Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Baconsthorpe Meadows

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Baconsthorpe Meadows
Pitt Farm
Baconsthorpe
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6LF
Tel: 07884 432 412  or  01263713395
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 53
Open: 29th March - 28th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chocolatewoozle 1 review from this member

What a superb site! Masses of space, fantastic facilities, exceptionally friendly, even growing fresh herbs for guests to pick. I visited with four thirteen year old boys who played ball on the site all day long and enjoyed an evening by the fire. Short walk to the sublime Baconsthorpe Castle - perfect for hide and seek. Best site in many years of camping.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Antony Church 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at this wonderful campsite for 5 days at the end of July. Because we had a dog we were allocated to the field furthest from the water supply, but this was still only a short walk. This field proved to be the quieter site as even though it was the height of the season, there still seemed to be ample spaces, loads of room for the kids to play. The owner, Emma, was very friendly and helpful, providing a fire pit for open fires and barbecues. The showers was hot, and clean. It was also good to have an area for a washing machine, and freezers for ice blocks. Even though there was no electric hook up, you are still able to charge phones and devices in the office, even a microwave!

The site is 5-10 minute drive to Holt, where there is a large Budgens supermarket for all you food etc. And some wonderful shops.

We hope to return next year for a longer stay, a well recommended campsite.

Tony C

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1Pinklady 1 review from this member

This was the location of our first camping trip with our 5 year old son and couldn't have been better. Originally we were looking for a larger site nearer the coast however due to it being the first weekend of the school summer holidays we struggled to find anywhere. We 'stumbled' across Baconsthorpe Meadows a few days before our trip and so pleased we did.

One of the best things about the site is the space. Approx. 5 fields of differing sizes to choose your own pitch from, 3 dog free and 2 dog friendly. To say it was the first weekend of the school holidays and I believe nearly full, still lots and lots of space left - our nearest neighbour was a good 12-15 metres away from us. The site was also flat.

There are 4 women's showers, 2 men's showers and a family shower with 2 showers in and a sink (portacabins). Although the site was nearly full, queues were very minimal or non existent and limited to the gents showers - the site would probably benefit from more gent's facilities. On a sunny weekend in summer, we had no heating issues. There are 3 covered sinks for pot washing, a chemical waste point and a room which had a washing machine, tumble dryer, freezer for refreezing your own ice packs and a hair dryer. Also one plug socket for anyone with their own hair straighteners. ! Fire points and water points are frequently dotted around.

Reception is manned between 8am and 10am and 5pm - 7pm (and often inbetween). If no-one is on site when you arrive you are asked to pitch up and return later to pay. Owners/staff are most welcoming and friendly and genuinely seem to enjoy what they do (rather than some of the 'greedy' camp sites we have stayed on in the past). Long may this continue. There are a couple of plug sockets where they allow you to charge your phone, ipad, etc. They also sell some 'basics' and at very reasonable prices - bacon, sausages, eggs, milk, butter, laundry items, etc. Along with things like firewood and marshmallows for those campfires (which are allowed using wheel rims you can borrow on site).

The campsite had a curfew at 10pm and pretty much everyone kept to this. Due to this being a non electric, tent only site, the only noise heard before this was from children playing. There are no playgrounds or children's facilities as such however during the 2 nights we stayed, our son was quite happy kicking a football around and making friends with other children on site. It felt very safe and he could be seen at all times. What we actually thought we wanted when looking for a site wasn't really what we needed and worked out for the better.

The campsite whilst in a rural location was a good base from which to explore the north Norfolk coast and should we find ourselves in this area again we would have no hesitation in returning or recommending to friends.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sherlock Holmes 4 reviews from this member

Had a very short break (1 night only) at this campsite. The pitches are level and you can pitch where you like, which is nice. There are free fire pits to use and the wood is very reasonably priced. There are some nice touches, such as free herbs and a microwave and hairdryer. The showers are very powerful and hot, if a bit on the small side. Toilets were clean with plenty of handwash etc. We visited the ruined Baconsthorpe Castle, which is great for children to play in and on.

Emma, the owner, was very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and, as we don't live too far away, will be visiting again over the Summer.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zododo 2 reviews from this member

Great break in this peaceful campsite. Large fields with no set pitches make this an easy winner for us as not restricted to a small pitch. We had a whole field to ourselves over the May day bank holiday weekend. Toilets and showers were spotless and soap provided. Washing up sinks x 3 outside with a plastic cover for shelter from rain, always loads of hot water. Freezers available for freezer blocks, a hair dryer and microwave provided as well. Reception manned twice a day, had map, tourist info plus a small range of essentials including logs etc for the fire pits which are provided free of charge.

Local area beautiful for cycling or walking, little or no traffic on most of the back lanes.

The fact there was no electric hook ups made this an instant choice.

Emma the owner was most friendly and helpful and would love to go back again regardless of the 3 1/2 hour trip to get there.

Norfolk was a big thumbs up from us!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Littleredcampervan 1 review from this member

Lovely, restful weekend stay on immaculately kept campsite!

Well situated for exploring North Norfolk being located 15-minute drive from Holt, 20 minutes from Cromer and 30 minutes from Norwich.

Its rural location makes for a quiet site and having no electric hook-ups keeps it that way - no satellite dishes, blaring TV's which spoil many other sites, here - a nice traditional family campsite for campers!

This also means there is very little light pollution so ideal for stargazing!

There is a no noise after 10pm policy and everyone respected this request allowing for a very relaxing stay.

The campsite owner is extremely helpful and a fountain of local knowledge. Both her and her mum are very friendly and the campsite is very well maintained.

The shop is stocked with everything you might require- or have forgotten! -including firewood, some nice touches too - like marshmallows and skewers!

There is a room with a washing machine, tumble dryer and large freezer (ideal for freezer blocks!) as well as a sink for rinsing clothes in.

There are also several sinks outside for washing up in, under a plastic covering to keep the rain off!

The toilet and shower blocks are kept spotlessly clean and well supplied with loo roll and handwash. Great idea to have a family shower too - great for families with small children!

Good sized site with level ground - Masses of room for 53 pitches. Very well priced too!

Ideal for walking the dog with plenty of bridalpaths and a lovely 15 min walk to Baconsthorpe Castle -Spectacular!

Absolute gem of a site -will be staying again soon!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camperman73 1 review from this member

Just returned unpacked and sat down after staying at this site and what a little cracker!

Checked the reviews on here and called, booked and away we went. As per other reviews its a large site 5 large well set out fields (2 for doggie owners ) and only 52 spaces so you know your not going to be packed in at the height of the season.

Toilet and shower blocks all new for this season and spotlessly cleaned at least twice a day.

There was about 7 tents on site the 3 days we were there, spread over 3 fields so loads of space to play etc without interfering with anyone else.

Torches are a must for evening time as the toilet block area is the only are lit up which leads to some super night sky's (and some very cold ones Brrrrrr ground frost. )

This site has a 10pm no noise policy which they remind you upon arriving, this is good and just another reason to like this site.

The owners are only to willing to help directions information etc and the site office/store keeps basic items should you need in a hurry, and they also sell logs for the log baskets, a really good item for chilly eve's and toasting marshmallows mmmm.

There is plenty of areas for dog walking and bridal ways and public footpaths from the site, the baconsthorpe castle is a must see little walk only 10 mins from site

The site is close to the coast sherringham, wells and cromer all worth a visit, as is holt.

Great site, great area, great owners, we will definitely will be going back to this site, only 13 a night and only an hour door to door.

The only little thing would be a little heat in the showers.

Book up and go enjoy the space and piece.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Naich 16 reviews from this member

This is a large site, with lots of room between tents. We stayed at a quiet weekend, towards the end of the season and had virtually the whole field to ourselves. There is enough space at the site that you can pitch where you want when you arrive and report in to reception when it opens.

The campsite is set within a working farm, so there is some farm traffic going along the road next to the toilets, especially during harvest time when it can get a bit dusty. If your kids like tractors though, they will love it! Once the farming day is over, the site is very quiet as it is a long way away from any main roads.

The facilities were good, well maintained and clean, but I can imagine that in busy times the small number of showers might end up with a bit of a queue. Other than that, everything worked, the water was hot, there were three sinks for washing up, electrical sockets available for phone chargers, hair driers etc. , and two freezers for ice packs.

There is a small shop in the reception (staffed in the morning and evening), which sells a few essentials, along with kits of wood, kindling and fire lighters for use in their fire pits.

You can't beat a camp fire, and the addition of kindling and fire lighters made starting one a piece of cake. The site is far enough away from any cities that, once the fire is out, you get a breathtaking view of the stars on a clear night.

One of the best things we did was take a walk along the footpath to Baconsthorpe Castle, picking blackberries along the way. Although it is ruined, the castle and its grounds are beautiful and there are plenty of nooks and crannies in the ruins for the kids to explore.

It is impressive that the site is this good, given that this is the first year it has been open. The staff were friendly and helpful, and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely be coming back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TeamOTBC 1 review from this member

Just arrived home after 3 nights at Baconsthorpe, having camped already 3 times this month at campsites in the local area, (some that have been set up for many years) I was very impressed with this place.

It's a real little treasure run by a very nice family.

There are a few things that are important when you are in a group and have lots of children and this place has it.

Lots of place for ball games. Cricket included! We had bikes and biked to the castle, park just up the road, decent pub locally, beach only a few miles away.

The showers and toilets are adequate and very clean.

But it's the little things, fires are allowed and there are some to borrow too! They provide soap in the toilets. At the water station they've put a hose on the tap. You can charge your phone laptop ipad etc. There is even a hair dryer for you to use!

The owners really have got this just right, well done guys!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Burchybear 1 review from this member

Clean, family friendly, loads of room to pitch your tent. Gorgeous countryside! Friendly, accessible, tidy. Fantastic showers. Excellent campfires.

Toilets clean and plenty of them. Showers powerful and warm, and the family shower is an excellent idea when trying to get yourself and the kids washed. Clean spacious washing-up area. Plenty of hot water. Loads of space for the kids to run around and play games. The starlit sky was amazing, as there are no street lights to spoil it. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2691 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019