Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Micklin Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Staffordshire > Denstone > Lower Micklin Touring Park > Reviews

Lower Micklin Touring Park
Lower Micklin Farm
Alton Road
Alton Towers
Denstone
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST14 5DJ
Tel: 07824385138
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 64 Reviews
                10/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keefysher 19 reviews from this member

 Earlier in the year we were looking to find a site near to Alton Towers for a quick trip using our Merlin Annual Passes on the way home from a break at Chatsworth CC site. We tried a nearby CL that was fully booked for the beginning of the school summer holidays. The CL owners put us onto LMTP.

What a find. A super 15 pitch site in a glorious location. We were able to choose a pitch on booking, so using google earth and the site plan, we chose pitch 8. Talk about space, the caravan at 27' wasn't at the back of the hard standing, a gap of 10' to the car, that is 17'6' long and still room to the site road. Width of the pitch was sufficient to turn the car and caravan around on. There is a 16A electric hook up and a grey waste drain on each pitch, just needs the water hog for fresh water.

On arrival we called Kieron on the phone number at reception. 2 minutes later he arrived, gave us the code for the security barrier which is a bonus.

Toilet facilities are extremely clean. Waste disposal is sufficient.

There is a small play area by the site entrance that combined with the pet dog in his own field kept the children amused for ages, poor dog run off its feet chasing sticks. There is a large football field alongside the pitch field.

The nearest shop is in Alton, a Londis, but not cheap for basics.

Alton Towers is just under a 3 mile drive, which is the reason for visiting.

What a diamond of a site, just hope we can get in again after writing this review. Extremely good value and under half of what the CC charge for Chatsworth. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevandkeira 1 review from this member

 We have just returned home after a 2 night stay at this campsite, after visiting Alton towers. We usually stay at campsites that have evening entertainment (bar/kids disco/etc) so we weren't expecting to enjoy our stay but everyone loved it.

The kids enjoyed playing fetch with the owners very friendly dog, the football field, park, not forgetting the chickens & sheep. We will definitely be returning next year, but will stay longer, 2 nights was not enough :)

The owners were very friendly, they put out fresh eggs from the chickens & offered tomato & cucumber plants that were surplus to there requirements, much to my sons joy.

My only slight criticism is the showers, the toilet blocks were fab but having to press the shower button at what seemed like every 5 seconds to resume water flow was very annoying, but not enough to stop us returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 38 reviews from this member

 A well looked after site, perfectly clean, good views, good walks to Denstone where the pub (Tavern) is popular _ book from Thursday to Sunday or you'll be disappointed. Denstone also has a great café and farm shop (the butcher's can't be beaten). A great day out is walk from campsite to Denstone for Brunch, then down the old rail track through Alton station and up and over the next bridge where the Rambler's Retreat awaits with it's glorious lemon meringue and a cuppa before returning via Alton village to the campsite (lots of styles on the way) it probably 5 to 6miles in all but mostly easy. Of course the main reason people use this campsite is for Alton Towers, but there's lots of good walking and cycling to be had in the area. Owner is very helpful. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

 Nice quiet small site.

Easy access, long access drive from the main road, site is a long wide downhill drive with turning island at the bottom, spacious level pitches!

Very clean heated toilet block!

Nice children's play area! 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RickScat 11 reviews from this member

 Just spent two nights on the site. Very good small site, friendly owners. Easy to find, hard standings have plenty of space. Shower block spot on - spotless, warm, plenty of hot water. Excellent location for walking and cycling. Reasonably priced. Really quiet but well suited for families - football pitch and play area. Suited us as it is small and friendly. Would highly recommend. Such a contrast to caravan club sites who dictate everything and treat you like children; here it is relaxed whilst still ensuring everyone can still enjoy peace and quiet. Do take a torch. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dave2300 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent a lovely relaxing weekend here. Local to the area as we wanted to make sure everything was ok with the moho before the warranty expires. Very clean site. Pitches big and spaced out very well (Hard standing and grass with hook up). Shower and toilet block second to none with two toilets, two hand basins and two showers in the mens and nicely heated. Handy noticeboard with walking routes to the two nearest villages and other local information. Set back off the road so very quiet site. Being picky it would be nice if there was some tranquil lights on site as very dark in the evenings to see where you are. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 100acrewood 20 reviews from this member

 Fab site, great location, lovely owners :-)

Stayed for a weekend to get back into camping. Chose as near home and not overly expensive - compared to some at this time of year!

Showers - 2 in ladies, a family room, plenty of hot water just need descaling as it was dripping rather than running so was a case of dodge the water drops to get cleaned off but other than that nothing to complain about :-) We have booked to return in August!

Only a short walk into Alton for the Alton towers or Ramblers retreat place - lovely cafe with fab cakes and fab service :-) 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SweetSerendipity67 1 review from this member

 The Site: The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Well spaced out pitches. The toilet blocks are incredibly clean and tidy. Female toilet area x 2 toilets, 2 showers and two basins along with a long mirror and worktop with electric points for hair dyers/straighteners. Male toilet area x 2 toilets and 2 showers, 2 basins. There is a family washroom with toilet, shower and baby changing. Useful information board by the washing up point including pub menus; places of interest and taxi/bus details. Small play area for youngsters. All-in-all a really really nice little site!

The area: A hop, skip and a jump from Alton Towers. There are a selection of pubs in Alton village and also in Denstone. Alton also has a useful well stocked little shop and a Post Office. We ate at The Royal Oak in Alton (food was wonderful)(dogs are allowed in the bar area). Dogs are allowed in The Blacksmiths Arms, Alton Bridge as well as The White Hart. Lovely walks from the site itself as well as lovely walks from The Ramblers Retreat (which does delicious cakes and hot chocolate). Denstone Farm shop does a nice breakfast. Had good feedback from friends about The Tea Emporium.

If you have a dog but want a human only day we can highly recommend Pampered Paws Pet Sitting Service (in their own home dog care) in Werrington (10 miles/20-30 mins from site). However, you need to have a current vaccination certificate with you. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helench 1 review from this member

 Really lovely campsite. Used it as a base to visit Alton Towers on first bank holiday weekend in May. Perfect as site is small and peaceful after busy days in the theme park - particularly useful with our eldest child who has mild autism and can be overwhelmed by crowds/noise. Toilets where clean and sufficient for numbers on site. Didn't use showers/dish washing facilities but looked good. Play area was lovely and beautiful views. Liked the separate field for playing football. Boys liked exploring the small wooded area at the end of the camp site. Friendly farmer - happy to let us stay late on last day for £10 - this actually made the weekend as it was warm and sunny and boys were happy to play on site after busy days at Alton Towers. Thinking we will visit again to use as a base to explore the peak district. 


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smarksmith 27 reviews from this member

 Review of Lower Micklin Farm, Staffordshire

This site is located 2 miles from Alton towers, so if you are looking for a base to go there it’s excellently located and certainly cheaper than staying at Alton Towers Resort. Access is pretty easy. We were coming down from South Yorkshire and came in along the A50 then up past JCB. I got a bit confused with the sites details about not getting the wrong entrance, personally if it had just said “look for the bus stop outside the entrance”, I wouldn’t have had to turn around a 12m long outfit in a side street in Alton, but it certainly gave me some reversing practice! As you pull up the wide driveway, there is plenty of space to park up and drop into the reception area in the farmhouse, where I was warmly welcomed by the owner. I paid the balance and had a very informative chat regarding where we could set up and walks to the local villages.

This is a fairly small site (15 Pitches) which is mostly hard standing, with a few grass only pitches. Each of the hard standings is separated with a small low level fence and they were pretty level with good space for an awning, All the hard standings had a grey water drain and the electricity points are shared across 4 Pitches. We had no problem reaching the power with a standard 25m cable. Fresh water is from a couple of standpipes between the pitches. TV reception is very good even with the rubbish round pointy aerial we have on our van. Mobile signal with EE/Virgin was very good as well.

Around the site are plenty of places to go like Stoke & the Potteries, Alton Towers, and lots of small villages and walks. As the site is set back and above the road you can’t hear any traffic noise and being slightly elevated makes it quite a picturesque site, with trees surrounding the site and views over the hills and valleys.

The facilities are what look like a fairly new block with Ladies, Gents and Family/disabled shower & Toilet facilities. Each contain a couple of showers and couple of toilets, they were clean, warm and well maintained. Outside there are a couple of sinks for washing up and around the side a Black water disposal point. Waste is mostly into 2 large general waste bins, Glass and Plastics are separated for recycling.

In summary, a very nice site, small, clean and tidy. We would definitely return here. 


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Micklin Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Micklin Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lower Micklin Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Denstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3830 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement