Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Baconsthorpe Meadows

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Baconsthorpe Meadows
Pitt Farm
Baconsthorpe
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6LF
Tel: 07884 432 412  or  01263713395
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 53
Open: 29th March - 28th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Petesm 1 review from this member

What can I say.

Lets start with the toilet blocks. WOW. ULTRA CLEAN. My friend is OCD and this is the only campsite EVER that she is happy with facility cleanliness!

The pitches were in Excellent condition and even when busy, there is SOOO much space to pitch your tent. I came in a group of 4 families and space was not an issue. I have forgotten the ladies name in reception, but she is a Lovely lady who could not do enough to help.

Good little shop with all the essentials for emergencies and firewood for the must have Campfire!

Plenty to do nearby with the castle just a 10 min walk with young children and Holt a 15 minute drive and you can get information for booking boat trips to seal island!

Also, there is a lovely play area with slides and swings for the kids which is perfectly located for the kids to make new friends.

I would Highly recommend this site and will happily return as location is middle meetig point for the 4 families! 5 stars.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kelly and Broydon 23 reviews from this member

The rain came down in sheets, the wind howled and storms came and went during our week recent stay here. It was so bad that many campers packed up and went home.

The site is a lovely site which is clearly loved by owner Emma who with her family are helpful and informative. It's a bit off the beat and track but is signposted off the main road.

Even though the site received so much rain it drained well, the facilities were adequate in the format of several portacabins, which sounds down market but were spot on, importantly the showers were hot and everything (again thinking about how bad the weather was) was kept amazingly clean.

The pot washing area was disappointing as it is outside and uses plastic strips to protect from the rain, which didn't work, but if better weather the only thing missing was a bin from this area.

The park for the kids is spot on, well constructed and as soon as there was a break in the rain the kids loved it. There was plenty of space for them to run around and play.

The pitch size was more than ample and lovely and flat, the grass was well maintained and short.

The site office doubled up as a shop selling basics and local eggs.

One negative is the arrival time advertised for the site, reception is not opened, fortunately on our booking we had a pitch number so could find where to pitch.

The EHU is 16A and has been renewed for this season, we know this as we did have issues with the EHU partly from a faulty item but sadly it did seem to trip randomly. Emma was going to call the electrician in to check it out so hopefully won't be an issue on going.

Emma promotes the local area and even has an on site owl box which is in use and you can hear the owl at night. A walk to the local castle is certainly worth doing.

Overall a lovely site and we are sure that if it had been a sunny week it would have been spot on.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TimCESmith 29 reviews from this member

Our second stay here - see review from July 2015 - and it has got even better.

There's now rock solid, 16A EHU and Emma seems to have souped up the WiFi a bit, as it was easily usable from the pitches nearer to the reception block.

The ground did get a bit boggy after some truly biblical rain, and I gather Emma had to rescue some vehicles in her tractor. Our pitch was on a very slight rise though, and drained nicely.

The showers seemed even more powerful than I remembered. My one criticism: the changing areas are tiny: the same dimensions as the shower cubicle, and just curtained off from the body o' the kirk. It's a bit like trying to get dried and changed whilst standing in a damp sleeping bag. Hilarious once or twice, but it'd be trying on a longer visit.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hilliardi 1 review from this member

Possible the most accommodating campsite we've ever visited!

Emma the owner couldn't do enough to make our weekend perfect, opening the campsite especially late in the season, and going above and beyond the call of duty to set up the England rugby game on a projector for us dada to watch!

The camnpsite itself is in a fantastic location, not far from Holt and within easy driving distance of Cromer, West Runton and Sheringham beaches.

The facilities are top notch, well looked after and very clean.

Open fires are allowed which is a real plus for us, with plenty of wood available!

The kids loved the space available and also the younger ones really appreciated the climbing frame and swings which are a recent addition.

Not much within walking distance but the tuck shop was open on a regular basis which was a nice touch.

Thank you Emma for a brilliant weekend :-)

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ulli 1 review from this member

Excellent. A very quiet site with loads of space for the children (we were a party 9 adults and 18 children). This was our second visit and since our last stay new high quality play equipment had been added which was very welcome. Very friendly, great value, fire baskets and BBQs available, a shop with enough to keep you going - highly recommended. The facilities are basic but very clean and well maintained. Baconsthorpe castle worth a visit too - only 15 minutes walk away.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tony Burgess 9 reviews from this member

A lovely site run by lovely people!

After a disappointment with the site we chose last September - 2014 - in E Kent (sorry, I never got round to submitting a review), it was good to have faith restored and find a site operating as described and reviewed.

When we stay on a site I wonder whether I would change anything for the benefit of guests if I was the owner. The site was far from crowded 2nd week September, and I wonder if when the site is at its busiest the menfolk would welcome more showers. Otherwise - 'a site which has it just right'.

The camping area is arranged so that those with or without dogs can use different sections. Toilets & shower rooms were kept very clean. No shortage of hot water, and no messing about with tokens. We particularly liked the fact that we could exchange our cool blocks at any time. And with one of our party having to maintain a lot of correspondence whilst we were there, the wi-fi availability was a tremendous help. All with an inclusive - and reasonable - pricing policy. Thanks, guys! Especially Emma.

Highlights for us in our short stay were the North coast with its pretty villages, Wildlife Centre, half-hour 'Coasthopper' bus service etc, and the National Trust owned Sheringham Park.

We like exploring new places, but would we return if coming back to this area? Pretty sure the answer would be YES. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OldRex 7 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this lovely site and it has only improved since our last visit. A child's play area, laundry facilities, wi-fi, microwave, kettle and hairdryer have all been added, and the washing/toilet blocks have been updated.

The site is now far better geared towards families with younger children, and there is a 10pm noise curfew enforced. I know this will be too early for some, but parents of younger kids will appreciate this.

We had a very pleasant and relaxing 10 night stay, and will definitely return. In my opinion this site has got it just right, and for my money is the nicest family site in Norfolk.

I would have liked to score the site 9. 5 as it is just shy of perfection, but we cannot give half marks. My only niggle - and I stress this is minor - is that I found when the site was busy the freezer did not freeze my ice blocks, probably because the door was being opened frequently.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ianwd 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site and great value for money. Made very welcome by Emma and her parents and the whole atmosphere was very laid back. I would certainly return here when we're back in the area. Nice site for the family based on a working farm.

All the facilities are in portacabins, but are clean and plenty of hot water. Loads of freezer space for ice blocks, plenty of plugs in reception for charging up stuff (this is a new camping routine!) and there's a washing machine, dryer and microwave. No EHU, but we don't use it anyway so it didn't matter to us.

It's a fairly new site (opened within the last 5 years I think) so the hedges aren't fully matured, but other than that can't fault it and they're always on the look out for changes/improvements etc.

Perfect spot for exploring North Norfolk, Holt a 5 mins drive, Sheringham, Cromer, Wells, Blakeney and Fakenham all within about 20 mins drive. Oh, and walk to the castle, it's a lovely spot with the ruins and the lake.

Only downside was a lack of a pub within walking distance (shame the one in Baconsthorpe closed a couple of years ago!). But we can recommend the Pig (this has a great kids play area) and the Red Hart (good beer).

The shop on site has the basics (milk, butter, bacon etc) and even had an airbed when mine went flat with 3 nights to go. Wifi free but only reaches around the reception area (thankfully!).

Ground was soft for the pegs, although getting them out after 2 weeks was a challenge (worse than Dorset, Cornwall or Somerset!) for some reason, possibly a lack of rain in the 2 weeks we were there (best 2 weeks weather I've experienced in August for the past 5 years or so!).

The only minor (and it is very minor) criticism I would make is that the path from the toilets to the 'large' field does get very muddy in wet weather, so could do with some gravel etc to beef it up a bit (oh and be prepared to be woken up early by the neighbourhood cockerel!).

So for a quiet family site we thoroughly recommend this site!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TimCESmith 29 reviews from this member

This site is superb. The ground is perfect for tents: flat pitches on very gently sloping fields; there's masses of room and many, well-placed drinking water points. Trees and hedges provide shelter and privacy if that's your bag. There are little solar lights marking the gateways between the fields.

The location is ideal for exploring north Norfolk. The walk to Baconsthorpe Castle is delightful. It's a wonderfully peaceful area with no traffic noise: open country with big, Norfolk skies.

There is no EHU, but facilities are excellent. The showers are hot and powerful, and the family shower rooms are a good size and well laid out. The loos are clean, bright and un-threatening, with liquid soap at the wash-basins and effective hand-driers. There's a lot of freezer space for your ice blocks and even a drawer of 'left behind' blocks you can borrow. We had some fridge challenges and were still able to chill our wine by bunging it in the freezer. The microwave was especially useful now that we've turned into EHU softies. The pot wash sinks are well lit and under cover, again with plentiful hot water at high pressure. A thoughtful touch is the 3-day weather forecast pinned up by the freezer. You can charge gadgets in reception. All this is free.

The playground is small but a great hit with the children. Our daughter quickly made friends there and played happily for hours on end, which meant we could sit out in the peace of the evening with a (cold - hurrah!) drink whilst the site's resident little owl flapped happily about and our fire got going in the firepit.

The site shop stocks a good range of food, soft drinks and necessities, plus firewood, kindling and marshmallows. Firepit loan is free. There's a big fridge in the corner with cold drinks and frozen food. The prices are excellent. The wifi is based here in the shop, so you'll see people hovering outside with their smartphones. It's quick, reliable and free but doesn't extend onto the camping fields because Emma 'hates Peppa Pig. ' (We got mobile broadband coverage on the 3 network. ) Rubbish and recycling is behind the shop and the capacity is huge: I can't see it ever over-flowing. Tescos and Sainsburys in Sheringham (5 miles) stay open till 11pm.

Emma is friendly, helpful and industrious, and has created a relaxed and happy atmosphere without issuing pages and pages of terms and conditions. Pitch prices are almost negligible and what you get is amazingly generous. When you have to go home you're not kicked off site at 10am but can 'pack up whenever you want. ' We will certainly be back.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katpat23 3 reviews from this member

This is a full-marks campsite. No frills -- just nice toilet block with about 5 toilets each of men's/women's, warm/free showers (a half-dozen in total), good washing-up area with lots of hot water, some freezers and a microwave. Very flat fields. Allows dogs in some fields. Small play area for children. Allows fires on fire pits, plenty of which are piled up for your free use. We stayed for three nights before a bank holiday weekend, and had the place to ourselves. It did look like it was going to be busy over the weekend, so not sure how plentiful the facilities would seem then. Clear skies, and only 15 minutes or so from the north Norfolk coast, and a bit further, Wells-next-the-Sea. The owner is available in the little shop building for a few hours every day, selling essentials, wood and kindling, fresh eggs. Best of all? Really, really cheap tariff!

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2696 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019