Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Elan Oaks

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Rhayader > Elan Oaks Reviews

Elan Oaks
Elan Valley
Rhayader
Powys   (Browse area)
LD6 5HN
Tel: 01597 810326
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 41 to 49                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ruffus pound 2 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have visited this lovely site. Again the lady who booked us into the site was a marvel, the pitch superb and facilities couldn't be faulted. But, a word of warning. On this occasion the site was frequented by a gentleman who seems to be the maintenance/cleaner. He is definitely not of a cheery disposition. He has been rude when we attempted to use the toilets and walked around the site mumbling and moaning about children, the grass and noise. Not of which were justified. This is in itself a minor issue easily rectified by the owners, who I hope take head. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wba69 2 reviews from this member

 I don't normally leave reviews as I am ultra fussy and seldom come away totally satisfied, however I felt I had to give Elan Oaks the mention it deserves. My wife and I recently stayed here for 4 nights and had an absolutely wonderful break. I have become slightly sceptical of sites recently due to so many not being ' what they say on the tin ', however this was exactly as the owner promised on the phone. The site itself was really quiet, which is what we like, you could barely hear any noise at all, in fact we were possibly the noisiest as our Cocker Spaniel isn't the most obedient! The site is very well kept, clean and tidy.

The toilet/shower block is very modern, with plenty of free hot water from the showers and were cleaned meticulously every afternoon, if people had used the mop provided they would have been 100% all the time, (the only gripe I would have is no hot water in the sinks)? The surrounding area is beautiful.

The site is only a few hundred yards from the start of the Elan Valley which I have to say is for me the most spectacular place in the UK, I could stay there forever. The nearby town of Rhayader is a couple of miles away and had everything we needed including a supermarket, pubs and fast food establishments, we even managed to get a new harness for the dog which just happened to break while we were away, typical.

The entrance to the site is secured by a barrier with coded access for the campers only as the owner is not on site. All in all a perfect site which I will go back to at the earliest opportunity, it is a credit to the owner, thank you Joe and look forward to seeing you again, hopefully sooner rather than later 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Borkijazmo 1 review from this member

 A fantastic site. Picked the key up from the shop in town. Owners couldn't do enough for us. Two of our party did not arrive on the booked day due to illness but that was not a problem. Quiet, clean and beautiful location. Close to town for shopping. Great bar meals at hotel across the road. Washrooms luxurious, shower, toilet and basin in one room. No hot water in tap, but plenty in shower once we got the hang of it. Floor wet though from shower BUT so clean and beautiful, better than many hotels! Site so well organised, even a fridge to use! On the very edge of the beautiful Elan Valley. We were even treated to a masterclass in sheep herding from a wonderful shepherd and his dogs on Thursday 15th August! We will visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Timjsearle 10 reviews from this member

 This was a lovely site in a beautiful location. Lovely facilities and no fuss. New hedges planted and when established, will form a nice boundary for pitches. We will certainly return. The 3 wet room showers and toilets were very clean and spacious. The services posts fully functional with chemical loo flushing at the end of each row of pitches. Coded security barrier gave added peace of mind. Even the rain didn't dampen our spirits on this site. Red Kites, sheep, cockerel crowing in morning added to experience but watch out for midges. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fionavan 40 reviews from this member

 Very helpful owners gave clear instructions of where to go in nearby Rhayader to book in & collect the access codes. Good selection of small local shops - including butcher, greengrocer, deli etc. Plus a Co-op.

Then a short drive to the Elan Oaks site. Access code is required for barrier & facilities. We pitched in the first field and were able to pitch at the top of the slope looking down to the river - beautiful views.

Short walk to the bottom dam, and from here there are lots of walks around the dams - including the first dam destroyed by Barnes-Wallis - and the surrounding countryside.

We didn't have great weather, but it didn't stop us, saw kites overhead, and you can go to the nearby Red Kite centre for a closer view when they feed the birds.

Lovely relaxing spot.

Facilities were new & immaculate - wet rooms featuring excellent showers. Fresh water & chemical disposal available & again spotless!

Although there is no children's playground, get your wellies/jellies on & get in the river - great fun for children of all ages! There is a fence between you & the water. I haven't rated child friendliness as we didn't have children with us - not a reflection on the site. We would return to this lovely spot. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Zoomzoom 10 reviews from this member

 We've been coming to the Elan valley for some time but this is the first time we have used this site and we will be coming back.

It's recently been expanded from a 5 unit Club CL to having two other fields, one with 12 hardstandings / superpitches, and one for tents. (btw the 'superpitches' do not have drainage - water/TV aerial and satellite so far)

The 3 self contained wetrooms (whb, shower and WC) are superb; we never had to queue.

There are no washing up sinks yet but the owner says they are imminent

Access to site is by electric barrier for which you are given a code; same code gives access to to shower units.

TV reception is 95% there and is still being worked on; we have a booster on the T5 so wasn't a problem for us

Motorhome service point near the hardstanding pitches.

The scenery is superb, surrounded by mountains; it's a 10 minutes walk to the Elan Valley Visitor Centre; 5 minute drive into Rhayader.

Rhayader has a Spar shop indian takeaway, chip shop, post office, newsagent, coffee shops, pubs and a great hardware store. Nearest supermarket at Llandrindod Wells.

Owner friendly as is the helper who comes round at night - very helpful man

One of the best sites we have ever been to. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Little bess 5 reviews from this member

 Had 3 nights here enjoyed them very much. Toilet facilities are spotless and lovely and warm plenty of hot water to showers but none to the taps which was a bit dissapointing. Site is situated right on a cycle path with a stunning ride through the Elan valley. Site is still on going so better things to come Wi-Fi being installed and electric barrier. Not much for children to do unless they like walking and cycling. We will certainly be going back. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ruffus pound 2 reviews from this member

 This site is a gem in the making. The pitches are large and well serviced with water electric and nearby chem waste facilities. The shower block is small but wonderfully laid out with three individual wet rooms. At this time there is no wifi available but I am assured it is imminent. Tv signal is poor and sat dishes would be preferable. The site is approximately 70 yards from the elan hotel which does offer free wifi access and a good choice of food. The staff are particularly friendly. The site adjoins a wonderful cycle way taking you into the heart of the valley or into Rhayader itself. I write this review reluctantly because I know the site will become more and more popular! Please don't come ! Lol 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mark Britton 1 review from this member

 After been touring for over 15 years and many visits to Wales we have found the best site we have ever visited, where to start ?

The site is split into 2 sections (grass and hard standings), we stayed on the hard standing, large pitch, satellite hook up, water at each point, elsan points at the end of the row, now for the best bit !

The shower block is out of this world, you would think you were in a 5* hotel, its a full wet room, and its spotless not a speck of dirt to be found anywhere. Did think long and hard about putting a review on as don't want to be told 'we are full' when we visit again, if you are going to Mid-Wales you must give this site a visit. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 49     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Elan Oaks child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Elan Oaks?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Elan Oaks dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rhayader      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4151 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement