Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Micklin Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Denstone > Lower Micklin Touring Park Reviews

Lower Micklin Touring Park
Lower Micklin Farm
Alton Road
Alton Towers
Denstone
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST14 5DJ
Tel: 07824385138
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 64 Reviews
                10/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Desdeb 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site with great facilities, fully serviced pitches, toilets, showers, washing up area with fridge.

Free WiFi is an additional benefit.

Really friendly owners,

Looking forward to a return visit 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davey Bolton 2 reviews from this member

 The location is beautiful, quiet and very well located for tourism into the Peak District and local attractions such as Alton Towers(I'm rather old however for those amusements!)

Good sized pitches and many fully serviced.

Toilet facilities are very clean although they could become crowded if the site was busy. Very friendly and not far from local villages with shops and pubs.

Would certainly recommend

But be warned ⚠️ Don't trust SATNAV for your route! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs Deborah Turner 1 review from this member

 Well what can I say

It was our first time in our own made campervan

It was a very nice site, clean, friendly

Toilets were out of this world, water was hot, never had to queue for shower or toilets

Oscar the dog was lovely

Camp was kept very nice

Only one issue we had was our dog not used to been on the lead to do her toilet needs, wish there was an empty field were she could of ran and we could of got the mess up 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Albion1968 9 reviews from this member

 Arrival at site was very friendly, drove down to pitch we had booked No 12. To find it very muddy. I know we had a fair amount of rain prior to our stay. In 2 minds to put our small awning up because of the muddy pitch which also sloped quite bad. Sorry I have a real hangup of trapzing mud into our caravan.

Our Friends were on pitch 11 which was even worse. Really water logged.

That said enjoyed our stay here, toilets / showers were really clean. If we were to stay again would choose the fully serviced pitches as these seemed to be well drained.

Very close to Alton Towers and other pubs / eateriers. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Joanne 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean, quiet campsite. Staff friendly and helpful.

5 minute walk to the nearest bar and restaurant 10 minutes away from Alton Towers.

Good base. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RobHeath83 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed our long weekend here. My daughter particularly loved all the animals.

The site was spotless as were the toilet and shower facilities, a credit to the staff.

We will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marked 11 reviews from this member

 Great base for just relaxing, or to explore the lovely countryside,

You can drop onto a disused railway line into the village of Alton, further on is the Ramblers retreat and further afield, Alton towers is a very short drive, you might be able to walk there,

Would recommend this site cheers 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Su56tty 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site with easy access and good facilities

Close to local amenities and attractions like Alton towers and the Potteries,

Some lovely walks but the approach road is busy to walk along,

Will go again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: MrsHaze 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay.

This is a superb campsite close to Alton Towers. We had a lovely stay here,

It has everything you need - great pitches, a toilet and shower block and a ball park for the kids. We will be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummymills 11 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 8 nights at Lower Micklin and had a lovely time. Upon arrival we had to pay for the additional guests as our initial payment is only including 2 adults.

Pitch sizes were fantastic. We have a very large tent & there was stacks of room for the tent, car & space to sit outside. Our pitch was number 25 which was in a separate area to the main stretch. Slightly further up the amenities block but a lovely area.

The only negative was that due to the layout, pitches in this field were in the shade by 4:30 on an evening, which was a real shame when the rest of the campsite was basking in 25 degree sun! Be mindful of this when booking. Also worth noting is that the pitches in this area only have a 5amp hook-up so we had to be careful of what we could use.

Toilets & showers were fine. There were 2 toilets & showers each for men & ladies, as well as a family room with toilet, shower & baby change. The showers are free, push button with plenty of hot water. They were all cleaned regularly,

There are two wash-up sinks that got busy at peak time. But it was nice to stand and have a natter with the other campers whilst waiting.

Thereís a good sized ball field, a wooden play park, and a separate dog walking field. There is a field with alpacas, hens & a cockerel, Oscar the dog, and some guinea pigs.

Quiet time is from 11pm until 7am & we didnít experience any noise outside these times.

The majority of people using this site are visiting nearby Alton Towers. We didnít but there was enough to do in the area to keep us busy for 8 days. We went to Waterworld, Carsington, Dovedale, Sudbury Hall, Ashbourne, Tissington and Matlock Bath.

We cooked on site most nights but on the last night we struggled to find somewhere nice to eat that was suitable for the kids. We tried the nearby Blacksmith Arms but even from the car park we could smell the chip pan. We then drove to the Raddle Inn, about 3 miles away. There was a cute play area, but the food was quite poor and very expensive. We did stop for lunch st the local Denstone Hall farm shop. The food here was delicious and the setting was beautiful, I couldíve spent a fortune in the gift shop. 


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Micklin Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Micklin Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lower Micklin Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Denstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10228 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement