Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Baconsthorpe Meadows

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Baconsthorpe Meadows Reviews

Baconsthorpe Meadows
Pitt Farm
Baconsthorpe
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6LF
Tel: 07884 432412  or  01263 713395
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Reduced due to Covid-19
Open: 17/05/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ali48 3 reviews from this member

 Perfect! We had a week camping at the farm with electric hook up, a large pitch, a lovely view across the field and the beautiful town of holt a short drive away. Emma is very welcoming and promotes the local area. Fresh eggs are sold on site and the free use of a fire pit was an added bonus. Facilities on site were well thought out with two large freezers, a washing machine, tumble dryer, microwave and hair dryer. The only niggle was the changing area in the shower block was very small! I will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mandreed 19 reviews from this member

 Spent four fantastic nights at this simple but wonderful site. There were 6 of us in an old VW camper with an awning.

There are several different areas/field to pitch on and if you don't need EHU you can choose your own spot. A few of the areas are dog friendly. The field closest to the amenities area also has a playground.

Around the site are a few taps with drinking water. There is an outdoor covered washing up area with 3 sinks. A room with washing machine and tumble dryer, two freezers for cool blocks and a microwave.

There are several showers including a larger family shower room. The toilets were always clean and stocked with toilet roll!

At reception you can borrow firepits, and they also have a small shop selling various items including firewood.

The site is set up for family camping and couples. As the sun goes down there is a chilled out vibe across the site, you can hear the children playing at the park, you can smell the woodsmoke and see the flickering from the various campfires dotted around the site. Fellow campers are respectful of the noise policy and of each other.

We live fairly locally but decided to immerse ourselves for a few days in what Central North Norfolk has to offer can highly recommend the following activities:

Baconsthorpe castle is a fantastic short walk from the site, great for a picnic

Holt. Just a few miles down the road. It has several lovely places to eat. We love Byfords for breakfast, lunch or afternoon tea. Holt also has several shops, ideal for tourists wanting a wander and a country park for a walk.

Catch the steam train from Holt to Sheringham. Quite expensive but our 3 year old loved it!

We love Sheringham. Great for beach and Splash swimming pool, beware pool is very busy on rainy days. Also has Tesco supermarket, mini Sainsburys, lots of local independent shops, gift shops, cafes, chip shops, ice cream sellers and amusements.

This is a lovely area and there is so much to do. We will definitely be returning to this campsite. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Petesm 1 review from this member

 What can I say.

Lets start with the toilet blocks. WOW. ULTRA CLEAN. My friend is OCD and this is the only campsite EVER that she is happy with facility cleanliness!

The pitches were in Excellent condition and even when busy, there is SOOO much space to pitch your tent. I came in a group of 4 families and space was not an issue. I have forgotten the ladies name in reception, but she is a Lovely lady who could not do enough to help.

Good little shop with all the essentials for emergencies and firewood for the must have Campfire!

Plenty to do nearby with the castle just a 10 min walk with young children and Holt a 15 minute drive and you can get information for booking boat trips to seal island!

Also, there is a lovely play area with slides and swings for the kids which is perfectly located for the kids to make new friends.

I would Highly recommend this site and will happily return as location is middle meetig point for the 4 families! 5 stars. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kelly and Broydon 23 reviews from this member

 The rain came down in sheets, the wind howled and storms came and went during our week recent stay here. It was so bad that many campers packed up and went home.

The site is a lovely site which is clearly loved by owner Emma who with her family are helpful and informative. It's a bit off the beat and track but is signposted off the main road.

Even though the site received so much rain it drained well, the facilities were adequate in the format of several portacabins, which sounds down market but were spot on, importantly the showers were hot and everything (again thinking about how bad the weather was) was kept amazingly clean.

The pot washing area was disappointing as it is outside and uses plastic strips to protect from the rain, which didn't work, but if better weather the only thing missing was a bin from this area.

The park for the kids is spot on, well constructed and as soon as there was a break in the rain the kids loved it. There was plenty of space for them to run around and play.

The pitch size was more than ample and lovely and flat, the grass was well maintained and short.

The site office doubled up as a shop selling basics and local eggs.

One negative is the arrival time advertised for the site, reception is not opened, fortunately on our booking we had a pitch number so could find where to pitch.

The EHU is 16A and has been renewed for this season, we know this as we did have issues with the EHU partly from a faulty item but sadly it did seem to trip randomly. Emma was going to call the electrician in to check it out so hopefully won't be an issue on going.

Emma promotes the local area and even has an on site owl box which is in use and you can hear the owl at night. A walk to the local castle is certainly worth doing.

Overall a lovely site and we are sure that if it had been a sunny week it would have been spot on. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 44 reviews from this member

 Our second stay here - see review from July 2015 - and it has got even better.

There's now rock solid, 16A EHU and Emma seems to have souped up the WiFi a bit, as it was easily usable from the pitches nearer to the reception block.

The ground did get a bit boggy after some truly biblical rain, and I gather Emma had to rescue some vehicles in her tractor. Our pitch was on a very slight rise though, and drained nicely.

The showers seemed even more powerful than I remembered. My one criticism: the changing areas are tiny: the same dimensions as the shower cubicle, and just curtained off from the body o' the kirk. It's a bit like trying to get dried and changed whilst standing in a damp sleeping bag. Hilarious once or twice, but it'd be trying on a longer visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hilliardi 1 review from this member

 Possible the most accommodating campsite we've ever visited!

Emma the owner couldn't do enough to make our weekend perfect, opening the campsite especially late in the season, and going above and beyond the call of duty to set up the England rugby game on a projector for us dada to watch!

The camnpsite itself is in a fantastic location, not far from Holt and within easy driving distance of Cromer, West Runton and Sheringham beaches.

The facilities are top notch, well looked after and very clean.

Open fires are allowed which is a real plus for us, with plenty of wood available!

The kids loved the space available and also the younger ones really appreciated the climbing frame and swings which are a recent addition.

Not much within walking distance but the tuck shop was open on a regular basis which was a nice touch.

Thank you Emma for a brilliant weekend :-) 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ulli 1 review from this member

 Excellent. A very quiet site with loads of space for the children (we were a party 9 adults and 18 children). This was our second visit and since our last stay new high quality play equipment had been added which was very welcome. Very friendly, great value, fire baskets and BBQs available, a shop with enough to keep you going - highly recommended. The facilities are basic but very clean and well maintained. Baconsthorpe castle worth a visit too - only 15 minutes walk away. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tony Burgess 9 reviews from this member

 A lovely site run by lovely people!

After a disappointment with the site we chose last September - 2014 - in E Kent (sorry, I never got round to submitting a review), it was good to have faith restored and find a site operating as described and reviewed.

When we stay on a site I wonder whether I would change anything for the benefit of guests if I was the owner. The site was far from crowded 2nd week September, and I wonder if when the site is at its busiest the menfolk would welcome more showers. Otherwise - 'a site which has it just right'.

The camping area is arranged so that those with or without dogs can use different sections. Toilets & shower rooms were kept very clean. No shortage of hot water, and no messing about with tokens. We particularly liked the fact that we could exchange our cool blocks at any time. And with one of our party having to maintain a lot of correspondence whilst we were there, the wi-fi availability was a tremendous help. All with an inclusive - and reasonable - pricing policy. Thanks, guys! Especially Emma.

Highlights for us in our short stay were the North coast with its pretty villages, Wildlife Centre, half-hour 'Coasthopper' bus service etc, and the National Trust owned Sheringham Park.

We like exploring new places, but would we return if coming back to this area? Pretty sure the answer would be YES. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: OldRex 7 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this lovely site and it has only improved since our last visit. A child's play area, laundry facilities, wi-fi, microwave, kettle and hairdryer have all been added, and the washing/toilet blocks have been updated.

The site is now far better geared towards families with younger children, and there is a 10pm noise curfew enforced. I know this will be too early for some, but parents of younger kids will appreciate this.

We had a very pleasant and relaxing 10 night stay, and will definitely return. In my opinion this site has got it just right, and for my money is the nicest family site in Norfolk.

I would have liked to score the site 9. 5 as it is just shy of perfection, but we cannot give half marks. My only niggle - and I stress this is minor - is that I found when the site was busy the freezer did not freeze my ice blocks, probably because the door was being opened frequently. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianwd 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and great value for money. Made very welcome by Emma and her parents and the whole atmosphere was very laid back. I would certainly return here when we're back in the area. Nice site for the family based on a working farm.

All the facilities are in portacabins, but are clean and plenty of hot water. Loads of freezer space for ice blocks, plenty of plugs in reception for charging up stuff (this is a new camping routine!) and there's a washing machine, dryer and microwave. No EHU, but we don't use it anyway so it didn't matter to us.

It's a fairly new site (opened within the last 5 years I think) so the hedges aren't fully matured, but other than that can't fault it and they're always on the look out for changes/improvements etc.

Perfect spot for exploring North Norfolk, Holt a 5 mins drive, Sheringham, Cromer, Wells, Blakeney and Fakenham all within about 20 mins drive. Oh, and walk to the castle, it's a lovely spot with the ruins and the lake.

Only downside was a lack of a pub within walking distance (shame the one in Baconsthorpe closed a couple of years ago!). But we can recommend the Pig (this has a great kids play area) and the Red Hart (good beer).

The shop on site has the basics (milk, butter, bacon etc) and even had an airbed when mine went flat with 3 nights to go. Wifi free but only reaches around the reception area (thankfully!).

Ground was soft for the pegs, although getting them out after 2 weeks was a challenge (worse than Dorset, Cornwall or Somerset!) for some reason, possibly a lack of rain in the 2 weeks we were there (best 2 weeks weather I've experienced in August for the past 5 years or so!).

The only minor (and it is very minor) criticism I would make is that the path from the toilets to the 'large' field does get very muddy in wet weather, so could do with some gravel etc to beef it up a bit (oh and be prepared to be woken up early by the neighbourhood cockerel!).

So for a quiet family site we thoroughly recommend this site! 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baconsthorpe Meadows child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baconsthorpe Meadows?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Baconsthorpe Meadows dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holt      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1665 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement