Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Micklin Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Staffordshire > Denstone > Lower Micklin Touring Park > Reviews

Lower Micklin Touring Park
Lower Micklin Farm
Alton Road
Alton Towers
Denstone
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST14 5DJ
Tel: 07824385138
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 64 Reviews
                10/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kawasakiversys 12 reviews from this member

 Flat pitches, lovely showers and toilets that look brand new, warm shower block plenty of hot water.

Owners friendly. Told us to go straight to our pitch and settle up once we were set up. We chose pitch online. Grey waste disposal on all the hardstanding pitches. Very lovely walks to two local pubs, food delish in both. Although this site is popular, there was no night time noise, very clean grounds and plenty of rubbish bins. Small play area for the kids and huge back field for ball games.

Pot washing area spotless. Would defo go back for price, location, cleanliness, friendliness and pitches. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Krismcewan 12 reviews from this member

 This is what you call a Caravan site, no Bars, no clubs, no fairgrounds and no Static caravans. And I'm the one that likes a bar on site.

There is about 15 pitches most of them hard standing. Hard standing have electricity and drainage but no water. The pitches themselves are spacious and level. Plenty room for a caravan and awning and parking at the front.

The toilet block is immaculate with 2 showers and 2 toilets in each gents and the Ladies There is also family room with baby changing facilities. Only criticism is there is no urinals.

Elsan point and dish washing facilities are there also.

A small play park for the children near the toilet block and a play field with football goals at the side in a location that would not disturb campers.

Location for Alton Towers is fantastic, takes 5 mins from site to Alton towers gate. It actually takes longer to get from the alton towers gate to the car park.

There are a few local bars/restaurants so you will never be bored, a couple of delivery places actually bring food to site. We ate at the Blacksmith Arms which was nice and decently priced.

Overall a site we would definitely go back to and intend to. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimb78 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 1 night with friends for a 2 day visit to Alton towers. If you are visiting the theme park this campsite is perfectly placed, only 5-10 mins away. Supermarkets in Cheadle are only 10-15 mins away and although not used did pass a couple of nice looking pubs in and around the village of Alton.

The campsite itself is nothing short of outstanding, excellent toilets and showers, play park for kids, spacious pitches and a beautiful setting.

Furthermore, the booking was a pleasant experience and as we arrived (around 1930) as we had been at Alton towers all day, we were very warmly welcomed and showed to pitch and offered assistance if we needed it. For 20 for 2 aduLts and 1 child with EHU and 40 for my friends who had 3 adults and 5 children it is outstanding value. Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HelenL72 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here as a base for Alton Towers, I chose it because it had good reviews and was certainly not disappointed.

Alton Towers is about 10 mins away, if you don't want to drive there is a bus that picks up at the bottom. I wouldn't recommend trying to walk as some parts of the roads nearer towers have no pavements and are quite narrow.

There are a couple of shops in town if you need anything (one's a Londis I think), we chose to drive and find Waitrose in Ashbourne as it's only about 9 miles away.

The owners at Lower Micklin Farm are lovely lovely people, the showers/toilets are impeccably clean (and I'm very picky). The pitches are nice and big, with plenty of room between each. All on the main site have electric hookup and water points very close.

Our pitch (and the others all looked the same) was very flat and we found it easy to get the pegs in. It is kept well cut.

There's a great little play park for children, we didn't have time to use it this time but my son has pinpointed it for next time.

I managed to drop a scalding hot coffee on my legs during our first morning there, my husband popped to see if they sold Ibuprofen while I assessed the situation to see if I needed A&E, hubby came back with a packet of Ibuprofen which belonged to the owners! and directions to the walk in centre if we needed it. They even asked how I was on our way out for the day.

I would definitely stay here again, and intend to in September when we return to Alton Towers.

I have no doubt this fab site deserves 10/10 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AndreaHampanijad 1 review from this member

 We stayed only for one night but my 2 children definitely enjoyed camping here. Smaller family site, run by friendly people, clean and simple, close to Alton Towers. Would definitely recommend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Narm 4 reviews from this member

 Well now what a fantastic site, a total of 15 pitches so not over crowded, we had pitch 10 which had its own grey water waste disposal, the showers were free and hot but most importantly they were immaculate and the elsan point was also very clean, the owner was very welcoming and down to earth. Now on Sunday morning a young child was taken poorly and the air ambulance was called and the helicopter landed in the field next to our van luckily the people who had tents had just taken them down, as the downdraft from the rotas would have blown them down. I do hope that the child was ok as a few hours later the family returned back to site. So if you are looking for a real tranquil site then this is it. We will be returning with out a doubt. All the very best to the micklin owners and staff. Best wishes neil and rose 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Member87un 5 reviews from this member

 Just return from a 5 night stay at LMTP and I'm delighted to say after a a couple of improvements from out last visit last year I am more than happy to give this site 10/10.

On arrival you get a warm welcome from the owners.

We had already selected out pitch when we booked on line so we knew where we were going to be pitched. The pitches are great and the hard standing ones are separated by a small fence, have a large hard standing area (with a waste water point) and a large grass area. These pitches are probably the biggest I've seen. There is also a grass area for tents / caravans etc.

There are several fresh water taps, and a private chemical disposable waste and waste water area. There are also several recycling bins.

The washing up area was always spotlessly clean and has literature on the walls which is useful an a nice touch.

On our previous visit I had a problem with the lights going out mid way through a shower (there's a sensor as you enter the room), however the owners have listened to this and have now placed individual sensors in each shower cubicle. The showers were always clean and even though there are only 2 I never had to wait.

As usual the kids made plenty of friends mainly playing football - there's a an area with 2 goal posts, so this kept the kids busy, there's a small play area with swings and a slide. Again my only criticism would be to see some play equipment for the over 10's.

There's a couple of pubs locally (we didn't try them), a convenience shop and post office in Alton. We used Morrisons in Cheadle - there's also an Asda and we had a Chinese takeaway from Cheadle. If you want more shops or bigger shops Uttoexeter has plenty to choose from.

We used the site as a base for Alton Towers which is either a short drive away or you can catch the bus at the bottom of the site. We also went for walks around the Peak District - there's plenty to choose from.

I would highly recommend this site to anyone, and we hope to return again in the future. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sam witts 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from an overnight stop at this campsite.

After reading reviews I was not disappointed. This is a lovely site. All facilities were of high standard.

The toilet and shower block was very clean. Nice hot showers.

We arrived early afternoon and decided to take the small walk to the nearest pub which was the blacksmith arms. I would recommend eating there, . We had a lovely meal and the owners and staff were very welcoming and friendly. We were even allowed take away puddings which we enjoyed back at the campsite. Also a lift back.

I Would recommend this lovely campsite and will definitely use it again if we are In the area. 


Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Slowcoach65 3 reviews from this member

 An excellent site, especially if you are visiting Alton Towers. The hard standings are level and spacious with plenty of room for an awning. The washrooms are modern and clean. The owner is friendly and helpful.

A few observations/comments but not about the campsite itself;

1. We had dinner in the Blacksmith's Arm's ( a mile pup the road in Alton) and it was excellent value and very child friendly.

2. The road between the site and the Alton ( a mile away) is treacherous - we caught the bus, the stop is literally at the entrance of the site. If you do walk, there is a cross-country route but wear your wellies.

3. All bus drivers were grumpy!

4. The bus to Alton Towers was every 2 hours but I don't know if it is more frequent during peak season.

5. Taxi from Alton Towers to the site - 20! 


Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie h 9 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a four night stay at this lovely site, showers are clean and hot and also free. Toilets spotless. Although the weather wasn't great it didn't bother us really because the pitches are hardstanding. Nice covered washing up area. We walked into the village through the fields bit messy, nice village with 4 pubs and a convenience store, very friendly, walked back the road way took 10 mins but no footpaths. There is a bus stop at the entrance to the site, we were waiting for a bus to go into utoxeter but the campsite owner saw us waiting and gave us a lift which was very kind of him, got the bus back later no problem had a takeaway delivered to the site. There is loads of information on things to do in the surrounding area and menus are put up for you to choose your takeaway meal. Will return to this site hopefully in the summer when we can take advantage of the walks in the area 


Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Micklin Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Micklin Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lower Micklin Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Denstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3831 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement