Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Elan Oaks

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Rhayader > Elan Oaks Reviews

Elan Oaks
Elan Valley
Rhayader
Powys   (Browse area)
LD6 5HN
Tel: 01597 810326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pandajan 2 reviews from this member

Set in beautiful countryside but we found this to be a strange site. Firstly there is no reception/office so no meet and greet and no one to give you the essential codes for the laundry/washing up area or wet rooms, this is not made clear on the website or when the booking was made. Thankfully they do give you the barrier code, we didn't actually realise the true significance of this until we arrived! Find your own pitch, no information available upon arrival we got all of our info from other people staying on the site.

There are just three unisex wet rooms, no toilet block, shower's plumbing not adequate, showers can be very hot or very cold, temp fluctuates. This arrangement is far from satisfactory, a separate set of toilets are needed this is a big site. Hard standing pitches need a bit of maintenance, our pitch had lots of grass and weeds on it and the gravel was turning to dust. We were also treated, until the very early hours of the morning, the camping fields version of Glastonbury but no one on site so nothing could be done about it.

We did have, we believe, the owner of the site and his friends on the opposite pitches to us (funnily enough), unfortunately they did not adhere to the sites terms and conditions. There was a motorhome, one car, one motorcycle, one caravan and two large vans on the two pitches, they were certainly not parked far enough away from each other if you read their terms and conditions in fact the caravan wasn't even uncoupled from the van that towed it there, not good and not at all safe for anyone.

The views and location couldn't be better but sadly for what you pay the site could be a lot better.

Saying all this the guy that comes in the evening to check on things etc was very helpful and friendly.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Amanda55 5 reviews from this member

Not sure if they have expanded since most of these reviews were written, but we did not find it such a positive experience.

Only three wash cubicles for the whole site. The cubicles are unisex. Each cubicle contains a toilet, shower and wash basin. No separate toilets. Still work going on, with extra hard standings being added.

Hard standing pitches have everything, including Freeview TV. TV does not interest us, but will appeal to some. To use the water on pitches for filling a motorhome you will need a long hose. Wifi hit and miss.

An excellent location, even though on the roadside, and would be ideal if the wash facilities were expanded.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

Fantastic site right on the edge of Elan Valley

Nice level fully serviced hard standing pitches.

Toilet block immaculately kept by the site warden who visits regularly. Owners don't live on site, so there is an electric barrier and booking is only in advance.

Free wifi was a bit hit and miss.

If you want to stay later than the 11 am departure time there is a £10 fee for the day which is rather a lot if

You just wish to stay and extra hour or so. Maybe a £1 an hour may work better in that situation like some other sites.

Overall a fantastic site with beautiful surroundings.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ljamfam 30 reviews from this member

A little gem of a campsite situated in the beautiful Elan Valley. We were booked onto a hard standing pitch for a week and loved every minute of our stay. The site itself is well kept, each hard standing pitch had electric, water and tv with grey waste point.

There are three wet rooms which include toilets in them plus an additional couple of portacabins in the camping field. We did not find this a problem at all and never had to wait for the facilities.

The views are stunning, plenty of walks and cycling along the path direct from the site. Hotel is five minutes walk away which does good food, Sunday lunch was only £7. It's a 3 mile walk into the small town which has a few shops, cafe and plenty of pubs.

Limited wifi and mobile and that's the reason why it lost a point on site facilities. I do not have a problem with no mobile but there should be a pay phone to use in an emergency if help medical assistance is needed.

Can't wait to return

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Auntie di 1 review from this member

This site is in a stunning location, is well maintained by a very helpful employee, has plenty of space and is quite level. It ought to be a 10/10 site, and has the potential to be so, but there are a couple of issues that need sorting out first.

The site has expanded its intake considerably, without investment in expanding the facilities. The weekend I was there, there were 22 caravans and motor homes on the serviced pitches, and 14 tents, motor homes and caravans on the camping field.

There is a very nice shower/washing up block at the far end of the site from the camping field, with 3 shower/wcs. Other than that there were 2 cold taps on the camping field and 2 of the stinkiest chemical toilets I've ever encountered.

There was a dire need for at least 2 more shower/wc blocks and the urgent removal of the chemical toilets. If the owners carry out this much needed improvement, I'd like to return. Otherwise, definitely not. I would advise any visitors to check this before visiting.

I would also advise you to take full strength insect repellent- the Welsh midges are savage!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fqb76u 5 reviews from this member

We visited this lovely site early May, weather for first few days was raining, but this did not stop us. There are two fields, one with just 5 vans for caravan club members, further into the second field approx 12 full serviced level pitches.

Well manicured surroundings, super big pitches. Was very quiet through the week with just our van in use. Many vans turned up at the weekend and a further field also had some tents.

There are only 3 showers/toilets on site, which were busy over the weekend and unfortunately the pressure is not good. They are cleaned every day by Mike, who is great with local knowledge and is happy to chat with regulars and new comers alike about local and other areas.

There is a cycle route right outside the gate which is the Elan Trail, which can take you for miles of off road cycling visiting all the dams, which is a great site. There is also a hotel just across the road which serves good meals and is utilised by many off the site.

We walked into Rayader along the cycle track which took about 45 minutes, but only a small town with two newsagent type shops offering essentials but pricey. We also walked across the hill adjacent to the site, hard work, but the views were amazing.

A great site and we will be back without a doubt!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hadenmaiden 5 reviews from this member

What a delightful location for this lovely site! So much has already been said by others, so I'll try not to repeat too much. Basically three camping areas, a CC which takes five units, further field with well serviced hard standing for a further twelve units and a field for tents beyond those.

Everything very clean and well kept by Michael, who visits at least daily, and will help out if there are any queries.

The path from the site is safe, level walking(or cycling) to Rhayader in one direction, or the Elan visitor centre and it's excellent facilities in the other.

The Elan Valley hotel is literally over the road from the field, and is dog friendly. They offer breakfasts, lunch and evening meals, so no reason not to eat out if you don't want to bring a lot of food with you.

Whilst we were on site a couple of chemical looks were delivered, primarily for the tent field, which should ease the pressure on the shower rooms in the busier times, though we were told the price for tents would be increased as a result.

The Internet access was surprisingly good, and we did get a phone signal.

The pot washing comprises a pair of sinks in the hard standing area with one tap each. I think this facility would be a lot more useful, and used if it included a bit of basic shelter and hot water.

There are three shower rooms, each with toilet, basin and level access electric shower. The water in the shower is hot, though we couldn't get hot water in the hand basin. A couple more proper toilets would make a huge difference.

There is a washer and drier in the washroom, though when we were there, there was also a notice not to use the sink.

We would definitely come back to this site, the setting is stunning, and everything is clean and well kept. The only small down side would be the lack of hot water.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Billydog2 7 reviews from this member

We've just spent 4 lovely days here on an excellent fully serviced hard standing. The CL field was full with the maximum of 5 units, the sixth had to be moved to comply with regulations.

There is still work going on to improve the facilities and a new shower/toilet block is in the offing which would be a benefit to all as the existing block is too small although it is new and spotless. We found the free Wifi a bit intermittent and works when it wants to!

There was no mobile phone signal so peace and quiet! Amazingly our satellite system worked even with all the hills around! It is set in beautiful scenery with Rhayader one way and the Elan valley with all the dams that were used as practice for the famous Dambuster raids the other way up the road.

On a practical note we used the cycle path as a brilliant dog walk. We had the feeling as there is no children's play area it's aimed for adults.

We recommend this park and will definitely use it again.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

This was the most expensive site we stayed on (£22) during our recent holiday. Fully serviced pitches, tidy site, lovely location. BUT 3 toilets in private bathrooms is not enough! The site was anything but full when we went there but we still couldn't get into the loos quite often.

Also when I did use the shower the drain was blocked and my shoes floated across the floor as it was a wet room. I had to wrap myself in a towel and dash into the next bathroom to dry myself! The chap who does the cleaning said this happened quite regularly. The only washing up facilities were 2 sinks out in the open with only cold water.

I felt v sorry for people in tents. I got the distinct feeling these problems weren't caused by a lack of caring, more that the site had been designed by someone who wasn't used to camping and caravanning.

Definitely a place to avoid in high season.

Would we go back? Probably because of the proximity to the Elan Valley reservoirs.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yettysurf 1 review from this member

What a wonderful find - well laid out CL site as well as hard standing site and very large camping field. Lovely views from the CL site. Easy access to the Elan Valley Visitor Centre via the cycle track or the river path that runs along side the campsite. Facilities are three toilet cubicles with shower and washbasin. Although there were many stopping on the sites this did not affect us as we have our own facilities in our caravan. Really friendly and very helpful staff with the booking procedure and staff on site - immaculate toilet facilities thanks to the thorough daily cleaning by 'Mike' who is also a mind of information on the area. Would definitely recommend this site and will be returning hopefully in the Autumn - Well Done Elan oaks.

Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4358 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019