Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Baconsthorpe Meadows

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Baconsthorpe Meadows
Pitt Farm
Baconsthorpe
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6LF   See Map
Tel: 07884 432 412  or  01263713395
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 53
Open: 29th March - 28th October 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 63 Reviews
                9/10 from 63 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <5 miles 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Karon69 5 reviews from this member

4th visit to this super campsite. Hook up pitches are great with plenty of space between. Very clean toilets and shower blocks. Owner is friendly and helpful. Freezer washer and plugs for phone chargers available. Very reasonable prices and a great base for exploring north Norfolk!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Messy71 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this campsite (we spent a week here last year) and it's even better now!

The site operates a 'pitch where you like' policy, which could result in chaos but doesn't because there is plenty of space for people to choose from. There are a few different fields for people to choose from, the largest being the dog-friendly area, the busiest being the one with the play equipment. Even though this area was busy, people pitched around the edge of the field leaving plenty of space in the middle for kids to run and play. The play equipment was solid and makes a great place for the children to met new friends (our daughter had a fantastic time with her new playmates). The vast majority of people were considerate in how close they pitched to others as well. Also, although there were a few groups dotted around the site, everyone respected the 'Quiet by 10pm' rule. (Or at least were quiet by half past ten, anyway. )

The toilets and showers were clean. The showers have been upgraded and are now a room rather than a cubicle - brilliant for those who have to hose down younger children, and luxury for those who get the opportunity to shower alone. The showers have push buttons but they stay on for plenty of time and you can control the temperature. Always a bonus!

The fish and chip van is also a new idea this year, it is visiting every Thursday in August and the food was cooked fresh on site and was delicious. Fire pits are free to borrow, and wood/kindling is available at the little shop. There is plenty to do in the local area, including the lovely walk to Baconsthorpe Castle. Emma (the site owner) was friendly and helpful.

Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and have already decided that we will be back next year!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cazz51 10 reviews from this member

This was my 3rd stay at Baconsthorpe Meadows and it just gets better. Shiny new showers (free), constantly cleaned facilities, free freezer, books and games to borrow or swap, roof over washing up sinks as Emma continues to make the site a happy relaxed experience. The children have a great time around the site and I camp in the huge dog friendly field relatively peaceful. There are several permitted walks through the fields as well as to the Castle and Holt is just down the road. Steam train coastal path Sheringham Park Cromer all close by but a step back from the crowded sites. I've stayed in several sites in Norfolk and looked at several others but this is by far my favourite.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 38 reviews from this member

This was my second visit to Baconsthorpe Meadows (see my previous review dated August 2016) and the site was even better this time.

There have been several improvements; more showers, additions to the facilities area, roofing over the washing-up sinks, and the windbreak hedges are growing well.

As before, the welcome and service from Emma and her colleagues was first class. The site was very well maintained, the grass in good condition, and everything neat and tidy.

Compared with nearby sites that are crowded and noisy, Baconsthorpe Meadows is very spacious and it is quiet at night.

As before I highly recommend Baconsthorpe Meadows and give it full marks.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mellow mushroom 1 review from this member

Itís a good campsite but itís popularity means that itís now very busy. Especially during school holidays. Itís to be expected I suppose. My advice is go out of school holidays to avoid the crowds.

Noise can be an issue but the owner does go round at night. It would be nice if there was a no noise policy after nine instead of ten.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BatBooboo 1 review from this member

We've just got back from over a week on this site. What a fantastic little site it is. Like campsites were when I was a child. No Spa pub or burger king on site here, but lovely family atmosphere and relaxing scenery. We had car issues and Emma couldn't have been more helpful in sorting us out. It did mean we were stuck on site for several days and at that point a bigger shop with longer opening hours would have been useful. But we did manage fine and I actually used all those tins I pack and then don't use! It is definitely too far to walk to any local shops etc. As the road to and from Holt is a country lane and has no pavement. I have 3 HUGE wolf alike dogs and there was plenty of room for the trailer tent and a space behind for the dogs to be staked out. She even showed us where we could walk them! Baconsthorpe Castle is only a 15 min walk from the campsite and was a good walk for the dogs down a nice safe bridle path. We went several times, well worth the walk. My children spent most of their time in the play area which is lovely chunky wooden solid swings slides etc. And well kept. I felt happy and confident that they were safe without being walked and watched everywhere (almost teenagers) and left them to it. They found a newt near the play area which I think was the highlight of their week! The toilets and showers were kept very clean, especially considering we were there for a massive storm, Emma actually came round to everyone the next morning to check on us! I wish we had used this site when the kids were smaller the showers are like a small family wash room rather than a tiny cubicle, really good for families with younger children. Will definitely return. Only downside would be at peak season you may have to queue outside for toilets or showers during busy hours. We never had to though. I almost didn't leave a review as I wanted to keep this site to myself!

Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth £239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3616 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0898