weren't aware of any queues!

Washing up facilities are sheltered and the two fridges available for freezing ice blocks are a great help. The shop stocks essentials and a few extras, everything we saw represented good value for money. Indeed cans of drink and chocolate bars were lower than many shops.

There is a large collection of leaflets for local attractions including beaches close by, walking, stately homes etc. There are several large scale maps in the shop showing walks and points of interest. For those who enjoy fresh crab and lobster we would definitely recommend Jenny's (North End Hollow) on the Weybourne Road (A149) just outside Sheringham. Very good value for money and excellent prices.

Local tide times and weather maps are updated daily which, was very helpful. The site owners are also a fount of local knowledge e. G. Pointing out the bridle way to Baconsthorpe Castle.

Although there isn't a designated play area the children on site had plenty of space to play. We saw impromptu games of football and cricket, kite flying and cycling all taking place without feeling that our space was being invaded.

Wheel rims and firewood are available for open fires and barbecues are allowed.

This is a rural site so not particularly well lit but we knew this from the website so went prepared with our torches. It is also a working farm so there are the associated sounds of farm machinery at a distance and at reasonable times. The 10pm noise curfew was generally well observed and we had a very restful and relaxing holiday.

We would definitely recommend this campsite as a base for exploring North Norfolk and would visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Salina West 1 review from this member

This was our first ever family camping trip and it was a fabulous experience. The toilets were kept clean and the showers were good with plenty of hot water. I found the sinks to wash the pots, and use of the shared freezer very useful. There was an area in reception for charging mobile phones etc and used the electric sockets to inflate our air beds. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and provided a first class customer service. The site is situated in a peaceful location with plenty of room to camp and allowed the children to enjoy the safe open space. We enjoyed a pub lunch at The Pigs in Edgefied, which had an excellent children's pay area about 2/3 miles from Baconsthorpe and a short bike ride to Baconsthorpe Castle which wass well worth a visit. I consider ths to be a good location for visiting Wells, Cromer and Sherringam. Overall, a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate returning to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cal72 9 reviews from this member

This site has 3 large, flat camping fields kept neatly mown with newly planted hedging around the perimeter. The toilets p& facilities are ample and were always clean and hot when I used them. There is a family shower room which is always very useful. A free freezer for ice blocks and you can charge any gadgets in the office if required. The owner was very helpful at time of booking and during our stay. There is plenty of room for children to play on the site but no designated ball games area or play equipment. The office has a very small shop for milk and basics. The pitches are not marked out, you pitch where you like which may not be to everyone's liking. The local area has lots to see and do, but a car is vital as the site is in a rural area. The major plus for me, is that camp fires are encouraged and old metal wheel rims are provided for containing the fire. Logs & kindling are available to buy in the shop. We enjoyed our evening camp fire but this does mean, on fine evenings, that campers will sit around their fires chatting and relaxing!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eloisejade 2 reviews from this member

A lovely campsite. We were warmly welcomed and shown around the site in late July. The toilets and showers were clean and hot. There is a washing up area and a freezer for freezer packs. The shop is very handy and we were able to get fresh milk and bacon for our mornings.

It seems that we stayed the same weekend as 'OLDREX' below. Firstly we would like to apologise for our car alarm going off twice, as this has never happened before. Oldrex, your tent was about 50 metres away so perhaps you being only mere feet away was what caused our car alarm to go off twice! However we did leave the car unlocked after this and the next night to ensure it didn't happen again. If you had spoken to us rather than complaining straight away and writing a review, it wouldn't have been such an ordeal for you. But then some people just love moaning!

The lady that runs the site did come and speak to us and was very polite and understanding about it.

We didn't feel it was a noisy site at all and would definitely return again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karon69 5 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the second time. First time was a week after it opened and pleased to say it hadn't lost any of its charm. Allows BBQ and campfires (using bricks and wheel rims) which is great for an evenings entertainment and logs/firelighters are available from office/shop which also has all the basics you need ie milk, bread, butter, bacon etc. Showers were always hot and very clean and undercover washing up area provided. The owner is really friendly and has a great knowledge of what's happening locally and places to visit. Pitches aren't marked out on the three large fields so you can you really where you want to. Plenty of water pipes have been installed and saplings planted which will give more privacy as they establish. Plenty of space for kids to play football etc. This is a great site as a base for exploring North Norfolk and we will certainly be back!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OldRex 7 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, in a very rural location approx. 3 miles south of Holt. Pitches are flat and mown, the ground is compacted with plenty of flint so I would recommend you take rock pegs as I bent a couple of deltas. It rained heavily on one night and the pitch drained very well.

The facilities are basic and housed in portacabins. The site office sells a very limited range of essentials and allows mobiles etc. To be charged. Washing up sinks and the freezer for ice blocks are under a transparent canopy. The hot water in the gents was rarely working but this did not bother me too much as cold water was fine for washing hands and face during the warm weather, and the sink in the mens showers did have hot water so I just shaved there following my shower. I understand that permanent washing facilities will be built this winter.

Others have commented that this site is not the best value given the facilities. I chose this site deliberately because I expected it would be peaceful (with a 10pm noise curfew) and I am quite prepared to pay a premium for that, and indeed for the first 6 nights of my stay it was lovely and peaceful.

On the Friday a number of new campers arrived. That night there was a multi-tent group nearby who partied and got progressively louder after the 10pm noise curfew as they got more drunk. After that party broke up some time after midnight, a car alarm mere feet away from us went off on two separate occasions during the small hours. The farm cockerel kicks off at about 4am, so you can imagine how little sleep we got.

We elected to strike camp before the planned end of our stay so we could guarantee that we were rested prior to the start of our working week.

The owners were very apologetic and part refunded our lost day, but I think that if they want to sell this site as a quiet site they need to be more proactive about enforcing the noise curfew. A prominent sign reminding guests would be a start.

I would love to return to this site as I loved the location and the surrounding area, but I will probably not return during peak season due to the noise issue.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alexogden 2 reviews from this member

Having been to this site recently I think its Kabbagirl below who is confused and writing about a completely different site. This site is quite a find. There are two large level meadows with nicely mown grass so no wet feet in the mornings.

The owner was very friendly and efficient with the booking and reception, nothing seemed too much trouble. There are no marked pitches so you can go where you like. She has a small shop with essentials, (thank heavens for the cold drinks) also local information and power points (free) for hair dryers / straighteners or to recharge the phone.

Camp fires are allowed and there is a supply of wood and wheel rims so as not to burn the grass.

This is this sites first year and facilities are cabin type. There are four toilets for ladies and five for gents. There are four ladies showers and one family shower with two showers for men all of which were always hot although the controls took a bit of working out. All these facilities were very clean and checked during the day. There are three sinks for washing up with plenty of hot water and a notice board above with weather forecast etc. There is also a freezer for ice packs

The site covers five acres so there is plenty of room for kids to play although no playground as such.

Holt is a popular town three miles away, Sheringham with good sandy beaches is five miles, Cromer nine miles. There are good footpaths and cycle routs in the area

This is a very quiet rural site, a great place to relax and chill out. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GGoshorn 9 reviews from this member

A spacious, comfortable rural site that's only recently opened, so everything is nice and new, and ample for the few campers who were there the week we stayed. Friendly welcoming service from the owner who told us to pitch our tent wherever we wanted - and that meant plenty of space to choose from on large flat fields, within easy reach of office & shop, large washing-up area, freezer, two separate (free) shower blocks for women, one for men, one for families, four toilets for each (and baby changing table). Latest weather forecasts and information on local necessities are posted up outside.

Campfires are catered for with chopped wood and wheelrims to burn it in. There's plenty of space for children to play though no particular equipment for them. Everything else you could need appears to have been thought of and well provided.

It is a bit pricey at 16 for two people and an ordinary tent, and a bit exposed and breezy (maybe it's always breezy in these parts). But I soon forgot about that amid such peace and quiet, with no other sounds but a multitude of bird song (and cockerels at dawn).

Meanwhile, the pleasant little town of Holt three miles up the road has pubs, restaurants, takeaways, supermarket and small food shop, petrol station, easy access to roads that will take you to various nearby beaches and coastal attractions. Good luck to this site for the future.

Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2664 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019