Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Micklin Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Staffordshire > Denstone > Lower Micklin Touring Park > Reviews

Lower Micklin Touring Park
Lower Micklin Farm
Alton Road
Alton Towers
Denstone
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST14 5DJ
Tel: 07824385138
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 64 Reviews
                10/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samster 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely break at this site.

The plot sizes were the largest we had ever had, and what a difference to be pitched onto grass and not a muddy bald patch. The owner asked if we could try to pitch where the grass was not trying to recover from previous tent pitches. There were two large yellowy/green patches where tents had been, but I could have pitched my tent in about three or even four other places avoiding these areas.

I should mention that the hard standing pitches were so big that you could easily pitch a tent on the grassy bit and put your car on the hard standing. In bad weather I think I would prefer to pitch on those plots, as you would be nearer the road to the toilets and less grass to walk on if really wet.

The views from this site were the best from anywhere we had been this summer. As you walked to the toilet block in the morning and saw the fantastic view as you came to the brow of the hill, it really did make the start of your day special.

The facilities were very modern and clean, but there was one family who didn't treat them as respectfully as they could and spoilt them for others. This was not the owners fault and when they left this wasn't a problem. Unfortunately this can happen on any site regardless of how clean the owners keep them. They were always clean again when we returned later, but we seemed to always go in just after they had been in to get washed. As most people are going to Alton Towers in a morning, the facilities are busy, but we never had to queue for a toilet or shower.

My children enjoyed the play area and football field and as always the children on the whole site tended to play together nicely.

We ate at the Tavern and had a lovely meal, but they just managed to fit us in and said it was better to book in advance.

Of course we had come to this site as a base for Alton Towers and it must have taken just under ten minutes to get there in a car, which was great. To actually get to the Plaza entrance from the car park though took another 20 minutes, so the people we saw queuing up for the bus at the farm entrance actually got there quicker than us!

This is a lovely quiet site, with nice views to enjoy, as a direct contrast to very commercial days spent at Alton Towers. When we want to return to Alton Towers we will definitely book this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John Kennett 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a couple of nights when we went to Alton Towers and it was perfect. The site is about ten minutes drive away which makes it easy to get the most from the day.

It is a small camp site with no-frills, but it does what it does very well with generous sized pitches and an excellent toilet/shower block. Booking on line was very easy, and we were made very welcome when we arrived.

I would definitely come here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kazzabic 2 reviews from this member

 Just had a really great stay at Lower Micklin Farm Campsite. A very friendly welcome when we arrived and very helpful.

The toilet and shower block were very clean and great showers. The children enjoyed playing on the climbing frames etc and had a great time using the football pitch and fields.

Pitches were very large and well kept. Enjoyed a 2 night break with 2 other Families that joined us for our trip to Alton Towers - Which is very easy to get to from the campsite.

Highly recommended and will look to stay again when the opportunity arises.

Many thanks to the owners 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TND104 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Large individual fenced off pitch. Very clean. Children friendly with play area and football pitch.

Pub just a short walk away all be it through the fields as there is no footpath.

Alton towers is literally only 5 minutes away.

Asda supermarket only short distance away in Cheadle (approx) 10 minute drive.

My main purpose was to use as a base for Alton Towers. To this end it was perfect. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Skyguy 1 review from this member

 This was a great little site for a stop off to Alton towers we walked it to the park one day not recommend took about 30/40 mins. The bus comes right outside site and as said in previous reviews is 10 for 2 adults plus up to 3 kids, right to the front gate of the park in about 10/15 mins pending traffic.

Facility's are great shower block is clean and tidy, little park would be great for smaller kids, plenty of open space for bigger kids to play football etc.

Soft standing was a on quite a slope but the hard standing was spot on with no need for any levelling.

All round 10/10 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hartolive 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 days in lovely weather. Nice small quiet site, great shower block and toilets. Nice and clean. Lovely owners. My children loved the wee park. The surrounding area is beautiful lots of nice places to eat or visit. The jcb complex is not far away and well worth Visit. We love geocaching and there are plenty in the surrounding area. There are lot of lovely walks which you can do from the site You can get the bus to Alton towers straight outside the park, a family ticket is 10 pounds for the bus. Thanks we will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dyson+Co 4 reviews from this member

 Just to add to other reviews on here, we used this site as a quick stopover during a visit to Alton towers. A very neat, tidy site, the owners were extremely friendly and made sure that we were able to settle in quickly during abysmal weather!

The toilets were excellent - although we had no use for the family bathroom, we did have a 'nosey' ;) Facilities were excellent and kept spotlessly clean.

A washing up area was provided for tent campers & there was a comprehensive notice board nearby.

We noticed that the site was on a public footpath which on another occasion we would have been only too happy to use - but, as mentioned earlier we were only staying overnight - we would be happy to stay here again for a longer duration and recommend the site to other users. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wilgun 2 reviews from this member

 Used this campsite for the first time over the may bank holiday weekend. It really is everything that the website says, spotlessly clean showers, well designated pitches with grey water drain on every pitch. Very friendly owners that greet you and make you feel very welcome.

The site has very easy access from the main road, spectacular views of the Staffordshire countryside with lovely walks on the designated public footpaths. All information you need on the area is on a notice board by the wash up sinks.

I cannot possibly fault this site and would recommend it to anyone and will definitely use again.

We were recommended by the site owners to the Blacksmiths Arms, just a mile away, as we were having a large family get together and needed a place to eat. We found this venue very pleasant with very friendly staff who served excellent food, very efficiently and made our day most enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Member87un 5 reviews from this member

 This was our first Caravan Holiday - previously we have camped with a tent. We stayed at this site for 5 nights as it is close to Alton Towers and the Peak district.

We really liked the fact that it's a small site and felt the kids were safe and made new friends easily, much nicer than commercial sites, the pitch was very good and spacious and easily fitted our twin axle caravan and vehicle on.

On arrival the owner was very helpful, he gave us some advice and explained where things were.

The shower blocks on first inspection seemed very good - clean and tidy and modern compared to other sites we have stayed at, the idea of the family room also seemed appealing, unfortunately the shower blocks were a nuisance for me from the first time I used them, the first morning there I took my 7 year old daughter with me to the family room to shower us both, this was a nightmare, the cubicle is clearly not big enough for 2 people and the shower head is fixed to the wall (not very family friendly), whilst trying to wash my daughters long hair I had to do this with my eyes shut as the force of the shower was quite strong and the spray filled the cubicle so I couldn't see, on a positive note there was plenty of room in the room itself for all our items and there was a window letting natural light in.

The following morning I went for a shower in the main ladies changing room, these cubicles are very small, the timer for the shower doesn't stay on long enough and to my surprise whilst getting dressed the lights went off! If that wasn't bad enough, with the lack of room in the changing cubicle I had to pack all my items up in order to open the door to activate the sensor again! There are no windows in the ladies changing rooms so it was very dark. I think the sensor needs to be re-timed and stay on for longer and it would be more convenient if the doors opened outwards rather than inwards.

When my friend spoke to the owner about the issue of the lights going off his reply was 'shower, quicker! The timer is on for 15 mins', we were quite surprised by his reply, in very small shower cubicles trying to get myself and daughter (both with long hair) showered and dressed in that time is not practical!

I like the fact that there is a mop left in there so if it has rained and gets muddy it can be left clean for the next guests, I didn't like the idea of a cloth left at the sinks to wipe them down with though. This was the same cloth that was there for the 5 days we were there so who knows how longs it's been there, it must have germs breeding on it. The bin was also not emptied once in the 5 nights we stayed there. The water in showers was warm enough.

The water for washing up was very warm and it was a nice touch having various bits of literature on the walls to have a look at whilst washing up, although we had no issues with the washing up area on our visit I'm not sure they are enclosed enough if there were heavy winds and rain.

There are some recycling bins available.

We walked to one of the local pubs in Alton, through the nearby fields, this was enjoyable and didn't take too long.

There is small park for the kids to play on and a 'ball' field, it would be nice to see some play equipment for the over 10's though.

All in all a very nice little site, if the issues with the showers were addressed I would give this site 9/10 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ged120 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this lovely site for 3 nights, for our 2 day pass into Alton Towers. Unfortunately it snowed heavily and was below zero, causing Alton towers to be closed! We were able to use the sites excellent facilities, they have a shower block better than most sites we have stayed in, a real benefit when your stuck on a site with 3 kids in tow! The owners were very good in checking on us and when we decided to call it a day (the water containers were become totally solid with ice) they happily allowed us to store our caravan on the site, as our storage facility was also snowed in! We would like to say a big thank you to them for a lovely stay. We will be coming back, maybe in better weather! 


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Micklin Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Micklin Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lower Micklin Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Denstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3794 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement