Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Elan Oaks

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Rhayader > Elan Oaks Reviews

Elan Oaks
Elan Valley
Rhayader
Powys   (Browse area)
LD6 5HN
Tel: 01597 810326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fqb76u 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this lovely site early May, weather for first few days was raining, but this did not stop us. There are two fields, one with just 5 vans for caravan club members, further into the second field approx 12 full serviced level pitches.

Well manicured surroundings, super big pitches. Was very quiet through the week with just our van in use. Many vans turned up at the weekend and a further field also had some tents.

There are only 3 showers/toilets on site, which were busy over the weekend and unfortunately the pressure is not good. They are cleaned every day by Mike, who is great with local knowledge and is happy to chat with regulars and new comers alike about local and other areas.

There is a cycle route right outside the gate which is the Elan Trail, which can take you for miles of off road cycling visiting all the dams, which is a great site. There is also a hotel just across the road which serves good meals and is utilised by many off the site.

We walked into Rayader along the cycle track which took about 45 minutes, but only a small town with two newsagent type shops offering essentials but pricey. We also walked across the hill adjacent to the site, hard work, but the views were amazing.

A great site and we will be back without a doubt! 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hadenmaiden 5 reviews from this member

 What a delightful location for this lovely site! So much has already been said by others, so I'll try not to repeat too much. Basically three camping areas, a CC which takes five units, further field with well serviced hard standing for a further twelve units and a field for tents beyond those.

Everything very clean and well kept by Michael, who visits at least daily, and will help out if there are any queries.

The path from the site is safe, level walking(or cycling) to Rhayader in one direction, or the Elan visitor centre and it's excellent facilities in the other.

The Elan Valley hotel is literally over the road from the field, and is dog friendly. They offer breakfasts, lunch and evening meals, so no reason not to eat out if you don't want to bring a lot of food with you.

Whilst we were on site a couple of chemical looks were delivered, primarily for the tent field, which should ease the pressure on the shower rooms in the busier times, though we were told the price for tents would be increased as a result.

The Internet access was surprisingly good, and we did get a phone signal.

The pot washing comprises a pair of sinks in the hard standing area with one tap each. I think this facility would be a lot more useful, and used if it included a bit of basic shelter and hot water.

There are three shower rooms, each with toilet, basin and level access electric shower. The water in the shower is hot, though we couldn't get hot water in the hand basin. A couple more proper toilets would make a huge difference.

There is a washer and drier in the washroom, though when we were there, there was also a notice not to use the sink.

We would definitely come back to this site, the setting is stunning, and everything is clean and well kept. The only small down side would be the lack of hot water. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Billydog2 7 reviews from this member

 We've just spent 4 lovely days here on an excellent fully serviced hard standing. The CL field was full with the maximum of 5 units, the sixth had to be moved to comply with regulations.

There is still work going on to improve the facilities and a new shower/toilet block is in the offing which would be a benefit to all as the existing block is too small although it is new and spotless. We found the free Wifi a bit intermittent and works when it wants to!

There was no mobile phone signal so peace and quiet! Amazingly our satellite system worked even with all the hills around! It is set in beautiful scenery with Rhayader one way and the Elan valley with all the dams that were used as practice for the famous Dambuster raids the other way up the road.

On a practical note we used the cycle path as a brilliant dog walk. We had the feeling as there is no children's play area it's aimed for adults.

We recommend this park and will definitely use it again. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

 This was the most expensive site we stayed on (£22) during our recent holiday. Fully serviced pitches, tidy site, lovely location. BUT 3 toilets in private bathrooms is not enough! The site was anything but full when we went there but we still couldn't get into the loos quite often.

Also when I did use the shower the drain was blocked and my shoes floated across the floor as it was a wet room. I had to wrap myself in a towel and dash into the next bathroom to dry myself! The chap who does the cleaning said this happened quite regularly. The only washing up facilities were 2 sinks out in the open with only cold water.

I felt v sorry for people in tents. I got the distinct feeling these problems weren't caused by a lack of caring, more that the site had been designed by someone who wasn't used to camping and caravanning.

Definitely a place to avoid in high season.

Would we go back? Probably because of the proximity to the Elan Valley reservoirs. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yettysurf 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful find - well laid out CL site as well as hard standing site and very large camping field. Lovely views from the CL site. Easy access to the Elan Valley Visitor Centre via the cycle track or the river path that runs along side the campsite. Facilities are three toilet cubicles with shower and washbasin. Although there were many stopping on the sites this did not affect us as we have our own facilities in our caravan. Really friendly and very helpful staff with the booking procedure and staff on site - immaculate toilet facilities thanks to the thorough daily cleaning by 'Mike' who is also a mind of information on the area. Would definitely recommend this site and will be returning hopefully in the Autumn - Well Done Elan oaks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sianangharadgrant 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 4 nights and found plenty to do in the area. The site is well maintained and the camping field is huge, very peaceful despite being near a road but since said road goes up to the Elan Valley dams there was virtually no traffic later on! There are three shower rooms (shower, sink, toilet) which are lovely and there is a freezer for ice packs and wi-fi (fine to pick up emails and check weather etc) and the owners are clearly ensuring that there are good facilities on the site for washing up etc. There is no warden/owner on site so the successful running of the site depends on all campers respecting noise levels, space etc; the maintenance chap who came round each evening did a great job but certainly had his work cut out on a busy weekend. The site was quiet when we arrived and remained so for a couple of days, brilliant! It certainly filled up over the weekend and unfortunately the facilities struggled to cope as people couldn’t nip to the toilet quickly as other folk were having a shower! The camping field needs a small toilet block just for people (especially those with small children!) to nip for a wee! The site is near a river and the midges were a hit of a pain, we got citronella candles at the hardware shop in town and they sorted the problem.

There is plenty to do in the area – the visitor centre staff are very helpful and recommended some great walks. We also visited Gigrin Farm to see the red kite feed and had a lovely afternoon, they also have a coffee shop and exhibition. Nearest supermarket is in Llandrindod Wells (Tesco and Aldi), in Rhayader there’s a Spar and more local High Street shops. The Elan Valley Hotel opposite the site is great for drinks and we also had a cracking meal bar meal there, as did other campers. All in all a very enjoyable few days, just the toilet issue on busy days could do with addressing! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Suzi1971 15 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site! This was our second stop in a three stop tour of Wales. Very easy to find. On arrival you need to key in the barrier access code to gain entry and there isn't always someone on site. We were in the CL field immediately on the right where there was said to be space for 12 to hook up. However the most that were there during our stay was five and I think 12 would have made it very cramped. There are three self contained bathrooms with toilet, shower, wash basin, hand soap and hand towel all kept immaculate by the chap with a very strong Welsh accent who came and cleaned them at least once a day. You need a code to enter the building too. Being developed was a pot washing area and laundry facility. WiFi was superb and secured. Further on in the site are the 'posh' hard standing pitches that have fresh and waste water connections. There are 12 of these too. There is an information board and the local post office will deliver supplies if needed. It looked like there was a freezer where you could freeze your ice packs if needed. After the hard standing pitches there is a massive field for tents. The bathroom facilities would definitely have felt stretched if this field was full! Most of the other units seemed to use their own facilities as it wasn't a problem during our stay. The location is excellent. Immediately outside is an excellent Tarmac cycle path that goes either into Rhayder (about 3 miles) or the other way to the Elan Valley where there is a visitor centre with lots of information about the reservoirs and dams. The cycle path goes all the way up the side of a few of the reservoirs and was a very easy cycle with magnificent views.

Site wasn't cheap for a CL at £22 a night for family of four but we did have 16amp hookup and could have used the TV point. Lovely site and friendly staff. Only minor downside would be the midges after dark but keep the doors and windows shut and it wasn't a problem! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Heidi Hymer 2 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful place and what a cracking site! Superb pitches with EHU and loads of space with additional little extras such as grey waste disposal and TV socket on pitch. The toilet/shower block was immaculate and maintained regularly, other posters have mentioned that as the loos are within each shower room queues can sometimes be seen, however, I did not experience any myself.

An almost flat walk can be had into Rhayader on an old tarmacced railway line, in the opposite direction is a short walk to the Elan Valley visitors centre which provided interesting info about the dams and reservoirs, this is one of the few things that might interest children as there is nothing on site.

We got ourselves a local fishing permit (£7) from the newsagents in Rhayader and spent a few hours on the lovely river near bye although without success! A great place to visit was Gigrin Farm for the daily Red Kite feeding experience which was well worth the £5 entrance fee.

A group of us met at Elan Oaks and on the last day we drove our motorhomes up past the visitors centre and kept going until we got to the last dam which had a road along the top leading to a parking area on the other bank of the valley, spectacular views down river from the dam wall and expansive views of the top reservoir and moorland the other side of the dam wall, upon leaving this dam we took a different route into Rhayader which provided more amazing views over the moor tops before descending into the town.

A great site and great surroundings, will be going again but with midge repellant! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sarah65howell 1 review from this member

 Just returned this afternoon from this fabulous spot. Agree whole heartedly with the other reviewers. I will definitely be returning to explore further the wonderful countryside on foot and bike with my two dogs.

Do you sense a BUT coming on? The CL was full, all the hard standings were full, the camping field had about 10 to 15 units (definitely not full), all with at least 2 occupants and many with extended families.

The 3 toilet/shower rooms took a real hammering with this amount footfall. I felt very sorry and a little embarrassed when at last it was my turn for the ablutions, but so relieved to get in and lock the door! I don't mind a queue, I'm good at queuing. But lets face it, the kids always leave a wee till the last minute. I must say, the toilet situation was pretty desperate at times!

So, probably been mentioned before (I haven't read through all the reviews ) but a bank of loos only, so we can dash in and out without having to wait cross legged and cross eyed for the umpteen people ahead of us in the queue to have their showers.

I have stayed here at less busy times of the year, including christmas/new year when its a 10/10 rating.

Great for kids to run and be free! (although I havent brought mine along yet. Its my little piece of heaven for the odd couple of days) ;-)

A little gem of a site. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suzanne Foster 12 reviews from this member

 What a find! This is a beautiful site. We stayed on the hard standing pitches which have everything. They are a good size and there is plenty of room between pitches. The site itself is really well kept; the hard standing is neat and surrounded by thick mown grass. The field for tents and the Caravan Club field are also lovely. The facilities are superb; they are all private wet rooms which are spotlessly clean.

There is a safe path that either goes to Rhayadar, 2 1/2 miles, or to the Elan Valley where there is a very good visitors' centre, about 15 minutes walk. You can follow an excellent path, which used to be the railway track, along the reservoirs. This is for walkers or cyclists. There are plenty of walks all with beautiful views.

The Elan Valley Hotel very close to the site serves good food and beer. Or go to Rhayadar for other pubs, cafes and food outlets. The Indian restaurant / takeaway, The Mirchi, is very good.

I have only one small complaint about Elan Oaks. If you wish to stay after 12. 00 there is a late stay charge which allows you to stay until 5. 00. This is a very hefty £10.

Overall though this site is a gem and we will most definitely be returning. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Elan Oaks child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Elan Oaks?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Elan Oaks dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rhayader      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2348 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement