Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Baconsthorpe Meadows

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Baconsthorpe Meadows Reviews

Baconsthorpe Meadows
Pitt Farm
Baconsthorpe
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6LF
Tel: 07884 432412  or  01263 713395
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Reduced due to Covid-19
Open: 17/05/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: TimCESmith 44 reviews from this member

 This site is superb. The ground is perfect for tents: flat pitches on very gently sloping fields; there's masses of room and many, well-placed drinking water points. Trees and hedges provide shelter and privacy if that's your bag. There are little solar lights marking the gateways between the fields.

The location is ideal for exploring north Norfolk. The walk to Baconsthorpe Castle is delightful. It's a wonderfully peaceful area with no traffic noise: open country with big, Norfolk skies.

There is no EHU, but facilities are excellent. The showers are hot and powerful, and the family shower rooms are a good size and well laid out. The loos are clean, bright and un-threatening, with liquid soap at the wash-basins and effective hand-driers. There's a lot of freezer space for your ice blocks and even a drawer of 'left behind' blocks you can borrow. We had some fridge challenges and were still able to chill our wine by bunging it in the freezer. The microwave was especially useful now that we've turned into EHU softies. The pot wash sinks are well lit and under cover, again with plentiful hot water at high pressure. A thoughtful touch is the 3-day weather forecast pinned up by the freezer. You can charge gadgets in reception. All this is free.

The playground is small but a great hit with the children. Our daughter quickly made friends there and played happily for hours on end, which meant we could sit out in the peace of the evening with a (cold - hurrah!) drink whilst the site's resident little owl flapped happily about and our fire got going in the firepit.

The site shop stocks a good range of food, soft drinks and necessities, plus firewood, kindling and marshmallows. Firepit loan is free. There's a big fridge in the corner with cold drinks and frozen food. The prices are excellent. The wifi is based here in the shop, so you'll see people hovering outside with their smartphones. It's quick, reliable and free but doesn't extend onto the camping fields because Emma 'hates Peppa Pig. ' (We got mobile broadband coverage on the 3 network. ) Rubbish and recycling is behind the shop and the capacity is huge: I can't see it ever over-flowing. Tescos and Sainsburys in Sheringham (5 miles) stay open till 11pm.

Emma is friendly, helpful and industrious, and has created a relaxed and happy atmosphere without issuing pages and pages of terms and conditions. Pitch prices are almost negligible and what you get is amazingly generous. When you have to go home you're not kicked off site at 10am but can 'pack up whenever you want. ' We will certainly be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katpat23 3 reviews from this member

 This is a full-marks campsite. No frills -- just nice toilet block with about 5 toilets each of men's/women's, warm/free showers (a half-dozen in total), good washing-up area with lots of hot water, some freezers and a microwave. Very flat fields. Allows dogs in some fields. Small play area for children. Allows fires on fire pits, plenty of which are piled up for your free use. We stayed for three nights before a bank holiday weekend, and had the place to ourselves. It did look like it was going to be busy over the weekend, so not sure how plentiful the facilities would seem then. Clear skies, and only 15 minutes or so from the north Norfolk coast, and a bit further, Wells-next-the-Sea. The owner is available in the little shop building for a few hours every day, selling essentials, wood and kindling, fresh eggs. Best of all? Really, really cheap tariff! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bongone 3 reviews from this member

 Great site, giving this a high rating because we think its such good value for money.

We camped for 3 nights, two adults, arriving mid-week. Booked online, owner was friendly when we later spoke on the phone, she'd said pitch wherever if she wasn't about.

We had acres of space (only 4 other tents when we arrived), site comprises long, level fields separated by a hedge into areas for those with dogs/those without. There were several drinking water standpipes in the 'no dogs field' where we pitched.

Lot of families turned up Friday evening, this is a terrific site if you've got young children, with play equipment and lots of space for them to play.

There is a 'no noise' policy after 10. 00pm, children carried on 'having fun' but the owner did the rounds about 10. 20 and the campsite fell quiet, that was reassuring and appreciated.

Plenty of walks and footpaths to follow in this rural setting, and a good base for exploring North Norfolk by car. The toilets were portacabins, we found them clean whenever we used them, though left just as more people were arriving.

There are sinks for pot wash and a fridge, freezer, microwave and washing machine, so all needs catered for. Plenty of 'wheel rim fire baskets' to borrow for a camp fire, wood to purchase from reception, which was open at set times.

We had a good experience here and wish the owners luck developing the site in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Terryghill 1 review from this member

 I would highly recommend this site, we (2 adults, 1 child and 1 dog) were squeezed in at the last minute, the communication was very quick and extremely helpful and accommodating.

I completely agree with all of the reviews that the welcome was very warm and friendly. There is a lot of very useful information in the on site office / shop.

The site is very well laid out, incredibly clean and the facilities are of a great quality. It was very evident that the little things had been thought through, I particularly liked the supplied fire pits. The pitches are level and well maintained with lots of access to water etc.

We took our dog with us and again there were facilities for cleaning up after the dog and ample areas to go for walks.

The location is fantastic for accessing the coast and Holt is very close and has everything a camper could wish for.

Thank you for your hospitality and we look forward to returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ladycake 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here overnight to test our new tent out and also tried a new site. Facilities are clean and well thought out, fire pits freely available to use. A freezer, microwave, hairdryer all free to use. Washing up area, showers, toilets. Pay to use washer and dryer too. Lovely new children's playground, good for all ages. Areas for people with or without dogs, lots of water points. Reception also sold bits and bobs at a really good price! no over inflated prices at all unlike some camp shops. We forgot a spare gas cannister for the stove £1. 50 here. Camp fire/ barbecue friendly. Nice flat grass that was green and lush, lots of new hedging planted that will provide much shelter from wind in time to come. Very competitive rates for camping, cheaper than many places. There was only us (family of 3) and a couple in a nearby field, so it was very quiet. Lovely countryside. Lots of owls (we saw a little owl flying about) at night and very little lighting, so torches are needed. You won`t need an alarm with the birds singing or the neighbours rooster! but I love all that. Emma (runs the site) was lovely and we`d highly reccomend this site and will be back again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shaggy44 1 review from this member

 Last camp of the summer and boys did we leave the best till last. Really easy to find with clear sign posting from Holt. Emma and her mum were just great, so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. In fact the children spent more time with them than us. The facilities are clean and well looked after and having a washing machine, microwave on hand is just a nice touch. They have given the layout some serious thought, with water stations in the right place. Building soak aways under each station is a nice touch as it doesn’t lead to a mud bath. They have clearly listened to their customers and that is great. The grass on the site is rich and green and that was at the end of the season. I am embarrassed to say it is in better condition than my front lawn! There is also plenty to do around the area, beaches at Blakeney, Wells, and Holkham. Holt, only 3 miles away has everything you need – Supermarket, great pubs, restaurants and an amazing deli called Byfords. The castle at Baconsthorpe is also a must to see as well. This campsite is only in its second year and I seriously recommend a visit 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Naich 17 reviews from this member

 Having had a lovely end-of-season stay at this site last year, we did the same again this year. We were impressed with the facilities, which have been upgraded and are all modern, well maintained and clean. The pitches are well looked-after and level.

The best thing about this site is how peaceful it is. Unlike most places, there is no constant hum of road noise, just the very occasional car going past. At night it's wonderful to sit around the fire and listen to the sounds of nature. Although it was overcast during our stay, there is very little light pollution, so on a clear night you should be able to get a good view of the stars.

Baconsthorpe Castle is a 25 minute walk away, down a pretty footpath with blackberry bushes, passing fields with crops and others with horses. Although it is a ruin, it's great for the kids to explore and is in a beautiful setting next to a mere.

I really can't find a single fault with this site, and I'm sure we'll be back next year too. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Chriscampingman 2 reviews from this member

 This is a 'hidden gem' of a campsite, It has hot, working showers including a twin shower family unit, the toilets are well stocked and the washing up area very clean and with good hot water. There is a washing machine and tumble drier, both are low priced compared to other sites and some laundrettes, the hair drier was free.

The owner works tirelessly to keep everything clean and tidy and as a family of 5 we were grateful that every other person using the site were mindful of low noise after 10pm

This site is basic but there's just something about people that don't have electric hook-ups, families all playing together everyone saying hello too each other and helping out, it's an old fashioned atmosphere with great essential facilities.

They don't cram in as many tents as possible and we got the impression that the people that stay are as important as the money made from the land.

You will need to plan for food and drink well and bring it to site although the basics of a hot drink and hot dogs are stocked and they have three packs of tent pegs ;-)

If there was anything that let this site down I'd mention it. But there just isn't!

Thanks for a great stay xx 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DanDi 3 reviews from this member

 We have just had a lovely six nights at this beautiful campsite. It ticked every box for us. Spotless showers and toilets, constant hot water, under cover pot washing, a shop with essentials and phone charging facility free of charge. Campfires, lovely flat pitches and so much space to choose from.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. The campsite was in a good position to visit all the lovely places around north Norfolk.

I can't speak highly enough of this place and everything has already been said by other campers. It is definitely not a place to be missed and we would return without question.

By far the best campsite we have visited. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andys1963 1 review from this member

 Normally stay at Breck Farm (which I would also thoroughly recommend) but it was full so booked this as a last minute alternative. Really couldn't understand why it was not totally booked up (August 15-17). Beautiful rural location. £34 for three of us in two tents for two nights. Fantastic ground for pitching tents. The owners would win awards for friendliness. Showers and toilets were immaculate and free (showers). Endless hot water at a good pressure that would embarrass most hotels. Small shop with everything priced at ludicrously good prices: 10p for a box of matches! Free microwave, wifi, etc.

Definitely a 'family' site. Very quiet after 10pm and no pubs nearby. Dog friendly. Campfires allowed, etc.

Could not recommend it highly enough. No idea why it's not permanently booked up!

Will be back.

Andy S. 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baconsthorpe Meadows child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baconsthorpe Meadows?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Baconsthorpe Meadows dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holt      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3157 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement