Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lower Micklin Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Site Reviews

Lower Micklin Touring Park
Lower Micklin Farm
Alton Road
Alton Towers
Denstone
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST14 5DJ
Tel: 07824385138
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 55 Reviews
                10/10 from 55 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (7) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mummymills 10 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 8 nights at Lower Micklin and had a lovely time. Upon arrival we had to pay for the additional guests as our initial payment is only including 2 adults.

Pitch sizes were fantastic. We have a very large tent & there was stacks of room for the tent, car & space to sit outside. Our pitch was number 25 which was in a separate area to the main stretch. Slightly further up the amenities block but a lovely area. The only negative was that due to the layout, pitches in this field were in the shade by 4:30 on an evening, which was a real shame when the rest of the campsite was basking in 25 degree sun! Be mindful of this when booking. Also worth noting is that the pitches in this area only have a 5amp hook-up so we had to be careful of what we could use.

Toilets & showers were fine. There were 2 toilets & showers each for men & ladies, as well as a family room with toilet, shower & baby change. The showers are free, push button with plenty of hot water. They were all cleaned regularly,

There are two wash-up sinks that got busy at peak time. But it was nice to stand and have a natter with the other campers whilst waiting.

Thereís a good sized ball field, a wooden play park, and a separate dog walking field. There is a field with alpacas, hens & a cockerel, Oscar the dog, and some guinea pigs.

Quiet time is from 11pm until 7am & we didnít experience any noise outside these times.

The majority of people using this site are visiting nearby Alton Towers. We didnít but there was enough to do in the area to keep us busy for 8 days. We went to Waterworld, Carsington, Dovedale, Sudbury Hall, Ashbourne, Tissington and Matlock Bath.

We cooked on site most nights but on the last night we struggled to find somewhere nice to eat that was suitable for the kids. We tried the nearby Blacksmith Arms but even from the car park we could smell the chip pan. We then drove to the Raddle Inn, about 3 miles away. There was a cute play area, but the food was quite poor and very expensive. We did stop for lunch st the local Denstone Hall farm shop. The food here was delicious and the setting was beautiful, I couldíve spent a fortune in the gift shop.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 40 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the last 2 nights of 2017, and the first 2 of 2018.

We were part of a group (2x tents and 1x caravan), and due to the time of year, all grass pitches were closed, but we were allocated a hardstanding. Upon arrival, due to recent weather not being too bad, we were allowed to park on the hardstanding and pitch the tents on grass, which was what we preferred and hoped for, so that was a good start!

Whilst no camp site looks it's best during winter, it was clear this site was more than adequate for our first ever New Year camping trip. Pitches/space was ample, and the ground conditions excellent for the time of year. Pegs remained solid, despite consistent wind and rain!

Enough pitches were occupied (all the hardstandings, so officially 'full' for this time of year) to make it seem welcoming, and there was a nice atmosphere about the place, despite the wet, dark, cold and windy conditions.

Booked (and paid) in advance, by 'phone, and reception was welcoming and painless! We had all the facilities we required, and all were clean and practical. We were left to our own devices (with the knowledge that management were there if needed), and in all honesty, that's how we prefer it.

We had a great walk during NYE day, and shared the evening with the rest of our party, and Jools Holland (The joys of having caravan-friends who have a telly and heating!)

Nothing to get overly excited about, but I'm putting that down to the time of year, and the drab weather. All in all, a good site, nice location, and one we would be more than happy to return to.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glamburn 5 reviews from this member

First visit to this site as a tester for van before main holiday, less than ten miles from our home but could of been hundred miles away. A small cosy well laid out site with generous pitches mainly hard standing with grey waste drainage and excellent warm/clean toilet/shower facilities and football nets/climbing frame for the kids. Site is a great base if you wish visit Alton Towers resort at just over 5 min drive away. I for one will be returning again for a chill out weekend, home is where you park it.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jillhomeuk 20 reviews from this member

We love this site. Have stayed twice, once last August, and once this Easter. Toilet block is clean, and didn't have to queue, although I know it can get a little busy when the site is busy.

It is steep, but easy approach from the road, and being only about 5 minutes away from Alton Towers is fabulous. My children liked the park, the views are gorgeous. Even the owners dog is very welcoming.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vti2007 5 reviews from this member

Nice site in a nice location with excellent facilities. Good access to some nice walks. Sheep and chickens and a lovely dog (oscar)for the kids to look at along with a small but fun playpark. Just the sort of site we like but we won't be going back. Really spoilt by a party with very very loud music from 5pm to 11pm along with associated shouting and swearing. The owner did seem to sort it out about 10. 40 music wise but the shouting carried on for a while. Too late really anyway when other families are on site. Last straw was having to move the half empty Tennants cans left in the bathroom this morning so the kids could brush their teeth. Can't recommend the site for this reason.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 86 reviews from this member

We've just made the delightful acquaintance of Lower Micklin Farm - and can't think why we haven't been before. The site was already quite full for the weekend when we booked and we had to take a pitch right at the bottom of the drive - but it wasn't bad at all. On arrival we were booked in very quickly and given quite a bit of local information, as well as the barrier code.

The site facilities were right at the top of the drive, so a longish walk from our unit, but they were always clean and tidy. Despite only having two loos and two showers in each side, even when the site was at capacity (16 units - including five large tents) the facilities did not appear to be stretched. The washing up sinks are at the side of the toilets - open fronted but they did have lights. The site hook-ups are only 10 amp - beware use low amperage appliances - NOT domestic ones! There is only glass recycling on site.

This is not an Adult only site, which we would usually home into, and sure enough two young families let their very young offspring run all over the site - even in the dark on the first night. There is a nice looking play area with climbing frame and swings, but these did see not much use.

Locally the village of Alton at least five pubs - three do meals. We had a mediocre lea at the Blacksmiths Arms - beware - no cask ale! Sunday dinner we went to the Bridge Hotel at Alton, on the advice of a local man. His advice was good. The meal was not cheap, but the portions were generous and the service reasonable for a busy house.

The site lies in the middle of a triangle formed by Cheadle, Uttoxeter and Ashbourne. All have a good selection of shops. You do need a car. Although there is a seasonal bus to Alton Towers, it only runs twice a day! However the local scenery is lovely, but beware the roads ar a bit narrow and winding. Drive cautiously!

We would not hesitate to return to Lower Micklin Farm - especially as it's only 15 miles from home. BUT - next time we'll take an old ball to throw fro Oscar the dog who greets you; he so wants to play!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dave dot 5 reviews from this member

This has been the second time this year we have stopped at Lower Micklin touring park. On both occasions the we have had an excellent experience.

The site is perfectly placed for visiting Alton towers which is only a few minutes drive away, and situated in some lovely countryside. The site itself is small which we have always seen as an advantage, very quiet. The site is managed and well maintained by what I believe is a very friendly and helpful family.

The toilet block is small, comprising of 2 toilets and 2 showers in both the male and the female facilities. There is also a family shower room. The facilities we always found clean and tidy and although there are not many it seemed to cope when the site is full.

There is a small swing and slide on the site which seemed to keep our kids entertained, this rather nicely over looked a field of sheep and a rather friendly dog they enjoyed throwing a ball for. There is also a small field next to the camping field for ball games which appeared popular but never disturbed the campers.

All in all an excellent site and well recommended. 10/10

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lovemotorhomes 3 reviews from this member

Lovely little site.

Easy to find, which is well laid out with spacious pitches.

Small toilet & shower area, which is kept clean.

Children's play area & ball field.

We walked to the Blacksmith's Arms 1/2 a mile up the road, served great food.

Would use the site again, well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Athert 3 reviews from this member

Lovely clean and quiet site, walking distance through the fields to a lovely dog friendly pub, ( welcome in the bar ) where we enjoyed a lovely home cooked meal, ticked all our boxes, will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gambit100 1 review from this member

Second visit to this site, book early as with only 10 pitches it gets full quickly during the holidays. Nice clean site with brilliant access to Alton Towers. Really helpful pleasant team looking after the site. My only small bug with the showers is the 8 second press type button. Its ok for us chaps, but reliably informed by the wife that when washing her hair this is a nightmare!

Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Staffordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1475 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0957