Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Baconsthorpe Meadows

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Baconsthorpe Meadows Reviews

Baconsthorpe Meadows
Pitt Farm
Baconsthorpe
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6LF
Tel: 07884 432412  or  01263 713395
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Reduced due to Covid-19
Open: 16th July

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 16/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cluttermum 1 review from this member

 Very pleasant campsite. No camper vans or caravans so air good. Extremely helpful owner, small shop open a couple of hours in the morning and afternoon.

Showers clean and very hot water. Toilets very clean. Good value pricing.

Close to Holt which is a lovely North Norfolk village. Plan to go back again next year. Recommend this site.

Fire pits and Bbq available plus wood to buy. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: S Allen 1 review from this member

 This was our 1st time visiting this site on a recommendation from a friend.

The site could not have been cleaner, the owner could not have been more helpful and the facilities could not have been better.

Great location and base for exploring. We are looking forward to many more visits. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Alf73 2 reviews from this member

 A really good campsite, especially for families. We went with a dog and stayed on the dedicated dog friendly part of the site. There is a lovely 15 minute walk from the site to an English Heritage castle, which is a bonus for doggie people.

The site has a silence after 10pm policy, which was more or less adhered to, although there were people playing loud music from their car stereo before that time, which was a shame. We found the site to be quite noisy, especially around the childrenís play area. Itís perfect for families with kids, but maybe look elsewhere if you want peace and quiet.

There are fire pits available to borrow and firewood in the well stocked campsite shop. It was good to have games and books available to borrow too. The toilet, shower and washing up blocks were extremely clean.

As they say on their website, they are a working farm so if you have coeliac disease or a gluten intolerance, itís worth checking if they are doing the harvest that week as the gluten was flying around freely. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Cazz51 11 reviews from this member

 I've stayed here many times and introduced family and friends here too; all loved it.

It's close enough to the coast for convenience but apart enough to feel really relaxed on site.

Facilities are always spotless. Pin drop silence at curfew except for the owl.

Children have some wooden forts etc. To play on and lots of walks for dogs.

Good shop fair prices and books and games to borrow.

Its definitely my favourite camp site in N Norfolk - no noisy huge groups, no caravans, just a great camp site to relax in. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ali48 3 reviews from this member

 So relaxing. Weíve stayed here a few times, itís by far the best farm site weíve stayed on, although I hate to recommend as it will get too busy.

The facilities are good, clean, spacious showers that are cleaned twice a day. Fresh eggs, a book and games loan, no clubhouse, just the sound of the owls and nature every night.

Itís so good to know Emma is on hand to help and gently remind guests thereís a no noise policy after 10.

Always a lovely welcome and a relaxing break with our dog, leaving the children (grown up) at home 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Beepee Camping 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely tents-only site; great for not being looked down on by enormous caravans and campervans. Pitches are level and generously spaced. Plenty of space for activities and a simple but well used children's play area. We had one of the electric hook up pitches which worked fine.

The showers are spacious and along with the whole site, kept very clean. The washing up area is covered and well lit when it gets dark outside. Water in showers, washing up and wash basins always came out nice and hot.

This is one of the few sites we have used where the "no noise after 10pm" rule was strictly adhered to. A wonderfully friendly reception added to a feeling of being welcome and appreciated rather than just another booking.

Unless you are looking for on-site entertainment and a club house, I would thoroughly recommend Baconsthorpe Meadows as a proper no nonsense, traditional, but not basic campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pgoody 1 review from this member

 What an amazingly clean and tidy site. Facilities are clean regularly and very well maintained.

Pitches are level and the hedging is a fantastic way to add privacy to your pitch!

Very quiet after 9 pm and the only noises heard in the night was the owls! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lady Ramoska 1 review from this member

 This is the kind of site where children sing in the showers and dads wear Boden pyjama bottoms with wellies. Emma is a fantastic host. Nothing is too much trouble from your first tentative email through to the end of your stay. She even shows you to your pitch. In our case in the rain after a six hour journey.

Holt is the major draw for us (Bakers and Larners, proper green grocers and a wonderful bakers) but Sheringham and Cromer are nearby for old fashioned seaside fun. If you have a car there is plenty to do. Norwich is only an hour away when the rain comes (great shops and covered market).

Free fire pits, lovely hot showers and a simple but well stocked little shop on site. I love the fact you can buy eggs individually at 20p a go. Itís the small things that make all the difference when you are camping and when our air beds developed holes Emma was able to supply not one, nor two but three new air beds for us immediately at a reasonable £10 each. Phew.

This is our second visit and we will definitely be back. This site is perfect for young families and outdoor loving teens. (And dogs of course). Just wish we had stayed long enough to sample the friendly fish and chip van when it rocked up on the Thursday evening. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coogee 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first time at this site, an experience we will hopefully repeat. Granted this was the World Cup Quarter Final weekend which may have effected the numbers visiting but from what we could tell, even with a full site there would have been plenty of space per unit.

The owners are lovely and extremely helpful (they rang round child friendly pubs to see who had the football on). The site atmosphere is calm yet playful and happy.

Loads to visit within a few minutes, or plenty of space for cricket/ football/ frisbee etc on site without worrying about annoying fellow campers. Many good pubs and restaurants nearby although Holt can be a bit pricey and a few I would not take excited or tired children to.

Toilets and showers were clean and adequate with a good area for washing up too. We did not use the freezer but did see there was one. Fire pits to borrow and logs to buy at a reasonable price made the evenings a joy.

All in all, a big hit with our family. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaxc75 1 review from this member

 Such a lovely small quiet site with very helpful hosts. Perfectly adequate with nice clean toilet and shower facilities. Has a separate side for guests with dogs.

You have free use of the metal drum things to have a campfire, which is a great bonus. Plenty of space for the kids to run around and small playground area. Having been here twice now for short stays with and then without electric hook up, I would say this place is perfect for visiting the local area.

The ruins of Baconsthorpe castle makes a nice safe walk along a track from the campsite. There is a little on site shop and laundry room, even somewhere you can put your freezer blocks in if you need to refreeze them.

The nice small town of Holt is a mere 5 min drive away, the coast too is close. 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baconsthorpe Meadows child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baconsthorpe Meadows?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Baconsthorpe Meadows dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Holt      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1880 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020