Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Elan Oaks

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Rhayader > Elan Oaks Reviews

Elan Oaks
Elan Valley
Rhayader
Powys   (Browse area)
LD6 5HN
Tel: 01597 810326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Phishing 26 reviews from this member

 Excellent and wonderful site. Situated in a remote beautiful valley it is a very quiet site with excellent views and surroundings. Caters for CL, fully serviced, motorhomes, and camping. Situated right on the the trail to town ( Right) or the dams (Left) this is a superb location. River on one side (game fishing possible)and road on the other, the road is very quiet. The pitches are very generous with more than ample space and parking. Access is easy from road with a security coded barrier. The washrooms are as good as stated with Mike being very attentive to any requests and keeping the site totally spotless. Fully serviced pitches have water, drain, hookup, Wifi, SAT and Freeview TV points. Clothes washing available and kitchen washing facilities were being improved whilst we were there. Town is 2. 5miles one way and the valley and dams the other. Walking and cycling opportunities are endless and are very pedestrian, dog, and cycle friendly. The routes up over the dams and the associated hills are numerous and offer everything from a gentle stroll on flat paved surface to serious fell walking. Walking, mountain bikes, and road bikes are all more than catered for with endless trails. Eating out offers a good selection with the Pub at the campsite or Rhayader offering a number of pubs and restaurants, we only used the lamb and flag which I am happy to recommend. Rhayader is small but has a number of shops and food outlets.

The best kept site we have been on and even when full over Easter it was quite and uncrowded. 


Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Myfanwy1 1 review from this member

 Just got home after 2 wonderfull nights on Elan oaks, what can I say, very nice and helpful staff, paid on line but rung the shop as well very nice people. We pitched our motorhome and went for a wonderfull walk 15 min up to the res and big dam wooow. Walked back had lunch and man came to see if we were ok, that was good. The showers are as it says on the tin awrsome private bathroom. Plenty of water points on site and motorhome dumping point. Electric point on every pitch 16amp. The veiw is to die for,

Never seen so many Buzzard & Red Kite 10/20 some times. We going to book with few friends for a few weeks time. Two& half miles walk back (or cycle ) on a path to Rhayader nice little town, if you want something to eat try the Lamb & Flag food very very good and a good price. Don't forget to visit the Red Kite feeding station if you want to see them close up 80 or more diving for the meat awrsome site.

You just got to go. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sabre1-8Ti 2 reviews from this member

 Well again we visited our favourite part of the UK - Elan Valley in Mid Wales for a few day which ended up as seven night. Where did we stay you ask, Elan Oaks where else ? We were met by the staff at the shop where you pay and receive the barrier code as friends who had known us for years, what a welcome?

The site was just as good as we remembered it from our stay in March when our stay was cut short by my accident in which I badly fractured my leg. The hedging planted around the pitches are really coming on and will provide lots of privacy when fully grown. The one big difference we found was the camping field is now much larger due to a fence being removed.

The shower / toilet washing facilities were just as spotlessly clean as before which shows the dedication shown by Mike.

I understand drains will be installed into each pitch for 'grey' waste in the very near future, so the pitches will then be 'super pitches' in every way as they will then provide 16A mains / water / grey waste / satellite point / terrestrial TV / Ethernet / WiFi. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Singingcavy 23 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location between Elan and Rhayader. Level site with beautifully marked pitches in Llanfadog Fields - screening hedges for each plot are growing up nicely. There are three fields - one that is for tents, one for club members and the other for either (which we were on). Each spot has water and chemical disposal.

The toilet block was a delight: three decent sized cubicles with shower (and curtain), loo and basin were of hotel standard and kept spotless by the wonderful cleaner, Mike, who scrubbed the floor to keep it all sparkling. There was also a separate loo and facilities for clothes washing and drying. Rubbish and recycling facilities were good.

I gather that there are more facilities under development but at the moment the washing up facilities are basic - two sinks with cold water and no cover.

Wifi was very welcome - probably best if near the toilet block!

All very good value at 20 a night with hook up.

Cycling off road on the Elan Trail was wonderful, and the walking is also lovely.

Unusually, there wasn't any on-site personnel - just Mike when he came round at night. This was slightly unusual and it felt a little 'empty' as a result. But it is definitely a site we'd return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Touchwoodtoad 2 reviews from this member

 If you want a quiet site with excellent facilities, good size pitches and well maintained services then this is the place for you. Stunning scenery, walks straight off the site, loads of cycle tracks, plenty of local interest, visitor centre next door. Really helpful and friendly staff. We stayed 4 nights - and could have stayed much longer! Will definitely be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pritchardjones 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a wonderful location. We visited August Bank Holiday weekend.

The camping field was very big, and there were serviced pitches for caravans and motorhomes nearer the shower block.

The only issue we had was with a family who decided to pitch their tent very close to ours, despite being politely asked to move elsewhere twice! And there being ample space elsewhere on the field. Thankfully they only stayed the one night. This is no fault of Elan Oaks but as mentioned in another review a warden on site would assist with such problems.

Facilities were good, 3 x shower rooms and a separate loo in the room where the washer and dryer are. It is worth noting if busy there will be a bit of a queue in the morning and evening (when everyone is back from walking or cycling). The shower rooms were cleaned each evening and Michael also came around to check on them in the evening. Due to problems in the past they only put 2x toilet rolls in the loos - this resulted in some loos running out.

There was also a freezer available to use and if you were near enough to the building free WIFI - this was a welcomed bonus that we were not expecting.

The site is perfectly located to explore the Elan Valley, which is a lovely area - with lots of walks, cycle routes and history - including its part in the Dam Busters Raid during the 2nd world war. Lots of hidden treasures.

Nearly forgot the Elan Valley Hotel which is literally a 2 min walk. Nice food and friendly staff,

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rossij 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site set in a beautiful part of the world, hands off type of site access controlled by code activated barrier so not much point turning up unless you ring through first. Toilet block is quite new with 3 cubicles containing shower toilet and basin, access also controlled by code access. Cleaned twice a day, very nice, relies on, as always, people treating the facilities with respect. The facilities coped with the number of people there at the time, which was before the school holidays, might struggle at peak times. 10 min walk to the very interesting visitor centre set at the base of the first dam and the town is about a mile away.

Thought the site was well run and looked after, very friendly and helpful over the phone, will go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elmo the motorhome 26 reviews from this member

 Good little site but in need of that 'something extra'.

As someone has previously noted, the facilities are spotless. However, they were stretched to capacity, and above, when we stayed. Three showers are insufficient for such a site. Particularly when the campsite area can get very busy.

Additionally, the 2 rubbish bins were full and the site is in need of a 'recycling policy'. There is also no facility for dog waste disposal.

The grounds are neat and tidy. When the hedges are fully matured this will provide good screening between the hard standing pitches.

There is no warden on site which can been seen as a 'downside'.

Good access to Elan visitor centre and surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ayrshireman 22 reviews from this member

 I came across this site purely by chance, and was glad that I did. There were relatively few tents on the site, and as the camping field is a good size it meant I had plenty of space around my tent (at least until the second night, when someone decided that, with acres to choose from, he would pitch his tent about 12 feet from mine!). The facilities were superb, with individual private showerrooms; perhaps the only drawback being that there were relatively few of them, which might pose a problem if the site were crowded. No warden on site, with someone coming round in the morning and evening to clean, collect fees etc. It would therefore have been useful to have a tariff displayed somewhere (although the charge for one person and tent was very reasonable given the facilities). The site is in a fine location close to Elan Village and visitor centre, with a cycle track literally at the gate. Thoroughly recommended 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Goulding 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Elan Oaks. Brilliant site for walking or cycling the Elan Valley. The toilet/shower block is kept VERY clean and in good order by a gentleman who comes round every evening. He is very conscientious, hardworking and nothing was to much trouble.

It was quite quiet on site while we were there but it has to be said that the three toilets/showers would struggle to cope if the site filled up.

A cycle path passes the site and takes you to Rhayder one way or along the side of the reservoirs the other without riding on the roads.

Well worth the visit. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Elan Oaks child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Elan Oaks?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Elan Oaks dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rhayader      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2603 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement