Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Micklin Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Staffordshire > Denstone > Lower Micklin Touring Park > Reviews

Lower Micklin Touring Park
Lower Micklin Farm
Alton Road
Alton Towers
Denstone
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST14 5DJ
Tel: 07824385138
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 64 Reviews
                10/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KeithandDiane 14 reviews from this member

 We chose this site for our maiden voyage in our newly acquired caravan as it had such good reviews - it did not disappoint.

The owner met us on arrival and was very friendly and helpful. The site is well kept having plenty of space between pitches and loads of room for kids to run around safely.

The shower block is spotless with lovely hot showers and although we didn't use the family bathroom we thought how good it was.

There is lots to do around and about besides the obvious Alton Towers so acts as a good base to explore from. We ate at the Blacksmiths Arms which was nice but make sure you see both blackboards for the specials before ordering as they are tucked away.

Overall it was a really good introduction to caravanning and future sites have a lot to live up to. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TomandSteph 4 reviews from this member

 Very nice site which is a good distance from the towers.

Nice views with very friendly owners, facilities were very very clean (looked new).

The pitch was a good size hardstanding and although not busy during our stay it seemed like it would not become overcrowded as the pitches were well spaced.

We booked online which was very easy. I like the simple prices, you just pay for how many in your party not like most sites which charge extra every chance they get eg dogs awning etc etc.

We had to leave early in the morning which the owner noticed and even sent a text asking if everything was ok which was good as after meeting him I think if we did have a problem he would have done his very best to sort it. Seemed very good customer service.

Couldn't fault anything.

We will stay again. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ajhut 7 reviews from this member

 We chose this site after seeing the reviews on here and because of its location. The site is less than 10 minutes from Alton towers and less than 5 minutes from the village of Alton where my son and his girlfriend were staying at the Bank House B&B. On arrival the owners were very friendly and told us about local Pubs and nearest supermarkets. There is a Londis in Alton and 24 Hour Tesco about 10 minutes away in Uttoxeter. Our hardstanding pitch was very spacious and level.

We were here at the end of October and the weather had turned very cold, but the toilets and showers were very warm and clean. If I was being picky the only faults I could find were that there were no paper towels in the toilets for drying you hands and the hand dryers were a bit ineffective, and that there was no temperature control on the shower.

We had two good meals out. One was at the Bulls Head which had a good Menu with plenty of variety. The other was at the White Hart which we chose because of the price 3. 95 for Main course and 1. 95 For Dessert. We were slightly worried when we turned up and the landlord said we'd have to bear with him as it was just him but he could cope with 8 people. He did an amazing job. Good simple pub food that we all enjoyed.

I would definitely recommend this small but lovely campsite. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chilephilly 19 reviews from this member

 What a find - and so near to home!

The directions were very clear, but despite this and the very clear signage we still managed to overshoot the entrance, it is nearer than you think! After some nifty reversing we arrived and pitched on a beautifully level and accessible, not to mention very spacious hardstanding pitch.

There is a grey water drain on each pitch and the EHU and water points are well spaced. The loo block was heated and absolutely spotless, I was especially impressed with the pink shower curtains in the ladies (hubby disappointed by the lack of blue ones in the gents!). The pot wash was equally spotless with plenty of hot water, and the pot plant is a nice touch.

The tourist info was very interesting, but as we are fairly local anyway not really relevant for us. The CDP made a manky job bearable if not enjoyable and would get a gold star if it had a little safe place to put your cassette cap - for lefties as well as righties please!

The locality is crisscrossed with footpaths giving a wide range of dog walks ( with pub stops as well!) What more can we ask for? We will be back - very soon and often! 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WENDY09 18 reviews from this member

 What a lovely welcome we received from the owner, who showed us to our pitch and explained about the local walks and eating places.

Nice flat pitches with plenty of room.

Clean and warm toilets and showers, which were much needed as it was a very cold weekend.

Nice little playground for those with children and clean and tidy pot washing area.

We walked through the field to the lane (I lie, we ran as the cows didn't look too friendly) and you must turn right as you leave the field unlike us who turned left and ended up across the border and miles from anywhere!

We found the Blacksmiths Arms for a drink and The Whitehart to eat in lovely food, great value for money but we had to wait ages for our food.

My only gripe about this site is the showers, they are too high, I am 5'6' and the spray comes straight at me, I didn't want wet hair but there was no escape, the jet is so high it comes over the top of the shower curtain, only me out the 4 of us thought it a problem though.

Otherwise a great site and 4/4 would return

I shall have to wear a shower cap. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Russco81 7 reviews from this member

 What a find, just returned from a 4 night stay at this lovely campsite, set in really peaceful surroundings and kept spotlessly clean. We had a warm welcome from the owner on arrival and was helped to our pitch. The shower block is really clean, warm and the showers are amazing. All hard pitches are level and have grey waste on pitch. There is a BBQ to borrow on site which is a nice touch but it rained for our stay.

Site has a small play area and a separate field with football nets in for kids to run around in.

As in directions on site be careful not to miss turning and end up at the neighbours farm as the entrance approaches quickly.

We will definitely be using this site as our weekend get away with it being 45 minutes away and we couldn't recommended more 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyndalove 1 review from this member

 This was our first campsite that we have used in the UK and what a fantastic choice.

The location was only and hour and a half from our home, so we were prepared for a quick exit if things didn't work out, we needn't have worried.

The campsite was easily found and the instructions were very clear and precise.

On arrival we were shown to the very generous grass pitch. We quickly pitch up the tent and bits. We had an electrical hook up included in the fee.

The campsite was vey neat and tidy. The aspect was peaceful and the site was well laid out.

We did a quick tour of the grounds and we were very impressed with the amenities block. The toilets and showers were very clean and well stocked. The pot was area had hot enough water to use to power the Queen Mary. We found a base that we could use for our disposable BBQ. So that was an added bonus. There was also a large BBQ for the more organised to use.

There was also a small playground available but as we were both over the maximum age limit we had to give it a miss.

On the wall of the toilet block was the bus time table, we were impressed to see that there was a bus, from right outside the camp, to Alton Towers resort. We took the bus, for a 5 family return ticket, and it took us directly into the park. We had previously bought the Merlin Family Pass so the whole afternoon out only cost us the bus fair.

We had a very peaceful night.

The site is a must for anyone in the area. We will be using it again the next time we want to go to Alton Towers or Uttoxeter races. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kirstsw 51 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a one night stay at this site. A really nice peaceful site. Well laid out and kept tidy.

The facilities are great with very hot free showers. The owners were very welcoming. We had a mix up with the pitch we set up on and had to move to another pitch later on in the evening. The owner gave a full refund for our inconvenience which was very generous of them.

We didn't explore the area as we were only there for one night but there is a pub half a mile down the road and I believe there are some lovely walks in the area.

At 8. 00 per person per night with hook up I felt it was good value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mccauley 2 reviews from this member

 Home from our holiday in England and we stayed three nights on this site

Loved loved loved it

Clean friendly and so close to alton towers

Showers were great and wash up area was fab

Owners were so nice and we will hopefully be back !

Will tell all here in Ireland

Oh just be careful the path that leads to the village of alton is very very mucky, make sure and bring your wellies, but there had been a lot of rain 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bensgirl 6 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a week on this site and can highly recommend it.

Access to the site is excellent, directions given by the owners were very clear.

The pitches for vans were lovely and level, half grass and half gravel. There were 2 water taps so you don't have to walk far for filling up your hog!

There is a nice play area for younger children and older children can use their bikes.

Electric points are well spaced. The showers/toilets are the best we've ever used! At first I thought we may have problems at there are only 2 showers plus one in the family room,

But I think as most people here are staying because of the close proximity to Alton Towers, they were free from around 9 am as people had left to have a full day of thrills by then!

Both the showers and toilets are immaculate, I had no need to wear flip flops for fear of grottiness! They are also lovely and warm all the time, so even if you visited in colder months I'm sure they would still be comfortable.

There are shaver point and plug for hair dryer. The only slight bugbear are the timers on the showers I think I had to press about 6 times during my shower but I understand the reasons these are favoured.

The chemical disposal point Is also the best we've used. No toilet without a seat here! A hose for rinsing and a purpose built disposal unit makes a horrid job bearable!

I forgot to say in the loos there are drinking water taps too!

The washing up area is also very clean, 2 sinks and stainless drainer area, and boiling hot water! Bring your rubber gloves !

There are recycling facilities for glass and plastics but sadly none for card/paper so we've taken our home!

We liked it so much we stayed 2 more days, luckily they could fit us in and were very accommodating. The lady and man that own the farm are very friendly and welcoming.

The area itself is very pleasant, there is a lovely farm shop and cafe in Denstone well with a visit, a small craft shop very nearby that has a very busy restaurant book 3 days ahead !

We had a very muddy walk to Dimminsdale which was very nice and we visited the Ramblers Retreat tearooms but I was disappointed here, very expensive and mediocre cream tea, whipped double cream and jam portions of strangely brownish 'strawberry' jam. Cream teas should be clotted cream and good jam in pots! The cakes on offer were meant to be home made but there is no way the caramel shortbread my partner had was homemade unless it was in Mr Kiplings house! they did make a good cuppa though! Maybe I've been spoiled in the West Country!

The whole area is very beautiful and very peaceful, you can only hear the screams from Alton towers if the wind is in the right direction! The price of the site is very reasonable too, for our party of 2 adults 1 child it was 20 a night all in!

We would definitely return to this site, hopefully soon! 


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Micklin Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Micklin Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lower Micklin Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Denstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3726 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement