Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Micklin Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Staffordshire > Denstone > Lower Micklin Touring Park > Reviews

Lower Micklin Touring Park
Lower Micklin Farm
Alton Road
Alton Towers
Denstone
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST14 5DJ
Tel: 07824385138
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 64 Reviews
                10/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the last 2 nights of 2017, and the first 2 of 2018.

We were part of a group (2x tents and 1x caravan), and due to the time of year, all grass pitches were closed, but we were allocated a hardstanding. Upon arrival, due to recent weather not being too bad, we were allowed to park on the hardstanding and pitch the tents on grass, which was what we preferred and hoped for, so that was a good start!

Whilst no camp site looks it's best during winter, it was clear this site was more than adequate for our first ever New Year camping trip. Pitches/space was ample, and the ground conditions excellent for the time of year. Pegs remained solid, despite consistent wind and rain!

Enough pitches were occupied (all the hardstandings, so officially 'full' for this time of year) to make it seem welcoming, and there was a nice atmosphere about the place, despite the wet, dark, cold and windy conditions.

Booked (and paid) in advance, by 'phone, and reception was welcoming and painless! We had all the facilities we required, and all were clean and practical. We were left to our own devices (with the knowledge that management were there if needed), and in all honesty, that's how we prefer it.

We had a great walk during NYE day, and shared the evening with the rest of our party, and Jools Holland (The joys of having caravan-friends who have a telly and heating!)

Nothing to get overly excited about, but I'm putting that down to the time of year, and the drab weather. All in all, a good site, nice location, and one we would be more than happy to return to. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glamburn 5 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site as a tester for van before main holiday, less than ten miles from our home but could of been hundred miles away.

A small cosy well laid out site with generous pitches mainly hard standing with grey waste drainage and excellent warm/clean toilet/shower facilities and football nets/climbing frame for the kids.

Site is a great base if you wish visit Alton Towers resort at just over 5 min drive away. I for one will be returning again for a chill out weekend, home is where you park it. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jillhomeuk 21 reviews from this member

 We love this site. Have stayed twice, once last August, and once this Easter. Toilet block is clean, and didn't have to queue, although I know it can get a little busy when the site is busy.

It is steep, but easy approach from the road, and being only about 5 minutes away from Alton Towers is fabulous.

My children liked the park, the views are gorgeous. Even the owners dog is very welcoming. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vti2007 5 reviews from this member

 Nice site in a nice location with excellent facilities. Good access to some nice walks. Sheep and chickens and a lovely dog (oscar)for the kids to look at along with a small but fun playpark.

Just the sort of site we like but we won't be going back. Really spoilt by a party with very very loud music from 5pm to 11pm along with associated shouting and swearing.

The owner did seem to sort it out about 10. 40 music wise but the shouting carried on for a while. Too late really anyway when other families are on site.

Last straw was having to move the half empty Tennants cans left in the bathroom this morning so the kids could brush their teeth. Can't recommend the site for this reason. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 We've just made the delightful acquaintance of Lower Micklin Farm - and can't think why we haven't been before. The site was already quite full for the weekend when we booked and we had to take a pitch right at the bottom of the drive - but it wasn't bad at all. On arrival we were booked in very quickly and given quite a bit of local information, as well as the barrier code.

The site facilities were right at the top of the drive, so a longish walk from our unit, but they were always clean and tidy. Despite only having two loos and two showers in each side, even when the site was at capacity (16 units - including five large tents) the facilities did not appear to be stretched. The washing up sinks are at the side of the toilets - open fronted but they did have lights. The site hook-ups are only 10 amp - beware use low amperage appliances - NOT domestic ones! There is only glass recycling on site.

This is not an Adult only site, which we would usually home into, and sure enough two young families let their very young offspring run all over the site - even in the dark on the first night. There is a nice looking play area with climbing frame and swings, but these did see not much use.

Locally the village of Alton at least five pubs - three do meals. We had a mediocre lea at the Blacksmiths Arms - beware - no cask ale! Sunday dinner we went to the Bridge Hotel at Alton, on the advice of a local man. His advice was good. The meal was not cheap, but the portions were generous and the service reasonable for a busy house.

The site lies in the middle of a triangle formed by Cheadle, Uttoxeter and Ashbourne. All have a good selection of shops. You do need a car. Although there is a seasonal bus to Alton Towers, it only runs twice a day! However the local scenery is lovely, but beware the roads ar a bit narrow and winding. Drive cautiously!

We would not hesitate to return to Lower Micklin Farm - especially as it's only 15 miles from home. BUT - next time we'll take an old ball to throw fro Oscar the dog who greets you; he so wants to play! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave dot 5 reviews from this member

 This has been the second time this year we have stopped at Lower Micklin touring park. On both occasions the we have had an excellent experience.

The site is perfectly placed for visiting Alton towers which is only a few minutes drive away, and situated in some lovely countryside. The site itself is small which we have always seen as an advantage, very quiet. The site is managed and well maintained by what I believe is a very friendly and helpful family.

The toilet block is small, comprising of 2 toilets and 2 showers in both the male and the female facilities. There is also a family shower room. The facilities we always found clean and tidy and although there are not many it seemed to cope when the site is full.

There is a small swing and slide on the site which seemed to keep our kids entertained, this rather nicely over looked a field of sheep and a rather friendly dog they enjoyed throwing a ball for. There is also a small field next to the camping field for ball games which appeared popular but never disturbed the campers.

All in all an excellent site and well recommended. 10/10 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lovemotorhomes 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site.

Easy to find, which is well laid out with spacious pitches.

Small toilet & shower area, which is kept clean.

Children's play area & ball field.

We walked to the Blacksmith's Arms 1/2 a mile up the road, served great food.

Would use the site again, well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Athert 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean and quiet site, walking distance through the fields to a lovely dog friendly pub, ( welcome in the bar ) where we enjoyed a lovely home cooked meal,

Ticked all our boxes,

Will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gambit100 1 review from this member

 Second visit to this site, book early as with only 10 pitches it gets full quickly during the holidays.

Nice clean site with brilliant access to Alton Towers. Really helpful pleasant team looking after the site. My only small bug with the showers is the 8 second press type button.

Its ok for us chaps, but reliably informed by the wife that when washing her hair this is a nightmare! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tonylee153 3 reviews from this member

 Great place to stay. We had perfect weather for the 5 days we had there. 10 mins to Alton towers.

Very clean site with excellent toilets and washing up area. Kids played on the swings or on the football pitch and we only saw them at tea time.

Next time I will explore the area as it is on the start of the peaks.

Would recommend this site and stay here again. Thankyou. 


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Micklin Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Micklin Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lower Micklin Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Denstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3771 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement